Author Topic: Zeroing A Sl-c1000  (Read 1768 times)

jbbrs

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 58
    • View Profile
    • http://
Zeroing A Sl-c1000
« on: May 02, 2005, 06:01:00 am »
Is it possible to use the SL-C3000 procedure, or does one need to restore a NAND backup to get a C1000 to factory settings?
Has anyone tried the SL-C3000 procedure on a C1000?

Thanks!

iamasmith

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1248
    • View Profile
Zeroing A Sl-c1000
« Reply #1 on: May 02, 2005, 06:30:48 am »
This has been fairly standard since the original clamshell units came out.

You may have different options on Menu 3 though. I would suggest the following..

1. Perform NAND backup.

2. Test it out.

3. If it screws up, restore and try another option.

4. Post your findings.

Regards,

Andy
OpenBSD 4.2 -current on full 4Gb of SL-C3000
Microdrive replaced with 4Gb SanDisk Extreme III card

Meanie

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2803
    • View Profile
    • http://www.users.on.net/~hluc/myZaurus/
Zeroing A Sl-c1000
« Reply #2 on: May 02, 2005, 07:05:34 am »
Alternatively, take some pictures and post them to the forum and someone might translate for you
SL-C3000 - pdaXii13 build5.4.9 (based on pdaXrom beta3) / SL-C3100 - Sharp ROM 1.02 JP (heavily customised)
Netgear MA701 CF, SanDisk ConnectPlus CF, Socket Bluetooth CF, 4GB Kingston CF,  4GB pqi SD, 4GB ChoiceOnly SD, 2GB SanDisk SD USB Plus, 1GB SanDisk USB Plus, 1GB Transcend SD, 2GB SanDisk MicroSD with SD adaptor, Piel Frama Leather Case, GoldX 5-in-1 USB cable, USB hub, USB mouse, USB keyboard, USB ethernet, USB HDD, many other USB accessories...
(Zaurus SL-C3000 owner since March 14. 2005, Zaurus SL-C3100 owner since September 21. 2005)
http://members.iinet.net.au/~wyso/myZaurus - zBook3K

jbbrs

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 58
    • View Profile
    • http://
Zeroing A Sl-c1000
« Reply #3 on: May 02, 2005, 07:13:00 am »

Well, I just want to boot into a sharp rom from time to time to check how they do stuff, will have to test your suggestions later today. But the nand backup before seems the right option...
« Last Edit: May 02, 2005, 09:33:00 am by jbbrs »

jbbrs

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 58
    • View Profile
    • http://
Zeroing A Sl-c1000
« Reply #4 on: May 03, 2005, 06:29:35 am »
It seems it won't work on a C1000 after flashing with OZ. All I get is a jffs2 error when booting, and then it proceeds normally into opie. Maybe sharp's rom expects that changed jffs2 area, and removes all extra stuff.

iamasmith

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1248
    • View Profile
Zeroing A Sl-c1000
« Reply #5 on: May 03, 2005, 06:38:48 am »
Quote
It seems it won't work on a C1000 after flashing with OZ. All I get is a jffs2 error when booting, and then it proceeds normally into opie. Maybe sharp's rom expects that changed jffs2 area, and removes all extra stuff.
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=77992\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]

Yes, OZ works in a different way.

The routines necessary to zero the device are present in a normal Sharp ROM in /etc/init.d/rc.rofilesys, they check some startup parameters and perform the zeroing process. The last time I looked at OZ I found out that they didn't exist.

You could possibly erase the user partition manually through the D+B boot emergency Linux. I would ask the OZ community what their advice is.

- Andy
OpenBSD 4.2 -current on full 4Gb of SL-C3000
Microdrive replaced with 4Gb SanDisk Extreme III card

jbbrs

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 58
    • View Profile
    • http://
Zeroing A Sl-c1000
« Reply #6 on: May 03, 2005, 10:02:27 am »
In OE I can also erase the /home partition easily, I just wanted to see if the default sharp scripts (for /etc and below) got copied from rom, since I intended to play a little with those under OZ. Unfortunately, as you stated, the sharp restore method needs a sharp rom installed into flash, won't use use a "default" image. I guess it would be too expensive to have a prom with a bootable image on it.