Author Topic: Dhcp Mystery  (Read 3033 times)

jsippy

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 19
    • View Profile
Dhcp Mystery
« on: May 03, 2005, 09:37:36 am »
Hi all,

I am in need of a little help from the gurus.  I have beeb banging my head against this wall every night for over a week now, and can not track it back any further than I already have, maybe someone else has an idea that will help, here goes...

I have an SL-5500 running OZ 3.5.3 and Opie.  I am using an Ambicom WL1100c-CF wifi card, and have successfully connected to my home AP using WEP.  If I assign the Z a static IP address within my LAN, I can "see" (both ping and connect to) all machines in my LAN, and I can access the internet through konqueror-embedded.

Wanting to go out into the world and connect to other wifi AP's, I decided to try DHCP. When I activate DHCP from the OPIE Network app, I observe udhcpc attaching itself to the wlan0 interface, and it appears to run the deconfig option in its script (becase it sets wlan0's inet address to 0.0.0.0).  I can see udhcpc sending the request for an address (via a Discover packet) and I can see my DHCP server receiving the request and answering it.  Although my DHCP server appears to be answering the request for an address, udhcpc is either not receiving it or is not doing anything with it, because no address ever gets assigned to wlan0 until I set it back to static. I've even let it make requests for up to an hour with no change.

Any suggestions?

-John

Mickeyl

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1495
    • View Profile
    • http://www.Vanille.de
Dhcp Mystery
« Reply #1 on: May 04, 2005, 05:52:15 am »
Does it work without WEP?
Cheers,

Michael 'Mickey' Lauer | Embedded Linux Freelancer | www.Vanille-Media.de
Consider donating, if you like the software I contribute to.

jsippy

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 19
    • View Profile
Dhcp Mystery
« Reply #2 on: May 04, 2005, 10:48:35 am »
Hi Mickeyl

DHCP behaves the same with WEP or no WEP, and with both the Wlan0 or usbd0 interfaces.

I've been running tcpdump on the machine that is running the dhcp server, and here's what I see:

Code: [Select]
09:39:50.080329 IP (tos 0x0, ttl  64, id 0, offset 0, flags [none], length: 576) 0.0.0.0.bootpc > broadcasthost.bootps: BOOTP/DHCP, Request from 40:00:01:00:00:01, length: 548, xid:0x8271a048, flags: [none] (0x0000)
          Client Ethernet Address: 40:00:01:00:00:01 [|bootp]

Here's the tailed output from /var/log/system.log on the dhcp server machine too:

Code: [Select]
May  4 09:42:02 localhost bootpd[483]: DHCP DISCOVER [en1]: 1,40:0:1:0:0:1
May  4 09:42:06 localhost last message repeated 2 times

I will install tcpdump on the zaurus in just a little bit, and report its findings here too.

So far it looks like udhcpc is requesting an address, but it is either not asking the correct way, or it is ignoring the "answer" from all servers (I've tried this on several servers now)

-John

zmiq2

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 383
    • View Profile
    • http://
Dhcp Mystery
« Reply #3 on: May 04, 2005, 11:01:44 am »
I'm also having trouble wuth udhcp with an cf-ethernet card; the card works OK when manually configured with ifconfig/route/resolv.conf, but when let to opie-network to make dhcp, doesn't get connected.

Just reflashed today, so still have to troubleshoot.
« Last Edit: May 04, 2005, 11:02:38 am by zmiq2 »
sl-c750, archos av580, socket cf [bt, wifi, modem], noname cf lan, audiovox rtm800 gsm-gprs cf, rom: sharp -> oz3.5.3 -> cacko -> oz3.5.4.1

CoreDump

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 713
    • View Profile
    • http://www.hentges.net
Dhcp Mystery
« Reply #4 on: May 04, 2005, 12:46:08 pm »
Are you sure that your DHCP server is configured and working correctly?
I'm using DHCP w/ dyn-DNS for quite some time now w/o problems.

What's the output of :

[CODE]udhcpc -i wlan0 -h test

and the content of /etc/network/interfaces?
Webmaster of hentges.net & Embedded Linux Developer.

jsippy

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 19
    • View Profile
Dhcp Mystery
« Reply #5 on: May 04, 2005, 03:00:38 pm »
Quote
Are you sure that your DHCP server is configured and working correctly?
I'm using DHCP w/ dyn-DNS for quite some time now w/o problems.

Unfortunately, the dhcp server is working just fine...  it is serving an address to the machine I am using to post this message from.

Quote
What's the output of :

udhcpc -i wlan0 -h test

Sending discover...
Sending discover...
Sending discover...
- and on and on until I send it a SIGTERM (I have let it go as long as a half an hour once)

Quote
and the content of /etc/network/interfaces?
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=78235\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]

Code: [Select]
# /etc/network/interfaces -- configuration file for ifup(8), ifdown(8)
 
# The loopback interface
auto lo
iface lo inet loopback

# Wireless interfaces
iface wlan0 inet dhcp
    wireless_key -- [1]  [2]  [3]  [4] restricted key [1]
    wireless_essid --
    wireless_mode Infrastructure

iface atml0 inet dhcp

# Wired or wireless interfaces
iface eth0 inet dhcp
iface eth1 inet dhcp

# Ethernet/RNDIS gadget (g_ether)
# ... or on host side, usbnet and random hwaddr
iface usb0 inet dhcp

# Zaurus 2.4 Lineo net_fd; obsolete
iface usbd0 inet dhcp

# iPAQ 2.4 mach-sa1100/usb-eth
# (192.168.0.202 is the iPAQ's IP, 192.168.0.200 is the host's IP)
iface usbf inet static
        address 192.168.0.202
        netmask 255.255.255.0
        network 192.168.0.0
        gateway 192.168.0.200

# Bluetooth networking
iface bnep0 inet dhcp

Nothing that I can see appears to be out of order here, maybe I am missing some important detail.  Also, by what means are you running DynDNS?  That is something I would like to eventually ssetup on my Z as well

Thanks,
John

zmiq2

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 383
    • View Profile
    • http://
Dhcp Mystery
« Reply #6 on: May 04, 2005, 04:39:52 pm »
Exactly the same here;

every minute, I have those
c7x0 local0.debug udhcpc[3333]: Sending discover ....
messages in my /var/log/messages file

with the same network infrastructure (dhcp server) that works with with my win20K and my gentoo, and that used to work before reflashing.

And, the interfaces file looks the same as John's...
« Last Edit: May 04, 2005, 04:41:07 pm by zmiq2 »
sl-c750, archos av580, socket cf [bt, wifi, modem], noname cf lan, audiovox rtm800 gsm-gprs cf, rom: sharp -> oz3.5.3 -> cacko -> oz3.5.4.1

CoreDump

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 713
    • View Profile
    • http://www.hentges.net
Dhcp Mystery
« Reply #7 on: May 07, 2005, 01:08:49 pm »
Quote
Nothing that I can see appears to be out of order here, maybe I am missing some important detail.  Also, by what means are you running DynDNS?  That is something I would like to eventually ssetup on my Z as well

Thanks,
John
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=7826\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]

Ah well, the term DynDNS wasn't well-choosen by me
With DynDNS I ment the automatic update of a local DNS server with hostnames and IPs
from DHCP clients.

So, with DynDNS I can do a "ping collie" and don't have to use the assigned IP address.
I hope that clears things up

As for your problem, I'm afraid, but I do not have a solution for you.
DHCP is working perfectly fine over here.
Webmaster of hentges.net & Embedded Linux Developer.