Author Topic: "bootmanger" For Zaurus  (Read 29667 times)

broeggle

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
"bootmanger" For Zaurus
« Reply #45 on: June 19, 2005, 08:40:33 am »
Hi,
first of all thanks for the great rom for my poodle (yes the messed up one), as it supports on the one hand my wifi card (which is unsupported by watapon/zynergy/sharp) and on the other hand my Poodle runs at least ten minutes without freezing (Oz less than 2 minutes ;/)

But as I already mentioned it freezes still quite often especially using the graphically ipkg tool. Then the only thing I can do is switching the lcd on/off , but nothing else is possible.
-->reboot. :/
Is there some kind of debug mode that saves the last few informations before such a freeze?So that the root of this problem might be found.

Moreover I don't get any click/alarm sounds but playing mp3s using xmms is no problem.


It would be nice if that can be fixed.

Thanks.

Greg2

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 790
    • View Profile
    • http://
"bootmanger" For Zaurus
« Reply #46 on: June 19, 2005, 09:37:21 am »
Quote
But as I already mentioned it freezes still quite often especially using the graphically ipkg tool.
I've been using this image for almost 2 weeks without any problems... does it freeze without using the gui-ipkg?

Anyway, the gui-ipkg has a memory leak that causes this freeze. You can use the command line to install, or 'only' install 1 or 2 apps at the same time with the gui to prevent this. I've found on the poodle that a swapfile helps some when using the gui package installer.
Quote
Moreover I don't get any click/alarm sounds but playing mp3s using xmms is no problem.
This is a problem that I hope was only related to the snapshot used for this image on a poodle... because I'm not sure how to debug it.

Greg

SteveConley

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 37
    • View Profile
"bootmanger" For Zaurus
« Reply #47 on: August 01, 2005, 10:42:55 am »
(Poodle, 1GB sd, 1GB cf, updates as of 7/30/2005)

Ok, I gave up trying to get the published "root on sd" to work. The mount command in the init.script would seemingly not work - i.e. it would not find /media/image/sbin/init.

So I gave altboot a try (at first read I didn't realize that it would boot off an arbitrary boot image).

Well it does seems to work reasonably well, but I am suffereing from a few issues:

(I am using the image I made when doing the "root on sd" thing - so it is a fully patched  standard image with nothing additionally installed yet. I have the distribution packages on the cf to install from).

1. Whenever it boots to sd it complains on the boot screen:
"mount: /proc/mounts: no such file or directory"
not sure if this is a problem - but it doesn't sound good. When I do a "ls" on /proc - it seems to be there.

2. It also complains about a usb hotplug something about 8 times, but I haven't copied that message down.

3. Periodically - when it times out during a long operation or just sitting there waiting for me to type, when you press Cancel to bring it back - it no longer responds to key presses or screen touches. If you then hit cancel again, the screen goes blank and it never comes back. Reset time ...

4. When it does come back, I boot to the normal system and fsck the image - which normally has ONE lost node. After fixing, you can reboot to the sd image and all appears well.

5. I attempted to link a program to the compat libs. I ipkg'd sharp-compat-libs. I then did a "makecompat programinquestion". makecompat answered:

Not linked to compat lib
Not Linked, Linking
Make programinquestion use compatibility libs.

That doesn't make a lot of sense to me - did it succeed or fail? In either case, when I run the program from the GUI - it shows the busy icon for a few moments and then it  is gone.

6. When hittting the icon and ejecting the cf card - it shows the ejected message and when I remove the card - normally nearly immediately, it will hang in the UI and nothing works (light is still on) and the cancel button will not shutdown.

7. What is the "proper" way to shutdown a sd card image? Use Shutdown? I tried that once and it seemed to hang forever on the GUI shutdown screen after the countdown. Then it would not turn off or anything - had to hit the reset.

8. (Of course I have the usual annoying right cursor ring sleepout, and the fact that the touch screen calibration is much worse than the Sharp Rom (after many, many tries at making it better) - but those are not the fault of Altboot - they happen with the regular image)

Any words of wisdom?  Are the bugs I am seeing more OZ bugs or result of running off SD? I didn't seem to see the timeout dying issues on the internal flash.

P.S. thanks for the work on AltBoot - I am getting close I think.
(Poodle, TOPRAM 1GB SD, SimpleTech 1GB CF, Socket LP WLan CF)

markj541

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
"bootmanger" For Zaurus
« Reply #48 on: August 07, 2005, 09:28:30 am »
I've got altboot running OK, and here's how I went about creating my own "XXX-rootfs.bin" file.

# On my Zaurus 5500 (collie)
# 1. Did a fresh install of OZ 3.5.3 (zImage and initrd.bin) using 64-0 kernel and opie rootfs.
#     (used regular install instructions for OZ 3.5.3)
# 2. Followed instructions to upgrade kernel to r21
#     (see http://openzaurus.org/wordpress/2005/07/27...nel-on-collie/)
# 3. Inserted SD card (formatted as VFAT, could also be formatted as ext2)
# 4. created the boot-images directory
mkdir -p /media/card/boot-images
# 5. Copied altboot ipkg from hentges.net into the Zaurus and installed it
#     (I've got a collie, make sure you use the one for your machine)
wget http://hentges.net/tmp/altboot/altboot_200...8-r1_collie.ipk
ipkg install altboot_20050618-r1_collie.ipk

# At this point, I have a plain OZ 3.5.3 install, with altboot. I now tried to create
# a rootfs.bin file on my SD card.
# 6. created file about 250MB (you can make it much smaller, every 100000
#     works out to about 50MB).
dd if=/dev/zero of=/media/card/boot-images/001-rootfs.bin count=500000
# 7. make ext2 filesystem in that file
mkfs.ext2 /media/card/boot-images/001-rootfs.bin
# 8. mount the file (if /mnt/temp if it doesn't exist, run "mkdir -p /mnt/temp")
losetup /dev/loop1 /media/card/boot-images/001-rootfs.bin
mount /dev/loop1 /mnt/temp
cd /mnt/temp
# 9. copy the current root into my loop mounted filesystem
export dirname="bin boot dev etc home lib opt proc sbin sys usr var"
for dn in $(echo $dirname);do tar cf - /$dn | tar xvf - -C /mnt/temp;done
# 10. create other directories and links
mkdir -p media/card
mkdir -p media/card1
mkdir -p media/card2
mkdir -p media/card3
mkdir -p media/cf
mkdir -p media/hdd
mkdir -p media/image
mkdir -p media/net
mkdir -p media/ram
mkdir -p media/realroot
mkdir -p media/union
mkdir -p mnt/temp
ln -s /var/tmp tmp
cd /mnt/temp/mnt
ln -s /media/card card
ln -s /media/cf cf
ln -s /media/net net
ln -s /media/ram ram
# 11. I also went into /var and removed some temporary files (i.e. "*.pid" files in /var/run, files in /var/lock/subsys).
# 12. unmount and disconnect the the copied root filesystem
cd
umount /mnt/temp
losetup -d /dev/loop1

# Now I was ready to reboot and try to use the new filesystem on the SD card.

At the altboot message I hit a key to launch altboot
I then chose option 4, boot from SD and got these messages:

mount: /proc/mounts: No such file or directory
Mounting rootfs rw...ok
Generating device files...ok
Loading SD kernel module...ok
Mounting /media/card...ok

Note: No INIT [/sbin/init.sysvinit] found on target

At this point, since I had "001-rootfs.bin" and "002-rootfs.bin" (which was the one CoreDump supplied), I chose my new one.  Success!

Does anyone have a better way to do this? I'm interested in making more, but I'd like to hear about more efficient ways to make the "xxx-rootfs.bin" files.

Thanks,
Mark

P.S. There is one thing I've noticed, I always seem to do a fsck during a reboot after running from the SD image file. This seems wrong. I've tried using several different ways to shutdown the system, such as:
1. Shutdown (from utility tab)
2. Shutting down Opie, logging into a vt term as root, issuing "shutdown -r now"
What could be causing the unclean mount of the SD image, and any ideas on how can I try to troubleshoot it?

Thanks
« Last Edit: August 08, 2005, 02:06:03 pm by markj541 »

bsaunder2002

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 37
    • View Profile
"bootmanger" For Zaurus
« Reply #49 on: August 10, 2005, 12:10:50 am »
/sbin/init: 255: Syntax error: redirection unexpected

got this error after installing http://hentges.net/tmp/altboot/altboot_1.0-r4_collie.ipk ontop of
stock 3.5.3 gpe image
collie 64/0 kernel made by lonstar

got the error after the
ipkg install ...
sync
reboot

system wouldnt shutdown, just print that error and return to the prompt

so I sync'd again and did a hard reset

system wouldn't boot, gave the error above and they kernel panic'd...

I guess I should read the installation instructions

Bill

xniteman

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
"bootmanger" For Zaurus
« Reply #50 on: August 13, 2005, 03:53:47 am »
Quote
/sbin/init: 255: Syntax error: redirection unexpected

got this error after installing http://hentges.net/tmp/altboot/altboot_1.0-r4_collie.ipk ontop of
stock 3.5.3 gpe image
collie 64/0 kernel made by lonstar

got the error after the
ipkg install ...
sync
reboot

system wouldnt shutdown, just print that error and return to the prompt

so I sync'd again and did a hard reset

system wouldn't boot, gave the error above and they kernel panic'd...

I guess I should read the installation instructions

Bill
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=91337\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]

I have a similar problem  
I installed the OZ 3.5.3 for C3000, no problem.
Then I installed altboot for spitz. After reboot I see a busybox description screen, and then a "kernel panic: attempted to kill init".
Even if I disable altboot or even delete the cfg and func files in /etc, the problem continues to appear!
Any solutions?

CoreDump

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 713
    • View Profile
    • http://www.hentges.net
"bootmanger" For Zaurus
« Reply #51 on: August 13, 2005, 07:48:24 am »
Quote
/sbin/init: 255: Syntax error: redirection unexpected

got this error after installing http://hentges.net/tmp/altboot/altboot_1.0-r4_collie.ipk ontop of
stock 3.5.3 gpe image
collie 64/0 kernel made by lonstar

got the error after the
ipkg install ...
sync
reboot

system wouldnt shutdown, just print that error and return to the prompt

so I sync'd again and did a hard reset

system wouldn't boot, gave the error above and they kernel panic'd...

I guess I should read the installation instructions

Bill
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=91337\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]

I could have sworn that I've already replied to this posting, but now can't find it?
Err....

Anyways, sorry for the screwed install. I've uploaded a newer version which I verified to work on collie and akita.
Webmaster of hentges.net & Embedded Linux Developer.

RGRICH

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 16
    • View Profile
"bootmanger" For Zaurus
« Reply #52 on: August 23, 2005, 11:50:03 pm »
Can I use ALTBOOT RC9 for SPITZ on a C3000 running Cacko? It appears the ipk is formated for use on OZ only and is not recognized by ipkg on the Cacko Sharp based ROM

CoreDump

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 713
    • View Profile
    • http://www.hentges.net
"bootmanger" For Zaurus
« Reply #53 on: August 26, 2005, 01:32:16 am »
Quote
Can I use ALTBOOT RC9 for SPITZ on a C3000 running Cacko? It appears the ipk is formated for use on OZ only and is not recognized by ipkg on the Cacko Sharp based ROM
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=93027\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]

Looks like Cacko is using an ancient version of ipkg.
Can't say if it would work. Worth a try though.
Spitz is a _very_ special/problematic  case.....
Webmaster of hentges.net & Embedded Linux Developer.

GadgetGuy

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 321
    • View Profile
    • http://
"bootmanger" For Zaurus
« Reply #54 on: September 08, 2005, 05:38:40 pm »
Does ALTBOOT work on C3100 with Sharp Rom?

Thanks for the reply.

Miklos
Zaurus C-3100 from PriceJapan with OZ 3.5.4.1. Opie and GPE
Ambicom CF WL1100C Wifi Card and Symbol Wireless Networker CF Wifi Card
1 GB Sandisk Ultra II SD
PdAir leather case - Nintendo DS metal case
various smaller CF and SD cards
all kinds of USB cables and accessories
-------------------------------------------------------------
Previous computers: TI 99/4A, ZX81, C64, Amiga 500, Apple Powerbook 100
Previous PDA's: Palm 1000, Palm III, Palm V, Palm Vx, Audiovox Maestro Pocket PC, Psion 5mx
Current PDA: Palm Tungsten E2
Current favourite: Zaurus C3100 - my "micro laptop"

abm_y4k

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 71
    • View Profile
"bootmanger" For Zaurus
« Reply #55 on: September 13, 2005, 01:23:16 am »
Just to let you all know that I installed Altboot on my C3100 and everything works fine.

Yasen

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 107
    • View Profile
    • http://
"bootmanger" For Zaurus
« Reply #56 on: September 14, 2005, 04:47:03 am »
Quote
Quote
[...]Now I need a simple howto for that ext2loop_rootfs.bin... unless you can supply a small one for testing to prove that this works on a poodle. I would be happy with a bootstrap.
I've uploaded a poodle ROM + cardfs and a poodle ext2loop here:
http://hentges.net/tmp/do_not_use/poodle/Any feedback is welcome
Please note that this release is completly untested  [div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=82529\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]
Can you anyway make a quick and durty howto make these ext2 images plz.
« Last Edit: September 14, 2005, 04:47:24 am by Yasen »
[span style=\'font-size:8pt;line-height:100%\']SL-5600 PXA-250
noname 256 MB MMC fat,
SanDisk 1GB  CF vfat
[/span]

koen

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1008
    • View Profile
    • http://dominion.thruhere.net/koen/cms/
"bootmanger" For Zaurus
« Reply #57 on: September 14, 2005, 05:39:55 am »
Quote
Quote
Quote
[...]Now I need a simple howto for that ext2loop_rootfs.bin... unless you can supply a small one for testing to prove that this works on a poodle. I would be happy with a bootstrap.
I've uploaded a poodle ROM + cardfs and a poodle ext2loop here:
http://hentges.net/tmp/do_not_use/poodle/Any feedback is welcome
Please note that this release is completly untested  [div align=\"right\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]
Can you anyway make a quick and durty howto make these ext2 images plz.
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=95787\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]

[a href=\"http://oe.handhelds.org/cgi-bin/moin.cgi/GettingStarted]http://oe.handhelds.org/cgi-bin/moin.cgi/GettingStarted[/url]
Forums are not bugtrackers!!! Smart questions
Ångström release team
iPAQ h2210, iPAQ h5550, iPAQ hx4700, Zaurus SL-C700, Nokia 770, all running some form of GPE
My blog

cesarcardoso

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 45
    • View Profile
    • http://
"bootmanger" For Zaurus
« Reply #58 on: October 17, 2005, 08:55:39 pm »
I made a "real filesystem" on SD and it's working nice. Only two small problems:

1) I had to 'depmod -a' manually before inserting my wifi card
2) busybox isn't getting the hostname properly, instead of
cesar@collie:~$
it shows
cesar@(none):~$
Zaurus SL-5500 (Collie) with 512MB SD, OpenZaurus 3.5.4 and GPE
Linksys WCF-12 Wi-Fi Card, Belkin F8T020 Bluetooth Card

urielka

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 178
    • View Profile
"bootmanger" For Zaurus
« Reply #59 on: October 17, 2005, 09:08:04 pm »
does installing Altboot on PdaXrom is safe(RC12)?
i am using pdaxrom but want to have a OZ install on my spere 128MB MMC