Author Topic: Japanease Symbol Become Tiny Square  (Read 1509 times)

Zitune

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
    • View Profile
Japanease Symbol Become Tiny Square
« on: June 14, 2005, 11:16:05 am »
i've got a new C3000
it's in english (geekstuff4u made the translation for me, with Language = en i think)

But the Z is no longer able to display japanease symbol (neither in X or in console)
it's now appear like tiny square.    


Have you an idea ???


Thanks
Zitune

euroclie

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 205
    • View Profile
    • http://
Japanease Symbol Become Tiny Square
« Reply #1 on: June 14, 2005, 02:48:31 pm »
Hi,

You might want to have a look at this post, there are some alternate localization methods that would keep the capability to display Japanese characters...

Here's a quote from Mammothrept's post, mentioned in the above post:
Quote
2. CONVERSION TO ENGLISH

I need to be retain the Japanese language capabilities of the C3000 so the most common method or converting to English (mcconvert) is out. I do use mcconvert just briefly at the beginning to set up the initial Internet connection but I delete it once convert.sh is run.

Install mcconvert from Conics.net for quick and dirty conversion to English.

Set up wireless card and get online.

Download convert.sh from WBCD.org
(A much better conversion that leaves the Japanese abilities intact.)

Uninstall mcconvert

Reboot


One side effect of using convert.sh for the English conversion is that the Sharp terminal program disappears. You will regularly need access to the command line so immediately after using convert.sh, install another terminal program from killefiz.de

I hope this helps!
« Last Edit: June 14, 2005, 02:49:58 pm by euroclie »
Patrick

Stubear

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1164
    • View Profile
    • http://
Japanease Symbol Become Tiny Square
« Reply #2 on: June 14, 2005, 08:52:18 pm »
Quote
i've got a new C3000
it's in english (geekstuff4u made the translation for me, with Language = en i think)

But the Z is no longer able to display japanease symbol (neither in X or in console)
it's now appear like tiny square.   


Have you an idea ???


Thanks
Zitune
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=84222\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]

The problem is that when your local is set to "en", qtopia uses different fonts as the default system font. For "ja" it is lcfont which of course has the full set of Japanese characters, for "en" it is hellevetica (sp?) which the people doing conversion often replace with a version lacking Japanese characters, I can't remember if the version on the sharp rom works with "en" locale or not.

Testing other stuff now so I can't test it right away. I'll try and let you know ASAP.

If you're interested in keeping Japanese input while having English menu's etc, either have a look at the script I wrote or what a whil for the Cacko rom for CxK

Stu
SL-C1000, Hand converted to English with Japanese Input
Running X apps via X/Qt
iRiver USB host cable; Diatec P-Cord usb power cable (extendable); Acro's Reel Cable USB (A to A, B, Mini-B,  & Mini-B 8pin); GreenHouse 1Gb PicoDrive+; 2x256Mb Hagiwara SD cards; 128Mb Transcend CF card; 512Mb PQI CF card; AmbiCom WL1100C-CF 11B WLAN card