Author Topic: Archos  (Read 22486 times)

sashz

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 388
    • View Profile
    • http://
Archos
« Reply #30 on: October 21, 2005, 05:44:43 am »
Quote
Sashz,
Can you recomend good arm dissasembler, I looked on net for one but can't find good free one. Using dumpobj is a pain.

Didn't discover much last night.
Just if you have USB host connected when on blue debug screen it will sit there until you disconnect, and you can access HD wfrom host when on blue screen.
Interestring strings in ROM as you say. Same that say "duddudu" etc though might be button press combos, but no luck trying them.
Do you think there might be a terminal open somewhere ?
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=100298\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]

Use IDA - commercial Interactive Disassembler (look in p2p  )

If Archos connected to host during power up , that will wait disconnect and work as storage.
So in this mode you can restore corrupted fs or system.

Dunno about terminal software , there inside messages about USB2 port, so maybe its possible:) Anyway need disassembly and learn rom. Official french office says they cannot give us signature generator because security issues  So archos unlike linux and opensources i guess even if they released pma400 )

pyknite

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 118
    • View Profile
    • http://pyknite.monserveurperso.com
Archos
« Reply #31 on: October 21, 2005, 07:37:07 am »
when the will work on pdaxrom, the usb host will run???

thx
zaurus sl-c3000 - under pdaXrom1.0.1 for sl-c3000
Wifi +BT CF card
utopik Blog
Mirror for pdaXrom sl-c3000

fantshare

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 12
    • View Profile
Archos
« Reply #32 on: October 21, 2005, 08:28:59 am »
Shame, it would be good for their sales I think.

Quote
Official french office says they cannot give us signature generator because security issues  So archos unlike linux and opensources i guess even if they released pma400 )
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=100319\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]

j4p13j0

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
    • http://www.home.zonnet.nl/hogenberg11/pma400.html
Archos
« Reply #33 on: October 23, 2005, 03:32:25 am »
This is interesting stuff !
I have tried to dissasemble the firmware but never succeeded in mounting the resulting cramfs. Never figured out if the problem was related to xip-linear
patches I needed, or the image being bad.  

What did you do to mount the cramfs ?

And how would the pdaxrom work ? Changeroot from qtopia, killing qpe and starting X ? Or hacking the image so qpe does not start at all ?

I'd be very interested in helping, but must say I have no experience using arm (dis)assembler or kernel coding.  
BTW, are you using the latest (1.14-2) firmware for the kernel ? Or do you use 1.13-2 which, I believe, is more stable ?

fantshare

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 12
    • View Profile
Archos
« Reply #34 on: October 23, 2005, 07:02:58 am »
Quote
This is interesting stuff !
I have tried to dissasemble the firmware but never succeeded in mounting the resulting cramfs. Never figured out if the problem was related to xip-linear
patches I needed, or the image being bad.  

What did you do to mount the cramfs ?

And how would the pdaxrom work ? Changeroot from qtopia, killing qpe and starting X ? Or hacking the image so qpe does not start at all ?

I'd be very interested in helping, but must say I have no experience using arm (dis)assembler or kernel coding.   
BTW, are you using the latest (1.14-2) firmware for the kernel ? Or do you use 1.13-2 which, I believe, is more stable ?
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=100593\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]

Ultimately I would like to boot direct into pdaxrom, but first there will be a chroot method I expect.

To mount the cramfs on pc I did:
Search in aimage.img for bytes 45 3d cd 28 (this is the cramfs header start)
Then extract all  from that offset onwards to create a  cramfs.img (using dd)
I mounted it with:

mkdir /PMA400/rom
mount -o loop -t cramfs cramfs.img /PMA400/rom

The problem is in modfying the cramfs or the precceding data (kernel) and building a new aimage.img, because there are two meaty signatures at the start of aimage.img that are checked at boot time.

j4p13j0

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
    • http://www.home.zonnet.nl/hogenberg11/pma400.html
Archos
« Reply #35 on: October 23, 2005, 07:23:15 am »
Quote
Ultimately I would like to boot direct into pdaxrom, but first there will be a chroot method I expect.

To mount the cramfs on pc I did:
Search in aimage.img for bytes 45 3d cd 28 (this is the cramfs header start)
Then extract all  from that offset onwards to create a  cramfs.img (using dd)
I mounted it with:

mkdir /PMA400/rom
mount -o loop -t cramfs cramfs.img /PMA400/rom

The problem is in modfying the cramfs or the precceding data (kernel) and building a new aimage.img, because there are two meaty signatures at the start of aimage.img that are checked at boot time.
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=100608\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]
Yes, I tried that but my pc hangs when reading the files in the image, because I can't seem to get my kernel patched properly for the cramfs features that are used, esp. the xip stuff. Oh well, it's not going to be of much help untill that signature checking gets reverse-engineered  

Would love to help but wouldn't know where to start.... I have got some different
firmware releases (1.12, 1.13-2, 1.14-1 and 1.14-2) if anyone is interested for analysis of how the sig is created...
« Last Edit: October 23, 2005, 07:38:16 am by j4p13j0 »

clayde

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
Archos
« Reply #36 on: October 23, 2005, 10:07:28 am »
for information you can make
a script for editing /etc/rc.d/rc.qpe
(this file is respawn by inittab)
and add in this:
 kill qpe and start pdxarom in chrootmode for example


and after this modification,  kill the process with name /bin/sh (he is rc.qpe)
then the new rc.qpe starting,
Excuse me for my english,

Clayde

pyknite

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 118
    • View Profile
    • http://pyknite.monserveurperso.com
Archos
« Reply #37 on: October 23, 2005, 11:01:39 am »
Quote
for information you can make
a script for editing /etc/rc.d/rc.qpe
(this file is respawn by inittab)
and add in this:
 kill qpe and start pdxarom in chrootmode for example


and after this modification,  kill the process with name /bin/sh (he is rc.qpe)
then the new rc.qpe starting,
Excuse me for my english,

Clayde
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=100617\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]

i try to kill qpe with a command find in qpe.sh (a script for start or stop qpe), i insert it in rc.qpe but it doesn't work...

i will try with kill qpe... i'm trying to rotate the screen

one interesting thing is when you chmod rc.qpe and execute, an 2nd qtopia run... if we can make an applet we can have some virtual desktop like  a desktop pc...
zaurus sl-c3000 - under pdaXrom1.0.1 for sl-c3000
Wifi +BT CF card
utopik Blog
Mirror for pdaXrom sl-c3000

fantshare

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 12
    • View Profile
Archos
« Reply #38 on: October 24, 2005, 04:58:05 pm »
Sashz,
How is it going with the first beta release ?
Will there be one soon ?

pyknite

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 118
    • View Profile
    • http://pyknite.monserveurperso.com
Archos
« Reply #39 on: October 25, 2005, 10:59:15 am »
no news yet?
zaurus sl-c3000 - under pdaXrom1.0.1 for sl-c3000
Wifi +BT CF card
utopik Blog
Mirror for pdaXrom sl-c3000

sashz

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 388
    • View Profile
    • http://
Archos
« Reply #40 on: October 25, 2005, 11:33:18 am »
sorry for delay, i still work with bootrom disassembling:)

pyknite

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 118
    • View Profile
    • http://pyknite.monserveurperso.com
Archos
« Reply #41 on: October 25, 2005, 11:42:25 am »
Quote
sorry for delay, i still work with bootrom disassembling:)
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=100890\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]


no probleme

but have you a date?

++
zaurus sl-c3000 - under pdaXrom1.0.1 for sl-c3000
Wifi +BT CF card
utopik Blog
Mirror for pdaXrom sl-c3000

tixmcprods

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 14
    • View Profile
Archos
« Reply #42 on: October 26, 2005, 02:48:56 am »
Quote
Quote
sorry for delay, i still work with bootrom disassembling:)
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=100890\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]


no probleme

but have you a date?

++
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=100891\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]

Re,

I'd like to know how we'll have to install it on our PMA430 ? A big aimage.img file or another boot-script, which will give choice for boot ?
Need a date too  .

Thanks.

PS : Sorry for my bad english

pyknite

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 118
    • View Profile
    • http://pyknite.monserveurperso.com
Archos
« Reply #43 on: October 26, 2005, 05:36:39 am »
Quote
Quote
Quote
sorry for delay, i still work with bootrom disassembling:)
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=100890\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]


no probleme

but have you a date?

++
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=100891\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]

Re,

I'd like to know how we'll have to install it on our PMA430 ? A big aimage.img file or another boot-script, which will give choice for boot ?
Need a date too  .

Thanks.

PS : Sorry for my bad english
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=100966\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]



we speak about that one page before

we will chroot the rom from qtopia... and if i understand correctly, pdaxrom will kill qtopia and appear
zaurus sl-c3000 - under pdaXrom1.0.1 for sl-c3000
Wifi +BT CF card
utopik Blog
Mirror for pdaXrom sl-c3000

pma430@pointlisse.com

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
    • View Profile
Archos
« Reply #44 on: October 26, 2005, 10:32:28 am »
Hi,

I just started a PMA430 resource site, and this could be a good edition. Please let me know if/when it's ready to test and I'd be happy to post it on my site as well.

Any other info appreciated, too... What it can/will do, advantages, future plans, etc. Thanks!

www.pointlisse.com/PMA430