Author Topic: What Cf Cards Work With Wpa?  (Read 16211 times)

speculatrix

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3706
    • View Profile
What Cf Cards Work With Wpa?
« Reply #15 on: November 09, 2005, 07:54:01 am »
Quote
"Spectrum24 LA4100 Series WLAN PC Card" is not prism but spectrum based card. I was talking about prism based cards which use hostap_cs driver.
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=102965\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]

the light dawns. oh no! damnit, I bought the card specifically in the hope it was a prism-based one for WPA, since the cheapo Mercury/Zonet ZCF1100 card didn't appear to work in WPA mode.

sigh.
Gemini 4G/Wi-Fi owner, formerly zaurus C3100 and 860 owner; also owner of an HTC Doubleshot, a Zaurus-like phone.

pgas

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1097
    • View Profile
    • http://
What Cf Cards Work With Wpa?
« Reply #16 on: November 09, 2005, 08:32:13 am »
Quote
cheapo Mercury/Zonet ZCF1100

have you tried to flash this one?
SLC-860 cacko / senao wifi

speculatrix

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3706
    • View Profile
What Cf Cards Work With Wpa?
« Reply #17 on: November 09, 2005, 09:27:58 am »
Quote
Quote
cheapo Mercury/Zonet ZCF1100

have you tried to flash this one?
[div align=\"right\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]

Well, according to the faqs, this is a prism3 card not a 2, and it seemed to me from other discussions that the card won't do WPA at all. However, after much googling, I found this:

[a href=\"http://archive.openbsd.nu/?ml=openbsd-arm&a=2005-07&m=1051486]http://archive.openbsd.nu/?ml=openbsd-arm&...05-07&m=1051486[/url]

which says I should be able to reflash it and get WPA working... so I shall give it a go.
Gemini 4G/Wi-Fi owner, formerly zaurus C3100 and 860 owner; also owner of an HTC Doubleshot, a Zaurus-like phone.

pgas

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1097
    • View Profile
    • http://
What Cf Cards Work With Wpa?
« Reply #18 on: November 09, 2005, 09:39:05 am »
Quote
Well, according to the faqs, this is a prism3 card not a 2

I thought it was the same card as my senao, (because it was sold as senao/zonet) but the ZCF1100 must be a newer card
SLC-860 cacko / senao wifi

speculatrix

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3706
    • View Profile
What Cf Cards Work With Wpa?
« Reply #19 on: November 09, 2005, 09:55:12 am »
Quote
Quote
Well, according to the faqs, this is a prism3 card not a 2

I thought it was the same card as my senao, (because it was sold as senao/zonet) but the ZCF1100 must be a newer card
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=102975\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]

I found info was inconsistent... you have to go by the output of
"cardctl config ; cardctl status ; cardctl ident ; cardctl info". It was the "ISL37100P" that led me to the conclusion that it was a prism3. elsewhere I read that other zonet cards were senao based and prism2/2.5. The moral of the story is that you can't tell what a card is until you put it into a linux box and ask it!

My Z reports:
Socket 0:
  Vcc 0.0V  Vpp1 0.0V  Vpp2 0.0V
Socket 1:
  not configured
Socket 0:
  3.3V 16-bit PC Card [suspended]
Socket 1:
  no card
Socket 0:
  product info: "WLAN", "11Mbps_PC-Card_3.0", "ISL37100P", "Eval-RevA"
  manfid: 0x000b, 0x7100
  function: 6 (network)
Socket 1:
  no product info available
PRODID_1="WLAN"
PRODID_2="11Mbps_PC-Card_3.0"
PRODID_3="ISL37100P"
PRODID_4="Eval-RevA"
MANFID=000b,7100
FUNCID=6
PRODID_1=""
PRODID_2=""
PRODID_3=""
PRODID_4=""
MANFID=0000,0000
FUNCID=255
Gemini 4G/Wi-Fi owner, formerly zaurus C3100 and 860 owner; also owner of an HTC Doubleshot, a Zaurus-like phone.

speculatrix

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3706
    • View Profile
What Cf Cards Work With Wpa?
« Reply #20 on: November 09, 2005, 01:25:55 pm »
Quote
"cardctl config ; cardctl status ; cardctl ident ; cardctl info". It was the "ISL37100P" that led me to the conclusion that it was a prism3. elsewhere I read that other zonet cards were senao based and prism2/2.5. The moral of the story is that you can't tell what a card is until you put it into a linux box and ask it!

well, after reading the Pavel Roskin site, it seemed that it was unlikely I could mis-flash my zonet card, so I tried it, and it worked! So now I have station firmware 1.8.4.

# hostap_diag -a wifi0
Host AP driver diagnostics information for 'wifi0'

NICID: id=0x801b v1.0.0 (PRISM III PCMCIA (SST parallel flash))
PRIID: id=0x0015 v1.1.1
STAID: id=0x001f v1.8.4 (station firmware)

For my next trick, getting WPA to work.
Gemini 4G/Wi-Fi owner, formerly zaurus C3100 and 860 owner; also owner of an HTC Doubleshot, a Zaurus-like phone.

speculatrix

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3706
    • View Profile
What Cf Cards Work With Wpa?
« Reply #21 on: November 10, 2005, 06:58:40 pm »
Quote
well, after reading the Pavel Roskin site, it seemed that it was unlikely I could mis-flash my zonet card, so I tried it, and it worked! So now I have station firmware 1.8.4.
For my next trick, getting WPA to work.
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=103004\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]

Woohoo! I can now confirm that WPA did indeed work after flashing/upgrade. The only snag was that my Z then joined the network at work and decided to take control of the windows domain and break everyone's login! I have t (o quickly "disconnect" it from the network, and then remove the entries from inetd.conf to stop smb starting up!

So, to recap what I got to work:
Zaurus SL-C860
Cacko 1.23-heavy
Mercury/Zonet ZCF1100 CF (prismIII) card with station firmware 1.8.4
802.11b with WPA using standard wifi setup, adding the "WPA=y" flag into the wlan-ng.opts and setting up /etc/wpa_supplicant.conf file


How I reflashed: using a PCMCIA adaptor to put the card into my laptop and using the hostap utility called prism2srec command to reflash.


Paul
« Last Edit: November 10, 2005, 06:59:07 pm by speculatrix »
Gemini 4G/Wi-Fi owner, formerly zaurus C3100 and 860 owner; also owner of an HTC Doubleshot, a Zaurus-like phone.

maslovsky

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1426
    • View Profile
    • http://my-zaurus.narod.ru
What Cf Cards Work With Wpa?
« Reply #22 on: November 11, 2005, 12:38:38 pm »
Quote
The only snag was that my Z then joined the network at work and decided to take control of the windows domain and break everyone's login!

Did you set wins support = yes in smb.conf? That makes Zaurus behave like a domain controller

Quote
How I reflashed: using a PCMCIA adaptor to put the card into my laptop and using the hostap utility called prism2srec command to reflash.

The same can be done on Zaurus, just need to awake the card - connect to something or type cardctl scheme qpewlan0; cardctl reset;
« Last Edit: November 11, 2005, 12:39:27 pm by maslovsky »

speculatrix

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3706
    • View Profile
What Cf Cards Work With Wpa?
« Reply #23 on: November 11, 2005, 12:54:01 pm »
Quote
Quote
The only snag was that my Z then joined the network at work and decided to take control of the windows domain and break everyone's login!

Did you set wins support = yes in smb.conf? That makes Zaurus behave like a domain controller

the line "wins support = yes" is commented out in default cacko1.13 smb.conf file. I think it should DEFINITELY be set to NO. Otherwise you can upset people!

But I must admit, I've not been running cacko 1.23 long enough to even think about tailoring the smb.conf file... I even forgot that the Z runs samba by default!

Quote
Quote
How I reflashed: using a PCMCIA adaptor to put the card into my laptop and using the hostap utility called prism2srec command to reflash.

The same can be done on Zaurus, just need to awake the card - connect to something or type cardctl scheme qpewlan0; cardctl reset;
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=103338\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]

I got the error that it couldn't reflash when I was running cacko1.22, I didn't try with cacko1.23 as by then I'd starting trying with my laptop.

One oddity was that when wifi0 starts up (maybe only with WPA, I haven't experimented), usb0 disappeared altogether!

One good thing: kismet runs again, previously in c1.22 the kismet client would segfault, and I never found out why. I'm dead chuffed with c1.23 in many ways!
Gemini 4G/Wi-Fi owner, formerly zaurus C3100 and 860 owner; also owner of an HTC Doubleshot, a Zaurus-like phone.