Author Topic: Opera7.55 For Oz/opie 3.5.4-rc  (Read 50871 times)

skliarieh

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 13
    • View Profile
Opera7.55 For Oz/opie 3.5.4-rc
« Reply #15 on: April 10, 2006, 11:29:54 am »
Quote
Quote
I use OZ 3.5.4 opie on SL-5500. It segfaulted for me as well:

# opera
/opt/QtPalmtop/bin/opera
QDir::readDirEntries: Cannot read the directory: ../apps
opera: Could not find "ini/standard_voice.ini"
opera: Could not find "ini/standard_mouse.ini"
opera: Could not find "ini/standard_keyboard.ini"
-snip-
Guys,

If this is the ‘only’ opera ipk that you have tried to install... then there should only be one opera.ini on your system? If this is true then your ipkg-link has missed a symlink. To correct this, in terminal do:
Code: [Select]
ipkg-link mount /media/card/packagesor to be sure that you have a symlink do:
Code: [Select]
ln -s /media/card/packages/opt/QtPalmtop/opera/.opera /home/root/.operaFor the record this has been tested on the collie and poodle with the final release of OZ3.5.4.

Greg

I’ll attach an image of your post here:
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=122506\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]

Ok, I managed to launch opera.  
Turns out that the package looks into directory /packages/... for its files, assuming that it was installed onto SD and /packages is link to the SD.

I have altboot to boot opie from SD, so I don't have the /packages directory.
After I did  following commands, opera started working:
cd /
ln -s / packages

The opera.ini has assumption that home directory is /root. On OpenZaurus the home directory is /home/root:
cd /
ln -s /home/root

The .opera symlink in root's home directory must point to /opt/QtPalmtop/opera, and not /opt/QtPalmtop/opera/.opera (as I initially thought).

Still, the opera start is not flawless - I have got following messages during launch:
# opera
/opt/QtPalmtop/bin/opera
QDir::readDirEntries: Cannot read the directory: ../apps
opera: Could not find "ini/standard_mouse.ini"
opera: Could not find "ini/standard_mouse.ini"
opera: libvxm.so: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory
QDir::readDirEntries: Cannot read the directory: /media/ROM/.operasave
QDir::readDirEntries: Cannot read the directory: /var/.operasave
QDir::readDirEntries: Cannot read the directory: /media/card/.operasave

 

Greg2

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 790
    • View Profile
    • http://
Opera7.55 For Oz/opie 3.5.4-rc
« Reply #16 on: April 10, 2006, 11:58:17 am »
Quote
I have altboot to boot opie from SD, so I don't have the /packages directory.
OK... that is the problem. You should have removed the postinst script from the ipk ‘before’ installing for your setup with altboot. Now you will have to find and remove the symlinks to /packages and rerun the ipkg-link script.  

Greg

Storm

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 156
    • View Profile
    • http://
Opera7.55 For Oz/opie 3.5.4-rc
« Reply #17 on: June 06, 2006, 07:48:46 pm »
All right, this is making me crazy. I have tried everything I know to get this working. Between the bash problem and the suspend problem, I decided to roll back from Hentges 3.5.4.1 to 3.5.4rc. I've gotten everything back up and running except Opera.

I was running 7.55.6079, however I decided to try the 7.55.OZ3.5.4 version this go round. So I got rid of *opera* on the entire system, and installed 7.55.OZ3.5.4. Followed the advice in this thread, including making sure the symlink to /root/.opera pointed to /media/card/packages/opt/QtPalmtop/opera and reinstalling qpf-helvetica-240. I still get

# opera
/opt/QtPalmtop/bin/opera
opera: Could not find "ini/standard_voice.ini"
opera: Could not find "ini/standard_mouse.ini"
opera: Could not find "ini/standard_keyboard.ini"
opera: Could not find "ini/standard_mouse.ini"
opera: Could not find "ini/standard_keyboard.ini"
opera: Could not find "ini/standard_voice.ini"
Segmentation fault

Anyone got any pointers?

Thanks,
--Storm
« Last Edit: June 06, 2006, 07:49:28 pm by Storm »
Zaurus SL-5500/Hentges OZ 3.5.4.1
Ambicom WL1100-CF wireless card
Desktop: Debian/GNU Linux (unstable)

skliarieh

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 13
    • View Profile
Opera7.55 For Oz/opie 3.5.4-rc
« Reply #18 on: June 07, 2006, 01:44:33 am »
Quote
All right, this is making me crazy. I have tried everything I know to get this working. Between the bash problem and the suspend problem, I decided to roll back from Hentges 3.5.4.1 to 3.5.4rc. I've gotten everything back up and running except Opera.

I was running 7.55.6079, however I decided to try the 7.55.OZ3.5.4 version this go round. So I got rid of *opera* on the entire system, and installed 7.55.OZ3.5.4. Followed the advice in this thread, including making sure the symlink to /root/.opera pointed to /media/card/packages/opt/QtPalmtop/opera and reinstalling qpf-helvetica-240. I still get

# opera
/opt/QtPalmtop/bin/opera
opera: Could not find "ini/standard_voice.ini"
opera: Could not find "ini/standard_mouse.ini"
opera: Could not find "ini/standard_keyboard.ini"
opera: Could not find "ini/standard_mouse.ini"
opera: Could not find "ini/standard_keyboard.ini"
opera: Could not find "ini/standard_voice.ini"
Segmentation fault

Anyone got any pointers?

Thanks,
--Storm
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=130139\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]

Create symlink /opt/QtPalmtop/opera/ini to point to /media/card/packages/opt/QtPalmtop/opera/ini

opera needs to be run using sharp-compat-libs. Verify, that
# ls -l /opt/QtPalmtop/bin/opera
lrwxrwxrwx    1 root     root           28 Mar 13 02:15 /opt/QtPalmtop/bin/opera -> /opt/QtPalmtop/bin/runcompat

On 5500 I strongly recommend you to go with root-on-SD, it would free up you from many headaches. I think it is good tradeoff against 16MB ROM that you would loose.

Storm

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 156
    • View Profile
    • http://
Opera7.55 For Oz/opie 3.5.4-rc
« Reply #19 on: June 07, 2006, 06:41:33 am »
Quote
Create symlink /opt/QtPalmtop/opera/ini to point to /media/card/packages/opt/QtPalmtop/opera/ini

Did that. Now its only complaining about standard_mouse.ini:

/opt/QtPalmtop/bin/opera
opera: Could not find "ini/standard_mouse.ini"
opera: Could not find "ini/standard_mouse.ini"
Segmentation fault

Searched, there is no standard_mouse.ini on my system.

Quote
opera needs to be run using sharp-compat-libs. Verify, that
# ls -l /opt/QtPalmtop/bin/opera
lrwxrwxrwx    1 root     root           28 Mar 13 02:15 /opt/QtPalmtop/bin/opera -> /opt/QtPalmtop/bin/runcompat

It is.

Quote
On 5500 I strongly recommend you to go with root-on-SD, it would free up you from many headaches. I think it is good tradeoff against 16MB ROM that you would loose.
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=130185\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]

It is.


Thanks,
--Storm
Zaurus SL-5500/Hentges OZ 3.5.4.1
Ambicom WL1100-CF wireless card
Desktop: Debian/GNU Linux (unstable)

nik42

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
Opera7.55 For Oz/opie 3.5.4-rc
« Reply #20 on: June 07, 2006, 09:42:16 am »
Quote
Did that. Now its only complaining about standard_mouse.ini:

/opt/QtPalmtop/bin/opera
opera: Could not find "ini/standard_mouse.ini"
opera: Could not find "ini/standard_mouse.ini"
Segmentation fault

Searched, there is no standard_mouse.ini on my system.

Thanks,
--Storm
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=130221\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]

Hi,

I had the same problem and just copied the "standard_mouse.ini" from my desktop installation of opera. That's working fine.

nik

Greg2

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 790
    • View Profile
    • http://
Opera7.55 For Oz/opie 3.5.4-rc
« Reply #21 on: June 07, 2006, 02:38:08 pm »
Quote
I had the same problem and just copied the "standard_mouse.ini" from my desktop installation of opera. That's working fine.
I just had to d/l an opera rpm and extract the "standard_mouse.ini" from it and copy it to my recent (5-24-06) OZ/Opie build to make this work. To 'keep' it working I had to edit the opera.ini with:
Code: [Select]
command control and content navigation by voice enabled=0This will be the last bit of help I have to offer in this thread.  

As the OZ devs work to improve their distro... this 'old opera ipk' becomes less and less compatible with it. Just to be 'very' clear on this... I'm 'not' placing the OZ devs at fault here!

In case you haven't read any of these... FYI:
http://article.gmane.org/gmane.comp.handhe...aurus.devel/825
and
https://www.oesf.org/forums/index.php?showtopic=19827

So... for the record the opera binary can be 'made' (very ugly hack) to work. But... your on your own now making (or trying to make) it work.

As a side note... maybe in the future we will have an up to date Konqueror that will have a smaller footprint.  

Greg

LukeLuke

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 167
    • View Profile
    • http://
Opera7.55 For Oz/opie 3.5.4-rc
« Reply #22 on: July 04, 2006, 02:57:54 am »
where opera, by the default, search the ini files?

I have try to creste the symbolic link and when i launch opera it go in segmentation fault, i have modify the opera ini like say Greg2. And now opera say:

# opera
/opt/QtPalmtop/bin/opera
opera: Could not find "ini/standard_voice.ini"
opera: Could not find "ini/standard_mouse.ini"
opera: Could not find "ini/standard_keyboard.ini"
opera: Could not find "ini/standard_mouse.ini"
opera: Could not find "ini/standard_keyboard.ini"
opera: Could not find "ini/standard_voice.ini"
Segmentation fault


but the the link are right !

what can i do ?

THANKS

Bye

LukeLuke

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 167
    • View Profile
    • http://
Opera7.55 For Oz/opie 3.5.4-rc
« Reply #23 on: July 04, 2006, 03:34:07 am »
OKKKK!!!!! NOW IT' S OK!

I post my configuration step for make work opera:

1- verify that the /root/ and the /home/root/ have:

.opera -> /mnt/card/opt/QtPalmtop/opera/.opera
.operasave -> /mnt/card/opt/QtPalmtop/opera/.operasave

2 - Edit file opera.ini and verify this string:

command control and content navigation by voice enabled=0
[Disk Cache]
; Small: Size=2000, Medium: Size=3000, Large: Size=4000
Size=16000


3 - verify that the symbolic link in /usr/share/opera is right, in my Z the link was to  -> /media/card/packages/opt/QtPalmtop/opera/ but in my SD is not the directory Packages, so i link to  -> /media/card/opt/QtPalmtop/opera/

4 - if you don't have the standard_mouse.ini get this pippo.bmp and rename in standard_mouse.ini. Copy this file in the directory ini of the opera.

Bye
Luca

LukeLuke

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 167
    • View Profile
    • http://
Opera7.55 For Oz/opie 3.5.4-rc
« Reply #24 on: July 04, 2006, 08:46:47 am »
i have a question:

with this porting of opera isn't possible to configure the proxy ???

I try to configure it by the gui but there isn't a form for insert the proxy ......
I try to configure it by the opera.ini file, but when the opera start, it's cancel my manual setting....

how can i do ?

THANKS

Bye

MrBryan

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 14
    • View Profile
Opera7.55 For Oz/opie 3.5.4-rc
« Reply #25 on: July 07, 2006, 01:43:45 am »
quote: 3 - verify that the symbolic link in /usr/share/opera is right, in my Z the link was to  -> /media/card/packages/opt/QtPalmtop/opera/ but in my SD is not the directory Packages, so i link to  -> /media/card/opt/QtPalmtop/opera/

end quote


This worked for me -- but i installed to root because i have root on SD

so i did:

rm /usr/share/opera

and ln -s /opt/QtPalmtop/opera /usr/share/opera

and installed qte-font-helvetica-small, qte-font-helvetica-large (common, fixed, etc)

works great.


Cheers

guitara

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 13
    • View Profile
Opera7.55 For Oz/opie 3.5.4-rc
« Reply #26 on: July 09, 2006, 12:36:34 am »
Ok i think a summary is in order here. I'm sure the original ipk could be modified easily to include the proper path changes. But, since I don't know how to repackage, here goes. To install opera follow the instructions under the proper heading. I'll repost Greg's instructions for ease of use here as well. Thanks to mr Squishy, Greg, and the others in this thread. I've tested this on a fresh install. You don't need to worry aout editing any ini files, or copying anything else over.

1) Install the sharp-compat-libs, opie-sh and the qte-font-helvetica-large ipk (or the helvetica size of your choice) from the opie feed.

2) Copy the attached ipk to your CF-card and open a terminal:

Code: [Select]
cd /media/cf
ipkg -d sd --force-depends install opera_7.55.OZ3.5.4_arm.ipk
cd
ipkg-link add opera

3) Go to the Settings tab, click "Reload Icons"

4) Go to the Settings tab, click on Libraries, List, Applications, Opera Browser and click okay.

If you have root on internal flash:
Code: [Select]
rm /usr/share/opera
ln -s /opt/QtPalmtop/opera /usr/share/opera

If you have root on SD:
Code: [Select]
rm /usr/share/opera
ln -s /media/card/opt/QtPalmtop/opera /usr/share/opera

If you have root on CF:
Code: [Select]
rm /usr/share/opera
ln -s /media/cf/opt/QtPalmtop/opera /usr/share/opera

walts

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 55
    • View Profile
    • http://
Opera7.55 For Oz/opie 3.5.4-rc
« Reply #27 on: July 13, 2006, 05:02:54 pm »
I admit to being a n00b and stupid, so please don't flame me.
I have Opie 3.5.4.1 installed on a c1000 (Akita), and I want very much to run Opera, since the included Konqueror browser is so bad.

I have tried to follow the instructions in this thread:

Quote
Ok i think a summary is in order here. I'm sure the original ipk could be modified easily to include the proper path changes. But, since I don't know how to repackage, here goes. To install opera follow the instructions under the proper heading. I'll repost Greg's instructions for ease of use here as well. Thanks to mr Squishy, Greg, and the others in this thread. I've tested this on a fresh install. You don't need to worry aout editing any ini files, or copying anything else over.

1) Install the sharp-compat-libs, opie-sh and the qte-font-helvetica-large ipk (or the helvetica size of your choice) from the opie feed.
Where?  I have the opie feed as http://ewi546.ewi.utwente.nl/mirror/www.op...4.5.1/feed/opie (if I typed that correctly) and there is nothing "sharp-compat" there.  The others are installed.

Quote
2) Copy the attached ipk to your CF-card and open a terminal:

Code: [Select]
cd /media/cf
ipkg -d sd --force-depends install opera_7.55.OZ3.5.4_arm.ipk
cd
ipkg-link add opera

3) Go to the Settings tab, click "Reload Icons"
done.

Quote
4) Go to the Settings tab, click on Libraries, List, Applications, Opera Browser and click okay.
Again, nothing.  There is no Libraries icon on the settings tab.

Quote
If you have root on internal flash:
Code: [Select]
rm /usr/share/opera
ln -s /opt/QtPalmtop/opera /usr/share/opera

[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=134397\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]
Done.

The Opera icon is in my Applications tab, and when I click on it, it "flashes" once and stops.
I see lots of log entries in ths thread showing things that went wrong.  Please where are the log files?   I could probably learn more about what' going wrong if I could look at them.
C-3200, AmbiCom WL-1100C network card, pdaXii13V2

LukeLuke

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 167
    • View Profile
    • http://
Opera7.55 For Oz/opie 3.5.4-rc
« Reply #28 on: July 13, 2006, 06:07:39 pm »
if you launch opera from the konsole, the Z what say?

bye

walts

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 55
    • View Profile
    • http://
Opera7.55 For Oz/opie 3.5.4-rc
« Reply #29 on: July 14, 2006, 08:53:44 am »
Quote
if you launch opera from the konsole, the Z what say?

bye
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=135071\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]

Thanks for the reply.

Running from /home/root (freshly started Konsole) is says

Code: [Select]
opera: symbol lookup error: opera: undefined symbol: _7QString.shared_null

Walt
C-3200, AmbiCom WL-1100C network card, pdaXii13V2