Author Topic: Another Beginner Question ...  (Read 6833 times)

andresgriego

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 48
    • View Profile
Another Beginner Question ...
« on: February 15, 2006, 01:35:15 pm »
2 questions if I may.

1. I just installed zgcc and would like to do a simple 'helloworld' test. Unfortunately, I cannot find how to produce a brace {} with the Zaurus keyboard. Help?

2. In Vi, I hit 'i' to insert a line. But once I have inserted my line, I cannot hit ESC ( no key ) to ':w!' and save my file. Once I have editted a line in Vi, how do I get back to the commands menu to issue a save command?


Thanks guys,

Andres
SL-C3100 "Io"- XScale-PXA270 rev 7
Cacko 1.23 1029311005

bluedevils

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1284
    • View Profile
    • http://
Another Beginner Question ...
« Reply #1 on: February 15, 2006, 02:16:50 pm »
I'm not sure if this applies to all models, but on the 3100 fn+o and fn+p for cury braces.  cancel is the same as escape on all models
« Last Edit: February 15, 2006, 02:17:31 pm by bluedevils »
I'm now an iphone user and use my zaurii as serial terminals, perl and shell scripting and when I need 640x480 screens

sl-c3100/pda cacko 1.23 | sl-6000l/needs battery | sl-c760/server pdaxrom rc12 | Former sl-5500/tkcrom owner (sister's birthday gift)

andresgriego

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 48
    • View Profile
Another Beginner Question ...
« Reply #2 on: February 15, 2006, 02:26:09 pm »
The braces work, those weren't silkscreened onto the keyboard though.

As for Vi, I'll try that later.


Thank you very much for your help.

Andres
SL-C3100 "Io"- XScale-PXA270 rev 7
Cacko 1.23 1029311005

grog

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 692
    • View Profile
    • http://
Another Beginner Question ...
« Reply #3 on: February 15, 2006, 04:09:47 pm »
Use the cancel key in place of escape. HTH
GROG!

andresgriego

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 48
    • View Profile
Another Beginner Question ...
« Reply #4 on: February 15, 2006, 05:24:47 pm »
ok, this is fun. I have 2 more Windowz questions :

1. I would like to concatenate, onto the end of the PATH variable, the path to my gcc executable, which is /mnt/cf/.zgcc/bin/. This way I can call GCC from any location.

2. The tutorial author says I should add to my .bashrc the line : "/home/zaurus/./zgcc.sh" to have it setup environment variables whenever I startup bash. Where is this .bashrc file?

Any takers?



Thanks, I really appreciate this and will help other users when I can.

Andres
SL-C3100 "Io"- XScale-PXA270 rev 7
Cacko 1.23 1029311005

bluedevils

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1284
    • View Profile
    • http://
Another Beginner Question ...
« Reply #5 on: February 15, 2006, 07:33:48 pm »
PATH=$PATH:/mnt/cf/.zgcc/bin/
export PATH

.bashrc is not made by default.  You can create it if it is not there.  It is usually located in the home directory of the user (ie /home/zaurus/.bashrc or /home/root/.bashrc).
« Last Edit: February 15, 2006, 07:34:22 pm by bluedevils »
I'm now an iphone user and use my zaurii as serial terminals, perl and shell scripting and when I need 640x480 screens

sl-c3100/pda cacko 1.23 | sl-6000l/needs battery | sl-c760/server pdaxrom rc12 | Former sl-5500/tkcrom owner (sister's birthday gift)

grog

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 692
    • View Profile
    • http://
Another Beginner Question ...
« Reply #6 on: February 15, 2006, 10:00:51 pm »
Quote
1. I would like to concatenate, onto the end of the PATH variable, the path to my gcc executable, which is /mnt/cf/.zgcc/bin/. This way I can call GCC from any location.

2. The tutorial author says I should add to my .bashrc the line : "/home/zaurus/./zgcc.sh" to have it setup environment variables whenever I startup bash. Where is this .bashrc file?[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=114938\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]
Firstly, are you sure you have bash? What rom are you using? If it _is_ bash, then yes, putting those lines in the .bashrc will work. But variables are more appropriately set in the .profile, which is sourced by (almost) any shell.

Secondly, is your zgcc.sh a shell script? If so, is the line to invoke it precisely

Code: [Select]
/home/zaurus/./zgcc.shor?

Code: [Select]
. /home/zaurus/./zgcc.shThere's a big difference. Only the second form would properly set variables in your current environment.
GROG!

bluedevils

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1284
    • View Profile
    • http://
« Last Edit: February 15, 2006, 11:10:23 pm by bluedevils »
I'm now an iphone user and use my zaurii as serial terminals, perl and shell scripting and when I need 640x480 screens

sl-c3100/pda cacko 1.23 | sl-6000l/needs battery | sl-c760/server pdaxrom rc12 | Former sl-5500/tkcrom owner (sister's birthday gift)