Author Topic: Networking, Updated Rom  (Read 1966 times)

microsoft/linux

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 237
    • View Profile
    • http://
Networking, Updated Rom
« on: March 22, 2006, 08:01:29 pm »
I recently updated to the 3.5.4 GPE image, and my USB networking ceased to work. I reset the usb0 configuration to what it was before, but my computer's still not recognizing it. Suggestions?

I'm running Debian Etch on my laptop.
C3200(exiguitas) Angstrom Beta(version not designated)/GPE
SL-5500(immotus) OpenZaurus 3.5.4/GPE, OpenZaurus 3.5.4/Opie(loopmount)
1GB SD Card
128MB CF Card/8MB CF Card
Gentoo/Windows XP Home SP2

Numbers rule the Universe.
        --The Pythagoreans

Microsoft/Linux

Hrw

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1366
    • View Profile
OpenZaurus 3.5.4x Release Manager
OpenEmbedded, Ångström, Poky developer
My website

Misc embedded hardware.

jan

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 87
    • View Profile
    • http://www.spacezone.de/zaurus/articles/
Networking, Updated Rom
« Reply #2 on: March 25, 2006, 06:27:42 pm »
Quote
https://www.oesf.org/forums/index.php?showtopic=11785
[div align=\"right\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]

Hrw, I appreciate all your work on OZ but this is NOT helpfull.

1. microsoft/linux knows how to set up usbnet in general. The problem lies either in OZ3.5.4 or in GPE. The linked thread is older than 3.5.4 and not GPE specific

2. in [a href=\"https://www.oesf.org/forums/index.php?showtopic=11785&pid=106068]https://www.oesf.org/forums/index.php?showt...1785&pid=106068[/url] lardman says clearly "this is a thread giving details about how to get connections working, not to ask about how to get them working; start a new thread." The thread doesn't seem to answer the problem

3. I had the same problem. While OZ3.5.3/OPIE worked, OZ3.5.4/GPE wouldn't. The solution for me was 'modprobe g_ether' and replug USB, but I'm not going to add this to a How-To unless someone confirms this is the "right way" to do it. For me, it's a bug work around. BTW: What is the USB applet in GPE supposed to do if not make sure that g_ether gets loaded?


jan
« Last Edit: March 25, 2006, 06:49:35 pm by jan »

SL-C860 (Boxer), OZ 3.5.4.1 GPE 2.7
my blog

microsoft/linux

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 237
    • View Profile
    • http://
Networking, Updated Rom
« Reply #3 on: March 26, 2006, 08:37:33 am »
doing modprobe g_ether, is that on the desktop or the Z? Other suggestions?
C3200(exiguitas) Angstrom Beta(version not designated)/GPE
SL-5500(immotus) OpenZaurus 3.5.4/GPE, OpenZaurus 3.5.4/Opie(loopmount)
1GB SD Card
128MB CF Card/8MB CF Card
Gentoo/Windows XP Home SP2

Numbers rule the Universe.
        --The Pythagoreans

Microsoft/Linux

Hrw

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1366
    • View Profile
Networking, Updated Rom
« Reply #4 on: March 27, 2006, 02:06:36 am »
modprobe g_ether on Zaurus/2.6
modprobe usbnet on desktop

jan: Oz 3.5.3 was released with 2.6.11 for c7x0 - nothing changed since that release when it comes to usb networking on Zaurus side - 2.4.18 machines still has the same modules, 2.6 powered machines still has the same modules names - thats why I send to 'usb networking' thread. People often create new threads without checking others.
OpenZaurus 3.5.4x Release Manager
OpenEmbedded, Ångström, Poky developer
My website

Misc embedded hardware.

lardman

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4512
    • View Profile
    • http://people.bath.ac.uk/enpsgp/Zaurus/
Networking, Updated Rom
« Reply #5 on: March 27, 2006, 03:45:31 am »
Quote
modprobe g_ether on Zaurus/2.6

Note that this is only for the 2.6.x kernel machines.

For the 5500, things are just as they used to be (though some scripts may have changed which might explain some troubles - I don't know) and you should base your settings on any of those listed in the HowTo (https://www.oesf.org/forums/index.php?showtopic=11785&pid=106068) for the 5500.

Cheers,


Si
C750 OZ3.5.4 (GPE, 2.6.x kernel)
SL5500 OZ3.5.4 (Opie)
Nokia 770
Serial GPS, WCF-12, Socket Ethernet & BT, Ratoc USB
WinXP, Mandriva