Author Topic: Pdax And Gps Navigation  (Read 6034 times)

Vyacheslav Dikonov

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
    • View Profile
Pdax And Gps Navigation
« on: August 18, 2006, 10:02:05 am »
I am currently a C1000/Cacko user and I want to select the best ROM for GPS navigation with raster maps.

The reason why I want to switch is Qtopia. I just hate its lack of features and incompatibility with my desktop apps. To my dismay it is required by qpegps, which seems to be the only sane raster navigation app for Zaurus. http://qpegps.sourceforge.net/

What is really good in Cacko  
1 it supports my 4Gb SD
2 it supports my Socket bluetooth card, bluetooth GPS and phone (with GUI)
3 it gives excellent control over power-saving features:
   - downclocking is done with two clicks
   - automatic suspend and screen-off is easily configurable
   - autosuspend is automatically disabled if GPS app is on
   - the screen is turned off when folded
   - brightness control works well
This gives me about 12-13 hours of continuous track logging and instant map access on a single EA-BL11 battery.

Can current pdaXrom provide these 1-2-3 points?
Can any other X-based ROM be better in terms of longer battery life?
Is it possible to run qpegps in pdaXrom without perceivable performance loss?
This app loads large raster images and needs a lot of memory and a fullscreen mode to run properly.

Vyacheslav Dikonov

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
    • View Profile
Pdax And Gps Navigation
« Reply #1 on: August 18, 2006, 10:20:23 am »
Some of you might ask why I still want to keep a qtopia-bound app. The answer is - it is a life saver when you are far from home.

I do know that there is an analog of qpegps for X called gpsdrive. Unfortunately it is severely handicapped by design.  It refuses to load images larger than 1280x1024 and it does not support  any standard map projections. All it offers is an exotic one-point method to find coordinates. As a result it is next to impossible to get it to navigate a proper topographic map needed for hiking and biking.  GPSdrive can only use internet maps which show nothing but useless empty grey spaces outside of major cities.
« Last Edit: August 18, 2006, 10:29:18 am by Vyacheslav Dikonov »

Bundabrg

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 183
    • View Profile
Pdax And Gps Navigation
« Reply #2 on: August 18, 2006, 10:39:07 am »
I've been toying with gpsdrive, and admittedly I'm extremely new to GPS and equiv software ;-). However I have to admit that gpsdrive is limited in some ways, but the fact I can use googlemaps to download sat images, gov_au to download much closer detail images means I have good images even outside of town (ok, sat images are not great to navigate by but it looks cool).

I suspect though that anything called 'qpe'-blah requires qtopia or opie which may be difficult if not impossible to run under X.
[img]http://www.worldguard.com.au/brendan-ambi.png\" border=\"0\" class=\"linked-sig-image\" /]

louigi600

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 471
    • View Profile
Pdax And Gps Navigation
« Reply #3 on: December 27, 2006, 06:51:37 am »
Has anyone ever tryied position as a navigation software ?
I've hardly any experience on GPS ... is the NMEA protocol the one that gpsd can also understand ?
Regards
David

SL-c760*  pdaXrom latest
SL-c860    pdaXrom latest ;-)
SL-c1000  pdaXrom Latest
Acer Aspire One running slackware and Clash
Toshiba AC100 running ARMedslack and Clash

*with some hardware problems but good for testing

koen

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1008
    • View Profile
    • http://dominion.thruhere.net/koen/cms/
Pdax And Gps Navigation
« Reply #4 on: December 27, 2006, 12:08:58 pm »
Quote
Some of you might ask why I still want to keep a qtopia-bound app. The answer is - it is a life saver when you are far from home.

I do know that there is an analog of qpegps for X called gpsdrive. Unfortunately it is severely handicapped by design.  It refuses to load images larger than 1280x1024 and it does not support  any standard map projections. All it offers is an exotic one-point method to find coordinates. As a result it is next to impossible to get it to navigate a proper topographic map needed for hiking and biking.  GPSdrive can only use internet maps which show nothing but useless empty grey spaces outside of major cities.
[div align=\"right\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]

try maemo-mapper(-nohildon), it's great. It even supports navigation using gpx files and flite. You can find packages for Ångström at [a href=\"http://www.angstrom-distribution.org/repo/?action=details&pnm=maemo-mapper-nohildon]http://www.angstrom-distribution.org/repo/...mapper-nohildon[/url]
« Last Edit: December 27, 2006, 12:11:09 pm by koen »
Forums are not bugtrackers!!! Smart questions
Ångström release team
iPAQ h2210, iPAQ h5550, iPAQ hx4700, Zaurus SL-C700, Nokia 770, all running some form of GPE
My blog

BarryW

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 690
    • View Profile
    • http://
Pdax And Gps Navigation
« Reply #5 on: December 27, 2006, 07:36:53 pm »
Hey Koen, does Angstrom support the 3000 series Z's yet?
What's this button do??

C3100
Distro changes almost weekly...

C3200
Distro also changes almost weekly...  :)

Hardware hacks and stuff.

koen

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1008
    • View Profile
    • http://dominion.thruhere.net/koen/cms/
Pdax And Gps Navigation
« Reply #6 on: December 28, 2006, 03:39:31 am »
Quote
Hey Koen, does Angstrom support the 3000 series Z's yet?
[div align=\"right\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]

Sure, they are even better supported than c7x0 models since they don't boot from flash and hence [a href=\"http://bugs.openembedded.org/show_bug.cgi?id=1684]http://bugs.openembedded.org/show_bug.cgi?id=1684[/url] doesn't happen

All needed files should be in http://www.angstrom-distribution.org/unsta...20061219/spitz/
« Last Edit: December 28, 2006, 03:43:25 am by koen »
Forums are not bugtrackers!!! Smart questions
Ångström release team
iPAQ h2210, iPAQ h5550, iPAQ hx4700, Zaurus SL-C700, Nokia 770, all running some form of GPE
My blog

louigi600

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 471
    • View Profile
Pdax And Gps Navigation
« Reply #7 on: December 28, 2006, 08:37:56 am »
Tomtom hardware is arm based and runs linux ...
see http://www.tomtom.com/page.php?Page=gpl
I wonder if anyone will ever hack that for the zaurus ?
Regards
David

SL-c760*  pdaXrom latest
SL-c860    pdaXrom latest ;-)
SL-c1000  pdaXrom Latest
Acer Aspire One running slackware and Clash
Toshiba AC100 running ARMedslack and Clash

*with some hardware problems but good for testing

koen

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1008
    • View Profile
    • http://dominion.thruhere.net/koen/cms/
Pdax And Gps Navigation
« Reply #8 on: December 28, 2006, 10:04:37 am »
Quote
Tomtom hardware is arm based and runs linux ...
see http://www.tomtom.com/page.php?Page=gpl
I wonder if anyone will ever hack that for the zaurus ?
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=149311\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]

The navigator itself isn't opensource, so trying to get that to work is a dead end.
Forums are not bugtrackers!!! Smart questions
Ångström release team
iPAQ h2210, iPAQ h5550, iPAQ hx4700, Zaurus SL-C700, Nokia 770, all running some form of GPE
My blog

harvell

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 241
    • View Profile
    • http://
Pdax And Gps Navigation
« Reply #9 on: December 28, 2006, 11:39:54 am »
Quote
Tomtom hardware is arm based and runs linux ...
see http://www.tomtom.com/page.php?Page=gpl
I wonder if anyone will ever hack that for the zaurus ?
[div align=\"right\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]


These guys are coming up with something close.  

[a href=\"https://www.oesf.org/forums/index.php?showtopic=16826&hl=opentom]https://www.oesf.org/forums/index.php?showt...6826&hl=opentom[/url]
C1000 w/...  Cacko Lite (When I use the Z alot for business)... pdaXrom (when I see something cool and want to try it.  Best way for me to learn shell commands)
Eee PC for Mrs. Harvell  
4G SD

BarryW

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 690
    • View Profile
    • http://
Pdax And Gps Navigation
« Reply #10 on: December 29, 2006, 03:36:16 am »
Quote
Quote
Hey Koen, does Angstrom support the 3000 series Z's yet?
[div align=\"right\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]

Sure, they are even better supported than c7x0 models since they don't boot from flash and hence [a href=\"http://bugs.openembedded.org/show_bug.cgi?id=1684]http://bugs.openembedded.org/show_bug.cgi?id=1684[/url] doesn't happen

All needed files should be in http://www.angstrom-distribution.org/unsta...20061219/spitz/
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=149293\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]


Sweet, like I didn't have enough projects for this weekend!  I just got a 23" rack from work that they replaced with a standard 19" one.  I don't have any rack mount equipment at the moment so it's not a big deal.  Got a bunch of shelves for it too.  I can finally get rid of the crappy plastic shelving unit that I've been using to hold all the network gear.
What's this button do??

C3100
Distro changes almost weekly...

C3200
Distro also changes almost weekly...  :)

Hardware hacks and stuff.

louigi600

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 471
    • View Profile
Pdax And Gps Navigation
« Reply #11 on: December 29, 2006, 05:47:41 am »
Quote
Quote
Tomtom hardware is arm based and runs linux ...
see http://www.tomtom.com/page.php?Page=gpl
I wonder if anyone will ever hack that for the zaurus ?
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=149311\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]

The navigator itself isn't opensource, so trying to get that to work is a dead end.
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=149319\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]

Why on earth are you so hostile to tomtom on Zaurus.
I see that you have contributed to another thread where they already had some success on running tomtom on Zaurus.
Actually your last contribution on the thread was "Oct 17 2006, 07:14 PM" where there were hackers working already to ALSO get sound working.
As far as I understand tomtom now works on the OZ but not pdaXrom dew to soft float problems that your reported .
See the thread Harvell suggests above for an intresting run on what's going on.
Regards
David

SL-c760*  pdaXrom latest
SL-c860    pdaXrom latest ;-)
SL-c1000  pdaXrom Latest
Acer Aspire One running slackware and Clash
Toshiba AC100 running ARMedslack and Clash

*with some hardware problems but good for testing

koen

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1008
    • View Profile
    • http://dominion.thruhere.net/koen/cms/
Pdax And Gps Navigation
« Reply #12 on: December 29, 2006, 06:41:37 am »
Quote
Quote
Quote
Tomtom hardware is arm based and runs linux ...
see http://www.tomtom.com/page.php?Page=gpl
I wonder if anyone will ever hack that for the zaurus ?
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=149311\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]

The navigator itself isn't opensource, so trying to get that to work is a dead end.
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=149319\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]

Why on earth are you so hostile to tomtom on Zaurus.

[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=149429\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]

Maybe I wasn't clear enough: The navigator itself isn't opensource, so trying to get that to work is a dead end.
Forums are not bugtrackers!!! Smart questions
Ångström release team
iPAQ h2210, iPAQ h5550, iPAQ hx4700, Zaurus SL-C700, Nokia 770, all running some form of GPE
My blog

louigi600

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 471
    • View Profile
Pdax And Gps Navigation
« Reply #13 on: December 29, 2006, 06:52:44 am »
Quote
Maybe I wasn't clear enough: The navigator itself isn't opensource, so trying to get that to work is a dead end.
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=149433\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]

But correct me if I'm wrong:
If you buy even a broken tomtom with a valid activation key there are people that have got it working on OZ.
Regards
David

SL-c760*  pdaXrom latest
SL-c860    pdaXrom latest ;-)
SL-c1000  pdaXrom Latest
Acer Aspire One running slackware and Clash
Toshiba AC100 running ARMedslack and Clash

*with some hardware problems but good for testing

BarryW

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 690
    • View Profile
    • http://
Pdax And Gps Navigation
« Reply #14 on: December 29, 2006, 10:50:04 am »
Quote
Quote
Maybe I wasn't clear enough: The navigator itself isn't opensource, so trying to get that to work is a dead end.
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=149433\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]

But correct me if I'm wrong:
If you buy even a broken tomtom with a valid activation key there are people that have got it working on OZ.
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=149435\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]


So you'll still have to buy a broken tom-tom.  If you have to buy one to get the software to work, what's the point?  Other than the cool factor, if I have to buy one to get the software to work, I'll use the tom for navigation.
What's this button do??

C3100
Distro changes almost weekly...

C3200
Distro also changes almost weekly...  :)

Hardware hacks and stuff.