Author Topic: C3200 Has Constrain On Battery?  (Read 9736 times)

chyang

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 270
    • View Profile
    • http://mail.ustc.edu.cn/~chyang/
C3200 Has Constrain On Battery?
« on: September 03, 2006, 11:22:30 pm »
I bought 2 compatiable batteries EA-BL08 from http://store.l-f-l.com, and the result is they cannot be used in my newly bought C3200. When it is plugged, the LED will blink, and refuse to work in the PDA. I then charged it in my spare charger. Even after the batteries are fully charged, the PDA refused to work with it.
I then bought another one in China, the factory are building compatible batteries for Sharp's PDAs, also the same type: EA-BL08, but it cannot work with C3200 either.
Has anyone heard of the constrain? I don't know whether it is the problem of the battery or the constrain of C3200. Has anyone successfully used compatible batteries(EA-BL08) with C3200?
Thanks.
--
 Chen
SL-C3200+Symbol CF WIFI+Corsair 2GB SD
SL-5500+Sharp-3.13 ROM+Viking 512MB CF+Kinston 256MB SD
[img]http://sunsetyang.googlepages.com/c3200.gif\" border=\"0\" class=\"linked-sig-image\" /][img]http://sunsetyang.googlepages.com/5500.gif\" border=\"0\" class=\"linked-sig-image\" /]
Socket CF Bluetooth + EagleTec CF Lan Card + EagleTec CF Modem
Histroy:
[SL-C3000 Cacko 1.23 Beta 1] Sold on 2006/07/27
MA701 CF WIFI + EagleTec CF Bluetooth + D-Link DCF-660W WIFI
[SL5500+Sharp-3.13 ROM+SimpleTech 64MB CF+Hagiwara 128MB SD] Lost on 18,March,04

TRIsoft

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 332
    • View Profile
    • http://www.trisoft.de
C3200 Has Constrain On Battery?
« Reply #1 on: September 04, 2006, 04:06:44 am »
Hi Chen,

we had a lot of reports from customers that some fake batteries
won't work with the SL-C1x00/3x00 series. So we can confirm
that they're not compatible for these Zauri (behaviour of these
batteries is the same like yours).

But we can confirm that the Rowa batteries (the EA-BL11 type)
works with the new Zauri.

With all the news about the Sony batteries in Dell and Apple
laptops in mind, we would strongly recommend not to use
batteries from unknown companies. Just a hint.

///TRIsoft

Marc Stephan

chyang

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 270
    • View Profile
    • http://mail.ustc.edu.cn/~chyang/
C3200 Has Constrain On Battery?
« Reply #2 on: September 04, 2006, 04:16:27 am »
hi, Marc:
   Thank you very much for your valuable information. I will try to return it if possible.
--
 Chen
SL-C3200+Symbol CF WIFI+Corsair 2GB SD
SL-5500+Sharp-3.13 ROM+Viking 512MB CF+Kinston 256MB SD
[img]http://sunsetyang.googlepages.com/c3200.gif\" border=\"0\" class=\"linked-sig-image\" /][img]http://sunsetyang.googlepages.com/5500.gif\" border=\"0\" class=\"linked-sig-image\" /]
Socket CF Bluetooth + EagleTec CF Lan Card + EagleTec CF Modem
Histroy:
[SL-C3000 Cacko 1.23 Beta 1] Sold on 2006/07/27
MA701 CF WIFI + EagleTec CF Bluetooth + D-Link DCF-660W WIFI
[SL5500+Sharp-3.13 ROM+SimpleTech 64MB CF+Hagiwara 128MB SD] Lost on 18,March,04

ezeerb

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 14
    • View Profile
    • http://
C3200 Has Constrain On Battery?
« Reply #3 on: September 04, 2006, 09:28:41 pm »
Quote
hi, Marc:
   Thank you very much for your valuable information. I will try to return it if possible.
--
 Chen
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=140644\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]
I bought one also (Cameron Sino - 2000mA).  It didn't work in the 3100.  However, when I checked it with a tester it had adequate power.

Suspecting lack of connection (the flashing ws the same as with no battery installed) I folded some aluminum foil and placed it in the three conneting points.  It worked, but I knew that was a DANGEROUS solution. I was at risk of the foil coming out, shorting, fire, etc.  

Plan B: I took a pocket knife and carved away a little of the plastic from the bottom side of each point of connection (keyboard side of the battery).  I just removed some of the sharp edge.  With that modification it made positive connection and no more flashing light.  The battery seems to work great so far.

mark
SL-C3100 Sharp Rom with Tetsu's Rom upgrade
SD 4gb 150x
CF 8gb 150x
A music player with equalizer for ogg would be nice too.  Ideas anyone?

chyang

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 270
    • View Profile
    • http://mail.ustc.edu.cn/~chyang/
C3200 Has Constrain On Battery?
« Reply #4 on: September 04, 2006, 09:58:17 pm »
Thanks Mark, you shine a new light on my poor batteries.
I have also tested with a multimetre, the voltage is high enough to power the Z. I also suspected the connection, I scraped the connection point with some knife to remove the oxidation stuff, but I haven't noticed it cannot touch the connector of the Z.
I will have a try later.
Thank you very much!
--
 Chen
SL-C3200+Symbol CF WIFI+Corsair 2GB SD
SL-5500+Sharp-3.13 ROM+Viking 512MB CF+Kinston 256MB SD
[img]http://sunsetyang.googlepages.com/c3200.gif\" border=\"0\" class=\"linked-sig-image\" /][img]http://sunsetyang.googlepages.com/5500.gif\" border=\"0\" class=\"linked-sig-image\" /]
Socket CF Bluetooth + EagleTec CF Lan Card + EagleTec CF Modem
Histroy:
[SL-C3000 Cacko 1.23 Beta 1] Sold on 2006/07/27
MA701 CF WIFI + EagleTec CF Bluetooth + D-Link DCF-660W WIFI
[SL5500+Sharp-3.13 ROM+SimpleTech 64MB CF+Hagiwara 128MB SD] Lost on 18,March,04

chyang

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 270
    • View Profile
    • http://mail.ustc.edu.cn/~chyang/
C3200 Has Constrain On Battery?
« Reply #5 on: September 06, 2006, 01:47:10 am »
hi, Mark, your approach works. I carved a little and placed it in the PDA, it doesn't work. So I carved a little more, and now it is working in my PDA.
Thank you very much!
--
 Chen
SL-C3200+Symbol CF WIFI+Corsair 2GB SD
SL-5500+Sharp-3.13 ROM+Viking 512MB CF+Kinston 256MB SD
[img]http://sunsetyang.googlepages.com/c3200.gif\" border=\"0\" class=\"linked-sig-image\" /][img]http://sunsetyang.googlepages.com/5500.gif\" border=\"0\" class=\"linked-sig-image\" /]
Socket CF Bluetooth + EagleTec CF Lan Card + EagleTec CF Modem
Histroy:
[SL-C3000 Cacko 1.23 Beta 1] Sold on 2006/07/27
MA701 CF WIFI + EagleTec CF Bluetooth + D-Link DCF-660W WIFI
[SL5500+Sharp-3.13 ROM+SimpleTech 64MB CF+Hagiwara 128MB SD] Lost on 18,March,04

ezeerb

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 14
    • View Profile
    • http://
C3200 Has Constrain On Battery?
« Reply #6 on: September 06, 2006, 08:29:17 pm »
Quote
hi, Mark, your approach works. I carved a little and placed it in the PDA, it doesn't work. So I carved a little more, and now it is working in my PDA.
Thank you very much!
--
 Chen
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=140818\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]
You are most welcome.  I hope others get the message as well.  It is a SIMPLE fix once you know what is going on.

These fake batteries may be just as good as those from unknown companies (ex. Dell and Apple who used batteries from unknown companies like Sony & now Panasonic).  

-mark-
« Last Edit: September 06, 2006, 08:29:56 pm by ezeerb »
SL-C3100 Sharp Rom with Tetsu's Rom upgrade
SD 4gb 150x
CF 8gb 150x
A music player with equalizer for ogg would be nice too.  Ideas anyone?

Da_Blitz

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1579
    • View Profile
    • http://www.pocketnix.org
C3200 Has Constrain On Battery?
« Reply #7 on: September 09, 2006, 02:15:40 am »
i am inclined to belive that the problem isnt with third party battries on the dell and apples (as they wernt third party) but that it is due to heat being acumulated near the battery

as we all know lithium is one of the most highly reactive elements known to man (potasium bieng first) and is never found in its pure form because of this. even heating slightly is a bad idea and it dosent supprise me that when a processor that can pump up to 60W is next to a mass of highly volitile chemicles that thier would be a tendency to explode

the saftey features in litium battries do not extend to overheating as far as i am aware as it is next to imposible to prevent against it. stoping the thing from charging will only work (thats the normal protcection) will only work if the battery is the source of the heat.
Personal Blog
Code
Twitter

Gemini Order: #95 (roughly)
Current Device: Samsung Chromebook Gen 3
Current Arm Devices Count: ~30
Looking to acquire: Cavium Thunder X2 Hardware

daniel3000

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1003
    • View Profile
    • http://
C3200 Has Constrain On Battery?
« Reply #8 on: November 06, 2006, 06:47:32 am »
Quote
Suspecting lack of connection (the flashing ws the same as with no battery installed) I folded some aluminum foil and placed it in the three conneting points.  It worked, but I knew that was a DANGEROUS solution. I was at risk of the foil coming out, shorting, fire, etc. 

Plan B: I took a pocket knife and carved away a little of the plastic from the bottom side of each point of connection (keyboard side of the battery).  I just removed some of the sharp edge.  With that modification it made positive connection and no more flashing light.  The battery seems to work great so far.

mark
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=140711\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]

I had a battery with similar behaviour. What I did: I just flowed some soldering tin onto the pads (be careful not to heaten up the contacts too much!).
That made them a little thicker and now they have contact.
Works great so far.
But as always: Do it at your own risk!

daniel
SL-C3200 with weeXpc, based on pdaXrom 1.1.0beta3
HP 200LX with MS-DOS 5.0

daniel3000

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1003
    • View Profile
    • http://
C3200 Has Constrain On Battery?
« Reply #9 on: November 06, 2006, 06:49:45 am »
Quote
i am inclined to belive that the problem isnt with third party battries on the dell and apples (as they wernt third party) but that it is due to heat being acumulated near the battery

[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=141016\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]

I have just read in a magazine that the Sony cells of these battries had a failure in production: Small metal parts got between the Lithium and the other electrode which caused an internal short-circuit and thus internal overheating.

daniel
SL-C3200 with weeXpc, based on pdaXrom 1.1.0beta3
HP 200LX with MS-DOS 5.0

Blake

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
    • View Profile
    • http://
C3200 Has Constrain On Battery?
« Reply #10 on: February 08, 2008, 04:27:05 pm »
Unbelievable! Works like a charm. Took about 3 minutes.

Thanks so much for this.

Now I'm going to do some battery life tests before and after replacing the microdrive with flash.

jocasmi

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 99
    • View Profile
    • http://
C3200 Has Constrain On Battery?
« Reply #11 on: February 10, 2008, 08:44:03 am »
I bought two extra li-ion  batteries from ebay for my collie. They were from China, but under their brand adhesive it was written that they were made in Japan.
They work well,  like the original sharp and the prize is smaller.

Ref. Replacement for EA-BL08     Made in China       4222001XA   3.7V  1100mAh

Another globalization issue.

Greets.
SL-C3200 Sharp Rom, Meanie's X/QT and Pocket Workstation
Wifi Linksys WCF12, SD 1GB Kingston (Ellite Pro)

SL-5500S Cacko Crow 30/30 home on SD
SD 1GB Kingston (the good one)
CF 1GB Kingston


Juanjo Santiso
Barcelona
EU