Author Topic: Does Eclipse Run On The Zaurus?  (Read 2251 times)

Capn_Fish

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2342
    • View Profile
    • http://
Does Eclipse Run On The Zaurus?
« on: October 18, 2006, 05:22:05 pm »
I was wondering if Eclipse would run on the zaurus. It is a java program, unless I'm mistaken, so it should be cross-platform. Has anybody had any experience with this?

Thanks!
« Last Edit: October 18, 2006, 05:22:27 pm by Capn_Fish »
SL-C750- pdaXrom beta 1 (mostly unused)
Current distro: Gentoo

anunakin

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 340
    • View Profile
    • http://vivaphp.net
Does Eclipse Run On The Zaurus?
« Reply #1 on: October 18, 2006, 07:11:31 pm »
Quote
I was wondering if Eclipse would run on the zaurus. It is a java program, unless I'm mistaken, so it should be cross-platform. Has anybody had any experience with this?

Thanks!
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=144308\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]

This requires java 1.4 or later and uses 300MB of RAM! there is not java 1.4 for arm... only 1.3
[img]http://www.vivaphp.net/imagens/rev2.jpg\" border=\"0\" class=\"linked-sig-image\" /]
Anunakin (Marcus Fazzi)

Nokia N900 32GB + microSD 2GB
Nokia N810 w/ microSD 8GB
Nokia 5310 XpressMusic w/ microSD 1GB
HP48GX->Psion Sienna->Palm m130->Tungsten T->Zaurus SL-5500->C3000->C3100 ALL SOLD

My FEED(On Line AGAIN!!!)

Capn_Fish

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2342
    • View Profile
    • http://
Does Eclipse Run On The Zaurus?
« Reply #2 on: October 18, 2006, 07:33:26 pm »
I guess that would account for me not hearing about it.

Thanks for answering my question.
SL-C750- pdaXrom beta 1 (mostly unused)
Current distro: Gentoo

Darth_Sith

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 128
    • View Profile
Does Eclipse Run On The Zaurus?
« Reply #3 on: October 21, 2006, 04:59:46 am »
Swing apps use floating point, and arm cpu hasn't it. So they are so slow...
Try jvider. it's a simple app for gui creation. See how it's slow, then think how will be slow netbeans or eclipse (on my p3 650mhz netbeans doesn't work!).

SL-C1000 + cacko 1.23F + sd4GB + CFBT + CFWiFi
HTC Polaris