Author Topic: CF problem with C760?  (Read 2472 times)

mizzle

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 53
    • View Profile
    • http://
CF problem with C760?
« on: October 01, 2003, 12:13:35 pm »
Hi, I\'ve been playing around with my new C760 for a few days but it seems like it has trouble seeing my CF memory cards. It has no problem using my D-Link CF wireless card, it does show the CF icon on the taskbar if I inserted a CF memory card but I wouldn\'t be able to see it under the Files tab (SD works fine). It also fails to see the CF memory card if I try to ROM flash the C760...it works with SD card. I tried reformatting my CF memory card (I have two and I tried both...and they worked on my 5000D before) but that didn\'t help. The fact that the wireless card works seems to suggest the CF slot is kinda working. Has anyone seen this behavior? Could this be just a bad device driver that I can fix at the software level? Help!

mizzle

aiharper

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 20
    • View Profile
    • http://
CF problem with C760?
« Reply #1 on: October 01, 2003, 08:23:58 pm »
Sorry, Dude (Dudette?), but I\'ve had no problems with CF memory cards on mine up to 1GB. I\'m currently using a 256MB.  I haven\'t tried a WiFi card tho...maybe that won\'t work on mine! (Hahaha)

Pat

offroadgeek

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1419
    • View Profile
    • https://www.oesf.org
CF problem with C760?
« Reply #2 on: October 01, 2003, 10:32:32 pm »
I also haven\'t experienced any troubles with any CF cards, either wifi or memory cards.  I have (as my siggy shows) a 1gb SanDisk CF, and a 256mb SanDisk CF... both worked fine in my 760 formatted as ext2 and fat.

good luck!

offroadgeek
Search the OESF Wiki
C1000 w/Cacko 1.23 beta (from Streamline) / 760 pdaxrom rc9 / 6000L (thanks Santa's elf!) / 5500 - OZ 3.3.5 / SIMpad SL4
1GB, 256mb SanDisk CF / 2x 1GB, 512mb, 256mb, 128mb SanDisk SD
Ambicom WL100C-CF wifi / Socket 56k CF modem / AmbiCom BT2000-CF (x2)
Pocketop keyboard, Piel Frama case (1000 & 5500), PDAir case (760 & 1000)
sip:536093@fwd.pulver.com
| OESF | ELSI | Zaurus User Group | ZaurusThemes |

mizzle

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 53
    • View Profile
    • http://
CF problem with C760?
« Reply #3 on: October 01, 2003, 11:47:44 pm »
sigh! I\'ve sent TheKompany.com an email asking what I should try next (I purchased the unit from them), I guess it\'s likely I will have to send this one back

mizzle

offroadgeek

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1419
    • View Profile
    • https://www.oesf.org
CF problem with C760?
« Reply #4 on: October 01, 2003, 11:58:17 pm »
that sucks!  I just got an email today from dynamism... my 760 is finally back from Japan and is on it\'s way home...  I sent it to dynamism on 9/3.

hopefully your\'s won\'t take as long to get fixed...
Search the OESF Wiki
C1000 w/Cacko 1.23 beta (from Streamline) / 760 pdaxrom rc9 / 6000L (thanks Santa's elf!) / 5500 - OZ 3.3.5 / SIMpad SL4
1GB, 256mb SanDisk CF / 2x 1GB, 512mb, 256mb, 128mb SanDisk SD
Ambicom WL100C-CF wifi / Socket 56k CF modem / AmbiCom BT2000-CF (x2)
Pocketop keyboard, Piel Frama case (1000 & 5500), PDAir case (760 & 1000)
sip:536093@fwd.pulver.com
| OESF | ELSI | Zaurus User Group | ZaurusThemes |

Anonymous

  • Guest
CF problem with C760?
« Reply #5 on: October 02, 2003, 11:30:24 am »
I had similar problems with a microdrive, but it turned out that the battery was low.  When the battery is low you might get some freakiness.

Anonymous

  • Guest
CF problem with C760?
« Reply #6 on: October 02, 2003, 11:31:22 am »
solution: see if it persists with the power adapter attached

mizzle

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 53
    • View Profile
    • http://
CF problem with C760?
« Reply #7 on: October 02, 2003, 11:37:00 am »
I have been testing it with power adapter attached, no luck

mizzle

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 53
    • View Profile
    • http://
CF problem with C760?
« Reply #8 on: October 03, 2003, 09:45:42 am »
Problem solved!! It\'s the CF card afterall! I\'ve three CF memory cards: Sandisk 64MB, Lexar 128MB and a Viking 128MB. I had been testing the C760 with the Sandisk and Lexar (both formatted FAT16 via my laptop\'s PCMCIA slot) and the C760 had trouble seeing both of them. Finally this morning I took the Viking out of my Camera and put it in the C760 and it works!!!

Anonymous

  • Guest
CF problem with C760?
« Reply #9 on: October 03, 2003, 10:23:13 am »
so you\'re going to reformat the others using the 760?  Tell me if that works.

offroadgeek

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1419
    • View Profile
    • https://www.oesf.org
CF problem with C760?
« Reply #10 on: October 03, 2003, 11:40:17 am »
That\'s funny... I just formatting my 1gb SanDisk CF card via my win2k laptop and a pcmcia adapter (quick format actually), moved about 400mb of files onto the card via the laptop, then used it in the  760... worked fine.
Search the OESF Wiki
C1000 w/Cacko 1.23 beta (from Streamline) / 760 pdaxrom rc9 / 6000L (thanks Santa's elf!) / 5500 - OZ 3.3.5 / SIMpad SL4
1GB, 256mb SanDisk CF / 2x 1GB, 512mb, 256mb, 128mb SanDisk SD
Ambicom WL100C-CF wifi / Socket 56k CF modem / AmbiCom BT2000-CF (x2)
Pocketop keyboard, Piel Frama case (1000 & 5500), PDAir case (760 & 1000)
sip:536093@fwd.pulver.com
| OESF | ELSI | Zaurus User Group | ZaurusThemes |

mizzle

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 53
    • View Profile
    • http://
CF problem with C760?
« Reply #11 on: October 03, 2003, 10:45:56 pm »
This is getting strange. I reformatted the two CF memory cards (SanDisk and Viking) with my Canon digital camera (it\'s a S40) and now the C760 recognizes them!! So there must be something different in how my Thinkpad (T30 running W2K) formats the CF cards (via a Viking CF-]PCMCIA adapter) in FAT16 mode vs. how the canon camera formats the cards. Whatever it\'s, the canon camera seems to be doing something right!

mizzle