Author Topic: Prelinking?  (Read 2553 times)

adf

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2807
    • View Profile
    • http://
Prelinking?
« on: February 01, 2007, 12:44:53 am »
Do we use prelink anywhere in pdax? out we to?  CAN we?  would it help, for example firefox load times?  

I ask because I was wandering through the ubuntu forums and someone had mentioned a reasl boost loding Gimp.  seemed logical to loook again for the Z
**3100 Zubuntu Jaunty,(working on Cacko dualboot), 16G A-Data internal CF, 4G SD, Ambicom WL-1100C Cf, linksys usb ethernet,  BelkinF8T020 BT card, Belkin F8U1500-E Ir kbd, mini targus usb mouse, rechargeble AC/DC powered USB hub, psp cables and battery extenders.

**6000l  Tetsuized Sharprom, installed on internal flash only 1G sd, 2G cf

Meanie

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2803
    • View Profile
    • http://www.users.on.net/~hluc/myZaurus/
Prelinking?
« Reply #1 on: February 01, 2007, 12:47:50 am »
Quote
Do we use prelink anywhere in pdax? out we to?  CAN we?  would it help, for example firefox load times? 

I ask because I was wandering through the ubuntu forums and someone had mentioned a reasl boost loding Gimp.  seemed logical to loook again for the Z
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=153158\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]

afaik, prelinking uses more memory which is something the Z does not have in abundance....
SL-C3000 - pdaXii13 build5.4.9 (based on pdaXrom beta3) / SL-C3100 - Sharp ROM 1.02 JP (heavily customised)
Netgear MA701 CF, SanDisk ConnectPlus CF, Socket Bluetooth CF, 4GB Kingston CF,  4GB pqi SD, 4GB ChoiceOnly SD, 2GB SanDisk SD USB Plus, 1GB SanDisk USB Plus, 1GB Transcend SD, 2GB SanDisk MicroSD with SD adaptor, Piel Frama Leather Case, GoldX 5-in-1 USB cable, USB hub, USB mouse, USB keyboard, USB ethernet, USB HDD, many other USB accessories...
(Zaurus SL-C3000 owner since March 14. 2005, Zaurus SL-C3100 owner since September 21. 2005)
http://members.iinet.net.au/~wyso/myZaurus - zBook3K

adf

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2807
    • View Profile
    • http://
Prelinking?
« Reply #2 on: February 01, 2007, 04:00:57 am »
ah. I thought that maybe all the  sequential library loading was worse.
still, iguess faster loads in' the same as better perormance
**3100 Zubuntu Jaunty,(working on Cacko dualboot), 16G A-Data internal CF, 4G SD, Ambicom WL-1100C Cf, linksys usb ethernet,  BelkinF8T020 BT card, Belkin F8U1500-E Ir kbd, mini targus usb mouse, rechargeble AC/DC powered USB hub, psp cables and battery extenders.

**6000l  Tetsuized Sharprom, installed on internal flash only 1G sd, 2G cf

Snappy

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 793
    • View Profile
    • http://
Prelinking?
« Reply #3 on: February 01, 2007, 09:45:08 am »
Quote
ah. I thought that maybe all the  sequential library loading was worse.
still, iguess faster loads in' the same as better perormance
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=153174\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]

Assuming prelinking is the same as preloading in Cacko, it does help to speed things up ... a lot! ... The downside is that the bootup sequence is slowed down by several seconds to minutes, depending on what and how much stuffs you preload.

Maybe preloading can be done only for the first run of the app, instead of at boot time. That way, app runs are only slow the first time after you boot, while the boottime itself is not so affected.
Snappy!
------------------------
Akita (Daily use)
<span style='font-size:8pt;line-height:100%'>SL-C1000 with Cacko 1.23 full
Accessories: Wifi XI-825 CF  |  16GB (6) SDHC (Transcend) | 1GB 80x CF (RiDATA PRO-2) </span>

Collie (Sandbox)
<span style='font-size:8pt;line-height:100%'>SL-5500 with OZ/GPE 3.5.4.1 alpha3 build 2006-04-27
Accessories: 512MB A-Data SD | 64MB Toshiba SD</span>

koen

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1008
    • View Profile
    • http://dominion.thruhere.net/koen/cms/
Prelinking?
« Reply #4 on: February 01, 2007, 02:12:27 pm »
Quote
Do we use prelink anywhere in pdax? out we to?  CAN we?  would it help, for example firefox load times? 

I ask because I was wandering through the ubuntu forums and someone had mentioned a reasl boost loding Gimp.  seemed logical to loook again for the Z
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=153158\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]

'ipkg install prelink' in angstrom is all you need
Forums are not bugtrackers!!! Smart questions
Ångström release team
iPAQ h2210, iPAQ h5550, iPAQ hx4700, Zaurus SL-C700, Nokia 770, all running some form of GPE
My blog

BarryW

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 690
    • View Profile
    • http://
Prelinking?
« Reply #5 on: February 01, 2007, 06:24:28 pm »
Quote
Quote
Do we use prelink anywhere in pdax? out we to?  CAN we?  would it help, for example firefox load times? 

I ask because I was wandering through the ubuntu forums and someone had mentioned a reasl boost loding Gimp.  seemed logical to loook again for the Z
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=153158\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]

'ipkg install prelink' in angstrom is all you need
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=153233\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]


After you install a window manager, and hopefully it supports your keyboard after boot, cause it sure as hell won't support an external usb one.
What's this button do??

C3100
Distro changes almost weekly...

C3200
Distro also changes almost weekly...  :)

Hardware hacks and stuff.

adf

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2807
    • View Profile
    • http://
Prelinking?
« Reply #6 on: February 01, 2007, 08:00:30 pm »
I was planning to try Angstrom on the 3100 after the official release. Glad to hear you are trying prelinking there.

how does it affect the performance? (for that matter how is eabi coming? the russion gentoo guys seemed pretty excited about it)
**3100 Zubuntu Jaunty,(working on Cacko dualboot), 16G A-Data internal CF, 4G SD, Ambicom WL-1100C Cf, linksys usb ethernet,  BelkinF8T020 BT card, Belkin F8U1500-E Ir kbd, mini targus usb mouse, rechargeble AC/DC powered USB hub, psp cables and battery extenders.

**6000l  Tetsuized Sharprom, installed on internal flash only 1G sd, 2G cf

koen

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1008
    • View Profile
    • http://dominion.thruhere.net/koen/cms/
Prelinking?
« Reply #7 on: February 06, 2007, 04:08:18 am »
Quote
(for that matter how is eabi coming? the russion gentoo guys seemed pretty excited about it)
[div align=\"right\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]

EABI is working so good that the debian/ARM EABI port used angstrom to bootstrap their own port: [a href=\"http://dominion.kabel.utwente.nl/koen/cms/arm-eabi-fame]http://dominion.kabel.utwente.nl/koen/cms/arm-eabi-fame[/url]
Forums are not bugtrackers!!! Smart questions
Ångström release team
iPAQ h2210, iPAQ h5550, iPAQ hx4700, Zaurus SL-C700, Nokia 770, all running some form of GPE
My blog

koen

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1008
    • View Profile
    • http://dominion.thruhere.net/koen/cms/
Prelinking?
« Reply #8 on: February 06, 2007, 04:08:42 am »
Quote
Quote
Quote
Do we use prelink anywhere in pdax? out we to?  CAN we?  would it help, for example firefox load times? 

I ask because I was wandering through the ubuntu forums and someone had mentioned a reasl boost loding Gimp.  seemed logical to loook again for the Z
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=153158\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]

'ipkg install prelink' in angstrom is all you need
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=153233\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]


After you install a window manager, and hopefully it supports your keyboard after boot, cause it sure as hell won't support an external usb one.
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=153248\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]

Matchbox isn't a windowmanager?
Forums are not bugtrackers!!! Smart questions
Ångström release team
iPAQ h2210, iPAQ h5550, iPAQ hx4700, Zaurus SL-C700, Nokia 770, all running some form of GPE
My blog

BarryW

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 690
    • View Profile
    • http://
Prelinking?
« Reply #9 on: February 06, 2007, 12:48:51 pm »
Quote
Quote
Quote
Quote
Do we use prelink anywhere in pdax? out we to?  CAN we?  would it help, for example firefox load times? 

I ask because I was wandering through the ubuntu forums and someone had mentioned a reasl boost loding Gimp.  seemed logical to loook again for the Z
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=153158\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]

'ipkg install prelink' in angstrom is all you need
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=153233\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]


After you install a window manager, and hopefully it supports your keyboard after boot, cause it sure as hell won't support an external usb one.
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=153248\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]

Matchbox isn't a windowmanager?
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=153291\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]


The only snapshot I could find on the site didn't have a window manager.  It also doesn't have the correct key mapping for the 3100.
« Last Edit: February 06, 2007, 12:49:15 pm by BarryW »
What's this button do??

C3100
Distro changes almost weekly...

C3200
Distro also changes almost weekly...  :)

Hardware hacks and stuff.

adf

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2807
    • View Profile
    • http://
Prelinking?
« Reply #10 on: February 06, 2007, 07:44:22 pm »
I think this is a bit of confusion. what was actually meant might have been closer to  get OE running, build angstrom for you device..then do whatever it was we were talkiong about. presumably you'd have a window manager after the build.

Personally, I'm not going to do any of that  'til there is a "stable enough to test" sort of announcement
**3100 Zubuntu Jaunty,(working on Cacko dualboot), 16G A-Data internal CF, 4G SD, Ambicom WL-1100C Cf, linksys usb ethernet,  BelkinF8T020 BT card, Belkin F8U1500-E Ir kbd, mini targus usb mouse, rechargeble AC/DC powered USB hub, psp cables and battery extenders.

**6000l  Tetsuized Sharprom, installed on internal flash only 1G sd, 2G cf