Author Topic: New Releases Bugs/issues And Fixes (plz Post!)  (Read 10673 times)

ZDevil

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1998
    • View Profile
    • http://
New Releases Bugs/issues And Fixes (plz Post!)
« on: April 18, 2007, 06:31:27 am »
Hi pdaX folks,

Chero and I have taken up the job to make new documentation for the pdaXrom releases.
Chero has been working on a template tree of notes, and I am focusing more on taking notes on the new releases.

InSearchOf (as well as the other devs who help building) has been doing great job and he promises to release a public build EVERY OTHER WEEK.    
This can be a fantastic idea, IF ...
1) bugs and known issues are tracked systematically
2) fixes are found AND incorporated into the next new build(s)

Although there seem to be quite a few new brave testers being put off by the persistent problems, this shouldn't stop us to make things even better!

So, now, in order to help the development of pdaX, the dev team, and ultimately you the users, it would be great if ...
1) I (and Chero) can keep track of reports of bugs/issues and fixes;
2) Users/Testers can contribute to the refinement of the builds by:
-- submitting reports to the pdaXrom bugtracker (the link in the pinned post is no longer valid),
-- thru PM or emails to me (dvm DOT zaurus AT gmail DOT com),
-- or right in this thread and/or the threads for the new releases.  

Then I can keep track of things in these three sources.

I am preparing a new section Chero's tree: Known issues & solutions in the latest version.  There I will put as much useful information as i can find. So if you have got something to say and to fix, please do drop me a line!

As for the new builds, many of us still spot old problems as in the older releases. So if you manage to recall or recover the old fixes (as in Beta3, Beta4, r121 or even r1xx), please go ahead and tell me!

Admittedly I am no linux guru or hacker, but I enjoy sharing and dare to work against my holy RL by wasting time typing out simple short notes to help myself and others. The Documentation will surely become more complete and useful with your contributions.

Come, join us, brave pdaXromers! The making a perfect pdaXrom release is an everlasting battle against the dark side of M$ Lose Mobile. Let's roll out and conquer the small world of dinozaurus!

[To InSearchOf: no, it wasn't meant to be angry, but aggressive!   ]
« Last Edit: April 18, 2007, 11:15:45 am by ZDevil »

Life is too precious for hacking *too much*
Visit my Z screencap gallery[/color]
My EeePC 701 Black = Debian (Lenny) on IceRocks + Transcend SDHC Class6 8GB + 2GB RAM
My Zaurus SL-C3200 = Debian EABI (kernel 2.6.24.3-yonggun) on a swapped internal Sandisk Extreme III CF 16gb
My Debian EABI feed: http://matrixmen.free.fr/zaurus/debian/
My OpenBSD/Zaurus feeds:  Link1, Link2
[/i][/font][/color][/size]

gromituk

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 207
    • View Profile
New Releases Bugs/issues And Fixes (plz Post!)
« Reply #1 on: April 18, 2007, 06:46:05 am »
Quote
Admittedly I am no linux guru or hacker
I see that as a positive benefit, because gurus, however well-meaning, can always find it hard not to take for granted that others will know about things which they see as elementary.  The documentation for a project is just as important as the project itself, and is where open source often fails miserably, so you are doing vital work - well done.

InSearchOf

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1144
    • View Profile
    • http://
New Releases Bugs/issues And Fixes (plz Post!)
« Reply #2 on: April 18, 2007, 10:59:23 am »
I will second ever thing he says... but why the angry face?

Keep up the good work (and Chero) with the Docs?

Late
Sharp Zaurus SL-C3100 and SL-6000L
pdaXrom Developer
Please visit pdaXrom.org for updates
My Blog
IRC #pdaxrom @ FreeNode

scheck.r

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 320
    • View Profile
    • http://
New Releases Bugs/issues And Fixes (plz Post!)
« Reply #3 on: April 18, 2007, 11:58:58 am »
Great improvements on this release, thanks

----------- Network settings: -----------------------
using LAN & WIFI GUI
create new profile, name it eth0, fill in required informations, save, press OK
It saves my settings but even pressing OK it still stays on the profile named none
and doesn't reinitialize the Wifi setup like in beta3 where I could see
the light of my card shutting off, the screen stuttering and the led blinking again.
I get "ERROR: dns can't solve www.google.com" in Dillo
It works though on reboot the first time but not after ejecting the CF wifi card and
reinserting it via the matchbox-card-applet
Solution:
pccardctl eject
killall dhcpcd
pccardctl insert
or rm /var/run/dhcpcd-eth0.pid
I guess that was what tombraider was experiencing

I am using r198 on an akita and a symbol spectrum CF Wifi

------------------------------vCore----------------------
I confirm Civil's observation about
Quote
Wrong default vCore (1.5V, instead of 1.4V. After every reboot you must switch to 104/208/312/520/624MHz, and then back to 416 - then vCore becomes 1.4V) (Note: I was using /sys/devices/system/cpu/cpu0/cpufreq/cpu-voltage )
« Last Edit: April 18, 2007, 12:00:47 pm by scheck.r »
SL-C1000 from PriceJapan(cheap and very fast shipping) with EA-70 power adapter, iRiver USB Host cable, PDAIR case, pentopia stylus, ultra clear screen-protector from shop.brando.com.hk only $3 for shipping worldwide
4GB Hitachi Microdrive, 1GB Kingston Elite Pro CF, 4GB Transcend 150x SD, Symbol Spectrum 4137 CF WiFi(low power)
PdaXrom pdaxii13 5.4.9 updated with Kkazakov13's feed. I owned a SL-6000L before

scheck.r

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 320
    • View Profile
    • http://
New Releases Bugs/issues And Fixes (plz Post!)
« Reply #4 on: April 18, 2007, 12:23:06 pm »
---------------------rxvt-----------------
after maximization, there is still an empty space between rxvt window and fbpanel

------------------------matchbox-card-applet-------------
it doesn't seem reliable. I prefer to use ROX mount/umount feature

----------------------------package manager-------------------
you need to update first in order to see a list of available destinations for installation.
You shouldn't have to especially if you want to install from a local storage.
SL-C1000 from PriceJapan(cheap and very fast shipping) with EA-70 power adapter, iRiver USB Host cable, PDAIR case, pentopia stylus, ultra clear screen-protector from shop.brando.com.hk only $3 for shipping worldwide
4GB Hitachi Microdrive, 1GB Kingston Elite Pro CF, 4GB Transcend 150x SD, Symbol Spectrum 4137 CF WiFi(low power)
PdaXrom pdaxii13 5.4.9 updated with Kkazakov13's feed. I owned a SL-6000L before

scheck.r

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 320
    • View Profile
    • http://
New Releases Bugs/issues And Fixes (plz Post!)
« Reply #5 on: April 18, 2007, 12:32:27 pm »
Just adding bugs from other threads:

--------------keyboard messed up after leaving X -------------------
By using following commands , we can fix this bug:
Code: [Select]
# cd /etc/sysconfig/keyboard
# ln -s Borzoi/keymap.map kernel.map

If your Zaurus is not C3100, replace "Borzoi" with codename of your Z.

the root cause of this bug is:
in /usr/X11R6/bin/startx :

Code: [Select]
test -f /etc/sysconfig/keyboard/kernel.map  -a f /usr/bin/loadkeys && sudo /usr/bin/loadkeys /etc/sysconfig/keyboard/kernel.map
but in r198, /etc/sysconfig/keyboard/kernel.map doesn't exist by default.
SL-C1000 from PriceJapan(cheap and very fast shipping) with EA-70 power adapter, iRiver USB Host cable, PDAIR case, pentopia stylus, ultra clear screen-protector from shop.brando.com.hk only $3 for shipping worldwide
4GB Hitachi Microdrive, 1GB Kingston Elite Pro CF, 4GB Transcend 150x SD, Symbol Spectrum 4137 CF WiFi(low power)
PdaXrom pdaxii13 5.4.9 updated with Kkazakov13's feed. I owned a SL-6000L before

scheck.r

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 320
    • View Profile
    • http://
New Releases Bugs/issues And Fixes (plz Post!)
« Reply #6 on: April 18, 2007, 12:35:42 pm »
------------- Sound --------------
By default xmms is set to use esound driver, you have to switch to OSS or Alsa to get sound working in Options/Preferences/Audio I/O Plugins.
SL-C1000 from PriceJapan(cheap and very fast shipping) with EA-70 power adapter, iRiver USB Host cable, PDAIR case, pentopia stylus, ultra clear screen-protector from shop.brando.com.hk only $3 for shipping worldwide
4GB Hitachi Microdrive, 1GB Kingston Elite Pro CF, 4GB Transcend 150x SD, Symbol Spectrum 4137 CF WiFi(low power)
PdaXrom pdaxii13 5.4.9 updated with Kkazakov13's feed. I owned a SL-6000L before

scheck.r

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 320
    • View Profile
    • http://
New Releases Bugs/issues And Fixes (plz Post!)
« Reply #7 on: April 18, 2007, 12:43:10 pm »
----------------Start menu key--------------
in /etc/xdg/openbox/rc.xml line169, the Menu key is set to the action mb-start-button but we are using fb-panel and not matchbox-panel
SL-C1000 from PriceJapan(cheap and very fast shipping) with EA-70 power adapter, iRiver USB Host cable, PDAIR case, pentopia stylus, ultra clear screen-protector from shop.brando.com.hk only $3 for shipping worldwide
4GB Hitachi Microdrive, 1GB Kingston Elite Pro CF, 4GB Transcend 150x SD, Symbol Spectrum 4137 CF WiFi(low power)
PdaXrom pdaxii13 5.4.9 updated with Kkazakov13's feed. I owned a SL-6000L before

grog

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 692
    • View Profile
    • http://
New Releases Bugs/issues And Fixes (plz Post!)
« Reply #8 on: April 18, 2007, 01:32:08 pm »
Quote
----------------Start menu key--------------
in /etc/xdg/openbox/rc.xml line169, the Menu key is set to the action mb-start-button but we are using fb-panel and not matchbox-panel
[div align=\"right\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]
And what value do we replace it with? Neither 'fb-panel' nor 'fb-start-button' work, and searching [a href=\"http://fbpanel.sourceforge.net/docs.html]fbpanel docs[/url] doesn't give any hints.
GROG!

desertrat

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 743
    • View Profile
    • http://
New Releases Bugs/issues And Fixes (plz Post!)
« Reply #9 on: April 18, 2007, 01:48:06 pm »
Quote
---------------------rxvt-----------------
after maximization, there is still an empty space between rxvt window and fbpanel
I think (I'm guessing) that it sizes the window so that it fits an exact number of rows/columns in your chosen font/size.
SL-C3100 / Ambicon WL1100C-CF / pdaXrom 1.1.0beta3 / IceWM

Civil

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 103
    • View Profile
    • http://
New Releases Bugs/issues And Fixes (plz Post!)
« Reply #10 on: April 18, 2007, 02:12:22 pm »
zgcc autoconf/automake/m4 bug:
Problem:
autoconf says:
m4 1.4 or later must be installed (but in zgcc - m4 is 1.4)

Solution:
Recompile autoconf, automake and m4
Zaurus C-3100 ( Gentoo 2007.0 eabi, kernel 2.6.21.6)
http://www.zavrik.info - Russian Zaurus Site.

scheck.r

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 320
    • View Profile
    • http://
New Releases Bugs/issues And Fixes (plz Post!)
« Reply #11 on: April 18, 2007, 03:06:00 pm »
Quote
Quote
----------------Start menu key--------------
in /etc/xdg/openbox/rc.xml line169, the Menu key is set to the action mb-start-button but we are using fb-panel and not matchbox-panel
[div align=\"right\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]
And what value do we replace it with? Neither 'fb-panel' nor 'fb-start-button' work, and searching [a href=\"http://fbpanel.sourceforge.net/docs.html]fbpanel docs[/url] doesn't give any hints.
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=159209\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]

I don't know either, sorry.
SL-C1000 from PriceJapan(cheap and very fast shipping) with EA-70 power adapter, iRiver USB Host cable, PDAIR case, pentopia stylus, ultra clear screen-protector from shop.brando.com.hk only $3 for shipping worldwide
4GB Hitachi Microdrive, 1GB Kingston Elite Pro CF, 4GB Transcend 150x SD, Symbol Spectrum 4137 CF WiFi(low power)
PdaXrom pdaxii13 5.4.9 updated with Kkazakov13's feed. I owned a SL-6000L before

scheck.r

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 320
    • View Profile
    • http://
New Releases Bugs/issues And Fixes (plz Post!)
« Reply #12 on: April 18, 2007, 03:16:30 pm »
------------------------Fbpanel-------------------
- the start menu doesn't list the same items as matchbox-desktop does.
Solution: recompile fbpanel-4.8
since 4.7 Application menu are builded from *.desktop files but we use 4.3
source here http://downloads.sourceforge.net/fbpanel/f...58&big_mirror=0

- some items are not visible cause outside of the screen at the bottom
SL-C1000 from PriceJapan(cheap and very fast shipping) with EA-70 power adapter, iRiver USB Host cable, PDAIR case, pentopia stylus, ultra clear screen-protector from shop.brando.com.hk only $3 for shipping worldwide
4GB Hitachi Microdrive, 1GB Kingston Elite Pro CF, 4GB Transcend 150x SD, Symbol Spectrum 4137 CF WiFi(low power)
PdaXrom pdaxii13 5.4.9 updated with Kkazakov13's feed. I owned a SL-6000L before

scheck.r

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 320
    • View Profile
    • http://
New Releases Bugs/issues And Fixes (plz Post!)
« Reply #13 on: April 18, 2007, 03:21:52 pm »
Quote
Quote
---------------------rxvt-----------------
after maximization, there is still an empty space between rxvt window and fbpanel
I think (I'm guessing) that it sizes the window so that it fits an exact number of rows/columns in your chosen font/size.
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=159210\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]

I think you are right, when resizing I can see the geometry displayed 77 x 27 which corresponds to rows and columns apparently. Consequence same problem goes for Aterm.
SL-C1000 from PriceJapan(cheap and very fast shipping) with EA-70 power adapter, iRiver USB Host cable, PDAIR case, pentopia stylus, ultra clear screen-protector from shop.brando.com.hk only $3 for shipping worldwide
4GB Hitachi Microdrive, 1GB Kingston Elite Pro CF, 4GB Transcend 150x SD, Symbol Spectrum 4137 CF WiFi(low power)
PdaXrom pdaxii13 5.4.9 updated with Kkazakov13's feed. I owned a SL-6000L before

scheck.r

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 320
    • View Profile
    • http://
New Releases Bugs/issues And Fixes (plz Post!)
« Reply #14 on: April 18, 2007, 03:48:08 pm »
---------------------brightness------------------
above 30% screen is bright
below 30% screen is dimmed
below 25% battery icon is red
below 13% Z shuts off
Problem: if apm indicates around 30% screen is blinking for like 15mins cause battery status
goes up and down around 30%.
I would be better to setup a range of values like dimmed between 10% and 20% instead of just one value
Is it possible to change these values without recompiling ?
I think matchbox-battery-applet was able to do that in beta3
SL-C1000 from PriceJapan(cheap and very fast shipping) with EA-70 power adapter, iRiver USB Host cable, PDAIR case, pentopia stylus, ultra clear screen-protector from shop.brando.com.hk only $3 for shipping worldwide
4GB Hitachi Microdrive, 1GB Kingston Elite Pro CF, 4GB Transcend 150x SD, Symbol Spectrum 4137 CF WiFi(low power)
PdaXrom pdaxii13 5.4.9 updated with Kkazakov13's feed. I owned a SL-6000L before