Author Topic: How Do You Over / Under Clock On R198?  (Read 4974 times)

scrapheap

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 42
    • View Profile
How Do You Over / Under Clock On R198?
« on: July 09, 2007, 09:21:36 am »
I have been setting up r198 to my liking, but I have not figured out how to over/under clock the zaurus (c1000) in this version.  It used to be adjusting the VCORE file in /proc/zaurus/ but I can't see that here.  Is there a different method for this versionl?

ecc_hy

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 125
    • View Profile
How Do You Over / Under Clock On R198?
« Reply #1 on: July 09, 2007, 09:49:19 am »
In fact, it is total different.
r198 use ioctl()
SL-C1000, Roku wifi, pdaxii13v2/Debian dual booting

scrapheap

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 42
    • View Profile
How Do You Over / Under Clock On R198?
« Reply #2 on: July 09, 2007, 09:53:30 am »
OK, I guess I had better figure out how ioctl() works then.

ecc_hy

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 125
    • View Profile
How Do You Over / Under Clock On R198?
« Reply #3 on: July 09, 2007, 09:59:49 am »
/sys/devices/system/cpu/cpu0/cpufreq/cpu-voltage
/dev/ipmc
SL-C1000, Roku wifi, pdaxii13v2/Debian dual booting

scrapheap

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 42
    • View Profile
How Do You Over / Under Clock On R198?
« Reply #4 on: July 09, 2007, 10:11:33 am »
Is it possible to use dvfm (I have seen it mentioned on a few pages when googling for information about ioctl with /dev/ipmc)

Meanie

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2803
    • View Profile
    • http://www.users.on.net/~hluc/myZaurus/
How Do You Over / Under Clock On R198?
« Reply #5 on: July 09, 2007, 08:02:45 pm »
Quote
Is it possible to use dvfm (I have seen it mentioned on a few pages when googling for information about ioctl with /dev/ipmc)
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=164572\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]


try looking at cpuoverclock.py

it uses dvfm to overclock/underclock the system, although, it does not adjust the voltage properly so expect lockups ...
SL-C3000 - pdaXii13 build5.4.9 (based on pdaXrom beta3) / SL-C3100 - Sharp ROM 1.02 JP (heavily customised)
Netgear MA701 CF, SanDisk ConnectPlus CF, Socket Bluetooth CF, 4GB Kingston CF,  4GB pqi SD, 4GB ChoiceOnly SD, 2GB SanDisk SD USB Plus, 1GB SanDisk USB Plus, 1GB Transcend SD, 2GB SanDisk MicroSD with SD adaptor, Piel Frama Leather Case, GoldX 5-in-1 USB cable, USB hub, USB mouse, USB keyboard, USB ethernet, USB HDD, many other USB accessories...
(Zaurus SL-C3000 owner since March 14. 2005, Zaurus SL-C3100 owner since September 21. 2005)
http://members.iinet.net.au/~wyso/myZaurus - zBook3K

shula

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 95
    • View Profile
How Do You Over / Under Clock On R198?
« Reply #6 on: July 09, 2007, 09:04:43 pm »
#This script serves me well on my C860:
#/bin/bash
#
# overclocking from the command line, by 'shula'
#
echo overclocking...

if grep -q 161 /proc/cccr_change ; then  echo status: normal
elif grep -q 162 /proc/cccr_change ; then  echo status: high  
elif grep -q 141 /proc/cccr_change ; then  echo status: low
fi

changed=0
case $1 in
    normal)
        echo 161 > /proc/cccr_change
        echo 100 > /proc/driver/w100/fastsysclk
        echo changing to $1
        changed=1
        ;;
    over|high)
        echo 162 > /proc/cccr_change
        echo 100 > /proc/driver/w100/fastsysclk
        echo changing to high
        changed=1
        ;;
    under|low)
        echo 141 > /proc/cccr_change
        echo 100 > /proc/driver/w100/fastsysclk
        echo changing to low
        changed=1
        ;;
esac

if test 0 -eq $changed ; then
    echo 'usage:  overclock [normal|high|low]'
fi
C860, pdaxrom rc8,
with Gnumeric as the perfect PIM :-)

shula

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 95
    • View Profile
How Do You Over / Under Clock On R198?
« Reply #7 on: July 09, 2007, 09:06:42 pm »
Code: [Select]
#This script serves me well on my C860:
#/bin/bash
#
# overclocking from the command line, by 'shula'
#
echo overclocking...

if grep -q 161 /proc/cccr_change; then  echo status: normal
elif grep -q 162 /proc/cccr_change; then  echo status: high  
elif grep -q 141 /proc/cccr_change; then  echo status: low
fi

changed=0
case $1 in
    normal)
        echo 161 > /proc/cccr_change
        echo 100 > /proc/driver/w100/fastsysclk
        echo changing to $1
        changed=1
       ;;
    over|high)
        echo 162 > /proc/cccr_change
        echo 100 > /proc/driver/w100/fastsysclk
        echo changing to high
        changed=1
       ;;
    under|low)
        echo 141 > /proc/cccr_change
        echo 100 > /proc/driver/w100/fastsysclk
        echo changing to low
        changed=1
       ;;
esac

if test 0 -eq $changed; then
    echo 'usage:  overclock [normal|high|low]'
fi
C860, pdaxrom rc8,
with Gnumeric as the perfect PIM :-)

Meanie

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2803
    • View Profile
    • http://www.users.on.net/~hluc/myZaurus/
How Do You Over / Under Clock On R198?
« Reply #8 on: July 09, 2007, 10:08:00 pm »
Quote
Code: [Select]
#This script serves me well on my C860:
#/bin/bash
#
# overclocking from the command line, by 'shula'
#
echo overclocking...

if grep -q 161 /proc/cccr_change; then  echo status: normal
elif grep -q 162 /proc/cccr_change; then  echo status: high  
elif grep -q 141 /proc/cccr_change; then  echo status: low
fi

changed=0
case $1 in
    normal)
        echo 161 > /proc/cccr_change
        echo 100 > /proc/driver/w100/fastsysclk
        echo changing to $1
        changed=1
      ;;
    over|high)
        echo 162 > /proc/cccr_change
        echo 100 > /proc/driver/w100/fastsysclk
        echo changing to high
        changed=1
      ;;
    under|low)
        echo 141 > /proc/cccr_change
        echo 100 > /proc/driver/w100/fastsysclk
        echo changing to low
        changed=1
      ;;
esac

if test 0 -eq $changed; then
    echo 'usage:  overclock [normal|high|low]'
fi
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=164615\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]

make sure you don't use those values in the script. a c1000 needs different values.
SL-C3000 - pdaXii13 build5.4.9 (based on pdaXrom beta3) / SL-C3100 - Sharp ROM 1.02 JP (heavily customised)
Netgear MA701 CF, SanDisk ConnectPlus CF, Socket Bluetooth CF, 4GB Kingston CF,  4GB pqi SD, 4GB ChoiceOnly SD, 2GB SanDisk SD USB Plus, 1GB SanDisk USB Plus, 1GB Transcend SD, 2GB SanDisk MicroSD with SD adaptor, Piel Frama Leather Case, GoldX 5-in-1 USB cable, USB hub, USB mouse, USB keyboard, USB ethernet, USB HDD, many other USB accessories...
(Zaurus SL-C3000 owner since March 14. 2005, Zaurus SL-C3100 owner since September 21. 2005)
http://members.iinet.net.au/~wyso/myZaurus - zBook3K

louigi600

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 471
    • View Profile
How Do You Over / Under Clock On R198?
« Reply #9 on: July 10, 2007, 02:59:34 am »
If someone gives me the values that should be used on all the different models I could make the script autosense model from /proc/cpuinfo and apply the correct values for it.
We could then have one script that serves well all models ;-)
Regards
David

SL-c760*  pdaXrom latest
SL-c860    pdaXrom latest ;-)
SL-c1000  pdaXrom Latest
Acer Aspire One running slackware and Clash
Toshiba AC100 running ARMedslack and Clash

*with some hardware problems but good for testing

Meanie

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2803
    • View Profile
    • http://www.users.on.net/~hluc/myZaurus/
How Do You Over / Under Clock On R198?
« Reply #10 on: July 10, 2007, 03:23:43 am »
Quote
If someone gives me the values that should be used on all the different models I could make the script autosense model from /proc/cpuinfo and apply the correct values for it.
We could then have one script that serves well all models ;-)
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=164625\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]

see cpuoverclock.py for all the required values...
SL-C3000 - pdaXii13 build5.4.9 (based on pdaXrom beta3) / SL-C3100 - Sharp ROM 1.02 JP (heavily customised)
Netgear MA701 CF, SanDisk ConnectPlus CF, Socket Bluetooth CF, 4GB Kingston CF,  4GB pqi SD, 4GB ChoiceOnly SD, 2GB SanDisk SD USB Plus, 1GB SanDisk USB Plus, 1GB Transcend SD, 2GB SanDisk MicroSD with SD adaptor, Piel Frama Leather Case, GoldX 5-in-1 USB cable, USB hub, USB mouse, USB keyboard, USB ethernet, USB HDD, many other USB accessories...
(Zaurus SL-C3000 owner since March 14. 2005, Zaurus SL-C3100 owner since September 21. 2005)
http://members.iinet.net.au/~wyso/myZaurus - zBook3K

louigi600

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 471
    • View Profile
How Do You Over / Under Clock On R198?
« Reply #11 on: July 10, 2007, 03:49:59 am »
In /usr/bib/cpuoverclock.py only pxa270 is implemented (which I guess id for C1000/3x00 models), therefor I guess that values for C860 are good for all pxa255 based models (750,760,860).
What about c700, its a pxa250 will pxa255 settings be good for pxa250 too ?
I've no idea what the 7500 has inside ;-)

Not sure what to do for 6000, 5600 and 5500 they are not supported by pdaxrom current.
Regards
David

SL-c760*  pdaXrom latest
SL-c860    pdaXrom latest ;-)
SL-c1000  pdaXrom Latest
Acer Aspire One running slackware and Clash
Toshiba AC100 running ARMedslack and Clash

*with some hardware problems but good for testing

Meanie

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2803
    • View Profile
    • http://www.users.on.net/~hluc/myZaurus/
How Do You Over / Under Clock On R198?
« Reply #12 on: July 10, 2007, 04:12:34 am »
Quote
In /usr/bib/cpuoverclock.py only pxa270 is implemented (which I guess id for C1000/3x00 models), therefor I guess that values for C860 are good for all pxa255 based models (750,760,860).
What about c700, its a pxa250 will pxa255 settings be good for pxa250 too ?
I've no idea what the 7500 has inside ;-)

Not sure what to do for 6000, 5600 and 5500 they are not supported by pdaxrom current.
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=164629\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]

check cpuoverclock.py for pdaXrom classic. it has the values for 6000, and according to that, c700 is a pxa250, c7500 and 6000 are pxa255
SL-C3000 - pdaXii13 build5.4.9 (based on pdaXrom beta3) / SL-C3100 - Sharp ROM 1.02 JP (heavily customised)
Netgear MA701 CF, SanDisk ConnectPlus CF, Socket Bluetooth CF, 4GB Kingston CF,  4GB pqi SD, 4GB ChoiceOnly SD, 2GB SanDisk SD USB Plus, 1GB SanDisk USB Plus, 1GB Transcend SD, 2GB SanDisk MicroSD with SD adaptor, Piel Frama Leather Case, GoldX 5-in-1 USB cable, USB hub, USB mouse, USB keyboard, USB ethernet, USB HDD, many other USB accessories...
(Zaurus SL-C3000 owner since March 14. 2005, Zaurus SL-C3100 owner since September 21. 2005)
http://members.iinet.net.au/~wyso/myZaurus - zBook3K

louigi600

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 471
    • View Profile
How Do You Over / Under Clock On R198?
« Reply #13 on: July 10, 2007, 05:00:48 am »
I dont have any of the older pdaxrom versions (and it's a good waste of time to install it just for that).
If someone is so kind as to post them I'd appreciate.
If noone posts them I'll go snooping for them in the IPK's from the feeds.
But will the older versuons running 2.4 kernels be doing the same stuff that is done in 2.6 kernels ?

Anyway I've only Cx60 and C1k so I guess I'll be fine anyway ;-)
Regards
David

SL-c760*  pdaXrom latest
SL-c860    pdaXrom latest ;-)
SL-c1000  pdaXrom Latest
Acer Aspire One running slackware and Clash
Toshiba AC100 running ARMedslack and Clash

*with some hardware problems but good for testing

T3_slider

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 125
    • View Profile
How Do You Over / Under Clock On R198?
« Reply #14 on: July 10, 2007, 02:36:52 pm »
Here's the cpuoverclock.py from pdaXrom beta 3. It seems to have all of the required values (I'm too lazy to paste just the required contents as I'm posting this from my Z).

Hope this helps.
Conics SL-C3200 running pdaXrom beta3 and XFCE with a Planex WiFi CF card.

Slackware rules!