Author Topic: Installing Xserver On Console Image  (Read 6039 times)

dolcex

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 54
    • View Profile
Installing Xserver On Console Image
« on: July 09, 2007, 12:26:14 pm »
After installing the Angstrom console image, how does one go about installing packages to enable xserver?  I got to a point where X would try to start and then it says no screen found.  I've searched everywhere and found no answer.

Thank you.

p.s. I know it's easier to install the X image, but I have a reason for wanting to install the base.
Sharp Zaurus SL-C1000
pdaXrom beta3

koen

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1008
    • View Profile
    • http://dominion.thruhere.net/koen/cms/
Installing Xserver On Console Image
« Reply #1 on: July 09, 2007, 02:03:01 pm »
Quote
After installing the Angstrom console image, how does one go about installing packages to enable xserver?  I got to a point where X would try to start and then it says no screen found.  I've searched everywhere and found no answer.

Thank you.

p.s. I know it's easier to install the X image, but I have a reason for wanting to install the base.
[div align=\"right\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]

This was been answered a few times on the mailinglist, please follow [a href=\"http://www.angstrom-distribution.org/contact]http://www.angstrom-distribution.org/contact[/url] in the future
Forums are not bugtrackers!!! Smart questions
Ångström release team
iPAQ h2210, iPAQ h5550, iPAQ hx4700, Zaurus SL-C700, Nokia 770, all running some form of GPE
My blog

dolcex

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 54
    • View Profile
Installing Xserver On Console Image
« Reply #2 on: July 09, 2007, 02:37:09 pm »
The only relevant message I found is
http://lists.linuxtogo.org/pipermail/angst...une/000300.html
and it does not answer my question.  I don't want to reflash with the x11 fs - I want to manually install required packages to get x11 up and running.

p.s. as pointed out before, there is no search function for the archives (I suppose I could have googled the domain).


Quote
Quote
After installing the Angstrom console image, how does one go about installing packages to enable xserver?  I got to a point where X would try to start and then it says no screen found.  I've searched everywhere and found no answer.

Thank you.

p.s. I know it's easier to install the X image, but I have a reason for wanting to install the base.
[div align=\"right\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]

This was been answered a few times on the mailinglist, please follow [a href=\"http://www.angstrom-distribution.org/contact]http://www.angstrom-distribution.org/contact[/url] in the future
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=164596\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]
Sharp Zaurus SL-C1000
pdaXrom beta3

koen

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1008
    • View Profile
    • http://dominion.thruhere.net/koen/cms/
Installing Xserver On Console Image
« Reply #3 on: July 09, 2007, 02:44:35 pm »
My points remain, it was discussed and answered a few times on the mailinglist, most recently *yesterday*, and if you had checked the news on the frontpage....
Forums are not bugtrackers!!! Smart questions
Ångström release team
iPAQ h2210, iPAQ h5550, iPAQ hx4700, Zaurus SL-C700, Nokia 770, all running some form of GPE
My blog

dolcex

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 54
    • View Profile
Installing Xserver On Console Image
« Reply #4 on: July 09, 2007, 02:59:02 pm »
Sorry to beat the dead horse, but I still don't see an answer.  I'm an intelligent person, yet I am struggling to find this...

Anyway, forget it.  I'll try and figure it out.

Quote
My points remain, it was discussed and answered a few times on the mailinglist, most recently *yesterday*, and if you had checked the news on the frontpage....
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=164599\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]
Sharp Zaurus SL-C1000
pdaXrom beta3

koen

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1008
    • View Profile
    • http://dominion.thruhere.net/koen/cms/
Installing Xserver On Console Image
« Reply #5 on: July 09, 2007, 04:56:17 pm »
http://www.angstrom-distribution.org/contact has 2 links in the bodytext, so you have 50% chance (practically even more, since the first link is the one you want).

The first news post on the frontpage links to the gmane version of the mailinglists which has...

*drumroll*

a search function

To summarize: you want to consult the mailinglists (archives) for any questions, not any forum, as the contact page makes clear.
Forums are not bugtrackers!!! Smart questions
Ångström release team
iPAQ h2210, iPAQ h5550, iPAQ hx4700, Zaurus SL-C700, Nokia 770, all running some form of GPE
My blog

nodens

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 23
    • View Profile
    • http://
Installing Xserver On Console Image
« Reply #6 on: July 09, 2007, 06:36:22 pm »
Quote
The first news post on the frontpage links to the gmane version of the mailinglists which has...

*drumroll*

a search function

To summarize: you want to consult the mailinglists (archives) for any questions, not any forum, as the contact page makes clear.
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=164603\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]

A lot of people seems to have trouble to get this right.

Maybe a link to the search function in the contact page would help ? Also, "support" could me more appropriate than "contact", even if it's not the main purpose of the mailing lists.
« L'air pur ? c'est pas en RL, ça ? c'est pas hors charte ? »
Jean in L'Histoire des Pingouins

dolcex

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 54
    • View Profile
Installing Xserver On Console Image
« Reply #7 on: July 09, 2007, 06:44:42 pm »
For anyone that cares, the message that I have finally come to is here:
http://lists.linuxtogo.org/pipermail/angst...uly/000466.html

The meat is:

Quote
# ipkg update

Install the X server (specific to the C760 - See
http://www.openembedded.org/repo/org.opene...chine/c7x0.conf
)
# ipkg install xserver-kdrive-w100

From
http://www.openembedded.org/filebrowser/or...kages/angstromI
found out which are the packages needed for the X11 image
# ipkg install  task-base-extended angstrom-x11-base-depends
angstrom-gpe-task-base angstrom-gpe-task-settings

This will give you a fully working GPE environment.

I'm about to try it before the gf gets home... then it's Resident Evil 4 time


Quote
http://www.angstrom-distribution.org/contact has 2 links in the bodytext, so you have 50% chance (practically even more, since the first link is the one you want).

The first news post on the frontpage links to the gmane version of the mailinglists which has...

*drumroll*

a search function

To summarize: you want to consult the mailinglists (archives) for any questions, not any forum, as the contact page makes clear.
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=164603\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]
Sharp Zaurus SL-C1000
pdaXrom beta3

dolcex

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 54
    • View Profile
Installing Xserver On Console Image
« Reply #8 on: July 09, 2007, 07:56:33 pm »
Result:  Angstrom splash screen displays, then gpe-dm tries to start (or maybe it does), and them I'm dumped to the shell where it says "can't open display :0"

I installed xserver-kdrive
There are other kdrive packages...  maybe that wasn't the right one.


Quote
For anyone that cares, the message that I have finally come to is here:
http://lists.linuxtogo.org/pipermail/angst...uly/000466.html

The meat is:

Quote
# ipkg update

Install the X server (specific to the C760 - See
http://www.openembedded.org/repo/org.opene...chine/c7x0.conf
)
# ipkg install xserver-kdrive-w100

From
http://www.openembedded.org/filebrowser/or...kages/angstromI
found out which are the packages needed for the X11 image
# ipkg install  task-base-extended angstrom-x11-base-depends
angstrom-gpe-task-base angstrom-gpe-task-settings

This will give you a fully working GPE environment.

I'm about to try it before the gf gets home... then it's Resident Evil 4 time


Quote
http://www.angstrom-distribution.org/contact has 2 links in the bodytext, so you have 50% chance (practically even more, since the first link is the one you want).

The first news post on the frontpage links to the gmane version of the mailinglists which has...

*drumroll*

a search function

To summarize: you want to consult the mailinglists (archives) for any questions, not any forum, as the contact page makes clear.
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=164603\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=164609\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]
Sharp Zaurus SL-C1000
pdaXrom beta3

dolcex

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 54
    • View Profile
Installing Xserver On Console Image
« Reply #9 on: July 10, 2007, 12:42:03 pm »
The solution for Akita is:

# ipkg update
# ipkg upgrade
# ipkg install xserver-kdrive-fbdev
# ipkg install  task-base-extended angstrom-x11-base-depends angstrom-gpe-task-base angstrom-gpe-task-settings esd
Sharp Zaurus SL-C1000
pdaXrom beta3

grog

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 692
    • View Profile
    • http://
Installing Xserver On Console Image
« Reply #10 on: July 10, 2007, 03:42:56 pm »
Quote
The solution for Akita is:

# ipkg update
# ipkg upgrade
# ipkg install xserver-kdrive-fbdev
# ipkg install  task-base-extended angstrom-x11-base-depends angstrom-gpe-task-base angstrom-gpe-task-settings esd[div align=\"right\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]
Thanks for letting us know. I'll update the [a href=\"http://www.linuxtogo.org/gowiki/AngstromManual]Angstrom wiki entry[/url]. I notice that you added esd from what was originally recommended. What was the reason? thks
GROG!

dolcex

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 54
    • View Profile
Installing Xserver On Console Image
« Reply #11 on: July 10, 2007, 04:05:34 pm »
I don't know why esd was required - but gpe-dm wouldn't start without it.

Seems that Angstrom sites are down at the moment....

Quote
Quote
The solution for Akita is:

# ipkg update
# ipkg upgrade
# ipkg install xserver-kdrive-fbdev
# ipkg install  task-base-extended angstrom-x11-base-depends angstrom-gpe-task-base angstrom-gpe-task-settings esd[div align=\"right\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]
Thanks for letting us know. I'll update the [a href=\"http://www.linuxtogo.org/gowiki/AngstromManual]Angstrom wiki entry[/url]. I notice that you added esd from what was originally recommended. What was the reason? thks
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=164673\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]
« Last Edit: July 10, 2007, 04:06:52 pm by dolcex »
Sharp Zaurus SL-C1000
pdaXrom beta3

grog

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 692
    • View Profile
    • http://
Installing Xserver On Console Image
« Reply #12 on: July 10, 2007, 04:15:34 pm »
Quote
I don't know why esd was required - but gpe-dm wouldn't start without it.
Interesting. I don't have that intalled & it works fine for me.

Quote
Seems that Angstrom sites are down at the moment....[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=164676\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]
I noticed that too  
GROG!