Author Topic: subway maps  (Read 3089 times)

luisico

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
    • http://
subway maps
« on: March 13, 2004, 10:01:42 am »
Anyone interested in creating the NYC subway maps for the U-Bahn Navigator (see http://www.ubahnstation.net/projects/ubahnnav/)?
I have already started, but as you can imagine is quite a work!
See you in the forums,
best,
luis

JP_Lewis

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 23
    • View Profile
    • http://
subway maps
« Reply #1 on: March 21, 2004, 09:30:28 am »
luisico,

The Link is dead.
5500 - tKr 3.10
256mb SD
128mb CD
Linksys WCF12

jdf

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 33
    • View Profile
    • http://
subway maps
« Reply #2 on: March 21, 2004, 09:50:53 am »
Link works fine for me!
JDF
SL-5500; CF MODEM; CF Wireless; CF & SD Storage;
Fedora CORE 1; WinXP

ashikase

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 280
    • View Profile
    • http://
subway maps
« Reply #3 on: March 21, 2004, 10:42:59 am »
If anyone is really interested in this, has some free time, and is slightly crazy, they should try converting the data from the Palm OS program Metro: http://nanika.net/Metro/

Metro has subway data for a _lot_ of cities.  It looks like each city is stored as a separate .pdb file.  Beyond that, I have no clue about the file format.

Any takers?  I\'m currently busy with my own Kanji project, or I would toy with it myself.

- ashikase
  anpachi, gifu, japan
SL-C3100 & SL-C760

luisico

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
    • http://
subway maps
« Reply #4 on: March 21, 2004, 05:54:14 pm »
Ashikase, I just took a look at Metro and it seems a great project, althought its data is protected in the license. The pdb files seem to be compressed or encrypted or just binary, but not straightforward and illegal to copy. I also tried their web interface and although I liked the idea itself, it returns you a path given the start and end points. I like better the graphical interface of the U-Bahn Navigator.

By the way, the link still works for me.

Best,

lusico

sylvius

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 19
    • View Profile
subway maps
« Reply #5 on: July 29, 2004, 02:04:04 pm »
Wow, that looks like a really nice package. I am going to start working on NYC in my not too copious spare time.

I used metro when I had a PPC and palm and it was pretty nice, but I never read the license. It's pretty disappointing that they won't work on a Z version nor will they facilitate anyone doing it.

At any rate, I doubt even NYC's huge subway network will take more than a few (8-10?) hours to input (unless I really misread the website about how to make new maps).