Author Topic: Firefox 3  (Read 149325 times)

speculatrix

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3686
    • View Profile
Firefox 3
« on: June 13, 2008, 08:42:37 am »
I'm using ff3 rc2 on linux, and it really does seem quicker than ff2, so far been very robust.

is anyone else an early adopter?
Gemini 4G/Wi-Fi owner, formerly zaurus C3100 and 860 owner; also owner of an HTC Doubleshot, a Zaurus-like phone.

Capn_Fish

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2342
    • View Profile
    • http://
Firefox 3
« Reply #1 on: June 13, 2008, 10:22:15 am »
I used it on my friend's new Ubuntu box when I was configuring it. It seems to be much faster than FF2, and the new URL bar is VERY nice. I would have been using it on Gentoo, but I was too lazy to remerge FF (building FF takes FOREVER)

On a side note: Everybody here's going to download FF3 on the day ot comes out, right (Tuesday, FWIW)? Help Mozilla set their world record!
SL-C750- pdaXrom beta 1 (mostly unused)
Current distro: Gentoo

InSearchOf

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1144
    • View Profile
    • http://
Firefox 3
« Reply #2 on: June 13, 2008, 10:27:56 am »
I love FF3...  using it now... but the weird thing is... I just did an package update on my laptop (ubuntu 8.04) and I now have Firefox 3 (no RC)
I guess ubuntu is deploying it early :-)

Late
Sharp Zaurus SL-C3100 and SL-6000L
pdaXrom Developer
Please visit pdaXrom.org for updates
My Blog
IRC #pdaxrom @ FreeNode

adf

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2807
    • View Profile
    • http://
Firefox 3
« Reply #3 on: June 13, 2008, 09:10:53 pm »
Quote from: InSearchOf
I love FF3...  using it now... but the weird thing is... I just did an package update on my laptop (ubuntu 8.04) and I now have Firefox 3 (no RC)
I guess ubuntu is deploying it early :-)

Late
yeah  it came outta the box with hardy. I run it on my laptop too.  A serious upgrade
**3100 Zubuntu Jaunty,(working on Cacko dualboot), 16G A-Data internal CF, 4G SD, Ambicom WL-1100C Cf, linksys usb ethernet,  BelkinF8T020 BT card, Belkin F8U1500-E Ir kbd, mini targus usb mouse, rechargeble AC/DC powered USB hub, psp cables and battery extenders.

**6000l  Tetsuized Sharprom, installed on internal flash only 1G sd, 2G cf

Capn_Fish

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2342
    • View Profile
    • http://
Firefox 3
« Reply #4 on: June 13, 2008, 10:13:06 pm »
Funny, it didn't show up in my update. Oh, well. It will eventually.

Iceweasel 3 apparently runs on the n8x0/Debian, as well, with Gnash and Java. I borked my install (and can't get it to connect to the internet), so I haven't tried it yet, but it sounds neat.
SL-C750- pdaXrom beta 1 (mostly unused)
Current distro: Gentoo

Jon_J

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1853
    • View Profile
    • http://
Firefox 3
« Reply #5 on: June 18, 2008, 01:32:12 pm »
Just installed FF3 on my desktop.
They changed the bookmarks export!
Now my bookmarks export as this: "Bookmarks 2008-06-18.json"
the json extension is unusable in any of my browsers on both of my Zauri and desktop PCs.
The old method exported to html.
I tried renaming the above to "Bookmarks 2008-06-18.html"
but all it shows is code when opened in a browser.
I'll have to visit the Firefox forums to see if there is a solution...
Edit
I "jumped the gun". There is an additional option to export as html.
I just overlooked it.  
« Last Edit: June 18, 2008, 01:41:52 pm by Jon_J »
C3100 Multiboot-->Angstrom 2007.12-r18 | Cacko 1.23 | ArchLinuxARM
C3200 pdaxii13v2-5.5-alpha4 Akita on NAND

Ambicom WL1100C-CF Wifi - Ambicom CF modem - Ambicom CF GPS - Belkin-F5D5050 USB LAN
Socket CF Bluetooth rev K - Iogear 4 port USB micro hub - pocket CF card reader
Targus mini USB optical mouse - 2 Targus SD card readers

corky

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 47
    • View Profile
    • http://mysite.verizon.net/corky8332/
Firefox 3
« Reply #6 on: June 18, 2008, 03:21:03 pm »
Quote from: Jon_J
Just installed FF3 on my desktop.
They changed the bookmarks export!
Now my bookmarks export as this: "Bookmarks 2008-06-18.json"
the json extension is unusable in any of my browsers on both of my Zauri and desktop PCs.
The old method exported to html.
I tried renaming the above to "Bookmarks 2008-06-18.html"
but all it shows is code when opened in a browser.
I'll have to visit the Firefox forums to see if there is a solution...
Edit
I "jumped the gun". There is an additional option to export as html.
I just overlooked it.  

Export HTML two options down  from backup  

corky
SL5500 3.13 Rom
Lexar 256 CF (FAT)
PNY 256 SD (EXT2)
Ambicom CF modem
Sharp Serial cable
AIR Cable

jfv

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 437
    • View Profile
Firefox 3
« Reply #7 on: June 18, 2008, 08:23:41 pm »
I got it as part of the ubuntu updates but it doesn't seem to like my usercontent.css file and, for example, instead of the gray boxes saying "click to play" which replace the flash animations, it shows nothing, so I can't go to any site that uses flash in a essential way, such as youtube. If I can't fix it, I'll have to downgrade. I tried FF3 in beta and had the same issue and decided to downgrade and wait for the official release but no luck. Any suggestions are welcome.
SL 5000 D  and C860 Sharp ROM
Too many accessories...

speculatrix

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3686
    • View Profile
Firefox 3
« Reply #8 on: June 19, 2008, 05:04:46 am »
Quote from: jfv
I got it as part of the ubuntu updates but it doesn't seem to like my usercontent.css file and, for example, instead of the gray boxes saying "click to play" which replace the flash animations, it shows nothing, so I can't go to any site that uses flash in a essential way, such as youtube. If I can't fix it, I'll have to downgrade. I tried FF3 in beta and had the same issue and decided to downgrade and wait for the official release but no luck. Any suggestions are welcome.

the extension flashblock would solve that, or noscript would be better.
Gemini 4G/Wi-Fi owner, formerly zaurus C3100 and 860 owner; also owner of an HTC Doubleshot, a Zaurus-like phone.

desertrat

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 743
    • View Profile
    • http://
Firefox 3
« Reply #9 on: June 19, 2008, 01:34:50 pm »
Quote from: Capn_Fish
Help Mozilla set their world record!
I would rather Mozilla concentrate on making Firefox better (secure/standards compatibility) instead of them spending time coming up with these gimmicks. It seems that they have lost sight of their mission and Firefox seems to have as many vulnerabilities as IE.
SL-C3100 / Ambicon WL1100C-CF / pdaXrom 1.1.0beta3 / IceWM

Capn_Fish

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2342
    • View Profile
    • http://
Firefox 3
« Reply #10 on: June 19, 2008, 06:13:56 pm »
How much time could it really take to put an update on a web page and count downloads?

I agree, though, that they DO have better things to do.
SL-C750- pdaXrom beta 1 (mostly unused)
Current distro: Gentoo

Snappy

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 793
    • View Profile
    • http://
Firefox 3
« Reply #11 on: August 12, 2008, 06:15:05 am »
I dropped IE and used FF since pre 1.0 but with FF3.0 I find myself switching to Opera.  Somehow, compared to Opera, FF3.0 was slower. My machine is on Ubuntu Hardy.  Also when I did the Zooming feature, Opera would zoom smoothly and quickly, but FF3.0 would freeze and take a looong time to zoom and redraw.

I might try FF again later, but also, FF3.0 broke one too many extensions for it to be meaningful.
Snappy!
------------------------
Akita (Daily use)
<span style='font-size:8pt;line-height:100%'>SL-C1000 with Cacko 1.23 full
Accessories: Wifi XI-825 CF  |  16GB (6) SDHC (Transcend) | 1GB 80x CF (RiDATA PRO-2) </span>

Collie (Sandbox)
<span style='font-size:8pt;line-height:100%'>SL-5500 with OZ/GPE 3.5.4.1 alpha3 build 2006-04-27
Accessories: 512MB A-Data SD | 64MB Toshiba SD</span>

clubJWP

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
    • http://savertech.blogspot.com
Firefox 3
« Reply #12 on: November 20, 2009, 04:16:00 am »
yes, it is true, FF3 has been working like magic on linux, i used to be very dissapointed with ff2 earlier
SIGNATURE EDITED BY ADMIN - DO NOT USE SIGNATURE FOR ADVERTISING / SPAM