Author Topic: British summer time (Daylight savings time)  (Read 2314 times)

lardman

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4512
    • View Profile
    • http://people.bath.ac.uk/enpsgp/Zaurus/
British summer time (Daylight savings time)
« on: March 29, 2004, 10:50:36 am »
BST has just started. Is there a way of telling the software that this is the case (other than pretending I live in France, with which I\'m sure you Americans can see the problem ;-))


Simon

P.S. I thought I\'d seen something similar (in fact I thought I\'d asked something similar when we went to GMT 6 months or so ago, but I couldn\'t find a post nor could I find a setting)
C750 OZ3.5.4 (GPE, 2.6.x kernel)
SL5500 OZ3.5.4 (Opie)
Nokia 770
Serial GPS, WCF-12, Socket Ethernet & BT, Ratoc USB
WinXP, Mandriva

ced

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 225
    • View Profile
    • http://
British summer time (Daylight savings time)
« Reply #1 on: March 29, 2004, 10:55:44 am »
and about living in France for \"a better summer time\"... :-)
SL-5600, kernel 2.6.16 + GPE from .dev
Ethernet Socket LP-E
Viking 256M SD

Foxdie

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 465
    • View Profile
    • http://trackmygps.co.uk
British summer time (Daylight savings time)
« Reply #2 on: March 29, 2004, 10:59:46 am »
I\'m afraid there isn\'t an option in any of the administration options OR a user profile to compensate for GMT / BST that I can find. Perhaps org knows of a way. I wouldn\'t hold your breath for it though
Jason "Foxdie" Gaunt
HTC Universal G4 with 2GB SD card running Debian Titchy Linux
[img]http://trackmygps.co.uk/signatures/foxdie.gif\" border=\"0\" class=\"linked-sig-image\" /]
Click image to view my GPS tracker
Follow me on Twitter: @jasongaunt

TimW

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 296
    • View Profile
British summer time (Daylight savings time)
« Reply #3 on: March 29, 2004, 11:17:48 am »
I have my timezone set to \"London\" and my Zaurus sorted it all out for me. I\'ve got a tkcROM on an SL5000 but I\'m pretty sure the Sharp ROMs had London on as well, and I\'m pretty sure my OZ Zaurus has it (but I don\'t have that here to check whether it worked or not - I\'ll let you know). I set it in Settings - Date/Time and I\'m also forced to at least check it when ever I reboot.

lardman

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4512
    • View Profile
    • http://people.bath.ac.uk/enpsgp/Zaurus/
British summer time (Daylight savings time)
« Reply #4 on: April 08, 2004, 08:51:24 am »
Looks like the board has changed somehow, it\'s now on BST (and had been for the past few days to tell the truth) so I\'m no longer living in France.

Si
C750 OZ3.5.4 (GPE, 2.6.x kernel)
SL5500 OZ3.5.4 (Opie)
Nokia 770
Serial GPS, WCF-12, Socket Ethernet & BT, Ratoc USB
WinXP, Mandriva

tumnus

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1176
    • View Profile
    • http://www.cpinkney.org.uk
British summer time (Daylight savings time)
« Reply #5 on: April 08, 2004, 10:05:31 am »
Most US states put their clocks forward this past weekend. They\'re a week behind Europe when it comes to putting the clock forward.
# Search the Zaurus Howtos ## Search the Zaurus FAQs ## Find Z software at ELSI #
--------------------
UK SL5500 with Sharp ROM 3.13, SL5600 with Sharp ROM 1.32 - SuSE 9.0 Pro, Windows XP Home
Qualendar for Calendar and Todo
Socket Bluetooth CF Card (Rev F), Kingmax 512MB MMC Card, Palm Tungsten T Stylus,
Pretec CF->Smartmedia Adapter, Semsons Universal Battery Extender

.mau.

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 62
    • View Profile
    • http://xmau.com/
British summer time (Daylight savings time)
« Reply #6 on: April 08, 2004, 10:18:54 am »
Quote
BST has just started. Is there a way of telling the software that this is the case (other than pretending I live in France, with which I\'m sure you Americans can see the problem ;-))

Pardon me, but what is the problem? at least if I digit \"date\" I get
time zone CEST, so DST is in force.

ciao, .mau.[/code]
C860 + 128MB CF + 128MB SD; Cacko 1.20
Milano Italy - http://xmau.com/

tumnus

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1176
    • View Profile
    • http://www.cpinkney.org.uk
British summer time (Daylight savings time)
« Reply #7 on: April 08, 2004, 10:27:20 am »
Considering the forum this is in, I think Lardman is talking about the ZUG website clock, not the clock on his Zaurus.

BTW, the only website timezone setting I know of can be reached by clicking the Profile link at the top of the forums page, then clicking the \'Change Postnuke Profile\' button at the top of that. If that doesn\'t change what times you see in the forums then I guess the forum-postnuke link isn\'t quite there or something.
# Search the Zaurus Howtos ## Search the Zaurus FAQs ## Find Z software at ELSI #
--------------------
UK SL5500 with Sharp ROM 3.13, SL5600 with Sharp ROM 1.32 - SuSE 9.0 Pro, Windows XP Home
Qualendar for Calendar and Todo
Socket Bluetooth CF Card (Rev F), Kingmax 512MB MMC Card, Palm Tungsten T Stylus,
Pretec CF->Smartmedia Adapter, Semsons Universal Battery Extender

lardman

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4512
    • View Profile
    • http://people.bath.ac.uk/enpsgp/Zaurus/
British summer time (Daylight savings time)
« Reply #8 on: April 08, 2004, 10:32:20 am »
Yep I was, sorry for the confusion.

However I also encountered the other problem - If you\'re using pdaXrom and you want timezones to work grab the /etc/localtime file from your desktop box.


Si
C750 OZ3.5.4 (GPE, 2.6.x kernel)
SL5500 OZ3.5.4 (Opie)
Nokia 770
Serial GPS, WCF-12, Socket Ethernet & BT, Ratoc USB
WinXP, Mandriva

.mau.

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 62
    • View Profile
    • http://xmau.com/
British summer time (Daylight savings time)
« Reply #9 on: April 08, 2004, 11:02:32 am »
ok, I stand corrected - I got the message from the homepage, so I did not check the forum it was in.
AFAIK, PHPBB2 and PostNuke do not know about timezones, unfortunately.
ciao, .mau.
C860 + 128MB CF + 128MB SD; Cacko 1.20
Milano Italy - http://xmau.com/