Author Topic: flaky SD card  (Read 3379 times)

.mau.

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 62
    • View Profile
    • http://xmau.com/
flaky SD card
« on: April 06, 2004, 10:14:58 am »
I just noticed that my 128Mb SD card (branded Nytech - I do not know which is the actual manifacturer) has some problem: sometimes it remounts readonly, other times it is not seen at all. I never used it before, this is why I
wasn\'t aware of it. Did anyone have the same behaviour?
I am running Cacko Daniela on a 860.
ciao, .mau.
C860 + 128MB CF + 128MB SD; Cacko 1.20
Milano Italy - http://xmau.com/

Keola

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 48
    • View Profile
    • http://fruitwerks.us
flaky SD card
« Reply #1 on: April 06, 2004, 12:10:39 pm »
That is odd.  I would backup everything and format it a few times with a card reader. and see what happens

DrWowe

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 696
    • View Profile
    • http://
flaky SD card
« Reply #2 on: April 06, 2004, 12:34:35 pm »
There was a long thread about Zaurus SD problems a month or two ago.  It\'s a common problem.  Try searching the forums for more info.

.mau.

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 62
    • View Profile
    • http://xmau.com/
flaky SD card
« Reply #3 on: April 07, 2004, 06:50:07 am »
I searched the archives.
This was not useful:
- mount /dev/mmcda1 -o remount,sync,noatime (but maybe I have the wrong binary for mount: at least /etc/mtab does not show remount)
The other option, namely fsck /dev/mmcda1, stops because it does not find fsck.auto, and fsck.vfat complains
for a I/O error.Needless to say, mkfs.vfat does not work too: \"Attempting to create a too large file system\".
I had used the card on my digital camera, so I know it works... maybe Z is too picky?

ciao, .mau.
C860 + 128MB CF + 128MB SD; Cacko 1.20
Milano Italy - http://xmau.com/