Author Topic: Cacko Zaurus Qtopia ROM 1.21 is available!  (Read 78982 times)

Zuber

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 277
    • View Profile
    • http://www.shirtpocket.co.uk
Cacko Zaurus Qtopia ROM 1.21 is available!
« Reply #240 on: June 13, 2004, 04:33:10 pm »
I only found out when someone else that bought a unit from us tried the cacko rom and found the problem and told us.

I just tested it to confirm. So there does appear to be a consistant problem with it on Cacko rom.
Zuber
ShirtPocket Ltd.
www.shirtpocket.co.uk

clofland

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 245
    • View Profile
    • http://www.lofland.net/
Cacko Zaurus Qtopia ROM 1.21 is available!
« Reply #241 on: June 17, 2004, 11:24:42 am »
Quote
Hi there,
I\'m using the latest and greatest Cacko QT Rom and have installed X/QT in it. While some programs from the pdaXrom feed work great (e.g. gimp and the Mac emulator basilisk 2) others fail because of a missing library (libgtk-x11-2.0.so.0). Can anyone point me to where I could get this lib?
Thanks for taking the time to read
chris


Did you ever figure out this problem?
[span style=\'font-size:14pt;line-height:100%\']C-760 pdaXrom 1.1.0beta3[/span]
- Sandisk UltraII 1GB SD card - Socket LP CF LAN card - Socket LP CF WLAN card - Socket CF Bluetooth Card Rev H -

omega

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 626
    • View Profile
    • http://
Cacko Zaurus Qtopia ROM 1.21 is available!
« Reply #242 on: July 08, 2004, 07:14:36 am »
clofland, regarding the missing libraries you can link to qtopia ones. If you look around i have a post on this... more problems though after that for me.
Gorgeous C860, 256 Sandisk SD, 1Gig Pretec 40x CF, PDAIR leather case & the really cool retractable iPDA USB sync/charge cable. Powered by PDAXROM BETA 1.

My wish - to have a Command & Conquer style game on my Z! (FREECNC!!!) Simcity 2000 would also be great.

ev1l

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 608
    • View Profile
    • http://bbshuffle.blogspot.com/
Cacko Zaurus Qtopia ROM 1.21 is available!
« Reply #243 on: July 11, 2004, 04:59:11 pm »
How do I repartition the onboard flash like it says in the first post?

stupkid

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 578
    • View Profile
    • http://
Cacko Zaurus Qtopia ROM 1.21 is available!
« Reply #244 on: July 12, 2004, 05:39:24 pm »
That's part of th installation process.  The installer will prompt you.

Zaurus SL-C3200 pdaXii13v2 5.5 / Ambicom WC1100C-CF / Socket Bluetooth Rev G


OpenMoko FreeRunner - Running Tweaked OM2008.x Image

SharpEnd

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 102
    • View Profile
Cacko Zaurus Qtopia ROM 1.21 is available!
« Reply #245 on: July 26, 2004, 09:14:00 am »
I installed the Cacko ROM, the hotfix B, it booted once, and I was having the display "banding and ghosting" issue (c860) so I added the following

echo 75 > /proc/driver/w100/fastsysclk

to the /opt/QtPalmtop/qpe.sh script and it hangs on reboot.  After the first Sharp screen I get:

INIT: Entering runlevel: 5

Wait....5 (counts down to 1)
Wait....1
Wait....1
       etc, about 9 times, then:
INIT: ID "ln" respawning too fast: disabled for 5 minutes
       followed by a blinking cursor (no # sign).

It looks as though adding the line to fix the ghosting to the qpe.sh script causes it to hang, unless I did something wrong?
I reflashed, and it runs, but the banding problem is back.  I don't want to have to run the echo command every time I reboot - anyone have a fix?

Mike
« Last Edit: July 26, 2004, 10:02:49 am by mls64 »
SL-C860 w/Cacko 1.23
Pretec CF wi-fi

maslovsky

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1426
    • View Profile
    • http://my-zaurus.narod.ru
Cacko Zaurus Qtopia ROM 1.21 is available!
« Reply #246 on: July 26, 2004, 12:11:30 pm »
Quote
I installed the Cacko ROM, the hotfix B, it booted once, and I was having the display "banding and ghosting" issue (c860) so I added the following

echo 75 > /proc/driver/w100/fastsysclk

to the /opt/QtPalmtop/qpe.sh script and it hangs on reboot.  After the first Sharp screen I get:

INIT: Entering runlevel: 5

Wait....5 (counts down to 1)
Wait....1
Wait....1
       etc, about 9 times, then:
INIT: ID "ln" respawning too fast: disabled for 5 minutes
       followed by a blinking cursor (no # sign).

It looks as though adding the line to fix the ghosting to the qpe.sh script causes it to hang, unless I did something wrong?
I reflashed, and it runs, but the banding problem is back.  I don't want to have to run the echo command every time I reboot - anyone have a fix?

Mike
Where did you put that command? What editor did you use?

SharpEnd

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 102
    • View Profile
Cacko Zaurus Qtopia ROM 1.21 is available!
« Reply #247 on: July 26, 2004, 02:27:19 pm »
I used ZEditor and put it towards the end just before the done command.
SL-C860 w/Cacko 1.23
Pretec CF wi-fi

SharpEnd

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 102
    • View Profile
Cacko Zaurus Qtopia ROM 1.21 is available!
« Reply #248 on: July 26, 2004, 06:22:14 pm »
Quote
I installed the Cacko ROM, the hotfix B, it booted once, and I was having the display "banding and ghosting" issue (c860) so I added the following

echo 75 > /proc/driver/w100/fastsysclk

to the /opt/QtPalmtop/qpe.sh script and it hangs on reboot.  After the first Sharp screen I get:

INIT: Entering runlevel: 5

Wait....5 (counts down to 1)
Wait....1
Wait....1
       etc, about 9 times, then:
INIT: ID "ln" respawning too fast: disabled for 5 minutes
       followed by a blinking cursor (no # sign).

It looks as though adding the line to fix the ghosting to the qpe.sh script causes it to hang, unless I did something wrong?
I reflashed, and it runs, but the banding problem is back.  I don't want to have to run the echo command every time I reboot - anyone have a fix?

Mike
Here's the fix, from Maslovsky:

-----

Install Midnight Commander (available for download at this site), then go to console and type:

    su
    mc -a

Open qpe.sh in MC internal editor and enter the command:

    echo 75 > /proc/driver/w100/fastsysclk

before the line containing "nice survive..." command.  

Save the file, then either reboot or terminate Qtopia.

-----

It now boots perfectly, with no banding or ghosting!

Thanks to all!
SL-C860 w/Cacko 1.23
Pretec CF wi-fi

Lumune

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 34
    • View Profile
Cacko Zaurus Qtopia ROM 1.21 is available!
« Reply #249 on: August 16, 2004, 10:54:33 am »
I could not eject my bluetooth card (CC3040 Anycom BT CF card; model no. LSE039/5 R1A) on my c860, using Cacko 1.21b.
when i try to eject the card from the applet in task bar or using command "cardctl eject 0", my z just freeze. I can't even shut down my z via Fn+Home+flipping battery lock, i have to take out the battery to reboot my z.  

I used this card with the original Sharp rom with no problem

but what's weird is that the Z have no problem recongizing the bt card in Cacko, and I can use it to connect to my pc via PAN , and use internet and samba

I have search for this forum for hrs, and i have tried to uninstall every ipk that I had installed, including the hotfix-b ipk, still no fix...

can someone plz help me to fix this problem
thank you for ur time and help~~~
« Last Edit: August 16, 2004, 10:55:17 am by Lumune »

iamasmith

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1248
    • View Profile
Cacko Zaurus Qtopia ROM 1.21 is available!
« Reply #250 on: August 16, 2004, 12:41:42 pm »
Lumune,

Had this problem myself with a Bluemonkey card (LSE039/12 R2B) Zbones pointed me in the right direction on this one (and it was really annoying me until I got it fixed).

Edit /etc/pcmcia/bluetooth

Find the line that says 'hciconfig $2 down' and change it to 'hciconfig hci0 down' et voila.
Hope that works as well for you as it did for me !

BTW: Make sure that the line following 'hciconfig hci0 down' says 'sleep 1' as there are problems if the eject kicks in before the firmware on the card responds to the down.

Regards,

Andy
« Last Edit: August 16, 2004, 12:44:34 pm by iamasmith »
OpenBSD 4.2 -current on full 4Gb of SL-C3000
Microdrive replaced with 4Gb SanDisk Extreme III card

Lumune

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 34
    • View Profile
Cacko Zaurus Qtopia ROM 1.21 is available!
« Reply #251 on: August 16, 2004, 09:45:06 pm »
Quote
Lumune,

Had this problem myself with a Bluemonkey card (LSE039/12 R2B) Zbones pointed me in the right direction on this one (and it was really annoying me until I got it fixed).

Edit /etc/pcmcia/bluetooth

Find the line that says 'hciconfig $2 down' and change it to 'hciconfig hci0 down' et voila.
Hope that works as well for you as it did for me !

BTW: Make sure that the line following 'hciconfig hci0 down' says 'sleep 1' as there are problems if the eject kicks in before the firmware on the card responds to the down.

Regards,

Andy
YES~~~~!!!
it works~~~ woohoo~~~!!!

Thank you very much iamasmith and also Zbones~~  
I thought I have to switch back to the original Sharp rom ....  

actually, i am wondering how on earth Zbones found out that's the problem...

anyway, thanks

zbones

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 459
    • View Profile
Cacko Zaurus Qtopia ROM 1.21 is available!
« Reply #252 on: August 17, 2004, 02:34:59 pm »
Quote
actually, i am wondering how on earth Zbones found out that's the problem...
Trial and error, mixed with a bit of luck.

I figured out that configuring the card down before doing an eject works fine, so I just started hacking the scripts about a bit.

If an unlimited number of monkeys on an unlimited number of keyboards given an unlimited amount of time, can reproduce the complete works of shakespear then one monkey on one keyboard, could eventually stumble across the secret to fixing a blue monkey card.  

PS, with the advent of the internet we now know that the original statement is untrue.
An unlimited number of monkeys on an unlimited number of keyboards simply produce an unlimited number of "make money fast" emails and fake v!agra adverts  

Peter
Zaurus cl760, cacko QT rom. Zaurus sl5500 with TKCrom 1.0.
512mb Kingston cf card, 256mb Sandisk sd card, Lexar 256mb sd card.
Bluemonkey bluetooth card <-> Sony Ericsson k700i for gprs.
Buffalo WLI-CF-S11G wifi card. Haicom 303 mmf gps cf/seral card.

mikew

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 193
    • View Profile
Cacko Zaurus Qtopia ROM 1.21 is available!
« Reply #253 on: August 18, 2004, 05:20:57 am »
Posted in other forum to see if anyone can offer some help, withour success, reposting here in the hope that someone can help, perhaps Maslovsky.

I have tried to flash to Cacko 1.21 ROM using 4 separate downloads, all appeared to flash successfully, although I did get the following error message during the ROM install process, on each occasion.

'modprob can't locate module devinfo' (assume device info required by IPK installer)

All the standard apps work, but I can't load new applications, using the installer, even hotfix B failed on 2 of the downloads. It gives 1 of 2 error messages 'ipkg says something went wrong. Sorry' or 'The filename of this package includes characters this application can't handle. Please change the filename and retry install'

Cacko ROM looks good, but I will need to return to Sharp ROM, if I can't resolve the problem, except I can't find the instructions to return, searched forum & how tos.

Mike
C3200, C760 Cacko 1.23 ROM, 1gb SD, 1gb CF, WiFi, Imate Jasjar & Psion Netbook

mikew

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 193
    • View Profile
Cacko Zaurus Qtopia ROM 1.21 is available!
« Reply #254 on: August 18, 2004, 05:56:43 am »
Update on previous post.


I can install any application that can run from a SD card, dosn't hep with installing hotfix B, but may throw some light on the problem.

Mike
C3200, C760 Cacko 1.23 ROM, 1gb SD, 1gb CF, WiFi, Imate Jasjar & Psion Netbook