Author Topic: Cacko 1.21A keyboard problem  (Read 1523 times)

DReymann

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 34
    • View Profile
Cacko 1.21A keyboard problem
« on: April 25, 2004, 12:57:55 pm »
Hi,

first of all, thanks a lot for the great ROM.

I am using Cacko ROM 1.21 with hotfix A. Really the only problem which is left for me is a small problem with the keyboard. I use a modified german keyboard-file for cyrillica (I posted this one some weeks ago). I do not use the keyhelper-app (I did khctl disable). All Qtopia-Apps work fine with all special characters I need (Umlaut etc.) But in a console window these special characters do not work. Either nothing happens or some fancy reactions like \"(arg: 6)\" appearing on the screen when I try to get \"ö\".

Since I did not have this problem there must be some change between Cacko ROM 1.20 and 1.21 responsible for that.

Any idea?

Detlev

Rado

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
    • View Profile
Cacko 1.21A keyboard problem
« Reply #1 on: April 25, 2004, 03:18:16 pm »
Quote
Either nothing happens or some fancy reactions like \"(arg: 6)\" appearing on the screen when I try to get \"ö\".

Wild guess, have you tried to play with the LC_LANG variable?

Try something like \"export LC_LANG=de_DE\" and see if that works..

DReymann

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 34
    • View Profile
Cacko 1.21A keyboard problem
« Reply #2 on: April 25, 2004, 03:44:26 pm »
Hi,

thanks for the hint, but there was no change to the language-variable. Adding the line \"export LC_ ...\" to .profile does not change anything.

I am not shure, but I think I had a similar problem after installing the keyhelper-application on the 1.20 ROM. Since there is no need for me to use this - is there a way to remove it from the 1.21 ROM manually? Would be worth a try.

Detlev

Stubear

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1164
    • View Profile
    • http://
Cacko 1.21A keyboard problem
« Reply #3 on: April 25, 2004, 05:58:20 pm »
Sounds like .profile is not being called then. Check that /bin/bash and NOT /bin/sh end the users line in /etc/passwd

Stu
SL-C1000, Hand converted to English with Japanese Input
Running X apps via X/Qt
iRiver USB host cable; Diatec P-Cord usb power cable (extendable); Acro's Reel Cable USB (A to A, B, Mini-B,  & Mini-B 8pin); GreenHouse 1Gb PicoDrive+; 2x256Mb Hagiwara SD cards; 128Mb Transcend CF card; 512Mb PQI CF card; AmbiCom WL1100C-CF 11B WLAN card

fu-ga-zi

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 31
    • View Profile
    • http://
Cacko 1.21A keyboard problem
« Reply #4 on: April 26, 2004, 11:23:13 am »
On the other hand, as long as it is \"just\" the console; why would one need Umlauts there anyway? AFAIK, the clean way on console is always to use only the characters the original 7 bit character set offered.

Regards

Peter <- from Germany ;-)

DReymann

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 34
    • View Profile
Cacko 1.21A keyboard problem
« Reply #5 on: April 26, 2004, 11:24:32 am »
Hi,

nope, the entry for the shell in /etc/passwd is ok.

To describe the problem more in detail:

After rebooting my zaurus neither in qtopia-apps nor in the console-window I have the keys which are defined in my \"german\"-file for cyrillica.

I have to disable the keyhelper-app via \"khctl disable\" and I have to reload the \"german\"-file via the keyboard-app in the settings-tab.

After that I have the correct keys in all qtopia-apps but not in the console-window.

Any idea?

Detlev

maslovsky

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1426
    • View Profile
    • http://my-zaurus.narod.ru
Cacko 1.21A keyboard problem
« Reply #6 on: April 28, 2004, 06:31:32 am »
Try this - open /home/zaurus/.profile in editor, find and comment the following line:

echo -n -e \"\033%G\"

Also, can you send me your updated german keymap file? I will include in the next ROM hotfix.

DReymann

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 34
    • View Profile
Cacko 1.21A keyboard problem
« Reply #7 on: April 28, 2004, 01:18:56 pm »
Hello,

the modification changes the behaviour in the way, that the funny characters do not show up. But the Umlauts like ö or ä are still not available on the console (but in qtopia). I still suspect some \"interweaving\" between keyhelper-app and cyrillica ...

You find my modified keyboard-file on http://oek.fbl.fh-wiesbaden.de/zaurus/ - i called it \"deutsch\" to avoid naming-problems with your original file.

Detlev

PsionX

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 97
    • View Profile
Cacko 1.21A keyboard problem
« Reply #8 on: April 28, 2004, 02:42:54 pm »
Quote
...\" appearing on the screen when I try to get \"ö\"...
Since I did not have this problem there must be some change between Cacko ROM 1.20 and 1.21 responsible for that.
Any idea?
Detlev
Fonts.. I have the same problem with french accent and Lcfont.. not with Fixed .
\"Beaune Avaux\" wine addict

DReymann

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 34
    • View Profile
Cacko 1.21A keyboard problem
« Reply #9 on: April 28, 2004, 03:28:37 pm »
Hi,

nope, just checked this, it the same problem with all fonts ...

Detlev