Author Topic: <Cross Compile> ALMOST THERE ! need help  (Read 5957 times)

summer00

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 42
    • View Profile
<Cross Compile> ALMOST THERE ! need help
« on: June 28, 2004, 06:16:08 am »
I knew i have posted a lot of similar posts, very sorry about that, but this is the latest progression of my project, hope someone can help me on this

I am trying to cross compile kphone(a VOIP softphone) so that it will work in a ZAURUS sl-5500.
I have qt-embedded in " file:/qt-embedded-free-3.3.2 ". I have executed the steps below in the kphone directory :

$ PATH=/usr/local/tools/linux/arm/gcc-3.2.2/arm-linux/bin:$PATH ./configure --host=arm-linux
Code: [Select]
reating cache ./config.cache
checking for gcc... gcc
checking whether the C compiler (gcc  ) works... yes
checking whether the C compiler (gcc  ) is a cross-compiler... yes
checking whether we are using GNU C... yes
checking whether gcc accepts -g... yes
checking how to run the C preprocessor... gcc -E
checking for c++... c++
checking whether the C++ compiler (c++  ) works... yes
checking whether the C++ compiler (c++  ) is a cross-compiler... yes
checking whether we are using GNU C++... yes
checking whether c++ accepts -g... yes
checking how to run the C++ preprocessor... c++ -E
checking whether gcc needs -traditional... no
checking for moc... /usr/lib/qt-3.1/bin/moc
checking for uic... /usr/lib/qt-3.1/bin/uic
checking location of Qt header files... /usr/lib/qt-3.1/include
checking location of Qt library... /usr/lib/qt-3.1/lib
checking if Qt is multi-threaded... no
checking for main in -lX11... no
checking for main in -lXext... no
checking for main in -lXt... no
checking for main in -lICE... no
checking for main in -lSM... no
checking for main in -lpng... no
checking for ANSI C header files... yes
checking for fcntl.h... yes
checking for sys/ioctl.h... yes
checking for unistd.h... yes
checking for working const... yes
checking for select... no
checking for mkstemp() in unistd.h... no
checking for mkstemp() in stdlib.h... yes
updating cache ./config.cache
creating ./config.status
creating Makefile
creating kphone/Makefile
creating dissipate2/Makefile
creating ilbc/Makefile
creating gsm/Makefile
creating icons/Makefile

Now type 'make', followed by 'make install' as root.

[root@localhost kphone-4.0.1]#

$ PATH=/usr/local/tools/linux/arm/gcc-3.2.2/arm-linux/bin:$PATH make
here are the erros during "make" process
Code: [Select]
 ......
  ......
/usr/bin/ld: main.o: Relocations in generic ELF (EM: 40)
main.o: could not read symbols: File in wrong format
collect2: ld returned 1 exit status
make[1]: *** [kphone] Error 1
make[1]: Leaving directory `/kphone-4.0.1/kphone'
make: *** [all] Error 2

the compilation was successful if i use:
Code: [Select]
$ ./configure
$ make

instead of

Code: [Select]
$ PATH=/usr/local/tools/linux/arm/gcc-3.2.2/arm-linux/bin:$PATH ./configure --host=arm-linux
$ PATH=/usr/local/tools/linux/arm/gcc-3.2.2/arm-linux/bin:$PATH make


Any idea on this ?

Kphone source
http://cvs.wirlab.net/cgi-bin/viewcvs.cgi/...ar.gz?tarball=1
« Last Edit: June 28, 2004, 06:24:47 am by summer00 »

zautrix

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 437
    • View Profile
    • http://www.pi-sync.net
<Cross Compile> ALMOST THERE ! need help
« Reply #1 on: June 28, 2004, 06:22:43 am »
On what ROM do you want to use the app on the Zaurus?

summer00

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 42
    • View Profile
<Cross Compile> ALMOST THERE ! need help
« Reply #2 on: June 28, 2004, 06:26:21 am »
Quote
On what ROM do you want to use the app on the Zaurus?
Linux Kernel Version :
2.4.18-rmk7-pxa3-embedix
ROM Version : 3.10

zautrix

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 437
    • View Profile
    • http://www.pi-sync.net
<Cross Compile> ALMOST THERE ! need help
« Reply #3 on: June 28, 2004, 06:38:44 am »
You use
gcc 3.2.2 and Qt 3.

Programs for the Sharp ROM need  gcc 2.95 and Qt 2.

KPhone is a KDE app.

In the readme you can read:
 KPhone requires KDE (K Desktop Environment)
or at least various libraries from the KDE package.

And KPhone is most probably Qt3 based.

So, please tell me:

What are you doing?

You should really read some docs about compiling, cross compiling and cross compiling for Sharp ROM.

z.

summer00

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 42
    • View Profile
<Cross Compile> ALMOST THERE ! need help
« Reply #4 on: June 28, 2004, 06:47:50 am »
i was able to run kphone in the Linux PC, but i wish to migrate it to a zaurus PDA? can i do that ? can kphone be cross-compiled? or should i ask ,can ALL the linux-PC program be compiled to work in a PDA ?
« Last Edit: June 28, 2004, 06:52:59 am by summer00 »

lardman

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4512
    • View Profile
    • http://people.bath.ac.uk/enpsgp/Zaurus/
<Cross Compile> ALMOST THERE ! need help
« Reply #5 on: June 28, 2004, 07:06:24 am »
Aside from the fact that you can't run KDE apps on a 5500 (yet ;-))

You should probably do the following if you insist on running everything from one line:

Code: [Select]
$ CC=arm-linux-gcc CXX=arm-linux-g++ CCX=arm-linux-gcc CXXX=arm-linux-g++ COMPILER=arm-linux-gcc LINKER=arm-linux-g++ PATH=/usr/local/tools/linux/arm/gcc-3.2.2/bin:/usr/local/tools/linux/arm/gcc-3.2.2/arm-linux/bin:$PATH ./configure --host=arm-linux
then

Code: [Select]
$ CC=arm-linux-gcc CXX=arm-linux-g++ CCX=arm-linux-gcc CXXX=arm-linux-g++ COMPILER=arm-linux-gcc LINKER=arm-linux-g++ PATH=/usr/local/tools/linux/arm/gcc-3.2.2/bin:/usr/local/tools/linux/arm/gcc-3.2.2/arm-linux/bin:$PATH make

Si
« Last Edit: June 28, 2004, 07:07:17 am by lardman »
C750 OZ3.5.4 (GPE, 2.6.x kernel)
SL5500 OZ3.5.4 (Opie)
Nokia 770
Serial GPS, WCF-12, Socket Ethernet & BT, Ratoc USB
WinXP, Mandriva

summer00

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 42
    • View Profile
<Cross Compile> ALMOST THERE ! need help
« Reply #6 on: June 28, 2004, 07:14:05 am »
Finally my problem was solved, " KDE APPs cant run in 5500 " !!! wasted two weeks to find this answer , sigh...


Did you mean that KDE application can only be run under KDE? how about gnome ? need details on this, im linux noob, thanks
« Last Edit: June 28, 2004, 07:16:12 am by summer00 »

zautrix

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 437
    • View Profile
    • http://www.pi-sync.net
<Cross Compile> ALMOST THERE ! need help
« Reply #7 on: June 28, 2004, 07:27:58 am »
Quote
Finally my problem was solved, " KDE APPs cant run in 5500 " !!! wasted two weeks to find this answer , sigh...

Thats true in general.

But actually, KPhone does not need any KDE libs at all.

The statement in the README is not true.

Quote
Did you mean that KDE application can only be run under KDE? how about gnome ? need details on this, im linux noob, thanks

A KDE application may need some KDE libs. You just have to cross-compile these libs as well.
But that is not an easy task. Because all the dependencies in KDE.


To answer your other question:
As I wrote:
Apps for the Sharp ROM have to be Qt2 based!
KPhone is Qt3 based.

Such that you have to cross-compile the Qt3 lib for Sharp as well to use KPhone.

That is possible, KPhone seems to be an interesting app for the Zaurus, I will compile it , when I have some time to try it out and play with it.


z.

summer00

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 42
    • View Profile
<Cross Compile> ALMOST THERE ! need help
« Reply #8 on: June 28, 2004, 01:27:50 pm »
Quote
Quote
Finally my problem was solved, " KDE APPs cant run in 5500 " !!! wasted two weeks to find this answer , sigh...

Thats true in general.

But actually, KPhone does not need any KDE libs at all.

The statement in the README is not true.

Quote
Did you mean that KDE application can only be run under KDE? how about gnome ? need details on this, im linux noob, thanks

A KDE application may need some KDE libs. You just have to cross-compile these libs as well.
But that is not an easy task. Because all the dependencies in KDE.


To answer your other question:
As I wrote:
Apps for the Sharp ROM have to be Qt2 based!
KPhone is Qt3 based.

Such that you have to cross-compile the Qt3 lib for Sharp as well to use KPhone.

That is possible, KPhone seems to be an interesting app for the Zaurus, I will compile it , when I have some time to try it out and play with it.


z.
KPhone does not need any KDE libs at all ??? can i compile kphone without having KDE libs ?

did you mean that kphone is actually able to be compiled into a zaurus by cross compiling the Qt3 lib for sharp? How can i do this ?

appreciate if you can list out the important instructions on this, thanks

zautrix

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 437
    • View Profile
    • http://www.pi-sync.net
<Cross Compile> ALMOST THERE ! need help
« Reply #9 on: July 11, 2004, 01:19:55 am »
Quote
KPhone does not need any KDE libs at all ??? can i compile kphone without having KDE libs ?

did you mean that kphone is actually able to be compiled into a zaurus by cross compiling the Qt3 lib for sharp? How can i do this ?

appreciate if you can list out the important instructions on this, thanks
Hi summer,

I have cross compiled KPhone and I have it running on my SL 760 now!
I want to test it ,but I am completely clueless about SIP and VOIP.

Can you enlighten me how to configure/use KPhone?
Do I need some SIP server?  How does it work in general?

If I would be able to test KPhone, I would create an ipk package.

z.

zautrix

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 437
    • View Profile
    • http://www.pi-sync.net
<Cross Compile> ALMOST THERE ! need help
« Reply #10 on: July 11, 2004, 04:22:33 pm »
Quote
Can you enlighten me how to configure/use KPhone?
Do I need some SIP server?  How does it work in general?
Hi summer,

no help needed anymore, I am already online with KPone.
The last thing is to find out how to connect a headset to the Zaurus and KPone.
But the connection of KPone to a SIP service provider is working.

That is pretty cool - if I get the headset connected, I can use the Z as a SIP Phone.

z.

stupkid

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 578
    • View Profile
    • http://
<Cross Compile> ALMOST THERE ! need help
« Reply #11 on: July 11, 2004, 08:32:06 pm »
Zautrix, any chance of you posting an IPK?

Zaurus SL-C3200 pdaXii13v2 5.5 / Ambicom WC1100C-CF / Socket Bluetooth Rev G


OpenMoko FreeRunner - Running Tweaked OM2008.x Image

summer00

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 42
    • View Profile
<Cross Compile> ALMOST THERE ! need help
« Reply #12 on: July 12, 2004, 01:01:04 am »
cool! zautrix....are you using somekind of PBX server(like asterisk) for the kphone ? how did you compile kphone ? can you post the step-by-step guide on it ? thanks a lot

zautrix

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 437
    • View Profile
    • http://www.pi-sync.net
<Cross Compile> ALMOST THERE ! need help
« Reply #13 on: July 12, 2004, 01:16:39 am »
Quote
Zautrix, any chance of you posting an IPK?
https://www.oesf.org/forums/inde...wtopic=5563&hl=

zautrix

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 437
    • View Profile
    • http://www.pi-sync.net
<Cross Compile> ALMOST THERE ! need help
« Reply #14 on: July 12, 2004, 01:22:09 am »
Quote
cool! zautrix....are you using somekind of PBX server(like asterisk) for the kphone ? how did you compile kphone ? can you post the step-by-step guide on it ? thanks a lot
No, sorry I cannot. Too many steps are needed, it would take to long to write them all down.

Believe me, it is too difficult for someone who has no clue about compling and Qt.
And the program you will get is quite useless, because you cannot get it in the foregroud again, after it was once in the background.

To get it back in the foreground you need an extra Qt2 Qtopia start program, which communicates via signals to the Qt3 app.


Believe me, too difficult ...

z.