Author Topic: editing /root/.profile  (Read 3525 times)

prokaryx

• View Profile
    • http://
editing /root/.profile
« on: July 24, 2004, 07:51:33 am »
This is a linux question. I'm new to linux.

Why can't I edit the /root/.profile file? As root, I've chmod it to rw but I get an error that the filesystem is read-only when I try to modify it. And yes, the /root directory is also set to rw.

Actually, the main reason I want to edit the .profile file is that I want to customize the bash session (the prompt, environment variables, etc).

Another thing is that /home/zaurus and /home/root have their own .profile files, but after I edited them and rebooted the machine, there wasn't any effect. So what's the purpose of these files?

Stubear

• View Profile
editing /root/.profile
« Reply #1 on: July 24, 2004, 09:21:22 am »
If you want the profiles in /home/zaurus and /home/root to be effective you will need to change the shell for root and zaurus to /bin/bash in /etc/passwd (it's currently /bin/sh)

If you want to edit stuff under /root then you will need to remount the root partition rw, make sure you know what you are doing and change it back after you have finished.

To remount root partition rw, mount -o remount,rw /
To remount root partition ro,  mount -o remount,ro /

Stu
SL-C1000, Hand converted to English with Japanese Input
Running X apps via X/Qt
iRiver USB host cable; Diatec P-Cord usb power cable (extendable); Acro's Reel Cable USB (A to A, B, Mini-B,  & Mini-B 8pin); GreenHouse 1Gb PicoDrive+; 2x256Mb Hagiwara SD cards; 128Mb Transcend CF card; 512Mb PQI CF card; AmbiCom WL1100C-CF 11B WLAN card

prokaryx

• View Profile
editing /root/.profile
« Reply #2 on: July 27, 2004, 01:22:48 am »
Thanks Stubear! Works like a charm.

gdog

• View Profile
editing /root/.profile
« Reply #3 on: July 28, 2004, 07:29:33 pm »
Hey Stu,