Author Topic: /usr/QtPalmtop.rom permissions and slocate  (Read 1520 times)

vinc17

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 38
    • View Profile
    • http://www.vinc17.org/
/usr/QtPalmtop.rom permissions and slocate
« on: August 02, 2004, 03:48:52 am »
On the SL-C860 with Sharp ROM:

Does anyone know why /usr/QtPalmtop.rom and its subdirectories don't have read and execute permissions for everybody? This is rather silly! This means that some setgid programs needing a library from it, like slocate, won't be able to run under the (default) zaurus account.

Code: [Select]
zaurus:~> locate
locate: error while loading shared libraries: libqte.so.2: cannot load shared object file: No such file or directory

Well, I get this when I run locate from Qkonsole, but not from a ssh connection (id outputs uid=500(zaurus) gid=500(qpe) in both cases), even when I set LD_LIBRARY_PATH to the same string. Any idea?
SL-C860 with Sharp ROM 1.40 JP, WLI2-CF-S11 wireless LAN, CF-10T LAN, 1GB Sandisk SD, 128MB PQI CF.

tumnus

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1176
    • View Profile
    • http://www.cpinkney.org.uk
/usr/QtPalmtop.rom permissions and slocate
« Reply #1 on: August 02, 2004, 04:24:04 am »
Are you sure it's a permissions problem and not a path problem?

On my 5600 with the Sharp ROM, everything under /usr/QtPalmtop.rom is readable and executable by root and anyone in the qpe group (which includes the zaurus user).

/usr/QtPalmtop.rom/lib isn't in the path at all because just about everything under there is linked from /home/QtPalmtop in one way or another, but for some reason the default shell doesn't have /home/QtPalmtop/lib in the path and only has /usr/lib . ssh and qkonsole may well be running different shells and hence may be getting different environments.

Have you tried putting /home/QtPalmtop/lib in the LD_LIBRARY_PATH variable?
# Search the Zaurus Howtos ## Search the Zaurus FAQs ## Find Z software at ELSI #
--------------------
UK SL5500 with Sharp ROM 3.13, SL5600 with Sharp ROM 1.32 - SuSE 9.0 Pro, Windows XP Home
Qualendar for Calendar and Todo
Socket Bluetooth CF Card (Rev F), Kingmax 512MB MMC Card, Palm Tungsten T Stylus,
Pretec CF->Smartmedia Adapter, Semsons Universal Battery Extender

vinc17

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 38
    • View Profile
    • http://www.vinc17.org/
/usr/QtPalmtop.rom permissions and slocate
« Reply #2 on: August 02, 2004, 06:01:38 am »
I don't think it is a path problem. The PATH is the same (I checked that). By default, the LD_LIBRARY_PATH isn't the same, but modifying it so that it is the same doesn't change anything. I also thought about other environment variables, and modified them to have an almost identical environment, but again, this doesn't change anything.

Quote
Have you tried putting /home/QtPalmtop/lib in the LD_LIBRARY_PATH variable?

It already is in LD_LIBRARY_PATH (except with the ssh connection, where locate works very well). I think I'll need to install the strace package and see the differences...
SL-C860 with Sharp ROM 1.40 JP, WLI2-CF-S11 wireless LAN, CF-10T LAN, 1GB Sandisk SD, 128MB PQI CF.

vinc17

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 38
    • View Profile
    • http://www.vinc17.org/
/usr/QtPalmtop.rom permissions and slocate
« Reply #3 on: August 03, 2004, 01:22:23 pm »
I've install strace, but it doesn't provide any information since when I use "strace -o strace.out locate", I don't get any error!
SL-C860 with Sharp ROM 1.40 JP, WLI2-CF-S11 wireless LAN, CF-10T LAN, 1GB Sandisk SD, 128MB PQI CF.