Author Topic: OZ 3.5.1pre1 + GPE testing  (Read 16837 times)

Elleomea

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 50
    • View Profile
    • http://www.mikeasoft.com
OZ 3.5.1pre1 + GPE testing
« Reply #60 on: September 21, 2004, 01:42:29 pm »
Just tried the GPE release from openzaurus.org and had the same problem someone else mentioned with the testing releases. I had the package manager crash attempting to do a list update and had to reset. Now GPE is completely unusable with just a keyboard positioned in the middle of the screen and a single input box, instead of the login manager. A full reset does nothing to help the situation.

GPE appears great and runs very nicely, but with this bug it's not very practical for actual usage.
« Last Edit: September 21, 2004, 01:43:25 pm by Elleomea »

Cwiiis

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 60
    • View Profile
OZ 3.5.1pre1 + GPE testing
« Reply #61 on: September 21, 2004, 02:04:30 pm »
Quote
Just tried the GPE release from openzaurus.org and had the same problem someone else mentioned with the testing releases. I had the package manager crash attempting to do a list update and had to reset. Now GPE is completely unusable with just a keyboard positioned in the middle of the screen and a single input box, instead of the login manager. A full reset does nothing to help the situation.

GPE appears great and runs very nicely, but with this bug it's not very practical for actual usage.
Please read the release notes on the wiki - You could've avoided this situation. OZ 3.5.1 is not a stable release and thus does have problems, known and unknown.

Elleomea

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 50
    • View Profile
    • http://www.mikeasoft.com
OZ 3.5.1pre1 + GPE testing
« Reply #62 on: September 21, 2004, 02:43:33 pm »
Ah sorry, I'd looked at the release notes a day or two ago and it wasn't listed as a problem, just didn't think to look again.

Hrw

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1366
    • View Profile
OZ 3.5.1pre1 + GPE testing
« Reply #63 on: September 21, 2004, 07:00:27 pm »
fdisk is built-in in busybox - run /sbin/fdisk
OpenZaurus 3.5.4x Release Manager
OpenEmbedded, Ångström, Poky developer
My website

Misc embedded hardware.

lardman

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4512
    • View Profile
    • http://people.bath.ac.uk/enpsgp/Zaurus/
OZ 3.5.1pre1 + GPE testing
« Reply #64 on: September 21, 2004, 07:38:25 pm »
How does one suspend?

I couldn't find a suitable command (there's also nothing on the 'Start Menu', and 'apm --suspend' complained.


Si
C750 OZ3.5.4 (GPE, 2.6.x kernel)
SL5500 OZ3.5.4 (Opie)
Nokia 770
Serial GPS, WCF-12, Socket Ethernet & BT, Ratoc USB
WinXP, Mandriva

lardman

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4512
    • View Profile
    • http://people.bath.ac.uk/enpsgp/Zaurus/
OZ 3.5.1pre1 + GPE testing
« Reply #65 on: September 21, 2004, 08:00:37 pm »
One more thing, apm (probably) isn't working correctly.

My 5500 thought it was charging when it wasn't (reflected in the GUI task bar icon as well as the apm output - though the former probably uses the latter anyway).


Si
C750 OZ3.5.4 (GPE, 2.6.x kernel)
SL5500 OZ3.5.4 (Opie)
Nokia 770
Serial GPS, WCF-12, Socket Ethernet & BT, Ratoc USB
WinXP, Mandriva

jscriv

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 23
    • View Profile
    • http://
OZ 3.5.1pre1 + GPE testing
« Reply #66 on: September 21, 2004, 10:08:26 pm »
lardman - the Cancel/On-Off button suspends and resumes fine for me on my 5500.

Did you mean something else?

Jeremy.

franktj2000

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 13
    • View Profile
    • http://
OZ 3.5.1pre1 + GPE testing
« Reply #67 on: September 22, 2004, 12:01:35 am »
does wireless networking work on this image?  I inserted my socket wlan card, but the led doesnt even light up.  Also on settings, I see both wlan config and network setup, but looks like there are similar settings on both, so I dont know where to start.  I know my wlan works on my opie-image setup.   I have a 5500 with openzaurus 3.5.1 and a 5000 with gpe, so I can try both roms at the same time :-)

macwiz

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 151
    • View Profile
    • http://www.macwiz.co.uk
OZ 3.5.1pre1 + GPE testing
« Reply #68 on: September 22, 2004, 04:23:02 am »
I am not having much luck with the package manager in GPE. How do you install ipks?

I would learn ipkg, but the help that comes up is unreadable on my small screen in the terminal. I tried redirecting it to a text file, but just got blank. Does anyone know where I find the original ipkg help file in the file structure so I can read it better wrapped in a text editor?

Or any good advice on getting things to install in GPE.

Thanks!
Macwiz
c860, never quite lived up to my expectations... my fault I guess
17in MacBook Pro lovely xxxx
iPhone 3G ummm
SE P990i with UIQ3. Never enough RAM.
Pocket Loox 720 used for designing ebooks. Just don't like it though!

macwiz: apple mac support in Oxfordshire
Twitter: @boffinboy

lardman

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4512
    • View Profile
    • http://people.bath.ac.uk/enpsgp/Zaurus/
OZ 3.5.1pre1 + GPE testing
« Reply #69 on: September 22, 2004, 05:11:35 am »
Quote
lardman - the Cancel/On-Off button suspends and resumes fine for me on my 5500.

Did you mean something else?

Jeremy.

lol, I've been running unstable GPE distros on my 5500 for so long (with which the on/off button either wouldn't work, or would require a hard reset to resume) that I'd completely forgotten about it.

Thanks :-)


Si

P.S. Is there a software command to suspend - to be added to the 'start menu'?
C750 OZ3.5.4 (GPE, 2.6.x kernel)
SL5500 OZ3.5.4 (Opie)
Nokia 770
Serial GPS, WCF-12, Socket Ethernet & BT, Ratoc USB
WinXP, Mandriva

clive_2004

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 27
    • View Profile
OZ 3.5.1pre1 + GPE testing
« Reply #70 on: September 22, 2004, 07:48:29 am »
Sounds great!

Is there any chance of a build for the C860 please?  

..Clive