Author Topic: how do you load ikp to sd from xterm  (Read 5097 times)

xiaman

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 63
    • View Profile
how do you load ikp to sd from xterm
« on: October 12, 2004, 07:42:14 pm »
i have an sd card with ext3 format.
i want to load ipks to it as i only have a 750 running rc5. so no room .
what code do i put in xterm .to load  to the sd card .


thanks
c750 pdx rom rc5. sl5500 chinese rom 3.10
d-link wifi ... sandisk wifi

blakeyez

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 90
    • View Profile
    • http://
how do you load ikp to sd from xterm
« Reply #1 on: October 12, 2004, 07:46:07 pm »
Add something like

Code: [Select]
dest sd /mnt/card
to your /etc/ipkg.conf... Then you can do

Code: [Select]
ipkg -d sd install packagename
Dave

xiaman

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 63
    • View Profile
how do you load ikp to sd from xterm
« Reply #2 on: October 12, 2004, 09:11:34 pm »
this is going to sound  realy stupid but
i can see the file ipkg.conf in the directory  /etc
i don't know how to edit it what comand do i use
thanks

ps playing with my zaurus is my first experance with bash comands.
c750 pdx rom rc5. sl5500 chinese rom 3.10
d-link wifi ... sandisk wifi

xiaman

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 63
    • View Profile
how do you load ikp to sd from xterm
« Reply #3 on: October 12, 2004, 09:56:58 pm »
ok edited ipkg.conf    in abi word.

when i go to install an ipk i get error
Quote
mkdir: cannot create directory '/mnt/card/home/tmp/ipkg/' :input/output error

i have tried to make directory in term but get input/output error.
i get this error in the home directory if i try ls command also

can any one help thanks
« Last Edit: October 12, 2004, 09:58:44 pm by xiaman »
c750 pdx rom rc5. sl5500 chinese rom 3.10
d-link wifi ... sandisk wifi

blakeyez

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 90
    • View Profile
    • http://
how do you load ikp to sd from xterm
« Reply #4 on: October 12, 2004, 10:08:03 pm »
Is your SD card mounted?  (check 'mount').  Are you able to do:

Code: [Select]
mkdir -p /mnt/card/home/tmp/ipkg
Check permissions on the root dir of the card, too.

Dave

xiaman

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 63
    • View Profile
how do you load ikp to sd from xterm
« Reply #5 on: October 12, 2004, 10:31:11 pm »
sorry i'm a newbe at this how do you Check permissions on the root dir of the card.
« Last Edit: October 12, 2004, 10:42:48 pm by xiaman »
c750 pdx rom rc5. sl5500 chinese rom 3.10
d-link wifi ... sandisk wifi

blakeyez

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 90
    • View Profile
    • http://
how do you load ikp to sd from xterm
« Reply #6 on: October 12, 2004, 10:57:19 pm »
Code: [Select]
ls -ld /mnt/card
The -l shows 'l'ong format list of files (extra info, including user/group and permissions), and the -d shows the referenced directory instead of its contents.

Dave

xiaman

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 63
    • View Profile
how do you load ikp to sd from xterm
« Reply #7 on: October 12, 2004, 11:22:19 pm »
cool thanks for the help.

did that command and get
Quote
drwxr-xr-x   4 root     root      1024 jan 1 15:41 /mnt/card

not sure what that means
c750 pdx rom rc5. sl5500 chinese rom 3.10
d-link wifi ... sandisk wifi

blakeyez

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 90
    • View Profile
    • http://
how do you load ikp to sd from xterm
« Reply #8 on: October 12, 2004, 11:36:20 pm »
That's fine.... Permissions basically are 3 sets of read-write-execute flags, one set each for owner (user), group, and everyone.  So rwxr-xr-x means the owner has full read/write/execute permission, and everyone else has read/execute but not write...

Anyway... Is /mnt/card mounted?  Run 'mount' and see if you see it listed there

Dave

xiaman

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 63
    • View Profile
how do you load ikp to sd from xterm
« Reply #9 on: October 13, 2004, 05:24:14 am »
yes it came up in the list and with ext3 format.
but has (ro)  everyhting else has (rw)
my question now is how do i change write pomissions on the sd card.
« Last Edit: October 13, 2004, 06:15:45 am by xiaman »
c750 pdx rom rc5. sl5500 chinese rom 3.10
d-link wifi ... sandisk wifi

lardman

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4512
    • View Profile
    • http://people.bath.ac.uk/enpsgp/Zaurus/
how do you load ikp to sd from xterm
« Reply #10 on: October 13, 2004, 07:06:58 am »
umount it
fsck it
mount it

Si
C750 OZ3.5.4 (GPE, 2.6.x kernel)
SL5500 OZ3.5.4 (Opie)
Nokia 770
Serial GPS, WCF-12, Socket Ethernet & BT, Ratoc USB
WinXP, Mandriva

xiaman

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 63
    • View Profile
how do you load ikp to sd from xterm
« Reply #11 on: October 14, 2004, 11:23:50 pm »
i want to thank blakeyes and lardman for helping so far you both have helped me alot in understanding comands.

i still have my problem when i install to sd card i get input output error. such as..
mkdir: cannot create directory '/mnt/card/home/tmp/ipkg/' :input/output error

this is what i have done..

to make ext3 on sd card

#umount /mnt/card
#mkfs.ext3 /dev/mmcd/disc0/part1

edited /etc/ipkg.conf and added  at the bottom
dest sd /mnt/card

if i type mount it shows
/dev/mmcd/disc0/part1 on /mnt/card type ext3 (rw)

tried to load got input output error...

tried
umount
fsck
mount

now get this when i type mount
/dev/mmcd/disc0/part1 on /mnt/card type ext3 (rw,no suid,no dev)

still get input output error.

can any one see what i'm doing wrong?
what does no suid and no dev  mean?
c750 pdx rom rc5. sl5500 chinese rom 3.10
d-link wifi ... sandisk wifi

lardman

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4512
    • View Profile
    • http://people.bath.ac.uk/enpsgp/Zaurus/
how do you load ikp to sd from xterm
« Reply #12 on: October 15, 2004, 06:14:40 am »
Quote
what does no suid and no dev mean?

These are mount flags; don't worry about them.

Quote
still get input output error.

can any one see what i'm doing wrong?

There was a thread about input/output errors on pdaXrom. I used to get these errors with my 128MB MMC card. It is a peculiarity of pdaXrom as this doesn't happen to me with OZ. I'm not sure whether the developers managed to track the cause down.

Sorry I can't be of more help,


Si
C750 OZ3.5.4 (GPE, 2.6.x kernel)
SL5500 OZ3.5.4 (Opie)
Nokia 770
Serial GPS, WCF-12, Socket Ethernet & BT, Ratoc USB
WinXP, Mandriva

murple

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 24
    • View Profile
how do you load ikp to sd from xterm
« Reply #13 on: October 19, 2004, 10:35:59 pm »
Ive gotten the same problem with ext2 filesystems.  I just use vfat and its been fine.

you gotta do what you gotta do
[span style=\'font-size:8pt;line-height:100%\']--murple

...Duffman is thrusting in the direction of the problem!

860 pdaXrom rc5 / 1gb Transcend SD / Socket WiFi
6000L Sharp Rom / 256 SimpleTech SD / 4gb Microdrive
Linksys WCF12 WiFi, Pretec CF LAN
[/span]

xiaman

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 63
    • View Profile
how do you load ikp to sd from xterm
« Reply #14 on: October 21, 2004, 11:08:50 pm »
well i've been trying to get my Z to load to a ext3 for a while after reading posts under "i/o errors"  i went out and got a kingston sd card , tried again and now it works.
i don't get the input output errors any more.
so i must tell everyone don't buy san disk cards .

(sorry for the second post on same subject didn't think to search  FaQ under i/o errors)
« Last Edit: October 23, 2004, 01:00:51 am by xiaman »
c750 pdx rom rc5. sl5500 chinese rom 3.10
d-link wifi ... sandisk wifi