Author Topic: Does your pdaXrom rc3/rc5 freeze in X11?  (Read 1922 times)

amrein

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 345
    • View Profile
    • http://
Does your pdaXrom rc3/rc5 freeze in X11?
« on: October 13, 2004, 05:21:42 am »
Hi,

I had old issues in rc3, things like battery emptying very quickly and other little bugs but most of them are now resolved in pdaXrom rc5. But there is still a big one that should prevent most of you from using pdaXrom everyday if you experience it. It's a X11 freeze when the device is powered on.

Symptoms:

_ The keyboard is frozen in X11. No more way to get out with Control-Alt-Backspace. No way to open the menu of send keytrokes to applications.
_ No more click even sent to applications. They are not frozen because the hour on the tray will continue to evolve but my click doesn't do anything.
_ Even if the click doesn't work, the mouse is still moving and follow the on screen click.
_ I can still poweron and poweroff the device but nothing else.
_ Before having this issue, I experience strange switch off: I switch on the device and it swicth off 1 second after and I have to power if on again.
_ Before having this issue, clicking on the screen keyboard is very slow and I have to let my stylus on the screen a bit longer to have the message sent to the application.

The only solution found at present: take out the battery for cold reboot.

My device is a SL-C760.

Thank for any report. If I'm not alone, reporting your experience here should help to find what is going on and where to search. Hoping that my device is not having hardware failure.

Bundabrg

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 183
    • View Profile
Does your pdaXrom rc3/rc5 freeze in X11?
« Reply #1 on: October 13, 2004, 05:58:03 am »
I have a C860, RC5 and have not experienced this problem (Except if I do a powerdown in ScummVM).

The only thing close is that sometimes when I restore, it flashes the screen a few times and seems to go back to sleep. This doesn't happen often.

 - Bundabrg
[img]http://www.worldguard.com.au/brendan-ambi.png\" border=\"0\" class=\"linked-sig-image\" /]

ikm

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 172
    • View Profile
    • http://
Does your pdaXrom rc3/rc5 freeze in X11?
« Reply #2 on: October 13, 2004, 06:57:13 am »
I had such kind of problems a couple of times when the device came up from the suspend -- the cursor moved but everything else seemed dead, but it was a very infrequent problem, I encountered this only two or three times, so I thought it was not a big deal.

Bundabrg, don't do powerdown while in ScummVM, use the 'Suspend' option from the menu. It works gracefully, well, at least for me :)

Laze

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 704
    • View Profile
    • http://www.pdaXrom.org
Does your pdaXrom rc3/rc5 freeze in X11?
« Reply #3 on: October 13, 2004, 08:44:19 am »
IKM please don't tell me you have these problems in RC5 :-)
C760 running pdaXrom lastest ;-)
SL5500 Running Cacko Qtopia
512 MB SD Card, 128 MB CF Card, Prism2 CF Wlan.

Always visit http://www.pdaXrom.org for latest news.

ikm

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 172
    • View Profile
    • http://
Does your pdaXrom rc3/rc5 freeze in X11?
« Reply #4 on: October 13, 2004, 01:07:45 pm »
Quote
IKM please don't tell me you have these problems in RC5 :-)
Rest assured, I don't have them  I just recall I saw that kind of stuff earlier, but it was very rare, after the device had a rather large uptime scattered across many suspends-wakeups. I took it for granted, as I've actually seen how crazy the Z kernel may be after much work, back when I tried compiling XFree natively with a swap and nfs working over a wireless connection %) The process always failed after a half a day or so, in a rather strange ways, wireless went dead, 'ps ax' locally showed a complete mess, and so on. That is understandable, since the original Z kernel was much of a hack, and nobody in Sharp cared about that kind of long-term stability anyway (it's pda, not a server). On a large enough timeline some smallish problem(s) can, little by little, triggering occasionally, make the device get to the point when it is no longer alive and kicking. And it is *completely* normal as long as it is really rare.

In case that particular problem reported by amrein is really quite frequent and annoying, it may be a bug. But in that case I would just say I've never experienced that *bug* at all

p.s. And no, I have never experienced these symptoms on RC5.
« Last Edit: October 13, 2004, 01:17:41 pm by ikm »

amrein

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 345
    • View Profile
    • http://
Does your pdaXrom rc3/rc5 freeze in X11?
« Reply #5 on: October 13, 2004, 03:45:11 pm »
When I power on my device, it is mainly for pdaXrom applications test or pdaXrom flashing.

I had those issues a few days after having flashed rc5. No heavy use. The device mainly sleep in its box and get out only for new release.

The tests are mainly clicking everywhere, starting applications to see how they run, swiveling the screen and using a wifi CF card.

I can't reproduce the issues automatically and they don't occur often.


Note: Today, the keyboard applet doesn't run anymore.
« Last Edit: October 13, 2004, 03:46:58 pm by amrein »

Laze

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 704
    • View Profile
    • http://www.pdaXrom.org
Does your pdaXrom rc3/rc5 freeze in X11?
« Reply #6 on: October 13, 2004, 06:05:40 pm »
The keyboard applet is a know problem.. and is already fixed in the next release.

I have just tried many different combinations of program, rotation etc. and no problems :-) So maybe its C860 related problem - will try and talk to sash later.
C760 running pdaXrom lastest ;-)
SL5500 Running Cacko Qtopia
512 MB SD Card, 128 MB CF Card, Prism2 CF Wlan.

Always visit http://www.pdaXrom.org for latest news.

Zumi

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 257
    • View Profile
    • http://
Does your pdaXrom rc3/rc5 freeze in X11?
« Reply #7 on: October 13, 2004, 06:26:20 pm »
Quote
Hi,

I had old issues in rc3, things like battery emptying very quickly and other little bugs but most of them are now resolved in pdaXrom rc5. But there is still a big one that should prevent most of you from using pdaXrom everyday if you experience it. It's a X11 freeze when the device is powered on.

Symptoms:

_ The keyboard is frozen in X11. No more way to get out with Control-Alt-Backspace. No way to open the menu of send keytrokes to applications.
_ No more click even sent to applications. They are not frozen because the hour on the tray will continue to evolve but my click doesn't do anything.
_ Even if the click doesn't work, the mouse is still moving and follow the on screen click.
_ I can still poweron and poweroff the device but nothing else.
_ Before having this issue, I experience strange switch off: I switch on the device and it swicth off 1 second after and I have to power if on again.
_ Before having this issue, clicking on the screen keyboard is very slow and I have to let my stylus on the screen a bit longer to have the message sent to the application.

The only solution found at present: take out the battery for cold reboot.

My device is a SL-C760.

Thank for any report. If I'm not alone, reporting your experience here should help to find what is going on and where to search. Hoping that my device is not having hardware failure.
I think you haven't seen my new topic about this problem. Here it is: odd behaviour, mouse and keyboard issues. I think we better merge these two topics somehow, 'cause it's a bit confusing this way.
So, you are not alone with the problem.

Zumi
« Last Edit: October 13, 2004, 06:28:38 pm by Zumi »
SL-C860: pdaXrom 1.1.0beta1
SD: 1GB A-data, GPS: Haicom HI-303S, Bluetooth: Nokia DTL-1 CF, CF WiFi: ASUS SpaceLink WL-110
Browse user contributed packages for pdaXrom!

Bundabrg

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 183
    • View Profile
Does your pdaXrom rc3/rc5 freeze in X11?
« Reply #8 on: October 13, 2004, 11:17:34 pm »
Quote
Bundabrg, don't do powerdown while in ScummVM, use the 'Suspend' option from the menu. It works gracefully, well, at least for me
Sorry to be off topic here, but I've yet to find the 'Suspend' option in the menu. I'm using the latest from the pdaXrom unstable feed, and running 'Beneath the Steel Sky' (Which really is a good game, can't figure how I missed this one all those years ago), there is NO suspend button (that I can find anyway). Just A save, load, exit to dos, restart, fx on/off, subtitles on/off/speech, play.

 - Bundabrg
[img]http://www.worldguard.com.au/brendan-ambi.png\" border=\"0\" class=\"linked-sig-image\" /]

Zumi

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 257
    • View Profile
    • http://
Does your pdaXrom rc3/rc5 freeze in X11?
« Reply #9 on: October 14, 2004, 06:31:10 pm »
Anybody reported this bug on the website? I can't find it. Would you do it, Amrein, if it's not in already?

Thanks,
Zumi
SL-C860: pdaXrom 1.1.0beta1
SD: 1GB A-data, GPS: Haicom HI-303S, Bluetooth: Nokia DTL-1 CF, CF WiFi: ASUS SpaceLink WL-110
Browse user contributed packages for pdaXrom!

amrein

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 345
    • View Profile
    • http://
Does your pdaXrom rc3/rc5 freeze in X11?
« Reply #10 on: October 15, 2004, 12:48:59 pm »
Yes of course. It's the first thing I tried to do but it is already on the web site.

The direct link:

http://www.pdaxrom.org/buglist.php?doactio...owbug&bugid=164

If I could add comments I would have. This is why I posted on zaurususergroup (the bigger place on the net where Zaurus users can speak and share

Laze

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 704
    • View Profile
    • http://www.pdaXrom.org
Does your pdaXrom rc3/rc5 freeze in X11?
« Reply #11 on: October 15, 2004, 02:49:29 pm »
I know the bug reporting system is kinda "buggy" :-) But basically we just wan't people to report bugs - and the reporter can also update the reports AFAIK (can't remeber right now if the system send the "bug report" created mail) :-)

The biggest problem is that with every release we get the bug list down to 30-40 and after releases it quickly grows to 50-60 - well thats life :-)
C760 running pdaXrom lastest ;-)
SL5500 Running Cacko Qtopia
512 MB SD Card, 128 MB CF Card, Prism2 CF Wlan.

Always visit http://www.pdaXrom.org for latest news.

Zumi

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 257
    • View Profile
    • http://
Does your pdaXrom rc3/rc5 freeze in X11?
« Reply #12 on: October 15, 2004, 04:21:54 pm »
Quote
I know the bug reporting system is kinda "buggy" :-) But basically we just wan't people to report bugs - and the reporter can also update the reports AFAIK (can't remeber right now if the system send the "bug report" created mail) :-)

The biggest problem is that with every release we get the bug list down to 30-40 and after releases it quickly grows to 50-60 - well thats life :-)
...but the ROM goes slowly but steady on its road to perfectness.

Well, if you really want to release a stable you should stop putting in more features and concentrate on bugsolving, but I don't recommend this.
I think it would be nice to have about 20-30 RC but you can sit back and enjoy pdaXrom after 1.1.0 final...  (for me this is  active development stuff is fine, I'm usually using bleeding edge stuff, so keep the RCs coming )

Zumi, who's amused since the first leaked RC
SL-C860: pdaXrom 1.1.0beta1
SD: 1GB A-data, GPS: Haicom HI-303S, Bluetooth: Nokia DTL-1 CF, CF WiFi: ASUS SpaceLink WL-110
Browse user contributed packages for pdaXrom!

Milan

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 12
    • View Profile
Does your pdaXrom rc3/rc5 freeze in X11?
« Reply #13 on: October 15, 2004, 04:52:52 pm »
Quote
Hi,

I had old issues in rc3, things like battery emptying very quickly and other little bugs but most of them are now resolved in pdaXrom rc5. But there is still a big one that should prevent most of you from using pdaXrom everyday if you experience it. It's a X11 freeze when the device is powered on.

Symptoms:

_ The keyboard is frozen in X11. No more way to get out with Control-Alt-Backspace. No way to open the menu of send keytrokes to applications.
_ No more click even sent to applications. They are not frozen because the hour on the tray will continue to evolve but my click doesn't do anything.
_ Even if the click doesn't work, the mouse is still moving and follow the on screen click.
_ I can still poweron and poweroff the device but nothing else.
_ Before having this issue, I experience strange switch off: I switch on the device and it swicth off 1 second after and I have to power if on again.
_ Before having this issue, clicking on the screen keyboard is very slow and I have to let my stylus on the screen a bit longer to have the message sent to the application.

The only solution found at present: take out the battery for cold reboot.

My device is a SL-C760.

Thank for any report. If I'm not alone, reporting your experience here should help to find what is going on and where to search. Hoping that my device is not having hardware failure.
I'm having exactly the same problem with RC5 as Amrein reports. After resuming my 860 doesn't respond to the keys pressed down. The cursor moves as it should. It seems me there is a relation between networking and this problem.

Milan

fabianE

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 60
    • View Profile
Does your pdaXrom rc3/rc5 freeze in X11?
« Reply #14 on: October 15, 2004, 05:15:23 pm »
Hello,

I have also experienced this behaviour a few times :-(

Regards,

Fabian