Author Topic: Debian with Xqt  (Read 114665 times)

wmadan

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 164
    • View Profile
    • http://
Debian with Xqt
« Reply #180 on: January 15, 2005, 10:18:45 am »
Well, first off, I followed the wiki instructions to the letter.

Then, when I launch the xterm, the first line that comes up is: "-bash: /home/root/.bash_profile: Too many levels of symbolic links" and then I am dropped to: "root@zaurus:/#"

As for being able to unmount the SD card, I close out the X/qt Server, call up the Konsole in Qtopia and type "umount /mnt/card" This is when I get the "Device or resource busy" error message.

Bill

jerrybme

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 639
    • View Profile
    • http://
Debian with Xqt
« Reply #181 on: January 15, 2005, 10:34:46 am »
Quote
Well, first off, I followed the wiki instructions to the letter.

Then, when I launch the xterm, the first line that comes up is: "-bash: /home/root/.bash_profile: Too many levels of symbolic links" and then I am dropped to: "root@zaurus:/#"

As for being able to unmount the SD card, I close out the X/qt Server, call up the Konsole in Qtopia and type "umount /mnt/card" This is when I get the "Device or resource busy" error message.

Bill
I haven't have your problem with "too many levels of symbolic links" problem, but I run Cacko as root, so that may make a difference.

So for the SD problem, did you create a swap on your SD? If so I've found that for some reason that the startd script doesn't stop the swap properly. I've had better luck starting the swap from the terminal after Debian has started and then stop the swap abefore exiting. Try running
Code: [Select]
startx-wrapper from the konsole to see what is happening and if swap is being stopped properly.

Since I've got a 750 and don't have builtin wireless it also lets me use a swap on either the SD or my CF micro drive if I'm not going to be using wireless. To accces the CF from with Debian, from the Cacko Konsole
Code: [Select]
mkdir /mnt/card/mnt/cf
mount /dev/hda1 /mnt/card/mnt/cf

Cheers,
Jerry
« Last Edit: January 15, 2005, 11:23:30 am by jerrybme »
SL-C3100
Angstrom-GPE
Lexar SD 1 GB
PQI 2GB CF
Ambicom WL1100 CF

jerrybme

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 639
    • View Profile
    • http://
Debian with Xqt
« Reply #182 on: January 15, 2005, 11:23:05 am »
wmadan:
One more thing, it occurred to me that it may also be that you've mounted /proc to /mnt/card/debroot/proc.
Do a
Code: [Select]
mountTo see what's mounted.
Code: [Select]
umount /mnt.rom/card/debroot/procshould take care of that.

Cheers,
Jerry
« Last Edit: January 15, 2005, 11:24:11 am by jerrybme »
SL-C3100
Angstrom-GPE
Lexar SD 1 GB
PQI 2GB CF
Ambicom WL1100 CF

wmadan

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 164
    • View Profile
    • http://
Debian with Xqt
« Reply #183 on: January 15, 2005, 11:45:20 am »
Jerry,

Thanks for the tip. I found that /proc was mounted on /usr/mnt.rom/card/debroot/proc so I umounted that and then umounted the card itself and that worked.

A follow-up question for you: You say you run Cacko as root. I am running Cacko 1.22 as well, but how do I know if I'm running as root?

And, yet another question: I'm trying to get apt to work. I get "hit" messages when I apt-get update, but then it times out looking for the headers. Can you help here as well?

Thanks a lot!

Bill

jerrybme

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 639
    • View Profile
    • http://
Debian with Xqt
« Reply #184 on: January 15, 2005, 01:32:02 pm »
wmadan:
Just edit /home/QtPalmtop/qpe.sh and change
Code: [Select]
export QPEUSER=root
export QPEGROUP=root
and restart Qtopia

Cheers,
Jerry
« Last Edit: January 15, 2005, 01:32:37 pm by jerrybme »
SL-C3100
Angstrom-GPE
Lexar SD 1 GB
PQI 2GB CF
Ambicom WL1100 CF

xjqian

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 497
    • View Profile
    • http://
Debian with Xqt
« Reply #185 on: January 15, 2005, 08:57:11 pm »
Quote
If you are in /mnt/cf, or already chrooted and are in /, then ln -s root home/root, as in the wiki, wil work just fine
byz and smeulas

What I'd done is just what you said. The symbolic link was in the home directory of the debroot, i.e. I did that in the chrooted enviroment.

However, if I remove the link, no error message. Everything works equally fine. I don't quite understand the purpose of having this link. please feel free to educate me.
My Blog | 6000L Tosa + sled | is: Angstrom | was: pdaXrom 1.1.0beta1 | was: stock 1.12 rom + no-ffpe fash kernel + X/Qt Debian |
CF GPS (FGPCFCD01) | USB "Prolific 2303" GPS (USB-UG-200) | Socket CF BT rev. H |  USB "Pegasus II" Ethernet (ADM8511) | PocketTop IR kbd | sip:527630@fwd.pulver.com
Todo: OESF wiki | stable VOIP app | usable GPS app |      Wishlist: VOIP + Bluetooth | GPS + Routing Calc

hatchetman

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 60
    • View Profile
Debian with Xqt
« Reply #186 on: January 16, 2005, 11:37:39 pm »
It's my understanding that when you chroot the variables such as your PATH and such become the same thing in the chroot environment. Please try this to see if it's true, I remember seeing my PATH in the chroot environment. Anyways assuming that's true, because $HOME on the Sharp ROM is /home/root when any program refers to $HOME it won't find anything since the chroot environment's home directory is set to /root.

Simple solution, link the location of the Sharp ROM's home directory with chroot environment's home directory.

xjqian

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 497
    • View Profile
    • http://
Debian with Xqt
« Reply #187 on: January 17, 2005, 08:13:42 pm »
Quote
Simple solution, link the location of the Sharp ROM's home directory with chroot environment's home directory.
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=62878\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]
Thanks for the explanation, I think it's true. without the link apt-get upgrade complains about can't find certain files, or path error. Anyway, it's not a big deal practically. Without having the link, now I got the /home/root directory, somehow created by the mozilla firefox, thunderbird or maybe other application. And you can always su to get things to work.  

One real big deal is the sound. While learning debian, I wonder how do you guys enable sound in the chrooted enviroment. I try to do this trick
Code: [Select]
ln -s /dev/dsp  /mnt/cf2/.debroot/dev/dsphowever, it doesn't seem to work. I tried to use the debian distro Kphone to dial. But got the following message
Quote
close any program which might be using soundcard and then retry dial
The call goes through with the original debian /dev/dsp, but with no sound at all. I also used xmms to play mp3, no sound either. In general, how to make debian recongnized the device outside of the chroot?
My Blog | 6000L Tosa + sled | is: Angstrom | was: pdaXrom 1.1.0beta1 | was: stock 1.12 rom + no-ffpe fash kernel + X/Qt Debian |
CF GPS (FGPCFCD01) | USB "Prolific 2303" GPS (USB-UG-200) | Socket CF BT rev. H |  USB "Pegasus II" Ethernet (ADM8511) | PocketTop IR kbd | sip:527630@fwd.pulver.com
Todo: OESF wiki | stable VOIP app | usable GPS app |      Wishlist: VOIP + Bluetooth | GPS + Routing Calc

hatchetman

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 60
    • View Profile
Debian with Xqt
« Reply #188 on: January 17, 2005, 09:25:13 pm »
You can't link the device because it's outside of the chroot environment, and there's no way access what's outside when inside. Even so, you should't have to because all the devices would have been created when you extracted the tarball. My sound worked right out of the box, you might want to check your xmms settings instead for a problem.

unplug

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 62
    • View Profile
Debian with Xqt
« Reply #189 on: January 17, 2005, 11:36:10 pm »
I stored some mp3 musics and videos on my CF card. I want to test them under xmms in debian. How do I access those files after I chroor? I mean what is the corresponing path of /mnt/cf or /mnt/card under debian?
« Last Edit: January 18, 2005, 04:18:45 pm by unplug »
SHARP SL-6000L
Sharp ROM
pdaXrom
1GB SD
2 x 512MB CF
HAiCom HI-303S

xjqian

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 497
    • View Profile
    • http://
Debian with Xqt
« Reply #190 on: January 18, 2005, 03:22:26 am »
Yeah, the sound is working ok by default. I selected input plugin: mpeg 1/2/3 player, output plugin: oss driver to get it bearly work. it's struggling to play my mp3 though, which're played nicely under the stock player. Do I need a better input or output plugin, like MAD?
My Blog | 6000L Tosa + sled | is: Angstrom | was: pdaXrom 1.1.0beta1 | was: stock 1.12 rom + no-ffpe fash kernel + X/Qt Debian |
CF GPS (FGPCFCD01) | USB "Prolific 2303" GPS (USB-UG-200) | Socket CF BT rev. H |  USB "Pegasus II" Ethernet (ADM8511) | PocketTop IR kbd | sip:527630@fwd.pulver.com
Todo: OESF wiki | stable VOIP app | usable GPS app |      Wishlist: VOIP + Bluetooth | GPS + Routing Calc

smuelas

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 110
    • View Profile
Debian with Xqt
« Reply #191 on: January 18, 2005, 04:29:39 am »
apt-get install xmms-mad
Zaurus SL-6000  --  Microdrive Hitachi 6Gb placed permanently on CF slot.

xjqian

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 497
    • View Profile
    • http://
Debian with Xqt
« Reply #192 on: January 18, 2005, 05:20:06 am »
thanks, smuelas. that's it. I think I should post debian questions in linux section next time to keep this post more on topic. Just hope you guys will hop over there offen:)
My Blog | 6000L Tosa + sled | is: Angstrom | was: pdaXrom 1.1.0beta1 | was: stock 1.12 rom + no-ffpe fash kernel + X/Qt Debian |
CF GPS (FGPCFCD01) | USB "Prolific 2303" GPS (USB-UG-200) | Socket CF BT rev. H |  USB "Pegasus II" Ethernet (ADM8511) | PocketTop IR kbd | sip:527630@fwd.pulver.com
Todo: OESF wiki | stable VOIP app | usable GPS app |      Wishlist: VOIP + Bluetooth | GPS + Routing Calc

jerrybme

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 639
    • View Profile
    • http://
Debian with Xqt
« Reply #193 on: January 19, 2005, 03:48:58 pm »
Quote
I stored some mp3 musics and videos on my CF card. I want to test them under xmms in debian. How do I access those files after I chroor? I mean what is the corresponing path of /mnt/cf or /mnt/card under debian?
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=62959\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]
You need to mount your CF from out side the chroot environment

First make a directory
Code: [Select]
mkdir /mnt/card/debroot/mnt/cfThen mount
Code: [Select]
mount /dev/hda1 /mnt/card/debroot/mnt/cfThen you'll be able to access file on your CF card.
« Last Edit: January 19, 2005, 03:49:32 pm by jerrybme »
SL-C3100
Angstrom-GPE
Lexar SD 1 GB
PQI 2GB CF
Ambicom WL1100 CF

jerrybme

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 639
    • View Profile
    • http://
Debian with Xqt
« Reply #194 on: January 19, 2005, 03:51:11 pm »
Has any one figured out how to map right or middle mouse buttons? I know Fn is right mouse but I hoping to move it to the home key.
« Last Edit: January 19, 2005, 04:02:24 pm by jerrybme »
SL-C3100
Angstrom-GPE
Lexar SD 1 GB
PQI 2GB CF
Ambicom WL1100 CF