Author Topic: More Newbie Questions of OZ 3.5.1  (Read 3804 times)

bkarnes

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
    • http://
More Newbie Questions of OZ 3.5.1
« on: November 08, 2004, 12:07:15 am »
Okay, I have done everything (minus a few tweeks) and am liking this OZ a lot, but:

1. How do I install a program via Qt Desktop (or can I)?  I've looked at some of the ipk feeds, but they don't help me (or I'm not getting it/them yet).  I want to install e-mail/web browser.

2. Can I get e-mail/internet while my SL-5600 is in the docking station?

3. I am really looking for PERL, Python, Ruby, Java, etc to load on and work with.

4. Can I use "normal" Sharp programs (ZUC/VNC viewer, etc) with OZ?

5. Can I run a web server (albiet a small one) on in OZ (I'm a web developer)?

If these have been answered in other threads, please point me to them.  i have been searching for a couple of days and can't find the info.

Thanks.

zenyatta

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 366
    • View Profile
    • http://
More Newbie Questions of OZ 3.5.1
« Reply #1 on: November 08, 2004, 04:43:16 am »
1. Not sure. You can always transfer ipks to your Zaurus via Qtopia Desktop as a normal file and then do the install on the Zaurus side.

2. Try something like "ping www.google.com" from the Zaurus command line. If it gets through, you shouldn't have a problem. If it doesn't but you connect to your desktop box just fine, you need to set the proper default gateway on your Z and you need to enable IP forwarding on you desktop box, or (better) set up a proxy server on your desktop box (e.g. squid on Linux).

3. There are Python packages in the [upgrades feed | http://www.openzaurus.org/official/unstable/3.5.1/upgrades/] which work quite well. As for Java, you can snatch the Jeode VM from your Sharp ROM using a tool called JeodeCreator which will make an ipk for you. If you want J2ME PP then there's an ipk floating around for that too. There's also a brand new PP implementation from IBM though I haven't heard any field reports about it yet.

4. Yes but those that use floating point calculations (such as ZUC) will not work properly. In any case, you install the oz-compat package and go from there.

5. Install the boa package and edit /etc/boa.conf or somesuch.

z.
SL-5500, 256MB Kingston CF card, 128MB EDGE SD card, Thomson HED-155 headphones
OpenZaurus 3.5.3 / Opie (kernel 64-0)

bkarnes

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
    • http://
More Newbie Questions of OZ 3.5.1
« Reply #2 on: November 08, 2004, 11:14:34 am »
Quote
1. Not sure. You can always transfer ipks to your Zaurus via Qtopia Desktop as a normal file and then do the install on the Zaurus side.

Okay, I used the QTDesktop to put the package over onto the Zaurus (through the documents tab) but how do I install once it is on the Zaurus?  Just click on it?


Quote
2. Try something like "ping www.google.com" from the Zaurus command line. If it gets through, you shouldn't have a problem. If it doesn't but you connect to your desktop box just fine, you need to set the proper default gateway on your Z and you need to enable IP forwarding on you desktop box, or (better) set up a proxy server on your desktop box (e.g. squid on Linux).

I will try this.

zenyatta

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 366
    • View Profile
    • http://
More Newbie Questions of OZ 3.5.1
« Reply #3 on: November 08, 2004, 01:13:55 pm »
Usually you go Settings > Packages or Settings > Package Manager. However, if you are in OpenZaurus 3.5.1 be aware that graphical package management is generally broken. So what you want to do is go Applications > Opie Terminal and type:
Code: [Select]
ipkg install /path/to/package-name_version.ipkThis will install the package to your internal FlashROM storage which doesn't have much free space (about 2MB). So it's better to install to a CF card or an SD card:
Code: [Select]
ipkg install -d cf /path/to/package-name_version.ipk
ipkg-link add package-name
or
Code: [Select]
ipkg install -d sd /path/to/package-name_version.ipk
ipkg-link add package-name

z.
SL-5500, 256MB Kingston CF card, 128MB EDGE SD card, Thomson HED-155 headphones
OpenZaurus 3.5.3 / Opie (kernel 64-0)

Windrose

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 55
    • View Profile
    • http://
More Newbie Questions of OZ 3.5.1
« Reply #4 on: November 08, 2004, 01:43:24 pm »
Quote
It's better to install to a CF card or an SD card:
Code: [Select]
ipkg install -d cf /path/to/package-name_version.ipk
ipkg-link add package-name
or
Code: [Select]
ipkg install -d sd /path/to/package-name_version.ipk
ipkg-link add package-name
If you haven't picked up on the ipkg thread, my recollection is that the configuration file for this program:

/etc/ipkg.conf

does not (just out-of-the-box) include definitions for package installation destinations other than "root". I think that to use the two variations above you should first edit ipkg.conf to include additional "destination" declarations. They would look like, e.g.:

dest cf /mnt/cf
dest sd /mnt/card

and, in general,

dest <symbolic name for package "mount point"> <full path to said point>

Windrose
================================
Die Welt ist alles, was der Fall ist.
...
Wovon man nicht sprechen kann, darüber muß man schweigen.
================================

bkarnes

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
    • http://
More Newbie Questions of OZ 3.5.1
« Reply #5 on: November 08, 2004, 03:49:31 pm »
Okay, now this is getting me down.  I tried uploading the package/file (used a text doc) and said to put it on the SD card (through qTDesktop>Documnets tab).  I even went in and configured the dest places in the package manager.  When I try to look for the new package/file on my card, I couldn't find it.  What am I doing wrong.  They show up in my Documents tab on the Zaurus and through QtDesktop.

Help!

Also, I tried to install the package through QtDesktop, but it never finished the install.  It errors out.
« Last Edit: November 08, 2004, 03:50:40 pm by bkarnes »

zenyatta

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 366
    • View Profile
    • http://
More Newbie Questions of OZ 3.5.1
« Reply #6 on: November 08, 2004, 04:43:04 pm »
The default package manager in OZ 3.5.1 is beta software and currently does not recognise local packages (i.e. ipk files just sitting in your Z). You need to use the "ipkg" command and not the graphical package manager.

z.
SL-5500, 256MB Kingston CF card, 128MB EDGE SD card, Thomson HED-155 headphones
OpenZaurus 3.5.3 / Opie (kernel 64-0)

CopperLion

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 15
    • View Profile
More Newbie Questions of OZ 3.5.1
« Reply #7 on: November 18, 2004, 08:30:16 pm »
Is there another graphical package manager for Opie or OZ that works with ipk files on cf or sd?
I tried pulling the Package file from the downloadable files at Openzaurus.org, and stuck that on my CF with the ipks that I want to install. I then tried to tell the package manager that /mnt/cf was a valid server. It checked the Packages file on the CF, but returned an error, because the locations specified in the file were wrong. I actually read somewhere that <ipkg> and the GUI package manager for OZ check for the Package file, and have trouble installing anything without it.
I was planning to try using <ipkg> at the command-line tonight, and I'll post the results if it works. I'll even try manipulating the Package file and see what happens.

-CopperLion

zenyatta

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 366
    • View Profile
    • http://
More Newbie Questions of OZ 3.5.1
« Reply #8 on: November 19, 2004, 06:10:14 am »
If the Packages file sits in the same directory as your ipks there shouldn't be a problem with file locations. Note that when "telling the package manager that /mnt/cf is a valid server" (i.e. setting up a local feed) you need to write "file:///mnt/cf" rather than just "/mnt/cf" in the /etc/ipkg.conf file. The complete line to include is "src local file:///mnt/cf".
« Last Edit: November 19, 2004, 06:11:02 am by zenyatta »
SL-5500, 256MB Kingston CF card, 128MB EDGE SD card, Thomson HED-155 headphones
OpenZaurus 3.5.3 / Opie (kernel 64-0)

CopperLion

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 15
    • View Profile
More Newbie Questions of OZ 3.5.1
« Reply #9 on: November 19, 2004, 10:23:17 am »
using file:///mnt/cf, the package manager finds the package file, but I still can't get it to install the files.
I haven't had the time to try installing from the command line, but as soon as I finish my job interview today, I should have some time.
-More later
-CopperLion

CopperLion

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 15
    • View Profile
More Newbie Questions of OZ 3.5.1
« Reply #10 on: November 24, 2004, 04:37:53 pm »
I managed to download the Packages file from the OZ feed. I edited it to only include the packages I had downloaded to my CF card, and things went generally well. I did some manipulation to get it to recognize the file locations as well. Unfortunately, it still isn't installing correctly. It says that the install is successful, but I can't find the files I've installed.
Using the ipkg command in the terminal has so far been unsuccessful as well. Any suggestions?

zenyatta

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 366
    • View Profile
    • http://
More Newbie Questions of OZ 3.5.1
« Reply #11 on: November 25, 2004, 02:44:09 am »
If you install to other destinations than "root" you need to run "ipkg-link mount /mnt/cf" after you're done installing, and then go Settings > Shutdown > Restart Opie. This is another limitation of the current beta-level package manager - it does not create links to proper places when you install to a card.
SL-5500, 256MB Kingston CF card, 128MB EDGE SD card, Thomson HED-155 headphones
OpenZaurus 3.5.3 / Opie (kernel 64-0)