Author Topic: Anybody Gotten Minimo To Work With X/qt?  (Read 7176 times)

cmisip

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 256
    • View Profile
    • http://home.mchsi.com/~cmisip/index.htm
Anybody Gotten Minimo To Work With X/qt?
« on: December 19, 2004, 07:37:24 pm »
I am using zynergy rom with X/Qt.  I was able to run firefox 0.9 gtk version but it is not very usable (a third of button toolbar is off the screen).

Has anybody gotten minimo to work with X/Qt?

I get missing shared libraries which dont seem to be part of the pdaxrom feed( libgtk-x11-2)

It must be part of the rom.  I will try the sdk to see if the libs are there.

can nybody with a pdaxrom install send me a copy of the libs minimo requires?

Thanks
Zaurus 5600
Zynergy Rootfs 1.1
Custom zImage

How Do You Do That in Linux

cmisip

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 256
    • View Profile
    • http://home.mchsi.com/~cmisip/index.htm
Anybody Gotten Minimo To Work With X/qt?
« Reply #1 on: December 19, 2004, 08:30:04 pm »
I guess it needs pretty much ALL of the pdaxrom libs.

Stopped short of libc.so.6.

I think I might have to crosscompile against X/Qt.

If anybody has done this before, please give me some pointers.

Thanks.
Zaurus 5600
Zynergy Rootfs 1.1
Custom zImage

How Do You Do That in Linux

ThC

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 259
    • View Profile
    • http://
Anybody Gotten Minimo To Work With X/qt?
« Reply #2 on: December 20, 2004, 08:31:51 am »
I've been in your situation once when testing the dual boot (cacko/pdaXrom 1.0.5) ... I then finished using cacko with X/Qt for a while ('till the release of 1.1.0 I'm now using)  and so the easyest way was to take back files from the pdaXrom installed on the SD card ... so you could just take the files back from the pdaXrom dual boot file archive instead of cross-compiling them again
« Last Edit: December 20, 2004, 08:33:48 am by ThC »
SL-C3000 - pdaXrom 1.1.0Beta1
SL-C860 - pdaXrom 1.1.0 RC8 (charging circuitry dead :( )
CF RamStar 512 Mb / Hitachi 4Gb microdrive (thanks to creative's muvo² :p)
SD Sandisk 1Gb / Viking 256 Mb
Linksys WCF13 CF wifi card

Anyone willing to donate for my work, please consider donate to pdaXrom and/or OE/OZ projects instead, I wouldn't have been able to do anything without them ...

cmisip

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 256
    • View Profile
    • http://home.mchsi.com/~cmisip/index.htm
Anybody Gotten Minimo To Work With X/qt?
« Reply #3 on: December 22, 2004, 12:13:13 am »
I wanted to try cross compiling all the libs myself.  I found out that Mozilla has a howto on crosscompiing minimo and even has build scripts.  I got stuck at pango though.  It seems, make is finding the wrong libfreetype.so .  It insists on /usr/lib/libfreetype.so whenever lfreetype is called in the makefile.  I tried adding an LDFLAGS to the correct libfreetype.so version.  This does not work.  A manual fix is to go to every instance of lfreetype in the makefile and change it to /opt/Embedix/tools/arm-linux/X11R6/lib/libfreetype.so.  There's gotta be an easier fix.

 It doesn't help that freetype config that came with X/Qt devel packages points to opt/QtPalmtop/lib instead of /opt/Embedix/tools/arm-linux/X11R6/lib but I  thought I fixed that by symlinking the X11R6 lib directory  and include directory to /opt/Qtpalmtop.


Any help is appreciated.  Getting closer to minimo.
Zaurus 5600
Zynergy Rootfs 1.1
Custom zImage

How Do You Do That in Linux

cmisip

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 256
    • View Profile
    • http://home.mchsi.com/~cmisip/index.htm
Anybody Gotten Minimo To Work With X/qt?
« Reply #4 on: December 25, 2004, 06:35:53 pm »
After reading the docs more closely, I found out that I needed .la files for building pango.  


The next  problem was in pkg-config and the various freetype-config, font-config, xft-config files.  After editing these and adding the necessary libraries, pango was installed.

Now working on gtk.  It builds up until gdk/x11 where it fails with gdkmain-x11.o complaining about:

Cannot represent OFFSET_IMM8 relocation


If I remove the -O2 optimization flag from the makefile,  make completes without errors in this directory.

Can any gcc guru comment on what is happening here?
Zaurus 5600
Zynergy Rootfs 1.1
Custom zImage

How Do You Do That in Linux

cmisip

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 256
    • View Profile
    • http://home.mchsi.com/~cmisip/index.htm
Anybody Gotten Minimo To Work With X/qt?
« Reply #5 on: December 25, 2004, 07:27:59 pm »
It seems the -f-gcse and -f-schedule-insns flags from the -O2 optimization causes these relocation errors.

At this point I dont know what this will break but I will try with -O2 -fno-schedule-insns -fno-gcse

I decided to build gtkmain-x11.o with these options and just -O2 for the rest.
Zaurus 5600
Zynergy Rootfs 1.1
Custom zImage

How Do You Do That in Linux

cmisip

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 256
    • View Profile
    • http://home.mchsi.com/~cmisip/index.htm
Anybody Gotten Minimo To Work With X/qt?
« Reply #6 on: December 26, 2004, 12:55:08 am »
Well, I managed to compile gtk2.  Now wrestling with the mozilla source.

Nobody said anything about setting HOST_CC and HOST_CXX env variable in order to make nsinstall compile with the i686 gcc.  Got that done but now build complains about not being able to run xpidl ( which was compiled via arm-linux-gcc).  Anybody know how to set this to compile using the i686 gcc?

Is there anybody out there?

I feel so alone.

I got a SIP phone now.
Zaurus 5600
Zynergy Rootfs 1.1
Custom zImage

How Do You Do That in Linux

cmisip

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 256
    • View Profile
    • http://home.mchsi.com/~cmisip/index.htm
Anybody Gotten Minimo To Work With X/qt?
« Reply #7 on: December 26, 2004, 01:23:49 am »
Hah! the error with gmake -f client.mk build is that it configure cannot find lsup++.

Removing that line from mozconfig seems to allow me to proceed farther into the build. Its still building.... Hope it doesn't error on me.
Zaurus 5600
Zynergy Rootfs 1.1
Custom zImage

How Do You Do That in Linux

cmisip

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 256
    • View Profile
    • http://home.mchsi.com/~cmisip/index.htm
Anybody Gotten Minimo To Work With X/qt?
« Reply #8 on: December 26, 2004, 11:38:57 pm »
Finally built TestGtkEmbed.  However when I run it on the Z, it complains of missing pango modules.  It is looking for pango.modules in /opt/Embedix/tools/arm-linux/local/etc. As I cannot write in /opt I cannot get it to work.

Is there any way to change the location TestGtkEmbed is looking at without having to recompile the whole thing?
Zaurus 5600
Zynergy Rootfs 1.1
Custom zImage

How Do You Do That in Linux

tovarish

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 297
    • View Profile
Anybody Gotten Minimo To Work With X/qt?
« Reply #9 on: December 27, 2004, 01:06:22 pm »
have you tried the latest xqt. it has most of the libs needed to run minimo i think.

http://xqt.sourceforge.jp/feed-testing/

tovarish.

PS I cannot play ur duke3d in my c860 with the atomic edition. I can hear sounds but no video. Also heretic refuses to use any other keys than the default.

adf

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2807
    • View Profile
    • http://
Anybody Gotten Minimo To Work With X/qt?
« Reply #10 on: December 28, 2004, 04:36:05 am »
on  a z6kl xqt /oz/opie using the 1.9 XQT server from feed-testing I have been getting a weird error on firefox.
It starts to load (gives me some crap about locales) talks about loading the extensions datasource
then says bus error and quits.
I once saw the firefox profiles splash screen (where you pick or make a profile) nothing else, ever.

weirder, I took a tarball of sarge/pocketowkstation that I had made as a backup on my 5600, installed it (tar -zxpvf) to my sd card, after having done a rm -rf /mnt/card debroot to clear it.... everything but firefox works. and it gives the same "bus error" and quits. thisleads me to beleive it registered(?) something outside of thr chroot, or ther is an issue with that XQT server .  But then I really have no idea what is happening here. anyone have a suggestion?

and while I'm asking for help here.... I never got that kernel from externe.net to flash. is there something special that needs doing? (keep in mind i've been from sharp to gpe to sharp to opie in a few days, with no big problems --besides this firefox thing)

ideas?
**3100 Zubuntu Jaunty,(working on Cacko dualboot), 16G A-Data internal CF, 4G SD, Ambicom WL-1100C Cf, linksys usb ethernet,  BelkinF8T020 BT card, Belkin F8U1500-E Ir kbd, mini targus usb mouse, rechargeble AC/DC powered USB hub, psp cables and battery extenders.

**6000l  Tetsuized Sharprom, installed on internal flash only 1G sd, 2G cf

cmisip

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 256
    • View Profile
    • http://home.mchsi.com/~cmisip/index.htm
Anybody Gotten Minimo To Work With X/qt?
« Reply #11 on: December 28, 2004, 09:25:02 pm »
This is just endless.  Managed to fix the pango module issue but now minimo is complaining of not being able to find fonts.

I googled a bit.  It seems Xfree86 doesn't know to add -lz to fontconfig libs.

I thought I could get this up and running tonight.

Another recompile?



tovarish

I think I hardcoded some keys to heretic in an effort to quickly get it running with the 5600.    

I dont know why duke3d doesn't run.  It works on a 5600 with 320x200 screen (I think that's the correct resolution)
Zaurus 5600
Zynergy Rootfs 1.1
Custom zImage

How Do You Do That in Linux

cmisip

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 256
    • View Profile
    • http://home.mchsi.com/~cmisip/index.htm
Anybody Gotten Minimo To Work With X/qt?
« Reply #12 on: December 28, 2004, 10:24:19 pm »
Well, it seems it was using the wrong libfreetype version on the Z.  I moved the wrong version out of the path and the error went away.  However, fc-cache still cant cache the fonts.  Anybody have any idea?

root@zaurus:/opt/QtPalmtop/lib/X11/fonts/misc> fc-cache -v
fc-cache: "/opt/QtPalmtop/lib/X11/fonts": skipping, 0 fonts, 1 dirs
fc-cache: "/opt/QtPalmtop/lib/X11/fonts/misc": skipping, 0 fonts, 0 dirs
fc-cache: "/mnt/card/X-Qt/opt/QtPalmtop/lib/X11/fonts/misc": skipping, 0 fonts, 0 dirs
fc-cache: "/usr/share/fonts": no such directory, skipping
fc-cache: "/home/root/.fonts": no such directory, skipping
fc-cache: succeeded
Zaurus 5600
Zynergy Rootfs 1.1
Custom zImage

How Do You Do That in Linux

cmisip

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 256
    • View Profile
    • http://home.mchsi.com/~cmisip/index.htm
Anybody Gotten Minimo To Work With X/qt?
« Reply #13 on: December 28, 2004, 11:29:44 pm »
its definitely a font problem.  I tried copying some TTF fonts from my laptop to the z and fc-cache would cache them.  Minimo would run but with a bunch of utf-8 errors, a gui with no Text.

What fonts are you using for minimo.  Or maybe, did I make an error with compilation?
Zaurus 5600
Zynergy Rootfs 1.1
Custom zImage

How Do You Do That in Linux

cmisip

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 256
    • View Profile
    • http://home.mchsi.com/~cmisip/index.htm
Anybody Gotten Minimo To Work With X/qt?
« Reply #14 on: December 28, 2004, 11:57:49 pm »
This is the errror I am getting

Gdk-WARNING **: Error converting from UTF-8 to STRING: Conversion from character set 'UTF-8' to 'ISO-8859-1' is not supported
Zaurus 5600
Zynergy Rootfs 1.1
Custom zImage

How Do You Do That in Linux