Author Topic: A Zaurus Mystery  (Read 5782 times)

undrwater

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 232
    • View Profile
    • http://
A Zaurus Mystery
« Reply #15 on: March 08, 2005, 04:07:22 pm »
Replying from a free hotspot at a coffee house in Long Beach, CA.

They're using a Belkin 802.11g AP.

Signal's pretty weak on the 6000, but I have nothing to compare to.

lwong

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 53
    • View Profile
    • http://
A Zaurus Mystery
« Reply #16 on: March 08, 2005, 05:59:10 pm »
I just came back from Hong Kong and my 6000 can't get on the network in coffee shops in HK nor the T-mobile network in SFO. I was very dissapointed. I was able to get on to T-mobile in Annapolis, maryland last year though.

Also found a strange thing today that the IrDA on my 6000 will not work with the IrDA port on my 2nd cell phone (SHARP GZ100). Borrowing my collegue's nokia phone, it worked with both Sharp product. What the heck is going on with Sharp?!!!!

Frank Wong

aki

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 73
    • View Profile
    • http://www.akiaki.org
A Zaurus Mystery
« Reply #17 on: March 09, 2005, 08:29:21 pm »
I haven't had the good fortune to find a convenient free hotspot for extensive surfing, but I have connected without problems at Barnes & Noble.  Their hotspot is not free, so I only got as far as the signon page.  No issues associating.

sl-5500 Sharp 2.38 ROM + sl-6000L w/ expansion adapter
Trendnet CF Ethernet + Micro Innovations IR Keyboard
------
sip: 544187@fwd.pulver.com

My Zaurus Page

fastscirocco

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 149
    • View Profile
A Zaurus Mystery
« Reply #18 on: March 09, 2005, 09:35:51 pm »
Took my 3000 with me to WMU today, logged in fine to their on campus wifi.

So mine is working fine with my wifi with wep enabled at home and the hotspot at the campus.

my card is a buffalo 802.11b


hth

undrwater

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 232
    • View Profile
    • http://
A Zaurus Mystery
« Reply #19 on: March 10, 2005, 12:23:55 am »
Quote
Replying from a free hotspot at a coffee house in Long Beach, CA.

They're using a Belkin 802.11g AP.

Signal's pretty weak on the 6000, but I have nothing to compare to.
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=69801\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]


I have to add something to this...

When i connected to the hotspot, I didn't get the usual blue/green card identifier...I got the globe with the red arrow that signifies initializing, and after being impatient (maybe 30 seconds), I opened Opera and browsed to google...

The initializing globe changed to a solid blue globe...but never changed to a blue/green card.

mandjab

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 54
    • View Profile
A Zaurus Mystery
« Reply #20 on: March 28, 2005, 04:05:30 pm »
Hello

 I have the same problem with my Z760 and my Buffalo 802.11b. I'm not able to connect my Z automatically to any free hot spot in paris. i'm very disapointed about this.  my friend connects easily with is Tungsten T3 on the same Hotspot

Any News ?
Zaurus SL-C 3100,  SL-C 760 Cacko 1.23, Buffalo Wifi, Buffalo Lan card,¨Planex GW-CF11X, 1Go SD card, 512 Mo SD card, 2 X EABL08, 1 CE RH1, 1 sharp Mic

http://myzauri.blogspot.com/

nilch

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 668
    • View Profile
    • http://
A Zaurus Mystery
« Reply #21 on: April 21, 2005, 12:44:59 pm »
I connect fine to my Home AP (wifi-G based) with WEP on,
but when I am at a free wifi hotspot (Bryantpark in New York) I can't connect no matter how I specify the parameters with iwconfig
(I need to do a iwconfig with my Symbol Spectrum card on my C1000 since it lacks the spectrum_cf binding drivers)

Is this because it cant connect to a wifi-B network or is it because of no WEP keys ?
Strange that with the Zaurus I can't access the free wifi hotspot too.

Will try with other free networks sometime (like Panera etc)
New no more-C1000 / 5000D (sold my 6000 and 750) | Cacko ROM 1.23 on C1000 | 256 MB CF | 2GB PNY SD card | Socket Networker WiFi CF Card | USB Host cable from StreamlineCPUS | Mini Microphone (for voice recording) |

jfv

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 437
    • View Profile
A Zaurus Mystery
« Reply #22 on: April 21, 2005, 05:35:02 pm »
My experience with these public networks is that you have to open a browser to connect to them. Do the following: Turn your Zaurus on and insert your wifi card, don't start the network. Open a browser and go to any page. The Zaurus will ask you if you want to connect to a network, say yes and select a network with SSID:any (you need to have one of those preprepared). At this point it should connect and either take you to the page you selected or to their splash page which may ask you to register. I guess now it depends on  which network it is.

Felipe

p.s. My experience is with the Sharp ROM, don't know about others.
SL 5000 D  and C860 Sharp ROM
Too many accessories...

dlichterman

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 24
    • View Profile
A Zaurus Mystery
« Reply #23 on: November 29, 2005, 01:00:06 am »
At my school there is a login screen and I needed to update opera to make it work