Author Topic: Gpsdrive On X/qt-debian  (Read 42405 times)

suid

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 48
    • View Profile
    • http://
Gpsdrive On X/qt-debian
« on: April 02, 2005, 03:01:07 pm »
I've got Gpsdrive running under X/Qt-debian quite nicely. I first tried without Debian by using gpsdrive from the Familiar feed together with X/Qt, which has all the packages required by the latest version of Gpsdrive (2.09) in its "testing" feed. However, I gave up after experiencing too many library incompatibility problems.
I wanted to try Debian anyway!

So now with Debian, I could just run "apt-get install gpsdrive" and Hey presto! There were a few additional things I had to do, however, which I did over a couple of months, so hopefully these are the most important notes I can remember on setting up :

*** NOTE. If you are just starting to look at GPS apps, I'd seriously take a look at Qpegps first. It's an excellent app that's written for Qtopia, so it's much better suited to the Zaurus and a lot easier to set up. It's just that Gpsdrive has additional functionality and I liked the challenge of getting it running. ***

# MAKEDEV ttyS3   ## to create the device within the Debian environment.

At various stages I needed to do a chmod 666 on /dev/ttyS3 (after installing gpsd, I think) and /dev/audio.

You don't need cardctl, setserial or anything like that if you have "cru" from the pocketworkstation Debian distribution (part of the postinstall script, I think). This will let you run such commands as cardctl from Qtopia whilst still in Debian.

Also, you don't need to install gpsd. The latest version of Gpsdrive will talk directly to your serial device.

I created a user "zaurus" with the same UID and GID as in Qtopia. This is to stop Gpsdrive complaining if you try and start it as root.

I created a script that can be run from an icon in the taskbar :

----
#!/bin/bash

# Enable the CF device. If you don't have cru, you'll need to
# run cardctl from Qtopia.
# Equivalent to "/usr/local/bin/cru cardctl resume"
/bin/echo "dev/null cardctl resume" >/dev/rootcmd
/bin/sleep 1

# -x is to create separate windows for Menu and Status.
# -1 is for 1 button mouse. May be better off without this.
# Took me ages to get the right numbers for height and width for C750 in portrait
# mode. These numbers seem to relate to map size rather than screen size.
# Any numbers above these and Gpsdrive will ignore -r and -s.
# -r is width
# -s is height
# -S don't show splash screen
# -e use Flite for speech output (more on this later)

su - zaurus -c "export DISPLAY=0:0;gpsdrive -x -1 -r 478 -s 599 -S -e"

----

Installed MySQL for the waypoints database. Wrote a script to import the list of all UK speed traps into MySQL. There are too many for Gpsdrive/MySQL to handle - Gpsdrive crashes! Strangely enough, using a text file for waypoints seems to be faster and more stable than using a database.

Installed flite for speech output.

All was working nicely, except there was no speech output. A quick mail to the very responsive Gpsdrive mailing list and soon there was a fix in the CVS version of gpsdrive.

Installed all the apps/libs necessary for a build environment and compiled the CVS version for Debian/ARM.

Hope this information is useful to someone. If anyone is interested in the latest CVS binary of gpsdrive for Debian/ARM, I can post it here.

Cheers

Ian
[span style=\'font-size:8pt;line-height:100%\']
C750, Cacko 1.22a, JP kernel
D-link 660W, deluo (Fortuna) CF GPS receiver,
Kingston 512Mb SD (ext2), Lexar 256Mb SD (vfat), Sandisk 64Mb CF, Transcend 1Gb SD (ext2, running debian)
[/span]

ensign

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 54
    • View Profile
Gpsdrive On X/qt-debian
« Reply #1 on: July 02, 2005, 05:01:05 pm »
Hi Ian,

I am interested in your version of gpsdrive for XQt/Debian.

I have successfully installed gpsdrive and flite but with no sound output. Your version of gpsdrive and some installation pointers would be nice.  Qpegps runs fine under Qtopia but I want more.

Thanks
« Last Edit: July 03, 2005, 02:46:29 pm by ensign »

ensign

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 54
    • View Profile
Gpsdrive On X/qt-debian
« Reply #2 on: July 04, 2005, 05:49:43 am »
Hi Ian,

Thanks for the file. just installed it. I have a few problems though.

Gpsdrive cannot load "libart_lgpl_2.so.2". Any ideas?
THanks

suid

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 48
    • View Profile
    • http://
Gpsdrive On X/qt-debian
« Reply #3 on: July 04, 2005, 08:04:59 am »
Looks like I need to create a complete package with libraries etc ...

This might take me a couple of days so please hang on.

You could also try the pdaXrom gpsdrive package that Zumi made recently - it might work on X/Qt-debian but I haven't tried it. It's built from a recent CVS source, so it includes flite support. See the following thread :-

https://www.oesf.org/forums/index.php?showt...666&hl=gpsdrive

Ian
[span style=\'font-size:8pt;line-height:100%\']
C750, Cacko 1.22a, JP kernel
D-link 660W, deluo (Fortuna) CF GPS receiver,
Kingston 512Mb SD (ext2), Lexar 256Mb SD (vfat), Sandisk 64Mb CF, Transcend 1Gb SD (ext2, running debian)
[/span]

suid

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 48
    • View Profile
    • http://
Gpsdrive On X/qt-debian
« Reply #4 on: July 05, 2005, 01:51:06 pm »
Just had a look around and have discovered that the libart libs are not part of the gpsdrive build, but ARE a dependency of the latest CVS version of gpsdrive.

So, try installing libart, using apt-get :

apt-get install lib-art-2.0-2  (I think)

and see if gpsdrive starts after that.



Ian
[span style=\'font-size:8pt;line-height:100%\']
C750, Cacko 1.22a, JP kernel
D-link 660W, deluo (Fortuna) CF GPS receiver,
Kingston 512Mb SD (ext2), Lexar 256Mb SD (vfat), Sandisk 64Mb CF, Transcend 1Gb SD (ext2, running debian)
[/span]

ensign

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 54
    • View Profile
Gpsdrive On X/qt-debian
« Reply #5 on: July 05, 2005, 03:46:42 pm »
Ian,
That was it. Have got sound working now. First thing I heard was "good evening", how polite.
Thanks.

samxiao

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 260
    • View Profile
    • http://
Gpsdrive On X/qt-debian
« Reply #6 on: July 27, 2005, 04:19:45 pm »
where's the feed for Gpsdrive and lib-art?
Zaurus C1000 (formerly SL5500 and C700)
Cacko developer ROM 1.23 beta + Debian Sarge + X/Qt
1GB Transcend 80x SD (ext2) / 512MB Lexar SD (ext2) / 256MB SanDisk CF(vfat)
Netgear MA701 WiFi CF
Ambicom GPS-CF
Pocketop IR keyboard (has positioning problem with C1000)
Brando LCD screen protector

Apple PowerBook 12" G4 Rev. C + Mac OS X 10.4.x (Tiger)

suid

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 48
    • View Profile
    • http://
Gpsdrive On X/qt-debian
« Reply #7 on: July 28, 2005, 08:08:13 am »
Quote
where's the feed for Gpsdrive and lib-art?


You should find them in the normal Debian feeds, as detailed in your sources.list.

If you're after the latest CVS version of gpsdrive (with flite support working), I don't think there is a feed for that yet - you'll have to wait for an official release.

However, I could send you the gpsdrive binary that I compiled from the CVS version if you wish, over PM or whatever. You still need to apt-get  the latest, stable version from the feed and then overwrite the installed version of the "gpsdrive" binary with my version. Then you need to install libart from the normal feed.


In fact, I'll try attaching the binary to this message. Fingers crossed ... I think I managed to attach the binary but had to add a .ipk file extension. Rename the file back to "gpsdrive".

Also adding the CVS version of gpsd.


Ian
[span style=\'font-size:8pt;line-height:100%\']
C750, Cacko 1.22a, JP kernel
D-link 660W, deluo (Fortuna) CF GPS receiver,
Kingston 512Mb SD (ext2), Lexar 256Mb SD (vfat), Sandisk 64Mb CF, Transcend 1Gb SD (ext2, running debian)
[/span]

samxiao

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 260
    • View Profile
    • http://
Gpsdrive On X/qt-debian
« Reply #8 on: July 28, 2005, 08:13:20 am »
but isn't the normal feed for x86 ?

because i install the debian from Meanie's jumbo package

i don't know if mine is different from yours

could you show me your sources.list?
thanks

btw, if i do apt-get , will this install into my SD card?
my Debian root is in /mnt/card/debroot/
Zaurus C1000 (formerly SL5500 and C700)
Cacko developer ROM 1.23 beta + Debian Sarge + X/Qt
1GB Transcend 80x SD (ext2) / 512MB Lexar SD (ext2) / 256MB SanDisk CF(vfat)
Netgear MA701 WiFi CF
Ambicom GPS-CF
Pocketop IR keyboard (has positioning problem with C1000)
Brando LCD screen protector

Apple PowerBook 12" G4 Rev. C + Mac OS X 10.4.x (Tiger)

suid

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 48
    • View Profile
    • http://
Gpsdrive On X/qt-debian
« Reply #9 on: July 28, 2005, 08:54:57 am »
Quote
but isn't the normal feed for x86 ?
Quote

It's actually the feed for ARM as Xscale is an ARM design (I'm sure somebody more knowledgeable can provide more details about that probable half-truth).

My sources.list (I commented out the original entries after sarge was moved out of "testing") :

Code: [Select]
#deb http://ftp.debian.org/debian testing main
deb http://ftp.debian.org/debian sarge main
#deb http://nonUS.debian.org/debian-non-US testing/non-US main
deb http://nonUS.debian.org/debian-non-US sarge/non-US main

Quote
btw, if i do apt-get , will this install into my SD card?
my Debian root is in /mnt/card/debroot/

Yep, sounds about right to me.


Ian
[span style=\'font-size:8pt;line-height:100%\']
C750, Cacko 1.22a, JP kernel
D-link 660W, deluo (Fortuna) CF GPS receiver,
Kingston 512Mb SD (ext2), Lexar 256Mb SD (vfat), Sandisk 64Mb CF, Transcend 1Gb SD (ext2, running debian)
[/span]

samxiao

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 260
    • View Profile
    • http://
Gpsdrive On X/qt-debian
« Reply #10 on: July 28, 2005, 10:37:17 am »
i just wonder why the gpsdrive in debian feed doesn't work? why i need to use the CVS version?


do i need to apt-get flite to get the sound ability working?


i already have gpsd from my qpeGPS
do i still need to install yours?
thanks
Zaurus C1000 (formerly SL5500 and C700)
Cacko developer ROM 1.23 beta + Debian Sarge + X/Qt
1GB Transcend 80x SD (ext2) / 512MB Lexar SD (ext2) / 256MB SanDisk CF(vfat)
Netgear MA701 WiFi CF
Ambicom GPS-CF
Pocketop IR keyboard (has positioning problem with C1000)
Brando LCD screen protector

Apple PowerBook 12" G4 Rev. C + Mac OS X 10.4.x (Tiger)

koen

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1008
    • View Profile
    • http://dominion.thruhere.net/koen/cms/
Gpsdrive On X/qt-debian
« Reply #11 on: July 28, 2005, 11:18:58 am »
Quote from: suid,Jul 28 2005, 12:54 PM
Quote
but isn't the normal feed for x86 ?
Quote

It's actually the feed for ARM as Xscale is an ARM design (I'm sure somebody more knowledgeable can provide more details about that probable half-truth).
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=89903\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]

It's actually the whole truth, an Xscale has an ARM core and can execute armv5 instructions.
Forums are not bugtrackers!!! Smart questions
Ångström release team
iPAQ h2210, iPAQ h5550, iPAQ hx4700, Zaurus SL-C700, Nokia 770, all running some form of GPE
My blog

suid

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 48
    • View Profile
    • http://
Gpsdrive On X/qt-debian
« Reply #12 on: July 28, 2005, 11:20:53 am »
Quote
i just wonder why the gpsdrive in debian feed doesn't work? why i need to use the CVS version?

It DOES work!! It's only the flite support that doesn't work. If you want  sound with gpsdrive, you need to replace the "official" gpsdrive from the Debian feed with the CVS version.

The official release of gpsdrive is supposed to support sound via flite, but there is a small bug in it that was quickly fixed by the Gpsdrive maintainers and added to CVS.

Quote
do i need to apt-get flite to get the sound ability working?

That's right :-

apt-get install gpsdrive
apt-get install flite
apt-get install libart-2.0-2

Then overwrite gpsdrive binary with the CVS version.


Quote
i already have gpsd from my qpeGPS
do i still need to install yours?
thanks

Mmmm, that's a potential can of worms. First of all, you don't need gpsd at all because gpsdrive will talk directly to your serial device. However, you might still want to use gpsd because it gives you a network port that can be used by other applications such as kismet. You CAN use the gpsd from qpeGPS, if you wish, and this will save you from having to create a serial device within Debian (ttyS3), but it also means that you have to start gpsd from your Qtopia environment.

So, basically my recommendation to start with at least is to ignore gpsd for the moment, create ttyS3 (see earlier instructions) and when you start up gpsdrive, make sure to check the box that says something like "use serial connection".  Gpsdrive should then be able to pick up data directly from your CF GPS device.


Ian
[span style=\'font-size:8pt;line-height:100%\']
C750, Cacko 1.22a, JP kernel
D-link 660W, deluo (Fortuna) CF GPS receiver,
Kingston 512Mb SD (ext2), Lexar 256Mb SD (vfat), Sandisk 64Mb CF, Transcend 1Gb SD (ext2, running debian)
[/span]

samxiao

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 260
    • View Profile
    • http://
Gpsdrive On X/qt-debian
« Reply #13 on: July 28, 2005, 12:03:18 pm »
suid:

i used your script
but i cannot launch GPSdrive from Qtopia desktop

do i need to make a gpsdrive.desktop under /opt/QtPalmtop/apps/XQT?


and where do i put this script?
Zaurus C1000 (formerly SL5500 and C700)
Cacko developer ROM 1.23 beta + Debian Sarge + X/Qt
1GB Transcend 80x SD (ext2) / 512MB Lexar SD (ext2) / 256MB SanDisk CF(vfat)
Netgear MA701 WiFi CF
Ambicom GPS-CF
Pocketop IR keyboard (has positioning problem with C1000)
Brando LCD screen protector

Apple PowerBook 12" G4 Rev. C + Mac OS X 10.4.x (Tiger)

suid

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 48
    • View Profile
    • http://
Gpsdrive On X/qt-debian
« Reply #14 on: July 28, 2005, 12:57:01 pm »
This question would be better directed at Meanie because I'm not running from an icon under Qt, I'm running from an icon in Xfce under Debian. I called the script gpsdrive.sh and put it in /usr/local/bin.

Probably my script could be run from Qt with a few modifications, but because I've never used Meanie's jumbo package, I wouldn't know what to advise here. The "cru" stuff at least should be removed because you're enabling the card from within Qtopia. A simple "cardctl enable" should suffice.


Ian
[span style=\'font-size:8pt;line-height:100%\']
C750, Cacko 1.22a, JP kernel
D-link 660W, deluo (Fortuna) CF GPS receiver,
Kingston 512Mb SD (ext2), Lexar 256Mb SD (vfat), Sandisk 64Mb CF, Transcend 1Gb SD (ext2, running debian)
[/span]