Author Topic: Anyone know how to get on internet using ad-hoc?  (Read 1411 times)

2devnull

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 80
    • View Profile
    • http://
Anyone know how to get on internet using ad-hoc?
« on: January 21, 2004, 05:04:11 pm »
I have a 860 with a Socket wifi card and a laptop with a wifi card in ad-hoc mode and a LAN card which is connected to the internet. I can get the Socket on the Z and the wifi on the laptop to connect and ping each other but I cannot get the Zaurus to use the internet connection even when I share the LAN card connection with the wifi on the laptop.

Regards,
2>/dev/null

SOLD ((((((SL-C860 (Cacko 1.22) | Socket Low Powered Wi-Fi | Sandisk 256 MB SD | Lexar 256 MB SD | Smart 64 MB SD | CF Camera CE-AG06 | Serial IO USB Cable | Tungsten T Stylus | Socket Bluetooth |)))))

Richjn

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 121
    • View Profile
    • http://
Anyone know how to get on internet using ad-hoc?
« Reply #1 on: January 21, 2004, 08:08:15 pm »
Are the laptop and the wifi card \"bridged\" (I\'m assuming you have XP) you can check under network connections. If not probably the easiest way to set it up is to run the small network wizard (make sure the wifi card is in) and it will bridge it for you. You don\'t need to do anything on the Z. I think this should work but its been a while since I\'ve not been in a DHCP enviroment and the old memory is a bit foggy.

EDIT: I assumed that you had already run the internet connection sharing wizard.


Richard

2devnull

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 80
    • View Profile
    • http://
Anyone know how to get on internet using ad-hoc?
« Reply #2 on: January 21, 2004, 10:17:23 pm »
Actually..I\'m using W2K. How would this be done then?

Regards,
2>/dev/null

SOLD ((((((SL-C860 (Cacko 1.22) | Socket Low Powered Wi-Fi | Sandisk 256 MB SD | Lexar 256 MB SD | Smart 64 MB SD | CF Camera CE-AG06 | Serial IO USB Cable | Tungsten T Stylus | Socket Bluetooth |)))))

Foxdie

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 465
    • View Profile
    • http://trackmygps.co.uk
Anyone know how to get on internet using ad-hoc?
« Reply #3 on: January 22, 2004, 07:26:22 am »
You can\'t do it properly with Windows 2K as far as I know, the best way would be to use a bi-directional NAT gateway, check out http://www.winroute.com/
Jason "Foxdie" Gaunt
HTC Universal G4 with 2GB SD card running Debian Titchy Linux
[img]http://trackmygps.co.uk/signatures/foxdie.gif\" border=\"0\" class=\"linked-sig-image\" /]
Click image to view my GPS tracker
Follow me on Twitter: @jasongaunt

lardman

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4512
    • View Profile
    • http://people.bath.ac.uk/enpsgp/Zaurus/
Anyone know how to get on internet using ad-hoc?
« Reply #4 on: January 22, 2004, 12:11:30 pm »
It might still work as WinXP & sK are supposed to be about the same under the skin.

Control Panel ] Network Connections, select the two connections, right click, select bridge connection.
C750 OZ3.5.4 (GPE, 2.6.x kernel)
SL5500 OZ3.5.4 (Opie)
Nokia 770
Serial GPS, WCF-12, Socket Ethernet & BT, Ratoc USB
WinXP, Mandriva

2devnull

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 80
    • View Profile
    • http://
Anyone know how to get on internet using ad-hoc?
« Reply #5 on: January 22, 2004, 02:34:46 pm »
nope....selected both and everything is greyed out if I right click and there is not bridge connection on the greyed out menu anyway..........

Regards,
2>/dev/null

SOLD ((((((SL-C860 (Cacko 1.22) | Socket Low Powered Wi-Fi | Sandisk 256 MB SD | Lexar 256 MB SD | Smart 64 MB SD | CF Camera CE-AG06 | Serial IO USB Cable | Tungsten T Stylus | Socket Bluetooth |)))))

sefthuko

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 27
    • View Profile
Anyone know how to get on internet using ad-hoc?
« Reply #6 on: June 03, 2004, 10:39:01 pm »
You should be able to go to your network properties of your laptop\'s main internet connection and turn on Internet Connection Sharing for the wireless.  I don\'t remember how Win2k handles that, but I think they have it.