Author Topic: Openoffice On Pdaxrom  (Read 62644 times)

anunakin

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 340
    • View Profile
    • http://vivaphp.net
Openoffice On Pdaxrom
« Reply #105 on: March 16, 2006, 05:59:30 am »
Quote
If that's the case, would adding the truetype fonts that are in the word document help? if so, how do you add truetype fonts to pdaXrom/OpenOffice?
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=118840\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]

Need put TTF on pdaXrom or in miniDebian on OOo cramfs file?  
[img]http://www.vivaphp.net/imagens/rev2.jpg\" border=\"0\" class=\"linked-sig-image\" /]
Anunakin (Marcus Fazzi)

Nokia N900 32GB + microSD 2GB
Nokia N810 w/ microSD 8GB
Nokia 5310 XpressMusic w/ microSD 1GB
HP48GX->Psion Sienna->Palm m130->Tungsten T->Zaurus SL-5500->C3000->C3100 ALL SOLD

My FEED(On Line AGAIN!!!)

omro

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 796
    • View Profile
    • http://
Openoffice On Pdaxrom
« Reply #106 on: March 16, 2006, 07:48:29 am »
Quote
Maybe...

mount image,run zopenoffice-setup
cp * from image to /mnt/tempXX
umount image
cp /mnt/tempXX/* to the dir that the OO image was mounted (ex. /opt/ooo )
rm -fr /mnt/tempXX
...
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=118695\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]

Am I right in thinking it should be...

Code: [Select]
cp -r /mnt/card/image/* /mnt/card/temp
Zaurus C-1000

desertrat

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 743
    • View Profile
    • http://
Openoffice On Pdaxrom
« Reply #107 on: March 16, 2006, 12:03:52 pm »
I figured out a way to add fonts to OOo relatively painlessly. There's a "hard" way and a potentially easy way. I'll outline the hard way first:

NB my OOo image is mounted at /opt/ooo

First copy the original OOo fonts directory to somewhere in your filesystem:
Code: [Select]
mkdir /mnt/hd/store/ooo-fonts
cp -a /opt/ooo/opt/OpenOffice/share/fonts/* /mnt/hd/store/ooo-fonts/

Map the new fonts directory over the original OOo one (so effectively that directory is now writeable under minideb/OOo):
Code: [Select]
mount --bind /mnt/hd/store/ooo-fonts/ /opt/ooo/opt/OpenOffice/share/fonts
Because minideb/OOo is not able to see your entire filesystem you need to map the pdaXrom fonts directory onto somewhere within the minideb filesystem. Something like this would do:
Code: [Select]
mount --bind /usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/TTF /opt/ooo/lost+found/
(NB I chose /opt/ooo/lost+found because under minideb/OOo that is empty and unused)

Next you need to run the spadmin program, to do this what I did was make a copy of /usr/bin/runoo calling it /usr/bin/runspadmin, then edit it to change soffice to spadmin.

In spadmin choose [Fonts...] > [Add...], for "Source directory" navigate to "/lost+found", select your fonts, make sure "Create soft links only" is checked, then click [OK]. Once it's done, close spadmin, startup OOo and enjoy your new fonts.


Now for the potentially easy way, it seems that OOo's truetype font directory, ie /opt/ooo/opt/OpenOffice/share/fonts/truetype/ is just a "standard" fonts directory with a bunch of ttf fonts and a fonts.dir file. If so, you can just create and populate an arbitary fonts directory then mount --bind it over the original OOo font directory. This way you do not need to run spadmin.

-- cheers
SL-C3100 / Ambicon WL1100C-CF / pdaXrom 1.1.0beta3 / IceWM

omro

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 796
    • View Profile
    • http://
Openoffice On Pdaxrom
« Reply #108 on: March 16, 2006, 12:31:47 pm »
Am guessing that if you can actually copy out the files correctly, which I can't seem to yet, you could just copy fonts into that directory?
Zaurus C-1000

DaemonsGR

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 237
    • View Profile
Openoffice On Pdaxrom
« Reply #109 on: March 16, 2006, 04:54:18 pm »
Quote
Quote
Maybe...

mount image,run zopenoffice-setup
cp * from image to /mnt/tempXX
umount image
cp /mnt/tempXX/* to the dir that the OO image was mounted (ex. /opt/ooo )
rm -fr /mnt/tempXX
...
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=118695\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]

Am I right in thinking it should be...

Code: [Select]
cp -r /mnt/card/image/* /mnt/card/temp[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=118856\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]

Paths and dirs are f00bared! If the reader can get the idea I think its OK  
In plain english you have to make the system beliave that the same dir comtains the files from the image that you made the links by running the script
Tasos Varoudis (Tech)
Tasos Varoudis (Architecture)

Zaurus sl-c3100 + Wlan, Lan ,BT ,etc
NOW running... pdaXrom 1.1.0beta3 + OOo + custom apps/setup + debian +.. not yet installed OpenBSD snapshot

WAS:Cacko 1.23 + X/QT + debian

Home-Net
Debian WIFI Router ,OpenBSD Bridge Firewall ,Win 2k Domain Server , :) Sun Fire v120 , :) Gentoo Main Server: Dual PIII

omro

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 796
    • View Profile
    • http://
Openoffice On Pdaxrom
« Reply #110 on: March 16, 2006, 10:13:11 pm »
now you've foxed me.... how?

Quote
Quote
Quote
Maybe...

mount image,run zopenoffice-setup
cp * from image to /mnt/tempXX
umount image
cp /mnt/tempXX/* to the dir that the OO image was mounted (ex. /opt/ooo )
rm -fr /mnt/tempXX
...
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=118695\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]

Am I right in thinking it should be...

Code: [Select]
cp -r /mnt/card/image/* /mnt/card/temp[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=118856\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]

Paths and dirs are f00bared! If the reader can get the idea I think its OK  
In plain english you have to make the system beliave that the same dir comtains the files from the image that you made the links by running the script
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=118920\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]
Zaurus C-1000

desertrat

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 743
    • View Profile
    • http://
Openoffice On Pdaxrom
« Reply #111 on: March 16, 2006, 10:56:03 pm »
Quote
now you've foxed me.... how?
OK say your OOo image was mounted at /opt/ooo, now create a temp directory, say /mnt/hd/ooo on a partition with plenty of space.

Then
Code: [Select]
cp -a /opt/ooo/* /mnt/hd/ooo/
Now unmount your OOo image
Code: [Select]
umount /opt/ooo
Now move your (effectively extracted) files back into the place where your OOo was originally mounted
Code: [Select]
mv /mnt/hd/ooo/* /opt/ooo/
And remove your temp directory
Code: [Select]
rm -rf /mnt/hd/ooo
Now your OOo should function just like before but it is now running from the regular filesystem. Once you have ascertained things are working properly you can delete your openoffice.cramfs file.

Just to be clear: these instructions are extracting the entire OOo image onto the regular filesystem.

If you only need to add fonts to OOo then you could consider following my earlier post in this thread on that subject.


-- cheers
SL-C3100 / Ambicon WL1100C-CF / pdaXrom 1.1.0beta3 / IceWM

omro

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 796
    • View Profile
    • http://
Openoffice On Pdaxrom
« Reply #112 on: March 17, 2006, 05:37:35 pm »
Quote
Code: [Select]
cp -a /opt/ooo/* /mnt/hd/ooo/

Thanks so much, I had assumed it was -r for recursive copy. In no logical part of my brain had the -a option seemed correct as an option. Just never occurred when reading the man page.
Zaurus C-1000

omro

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 796
    • View Profile
    • http://
Openoffice On Pdaxrom
« Reply #113 on: March 18, 2006, 07:16:46 am »
And the fonts works too  

My openoffice was copied out of the cramfs to /mnt/card/openoffice

the location of my fonts directory seems to be:

Code: [Select]
/mnt/card/openoffice/opt/OpenOffice/share/fonts/truetype
I was able to successfully copy all the fonts I need and they work, it's great! :-)
Thanks to everyone who's made this possible. This is the best moment with my Z I've had in ages, copying all my documents to it and opening them! And it's not really that slow, no worse than word used to be on my 486 in the mid 90s.

Now all I've got to do is work out how to get the default templates to open the way I want them, something I've never quite worked out with open office and I'll be set!
« Last Edit: March 18, 2006, 07:21:15 am by omro »
Zaurus C-1000

omro

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 796
    • View Profile
    • http://
Openoffice On Pdaxrom
« Reply #114 on: March 19, 2006, 07:40:26 am »
Ok.... found an error.

I've opened a test file on my xp computer, where the file is correct. It's a simple three column tally of expenses showing deductions in one column, the total amount spent in the second column and the remainder in the third column.

See below for attached image.

I opened the same file in OpenOffice in pdaXrom.

Note:
- the unexplained minus signs, but the maths isn't wrong.
- the odd cell A166
- the bizarre contents of A179, even though it still displays the correct (albeit with a minus sign) number.

See below for attached image.

The font used is Arial, and I copied Arial from the XP machine to my Z successfully. I've tried changing the fonts in the original file to one of the fonts which came with OpenOffice on the Z and re-opening the new file, but still the same results, so I don't think it's the font.

Any ideas anyone?
« Last Edit: March 26, 2006, 06:34:56 am by omro »
Zaurus C-1000

omro

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 796
    • View Profile
    • http://
Openoffice On Pdaxrom
« Reply #115 on: March 19, 2006, 03:17:20 pm »
Alas another error discovered.

I can open other openoffice word documents, which is cool, because I mainly use openoffice word. But ms word documents do not open to anything more than gibberish.  
Zaurus C-1000

john4

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 41
    • View Profile
Openoffice On Pdaxrom
« Reply #116 on: March 21, 2006, 01:24:55 am »
Code: [Select]
cp chinesefont  /mnt/hd/store/ooo-fonts/
cp -a /opt/ooo/opt/OpenOffice/share/fonts/* /mnt/hd/store/ooo-fonts/
mount --bind /mnt/hd/store/ooo-fonts/ /opt/ooo/opt/OpenOffice/share/fonts


runoo

it works!!!

Thank you,desertrat!You are a god!

Another question.
Can we use SCIM in OOo?

omro

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 796
    • View Profile
    • http://
Openoffice On Pdaxrom
« Reply #117 on: March 22, 2006, 10:42:28 am »
Some more bugs I'm afraid

First is that the CF card is often listed as unmounted after a suspend, even though the rest of pdaXrom can see the CF card.

Second while OpenOffice is running off the SD card, which is ext2 formatted, it can save files to the SD card, but it can't open them, it causes a fatal error and OpenOffice falls over.
Zaurus C-1000

desertrat

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 743
    • View Profile
    • http://
Openoffice On Pdaxrom
« Reply #118 on: March 22, 2006, 02:00:40 pm »
Quote
Some more bugs I'm afraid
Sorry to hear you're having so many problems  

Quote
I've opened a test file on my xp computer, where the file is correct. It's a simple three column tally of expenses showing deductions in one column, the total amount spent in the second column and the remainder in the third column.
Perhaps you could attach this test file for others to try?

Quote
I can open other openoffice word documents, which is cool, because I mainly use openoffice word. But ms word documents do not open to anything more than gibberish.
I've been opening Abiword saved .doc, and Gnumeric saved .xls documents using OOo without any problems (yet ). For fun I also opened a 124 page, 1.2MB MS Word produced doc and had no problems (apart from taking more than a few minutes to load).

Quote
First is that the CF card is often listed as unmounted after a suspend, even though the rest of pdaXrom can see the CF card.

and

Quote
Second while OpenOffice is running off the SD card, which is ext2 formatted, it can save files to the SD card, but it can't open them, it causes a fatal error and OpenOffice falls over.
I wouldn't

1) store OOo on CF/SD
2) open/edit files on CF/SD

and expect it to survive between suspends. During suspend/resume, pdaXrom does umount and mount of CF/SD. I'm not sure minideb likes having the CF/SD being pulled out from underneath it while it (minideb/OOo) is running.

My setup is that I have a FAT partition on the HDD which I use to store my docs and stuff. This is "mount --bind" onto minideb's "/mnt/hdd3" directory at boot, thus OOo can access "all" my docs.

-- cheers
SL-C3100 / Ambicon WL1100C-CF / pdaXrom 1.1.0beta3 / IceWM

omro

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 796
    • View Profile
    • http://
Openoffice On Pdaxrom
« Reply #119 on: March 22, 2006, 02:22:48 pm »
I'm using a C1000, I've no where else to put anything  

Are you using the cramfs version or the copied out from the cramfs version, which is what I'm using.
Zaurus C-1000