Author Topic: Compiling with jdk 1.1.8 javac  (Read 9047 times)

prun769

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 24
    • View Profile
Compiling with jdk 1.1.8 javac
« on: July 11, 2004, 11:13:21 pm »
Has anyone had any luck compiling on their Z using the jdk 1.1.8 javac?  I have it all set up using the jeode evm and the sun classes.zip.  For command line programs it compiles great.  When I try to compile an AWT program however, it throws an ArrayIndexOutOfBoundsException when attempting to load java.awt.GridBagLayout.

Out of curiousity, I compiled it using the wintel jdk 1.1.8 and it compiled fine.  I tried both the windows and and solaris classes.zip, and both give the same behavior.  I also tried including the classes.zip before the jeode jars in the classpath , and the only difference is that I get a ClassCastException instead.

I've switched to jikes in the meantime, but I was wondering if anyone actually got this to work on an awt program.

stupkid

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 578
    • View Profile
    • http://
Compiling with jdk 1.1.8 javac
« Reply #1 on: July 12, 2004, 12:52:29 pm »
I can compile this Sun example:

http://developers.sun.com/techtopics/mobil...cles/ztutorial/

with Jikes and 1.3.1 jars.  The above is simple AWT example for J2ME.  Why would you want to use something other then Jikes on the Z.

Hope this helps!

Zaurus SL-C3200 pdaXii13v2 5.5 / Ambicom WC1100C-CF / Socket Bluetooth Rev G


OpenMoko FreeRunner - Running Tweaked OM2008.x Image

jfox

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 13
    • View Profile
    • http://FoxFrenchTranslations.com/zaurus
Compiling with jdk 1.1.8 javac
« Reply #2 on: June 21, 2005, 01:08:45 am »
Quote
Has anyone had any luck compiling on their Z using the jdk 1.1.8 javac?  I have it all set up using the jeode evm and the sun classes.zip.  For command line programs it compiles great.  When I try to compile an AWT program however, it throws an ArrayIndexOutOfBoundsException when attempting to load java.awt.GridBagLayout.

Out of curiousity, I compiled it using the wintel jdk 1.1.8 and it compiled fine.  I tried both the windows and and solaris classes.zip, and both give the same behavior.  I also tried including the classes.zip before the jeode jars in the classpath , and the only difference is that I get a ClassCastException instead.

I've switched to jikes in the meantime, but I was wondering if anyone actually got this to work on an awt program.
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=34953\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]

What you are doing is using the classes.zip compiled for x86 on the Zaurus ARM. The classes.zip is meant to be used only for the compile, where it serves as a source of library names and class type detail for the compiler (and in the case of javac, the compiler program itself).

freizugheit

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 409
    • View Profile
    • http://
Compiling with jdk 1.1.8 javac
« Reply #3 on: June 21, 2005, 04:50:31 am »
prun769,

I used jikes (version 1.15) to compile HelloPP.java without any error.  Hence it worked when I used evm to activate.


stupkid,

Please englighten where we could download jikes 1.3.1 for Zaurus.
« Last Edit: June 08, 2006, 04:33:37 am by freizugheit »

jfox

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 13
    • View Profile
    • http://FoxFrenchTranslations.com/zaurus
Compiling with jdk 1.1.8 javac
« Reply #4 on: July 01, 2005, 12:03:59 am »
Quote
prun769,

I used jikes (version 1.15) to compile HelloPP.java without any error.  Hence it worked when I used evm to activate.


stupkid,

Please englighted when we could download jikes 1.3.1 for Zaurus.
[div align=\"right\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]

Well, the latest Jikes is 1.22 -- but with the Jikes v1.15 you have you can do just about anything that you could expect a java compiler to do on the Z. It is the new classes from JDK 1.2 through 1.5 that one is going to have trouble with, and that is not a problem of the compiler.

I am not planning to compile up Jikes 1.22 unless someone can think of an advantage to that over v1.15 (or 1.18 which I have seen available for ARM).  You can still download Jikes 1.15 from my tools website [a href=\"http://FoxFrenchTranslations.com/zaurus]http://FoxFrenchTranslations.com/zaurus[/url].

Jeffrey Fox

freizugheit

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 409
    • View Profile
    • http://
Compiling with jdk 1.1.8 javac
« Reply #5 on: July 01, 2005, 06:17:06 am »
Jeffrey,

Thanks for the update and I will stick to Jikes v 1.15 which I feel quite comfortable to date.

smuelas

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 110
    • View Profile
Compiling with jdk 1.1.8 javac
« Reply #6 on: July 01, 2005, 04:46:44 pm »
Excuse me for going into your thread but I have observed serious faults on Z6000 using Jikes. Most specially when compiling quite big applications that use a lot of numbers, "double numbers".
It is simply totally faulty. On the contrary, with jdk1.1.8 from blackdown everything runs smoothly with exactly the same results, up to five digits, than in a "big" desktop and running Java5.
Perhaps I am doing something stupid with Jikes, but I've tried many times, compiling and/or downloading it. :-(
Smuelas
Zaurus SL-6000  --  Microdrive Hitachi 6Gb placed permanently on CF slot.

jfox

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 13
    • View Profile
    • http://FoxFrenchTranslations.com/zaurus
Compiling with jdk 1.1.8 javac
« Reply #7 on: September 02, 2005, 01:16:10 am »
Quote
Excuse me for going into your thread but I have observed serious faults on Z6000 using Jikes. Most specially when compiling quite big applications that use a lot of numbers, "double numbers".
It is simply totally faulty. On the contrary, with jdk1.1.8 from blackdown everything runs smoothly with exactly the same results, up to five digits, than in a "big" desktop and running Java5.
Perhaps I am doing something stupid with Jikes, but I've tried many times, compiling and/or downloading it. :-(
Smuelas
[div align=\"right\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]
Well what you are doing is not clear, Smuelas. Are you runing these compiles with the Blackdown JVM?  Is the result of the compile still faulty when run under Windows or  x86 Linux.

What I was saying earlier is that you can indeed compile with javac 1.1.8 using jeode as the jvm -- my instructions are appended to my instructions for the Kopi compiler on my [a href=\"http://FoxFrenchTranslations.com/zaurus]website[/url].

Jeffrey Fox