Author Topic: Japanese Input Support In Oz?  (Read 8599 times)

rolf

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 105
    • View Profile
    • http://home.arcor.de/leggewie/
Japanese Input Support In Oz?
« Reply #15 on: April 24, 2006, 07:51:23 am »
"I" am working on getting Japanese things (anthy, nunome) working with OZ at http://gakusei.sf.net.  I have been doing so for a long time, though, and as a non-programmer have not made much progress myself so far.  So, do not expect anything too rapidly.  Any input from programmers and non-programmers alike is welcome.  Gakusei should be a community for people using their computer/PDA as a learning aid for the Japanese language.

That much being said, anthy does compile on OE thanks to some great work by Philipp Zabel.  Thus, it is available for OpenZaurus.  Anthy is only the backend, the front end still needs some work.  I have contacted the Japanese developpers of anthy and got a reply with some help.  Unfortunately, I have not yet had the time to work through these suggestions.

ashikase

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 280
    • View Profile
    • http://
Japanese Input Support In Oz?
« Reply #16 on: April 24, 2006, 08:02:45 pm »
Quote
"I" am working on getting Japanese things (anthy, nunome) working with OZ at http://gakusei.sf.net.  I have been doing so for a long time, though, and as a non-programmer have not made much progress myself so far.  So, do not expect anything too rapidly.  Any input from programmers and non-programmers alike is welcome.  Gakusei should be a community for people using their computer/PDA as a learning aid for the Japanese language.[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=124350\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]
rolf, I got your private message, but thought that I would reply here for everyones benefit.

I just wanted to mention that so far IMKit is working, but buggy. Nunome works as well, though it has hard-coded settings for 320x240, and thus needs some work for the VGA models.

I'm currently in the middle of a move, so I don't have time to work on it now, but hopefully I can put some time in on the two during the Golden Week vacation (first week of May in Japan); I make no promises though.

- ashikase
- anpachi, gifu, japan
SL-C3100 & SL-C760

ShiroiKuma

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 900
    • View Profile
Japanese Input Support In Oz?
« Reply #17 on: June 01, 2006, 07:46:07 am »
Quote
<shameless plug>GPE has kanjipad</shameless plug>
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=93421\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]
Where? I can't find Kanjipad anywhere?
[span style=\'font-size:8pt;line-height:100%\']Das ganze tschechische Volk ist eine Simulantenbande.[/font][/span]
Militäroberarzt Bautze

rolf

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 105
    • View Profile
    • http://home.arcor.de/leggewie/
Japanese Input Support In Oz?
« Reply #18 on: June 14, 2006, 06:55:49 am »
Quote
I just wanted to mention that so far IMKit is working, but buggy.
Wow, cool.  I was unaware of this.  Where can I get the ipk or better yet, the bb file?  Is this in openembedded.org yet?  

How about you join us at http://gakusei.sf.net?  It seems a few people have picked up working on Japanese on OZ lately.  There is already doubled effort.  Let's coordinate.
Quote
Nunome works as well, though it has hard-coded settings for 320x240, and thus needs some work for the VGA models.
A bug report anywhere?  AlexTe has got nunome working as well.  Maybe his version does not experience the problems you were having?  If I am not mistaken, he has a VGA Z as well.

ashikase

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 280
    • View Profile
    • http://
Japanese Input Support In Oz?
« Reply #19 on: June 14, 2006, 09:55:01 pm »
Quote
How about you join us at http://gakusei.sf.net?  It seems a few people have picked up working on Japanese on OZ lately.  There is already doubled effort.  Let's coordinate.
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=131098\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]
Unfortunately, I no longer use OZ. In fact, lately I barely even touch my Z, except to use the dictionary application.

Sorry.

- ashikase
- Osaka, Japan
SL-C3100 & SL-C760

nexxusone

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 25
    • View Profile
Japanese Input Support In Oz?
« Reply #20 on: June 30, 2006, 07:24:51 pm »
Since Kanji Sonomama DS Rakubiki Jiten came out for Nintendo DS, I have a new favorite japanese dictionary. It's like Kanji Nirvana + Jisho rolled into one, and none of the problems that result from changing resolution between KaNi and Jisho. My only complaint is that AFAIK there's no way to build a list of kanji to be tested on, but there are some built in quizes.

rolf

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 105
    • View Profile
    • http://home.arcor.de/leggewie/
Japanese Input Support In Oz?
« Reply #21 on: July 23, 2006, 04:54:25 pm »
OK, with the addition of several input methods (and more in the pipeline) to OE, the answer to the thread's question can only be: YES.  OE and thus Openzaurus do support Japanese input.  There is both key-based and handwriting recognition input available.  If you have questions, go right ahead.