Author Topic: Kino2 0.4.3 Series Released  (Read 58580 times)

clofland

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 245
    • View Profile
    • http://www.lofland.net/
Kino2 0.4.3 Series Released
« Reply #15 on: September 09, 2005, 10:44:14 am »
Still can't play AAC files made for the Nokia phone. zLAMIP can do it, but not mplayer.

I know it is an mplayer problem, not Kino2. Kino2 is cool, that is why I wish mplayer could handle these files.

If anyone wants a sample to muck with I can post one.
[span style=\'font-size:14pt;line-height:100%\']C-760 pdaXrom 1.1.0beta3[/span]
- Sandisk UltraII 1GB SD card - Socket LP CF LAN card - Socket LP CF WLAN card - Socket CF Bluetooth Card Rev H -

jpmatrix

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1014
    • View Profile
    • http://matrixmen.free.fr
Kino2 0.4.3 Series Released
« Reply #16 on: September 09, 2005, 03:36:54 pm »
Quote
However, exiting mplayer caused kino and then even the QTopia GUI to not display some elements (missing buttons and icons). Even after exiting kino, the QTopia GUI is damaged. The remaining icons (taskbar icons) work. But the system tray and start menu etc. are gone.

Yes: "Rotation" from the start menu rotates the GUI and all items are shown again.

Just FYI, nothing critical as it seems, but maybe it is a problem of kino.


hello!
i noticed that C3000 display bug too! and i noticed that double rotation does solve the problem  ouf!  perhaps a bvdd issue ?

Jean-Paul.
anyway thanks for that new version!
**Fujitsu U1010 !!!  
**ex-Zaurus SL-C3000 owner with Debian kernel 2.6.24-yonggun

daniel3000

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1003
    • View Profile
    • http://
Kino2 0.4.3 Series Released
« Reply #17 on: September 09, 2005, 03:42:38 pm »
Quote
Hello Maslowsky,
Thanks for the explanation, and especially thanks for the tip with smartcrop. It did the trick! Now I can view those videos full-screen without transcoding!

[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=95197\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]

Well, not entirely, as I see now.
The video (original size about 384x288 pixels or similar almost-qvga-sizes) is played full-screen now, more precisely full-width, i.e. the 384 pixels streched to about 640, maybe left and right is cropped off a bit. But on the top and bottom smart-crop crops off quite some content, although it isn't necessary, because the video would fit nicely onto the screen. This results in thick black bars above and below the video where actually there should be heads and feet of the actors.

So a question to all the mplayer experts out there:

Mplayer IS able to stretch the video to full width (using smart crop, no matter how it works technically), but how can I avoid it to crop off so much from the top and bottom?

BTW: The built in video player also is able to stretch the video (just as mplayer, also without any noticable impact on performance), but it has some problems with the codecs mplayer is able to play very well. And I like the kino GUI much more than the video player GUI. So I'd like to use mplayer.

Thanks a lot

daniel
SL-C3200 with weeXpc, based on pdaXrom 1.1.0beta3
HP 200LX with MS-DOS 5.0

speculatrix

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3703
    • View Profile
Kino2 0.4.3 Series Released
« Reply #18 on: September 11, 2005, 04:39:29 am »
Quote
Still can't play AAC files made for the Nokia phone. zLAMIP can do it, but not mplayer.

How stable/mature/well-integrated is zLAMIP? I run cacko, so was wondering if zLAMIP would stream audio better than mplayer?
Gemini 4G/Wi-Fi owner, formerly zaurus C3100 and 860 owner; also owner of an HTC Doubleshot, a Zaurus-like phone.

matrix200

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 47
    • View Profile
    • http://
Kino2 0.4.3 Series Released
« Reply #19 on: September 11, 2005, 12:29:21 pm »
If I wanted to reproduce smart crop feature without selecting it what command line switches would it require?
I tried to use the output debug to console and I saw the -identify there but how mplayer is supposed to use the info that -identify provides?
Zaurus SL-C3000 since 26th june 2005 with Tetsu kernel 18A and default Sharp Rom 1.01J
1 GB sd card (noname manufacturer).
1 GB sd card Sandisk
Etymotics ER-4P headphones
Wifi - Ambicom WL1100C
Motorola V3 -Razr

madeddie

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 11
    • View Profile
    • http://www.madtech.cx/
Kino2 0.4.3 Series Released
« Reply #20 on: September 11, 2005, 01:52:59 pm »
the previous version of kino2 with an older version of mplayer-bvdd workt perfectly on my C3k, but i upgraded just now to a newer mplayer and newest kino2 and the movies don't want to play fullscreen

which flags should i give to mplayer? i used to have -vm -fs and scale to screen on in kino2, but now it seems they are ignored.

unfortunately i forgot which version of mplayer i was using before, but could anyone tell me if they are able to play movies fullscreen with the mplayer-bvdd 1.1.5-1 (both with and without iwmmxt), kino2 0.4.3 and bvdd 0.4.0 on a C3k running sharp rom and tetsu's special K, and if so, how?

ps i was unable to fully downgrade to the older version of kino2, the about box says it's 0.4.2, but functionality like autosaving and loading of playlists still persisted.

regards,
madeddie

maslovsky

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1426
    • View Profile
    • http://my-zaurus.narod.ru
Kino2 0.4.3 Series Released
« Reply #21 on: September 12, 2005, 06:25:52 am »
Quote
I tried the latest kino2 and I think I've found one important bug about displaying the tag info of music files:

When I used kino2 to play some OGG and FLAC files, which are correctly tagged with artist, album, track, genre, year, etc informations (UTF-8 encoding of course), kino2 cannot display these information at all by showing blank at all these fileds. However these information of all MP3 songs with UTF-8 tags can be shown correctly, even for the Asian songs that I have, as long as correct font is selected.

So I think probably the display of the tag information of OGG and FLAC were left out, right? Can this bug be fixed soon?

If tags are not displayed this means that mplayer wasn't able to psras eand display them. To test run mplayer with -identify -verbowse options and see if tags are displayed. If they are displayed, post your file somewhere and send me a link. If tags are not displayed - sorry, I can't help you...

maslovsky

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1426
    • View Profile
    • http://my-zaurus.narod.ru
Kino2 0.4.3 Series Released
« Reply #22 on: September 12, 2005, 06:26:22 am »
Quote
what's the best version of kino/mplayer for the 760/860, as these have the ATI W100 Imageon chip... i..e should I install the mplayer bvdd version or not?
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=95190\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]

Yes.

maslovsky

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1426
    • View Profile
    • http://my-zaurus.narod.ru
Kino2 0.4.3 Series Released
« Reply #23 on: September 12, 2005, 06:27:40 am »
Quote
However, exiting mplayer caused kino and then even the QTopia GUI to not display some elements (missing buttons and icons).

I thoight I've fixed that problem... At least refreshing Qtopia worked fine last time I tested...

maslovsky

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1426
    • View Profile
    • http://my-zaurus.narod.ru
Kino2 0.4.3 Series Released
« Reply #24 on: September 12, 2005, 06:29:59 am »
Quote
So a question to all the mplayer experts out there:

Mplayer IS able to stretch the video to full width (using smart crop, no matter how it works technically), but how can I avoid it to crop off so much from the top and bottom?

Try this:

1. Disable scale option in kino2
2. Add -scale 640:480 option to the mplayer parameters (General tab in kino2 Preferences)

maslovsky

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1426
    • View Profile
    • http://my-zaurus.narod.ru
Kino2 0.4.3 Series Released
« Reply #25 on: September 12, 2005, 06:31:31 am »
Quote
If I wanted to reproduce smart crop feature without selecting it what command line switches would it require?
I tried to use the output debug to console and I saw the -identify there but how mplayer is supposed to use the info that -identify provides?
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=95422\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]

There is no such optino for mplayer - when Smart Crop is selected, kino2 is cropping video to the nesrest "correct" size, such as 320x240, etc.

iwaskia

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
    • http://
Kino2 0.4.3 Series Released
« Reply #26 on: September 12, 2005, 11:32:11 am »
Quote
If I wanted to reproduce smart crop feature without selecting it what command line switches would it require?
I tried to use the output debug to console and I saw the -identify there but how mplayer is supposed to use the info that -identify provides?
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=95422\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]

as root
backup /home/QtPalmtop/bin/mplayer
make a file there, name: mplayer
Code: [Select]
#!/bin/sh
echo "$1 $2 $3 $4 $5 $6 $7 $8 $9 $10 $11 $12 $13 $14 $15 $16" > /home/zaurus/output
play a video in kino, with smart crop on/off
you will have what you want

so, smart crop = "-vf crop=x:y"

now i can play 352x240 in fullscreen
by putting "-vf crop=320:240" in options
« Last Edit: September 13, 2005, 08:36:50 am by iwaskia »

xamindar

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 803
    • View Profile
    • http://www.radnimax.com
Kino2 0.4.3 Series Released
« Reply #27 on: September 12, 2005, 01:14:46 pm »
Anyone know a good setting for the cache and bandwidth settings under "Media Stream" in preferences?  Internet streams play very choppy on my Zaurus.
SL-C3100 happily Dualbooting Japanese Rom 1.02 and Debian Eabi
Replaced internal CF with 8gb seagate cf hard drive
Ambicom CF GPS
CyberPower battery powered USB hub
D-link DCF-650W (MAN THIS THING IS HUGE!!)

maslovsky

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1426
    • View Profile
    • http://my-zaurus.narod.ru
Kino2 0.4.3 Series Released
« Reply #28 on: September 12, 2005, 11:51:05 pm »
Quote
Anyone know a good setting for the cache and bandwidth settings under "Media Stream" in preferences?  Internet streams play very choppy on my Zaurus.
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=95553\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]

Try 32 Kbytes. Also depends on audio stream format - MP3 or OGG are played better than WMA...

adf

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2807
    • View Profile
    • http://
Kino2 0.4.3 Series Released
« Reply #29 on: September 13, 2005, 12:28:52 am »
I set, in opera, mime type audio/x-scpls, extension pls to run kino2. when I try to play a stream from shoutcast kino2 opens and saya "opening file", or something very like, but after a little while the message disappears and there is nothing to play. Any suggestions for playing shoutcast using opera and kino2?
**3100 Zubuntu Jaunty,(working on Cacko dualboot), 16G A-Data internal CF, 4G SD, Ambicom WL-1100C Cf, linksys usb ethernet,  BelkinF8T020 BT card, Belkin F8U1500-E Ir kbd, mini targus usb mouse, rechargeble AC/DC powered USB hub, psp cables and battery extenders.

**6000l  Tetsuized Sharprom, installed on internal flash only 1G sd, 2G cf