Author Topic: 1.1.0beta1 Is Out!  (Read 37022 times)

danr

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 138
    • View Profile
    • http://
1.1.0beta1 Is Out!
« Reply #135 on: April 04, 2006, 03:44:00 am »
Quote
Another 1.1.0-beta2 issue.

Has anyone else noticed that the Z does not switch "power profiles" when unplugged? My screen does not dim, and it does not suspend after the "unplugged" time, it waits for the time listed for "plugged in" which I have set for pretty long.

(I did put in a bug report, but I find it is good to post here too to get feedback.)
[div align=\"right\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]

I haven't used beta2, but the power management is handled by mb-applet-battery, see [a href=\"https://www.oesf.org/forums/index.php?showtopic=18138&st=0]this discussion[/url] for details.

Dan
SL-C860 running Debian EABI on top of Angstrom 2.6 kernel

miskinis

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 334
    • View Profile
    • http://
1.1.0beta1 Is Out!
« Reply #136 on: June 22, 2006, 09:17:29 pm »
Hi,

Has anyone come up with a solid workaround for the suspend freeze
on the SL-6000 with 1.1.0beta1?  Everything was fine for a couple
days after flashing, and now it will freeze on every suspend.  I am
using the default window manager, and the power button.

I think I had this working in the past, but I can't remember which scripts
I hacked, and how I hacked them.  I believe it was one of the apm scripts,
and/or taking an apm command out of some other script.

I hope someout out there with a 6000 has figured this out, if so PLEASE share!
It is *so* darn frustrating, and I think it's the only issue I have!

Thanks,  John
_John Miskinis_

karlto

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 343
    • View Profile
    • http://
1.1.0beta1 Is Out!
« Reply #137 on: June 22, 2006, 10:22:29 pm »
Quote
Hi,

Has anyone come up with a solid workaround for the suspend freeze
on the SL-6000 with 1.1.0beta1?  Everything was fine for a couple
days after flashing, and now it will freeze on every suspend.  I am
using the default window manager, and the power button.

I think I had this working in the past, but I can't remember which scripts
I hacked, and how I hacked them.  I believe it was one of the apm scripts,
and/or taking an apm command out of some other script.

I hope someout out there with a 6000 has figured this out, if so PLEASE share!
It is *so* darn frustrating, and I think it's the only issue I have!

Thanks,  John
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=132474\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]
Is this a beta1 issue only? I am still using RC12 because it works fine for me, but have been meaning to update...

The one thing I have removed is all the hwclock and sltime stuff from the apm scripts because it slowed everything down, the clock is correct without it, and atd doesn't allow access to the RTC while running anyway.

What else is in your apm scripts? What about cards during suspend?
SL6000-L, RC12

miskinis

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 334
    • View Profile
    • http://
1.1.0beta1 Is Out!
« Reply #138 on: June 22, 2006, 11:10:02 pm »
Hi,

I think I'm going to reflash (to ensure a stock setup again), and try removing the
110hwclock script from the both the the /etc/apm/suspend.d and /etc/apm/resume.d
directories.   Unfortunately the problem took a few days to surface, so I won't know right
away if I fixed it...

Does that sound like the most logical thing to do? Or are there more places?

Gee, I was not aware of sltime, thanks, I see the binary and a script under the
same name in /etc/apm/scripts.d/ but I only see a call to sltime in the
/etc/rc.d/rc.sysinit script.

Thanks, I'll report back in a few days if I manage to fix it by removing the calls to 110hwclock,

John

P.S. I forgot to mention, no CF cards, wifi/dhcpcd shutdown, and just an SD card inserted.
« Last Edit: June 22, 2006, 11:11:15 pm by miskinis »
_John Miskinis_

miskinis

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 334
    • View Profile
    • http://
1.1.0beta1 Is Out!
« Reply #139 on: June 22, 2006, 11:28:56 pm »
Well, I just removed the 110hwclock file from both directories, and the SL-6000
did not freeze after 3 cycles of suspend/resume.

I did NOT reflash, so I can't guarantee that I did not delete or change
anything else earlier!

John
_John Miskinis_

packetfocus

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 18
    • View Profile
1.1.0beta1 Is Out!
« Reply #140 on: August 21, 2006, 01:37:34 am »
What do I need to install this on my new C700? It has old version of Cacko / Qtopia 1.5.4 on it.

I would like to install pdaXrom..  

Does anyone have instructions? I have a 32mb CF card and will have a 1g SD after I take the 2G SD back that doesn't work in my Z.

I'm looking to install a version of linux that allows me to install perl, KDE, so on.

Is this what pdaXrom is?

Cheers,

JP

----------

New c700
CF RFID Reader/Writer
CF 32M card
1g Kingston SD

packetfocus

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 18
    • View Profile
1.1.0beta1 Is Out!
« Reply #141 on: August 22, 2006, 02:57:09 am »
Ok,

I grabbed what I thought was the correct pdaXrom-builder file. This was in the downloads and about 25mb I think.
It was a bz2 file..

http://mail.pdaxrom.org/download/1.1.0beta...7.12.05.tar.bz2

Is this what I need? I untarred the file to my SD card and it looks like a linux file system. I didnt see the "3" files I needed to extract to the root of my card.

I have a C700 with Sharp/Cacko ROM and I'm wanting to get debian or something similar up and running.. With limited resource I would like to have a single install.

Any ideas?

J/ Perrymon

C700
1g SD
32Mb CF
CF RFID READER/WRITER

Meanie

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2803
    • View Profile
    • http://www.users.on.net/~hluc/myZaurus/
1.1.0beta1 Is Out!
« Reply #142 on: August 22, 2006, 03:09:22 am »
Quote
Ok,

I grabbed what I thought was the correct pdaXrom-builder file. This was in the downloads and about 25mb I think.
It was a bz2 file..

http://mail.pdaxrom.org/download/1.1.0beta...7.12.05.tar.bz2

Is this what I need? I untarred the file to my SD card and it looks like a linux file system. I didnt see the "3" files I needed to extract to the root of my card.

I have a C700 with Sharp/Cacko ROM and I'm wanting to get debian or something similar up and running.. With limited resource I would like to have a single install.

Any ideas?

J/ Perrymon

C700
1g SD
32Mb CF
CF RFID READER/WRITER
[div align=\"right\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]

no. this is what you need: [a href=\"http://mail.pdaxrom.org/download/1.1.0beta3/Zaurus-Cxx00/]http://mail.pdaxrom.org/download/1.1.0beta3/Zaurus-Cxx00/[/url]
SL-C3000 - pdaXii13 build5.4.9 (based on pdaXrom beta3) / SL-C3100 - Sharp ROM 1.02 JP (heavily customised)
Netgear MA701 CF, SanDisk ConnectPlus CF, Socket Bluetooth CF, 4GB Kingston CF,  4GB pqi SD, 4GB ChoiceOnly SD, 2GB SanDisk SD USB Plus, 1GB SanDisk USB Plus, 1GB Transcend SD, 2GB SanDisk MicroSD with SD adaptor, Piel Frama Leather Case, GoldX 5-in-1 USB cable, USB hub, USB mouse, USB keyboard, USB ethernet, USB HDD, many other USB accessories...
(Zaurus SL-C3000 owner since March 14. 2005, Zaurus SL-C3100 owner since September 21. 2005)
http://members.iinet.net.au/~wyso/myZaurus - zBook3K

packetfocus

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 18
    • View Profile
1.1.0beta1 Is Out!
« Reply #143 on: August 22, 2006, 03:15:27 am »
Quote
Quote
Ok,

I grabbed what I thought was the correct pdaXrom-builder file. This was in the downloads and about 25mb I think.
It was a bz2 file..

http://mail.pdaxrom.org/download/1.1.0beta...7.12.05.tar.bz2

Is this what I need? I untarred the file to my SD card and it looks like a linux file system. I didnt see the "3" files I needed to extract to the root of my card.

I have a C700 with Sharp/Cacko ROM and I'm wanting to get debian or something similar up and running.. With limited resource I would like to have a single install.

Any ideas?

J/ Perrymon

C700
1g SD
32Mb CF
CF RFID READER/WRITER
[div align=\"right\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]

no. this is what you need: [a href=\"http://mail.pdaxrom.org/download/1.1.0beta3/Zaurus-Cxx00/]http://mail.pdaxrom.org/download/1.1.0beta3/Zaurus-Cxx00/[/url]
[div align=\"right\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]


Ok, so the link you gave me above will work with my c700?

For a little clarification-- after I reflash the images below.. what type of linux system will this be? Is it based of debian or some derivitive?

Not clear on if I can add packages like PERL and GTK2.0+??



I'm planning on using these instructions----

It works!

Here is my brief log:

Reboot
Do a NAND backup!

Download
EDIT

[a href=\"http://mail.pdaxrom.org/download/1.1.0beta4/Zaurus-7x0-860/new/pdaXrom-1.1.0beta4-Kathrin-corgi-current.zip]http://mail.pdaxrom.org/download/1.1.0beta...rgi-current.zip[/url]
---
http://mail.pdaxrom.org/download/1.1.0beta...rgi-current.zip
&
http://mail.pdaxrom.org/download/1.1.0beta...rgi-current.zip
per:
https://www.oesf.org/forums/index.php?showtopic=19809

Extract them and put these files on the SD card:
emergenc.img
u-boot.bin
updater.pro
updater.sh
autoboot.sh
kernel.img
rootfs.img

Pull plug & battery for 10 seconds to reset.

Put in SD card.
Put in battery and plug in.
Hold down OK while turning on.
Option 4.
Then SD (or CF if that is what you have I guess).
Then Y.

It shoudl start "Writing " lots of numbers!

Whatch it, when it says it is done and going to reboot, then HOLD OK down until the "pdaXrom emergency system" comes up.

You should see it "Erasing ..." with percent

then "Writing data to block ..." with lots of numbers. (Green LED flashes as it writes too, but the scrolling numbers are just as useful to know something is happening.)

Then at some point it finishes and starts booting.

The green LED is now your "Flash access" light, kind of light a hard drive light on a desktop. So you can tell it is working when the green LED is either dimly lit or flashing. This is useful since things seem to take their time to boot up, and leave you at odd places with no output.

I am now at # prompt!! Cool.

EDIT: no flicker problem once it is fully booted.

Now to see if I can make everything work just like before. Hmm, if I want it to work like before, why did I upgrade?  

-----
« Last Edit: August 22, 2006, 03:18:32 am by packetfocus »

telemetric_au

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 327
    • View Profile
    • http://www.tyrannozaurus.com/feed/contribs/telemetric/index.htm
1.1.0beta1 Is Out!
« Reply #144 on: April 16, 2007, 10:57:16 am »
https://www.oesf.org/forums/index.php?showtopic=23649


Quote
Is there a problem with tar in beta1? I can't make new ipks for pdaXrom using the SDK image natively on the Z.

When I put the files into a temp dir and then create the CONTROL directory etc. as per http://www.pdaxrom.org/index.php?showid=35&menuid=1

I get the following error:
Code: [Select]
tar: --exclude=CONTROL: Cannot stat: No such file or directory
tar: Error exit delayed from previous errors

I've done this a number of times before and never a problem. It's not the directory thing, because I have it there. And it's not the SDK image thing, because I tried it with the older 3.4.4 image too from RC12 and it gives me the same error.

I can't make any ipks now...

Anyone know what the problem is?
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=108846\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]
Collie w/ pdaxrom & Puppy OS w/ cross-sdk
Hawking HCF686TX 10/100, Ambicom 802.11b (WL1100C-CF), Xircom 56K Global CF
Kingston CF Elite Pro & SD 1Gb & 128mb for flashing
$2 screen protector, collie.pdaxrom.feed : my collie pdaxrom site