Author Topic: Is There A Wifi Sitesurvey App For Oz?  (Read 3396 times)

wrenhal

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 14
    • View Profile
Is There A Wifi Sitesurvey App For Oz?
« on: April 12, 2006, 11:52:52 am »
I'm wondering if there is a site survey app for OZ.  One that can give me a full list of available wifi spots in the area and then allow me to choose which one to connect to.  standard sharp rom just seems to connect to whatever is available unless you force the networking applet to do otherwise.  
It would need to show me channel, signal strength, type of encryption and SSID.  I'm not familiar with linux very much at all, but on Windows I use a program called net stumbler because my laptop maker didn't include an app like this for windows.

jerrybme

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 639
    • View Profile
    • http://
Is There A Wifi Sitesurvey App For Oz?
« Reply #1 on: April 12, 2006, 12:05:39 pm »
Quote
I'm wondering if there is a site survey app for OZ.  One that can give me a full list of available wifi spots in the area and then allow me to choose which one to connect to.  standard sharp rom just seems to connect to whatever is available unless you force the networking applet to do otherwise. 
It would need to show me channel, signal strength, type of encryption and SSID.  I'm not familiar with linux very much at all, but on Windows I use a program called net stumbler because my laptop maker didn't include an app like this for windows.
[div align=\"right\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]
I don't know if there is an OZ specific one, but I use Wifi-Radar which works well in OZ &  pdaXrom. You can find it here: [a href=\"http://wifi-radar.systemimager.org/]http://wifi-radar.systemimager.org/[/url]
SL-C3100
Angstrom-GPE
Lexar SD 1 GB
PQI 2GB CF
Ambicom WL1100 CF

Hrw

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1366
    • View Profile
Is There A Wifi Sitesurvey App For Oz?
« Reply #2 on: April 13, 2006, 02:56:30 am »
opie:
- network settings
- opie-stumbler
OpenZaurus 3.5.4x Release Manager
OpenEmbedded, Ångström, Poky developer
My website

Misc embedded hardware.

grog

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 692
    • View Profile
    • http://
Is There A Wifi Sitesurvey App For Oz?
« Reply #3 on: April 13, 2006, 10:59:31 am »
Quote
I don't know if there is an OZ specific one, but I use Wifi-Radar which works well in OZ &  pdaXrom. You can find it here: http://wifi-radar.systemimager.org/[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=122873\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]
If anyone's interested, attached is a installable ipk I created from the debian packge. Works ok AFAICT.
GROG!

sibble-comp-oesf

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 43
    • View Profile
Is There A Wifi Sitesurvey App For Oz?
« Reply #4 on: September 18, 2006, 01:42:16 am »
Quote
Quote
I don't know if there is an OZ specific one, but I use Wifi-Radar which works well in OZ &  pdaXrom. You can find it here: http://wifi-radar.systemimager.org/[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=122873\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]
If anyone's interested, attached is a installable ipk I created from the debian packge. Works ok AFAICT.
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=123027\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]


Hmm, I've tried both the ipk posted in this thread and the one from the 3.5.4 feeds on both my 3.5.3 and my 3.5.4 based SL-5500's, both using opie. In both cases I end up with a similar error:


This error is from the ipk posted in this thread
:~/downloads# wifi-radar
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "/usr/sbin/wifi-radar", line 1889, in ?
    import gtk, gobject
  File "/local/pkg/oe/multi/tmp/work/arm-linux/python-pygtk2-2.6.2-r2/image/usr/lib/python2.4/site-packages/gtk-2.0/gtk/__init__.py", line 37, in ?
RuntimeError: could not open display


This is the error using wifi-radar from the 3.5.4 feeds

 wifi-radar
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "/usr/sbin/wifi-radar", line 1895, in ?
    import gtk, gobject
  File "/local/pkg/oe/multi/tmp/work/arm-linux/python-pygtk2-2.6.2-r2/image/usr/lib/python2.4/site-packages/gtk-2.0/gtk/__init__.py", line 37, in ?
RuntimeError: could not open display


Any ideas or suggestions, or will it only run under GPE?

enodr

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 133
    • View Profile
Is There A Wifi Sitesurvey App For Oz?
« Reply #5 on: October 03, 2006, 12:06:26 pm »
Quote
Any ideas or suggestions, or will it only run under GPE?

Yes wifi-radar is GPE only.

BarryW

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 690
    • View Profile
    • http://
Is There A Wifi Sitesurvey App For Oz?
« Reply #6 on: November 13, 2006, 09:03:54 pm »
If I run the version from the feed with the icon it doesn't find anything.  If I run it from command line it works.  Both run from the root user account.  Any ideas??


Oops, now I see, works from the menu, but not the desktop icon, weird.
« Last Edit: November 13, 2006, 09:27:31 pm by BarryW »
What's this button do??

C3100
Distro changes almost weekly...

C3200
Distro also changes almost weekly...  :)

Hardware hacks and stuff.