Author Topic: Pdaxrom B3 For C3000  (Read 11469 times)

danboid

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 881
    • View Profile
    • http://
Pdaxrom B3 For C3000
« on: August 18, 2006, 11:23:28 am »
I'm back to running Cacko on my C3000 at the moment but I can't stand it- last time I installed pdaXrom I got to see what my Z is truly capable of and I want that power back. I had gnumeric, abiword, bvdd mplayer, amule, zpsx, mame- cacko couldn't compare! Of course sash is working on a new 2.6 based pdaX and OZ/GPE is starting to come together but it could easily be another 6 months or more until they can compete with 2.4 based pdaX in terms of features and stability (barring that annoying suspend problem) and with a bit of effort us c3k users could put together a great pdaXrom distro now.

The base would of course be Thc's pdaXromb2 release but with all the fixes mentioned on Meanies site here:

http://www.users.on.net/~hluc/myZaurus/custom-pdaxrom.html

Sharp's updated SD driver

https://www.oesf.org/forums/index.php?showtopic=20905

and any relevant fixes/tweaks mentioned here

http://www.thesounddesign.com/zaurus/beta3.htm

If I got to choose then ROX desktop would be the default.

As I already mentioned, the one big downer I experienced with pdaXromb2 on my c3k was that the HDD led would stay on when I pushed suspend but if I resumed and then suspended again straight after the HDD light would go out and it would suspend OK. Is this a problem that applies to all pre-beta4 pdaXrom releases on c3x00? Has it been fixed? If pdaXrom < b4 uses the same kernel as cacko then why does cacko suspend fine?

The other problem I had was that desktop shortcuts and icons under ROX would just disappear- nobody else have this problem?

Finally, as I remember the c3k pdaxb2 installer required that you had standard partitioning on your MD but it would then re-partition you drive before installation. Is it not possible to custom partition/format the MD yourself and then install pdaXrom on top of that as is the case with OZ? That is how I'd like things to be in b3.

So, is anyone up for this?
Zaurus SL-C3000 w/ MD swapped for a Kingston 32GB Ultimate 266X CF running ALARM
Banana Pi running ALARM on a WD Scorpio SATA II HD
System76 Gazelle Pro i7 laptop w/ SAMSUNG 840 EVO SSD running Arch x64

How to install Arch on your C3x00 Zaurus https://github.com/danboid/ZALARM-install

danboid

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 881
    • View Profile
    • http://
Pdaxrom B3 For C3000
« Reply #1 on: August 18, 2006, 12:56:35 pm »
I should've really included a link to the b2 thread as well

https://www.oesf.org/forums/index.php?showtopic=17070

The pdaXromb2 for c3k image is linked in the first posting on that thread

It would of course be of great help to have Thc in on this but I have a nasty feeling that he somehow lost all his code for this but this might've happened just after he did b1, I can't remember.

Other than what I mentioned in the first post in this thread, is there anything else anyone would like to see fixed, changed or added? I think gpe-calendar would be a good addition to the standard rom that most people would use.
« Last Edit: August 18, 2006, 12:58:56 pm by danboid »
Zaurus SL-C3000 w/ MD swapped for a Kingston 32GB Ultimate 266X CF running ALARM
Banana Pi running ALARM on a WD Scorpio SATA II HD
System76 Gazelle Pro i7 laptop w/ SAMSUNG 840 EVO SSD running Arch x64

How to install Arch on your C3x00 Zaurus https://github.com/danboid/ZALARM-install

Reaper

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 126
    • View Profile
Pdaxrom B3 For C3000
« Reply #2 on: August 18, 2006, 01:10:28 pm »
Well, I could try it anyway... Where can I find it?

Actually, this weekend I'm going to try to upgrade my NAND to 128 Mb (just imagine - snow-white C3100!  ). But I can try this ROM before upgrading.

Glorin

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 23
    • View Profile
    • http://
Pdaxrom B3 For C3000
« Reply #3 on: August 18, 2006, 04:53:40 pm »
First step  If u make it, please write how-to
Sharp SL-C3000
PdaXroM
CF ethernet TRENDnet
SD Kingstone 1 Gb
One more from Russia :)

danboid

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 881
    • View Profile
    • http://
Pdaxrom B3 For C3000
« Reply #4 on: August 18, 2006, 05:34:05 pm »
Reaper- see post #2 in this thread. Please share your pdaxrom/c3000 and then your NAND upgrade experiences with us.

Glorin- in effect b3 has already been made, kind of. The HOWTO is there already, see post #1. I want B3 so that new c3k/pdax users don't have to spend a full weekend applying fixes and patches to get it running properly- there should be no need for lengthy howtos or guides- and hopefully we can get rid of that nasty suspend problem. Thats the biggest problem I think and will probably require someone with much more knowledge of the kernel than I possess. Of course, if that bug has been there for years now then it may never get fixed

I'm most interested to hear what Thc, Meanie and sash have to say about this seeing as they all know more about this than I do.
« Last Edit: August 18, 2006, 05:40:18 pm by danboid »
Zaurus SL-C3000 w/ MD swapped for a Kingston 32GB Ultimate 266X CF running ALARM
Banana Pi running ALARM on a WD Scorpio SATA II HD
System76 Gazelle Pro i7 laptop w/ SAMSUNG 840 EVO SSD running Arch x64

How to install Arch on your C3x00 Zaurus https://github.com/danboid/ZALARM-install

Reaper

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 126
    • View Profile
Pdaxrom B3 For C3000
« Reply #5 on: August 18, 2006, 11:15:10 pm »
Oh, this version... It seems that I have this one already, and replaced SD driver with Sharp's one, so it suits me, more or less. I just thought there was something REALLY new... Sorry for my inaccuracy...

maystorm

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 48
    • View Profile
    • http://
Pdaxrom B3 For C3000
« Reply #6 on: August 19, 2006, 05:37:46 am »
Quote
Actually, this weekend I'm going to try to upgrade my NAND to 128 Mb (just imagine - snow-white C3100!  ).
I didn't know that this was possible.

Are you going to share your experiences in these forums? TIA!
Owner of a very happy Zaurus SL-C3000 since the day he was fed with pdaXrom 1.1.0beta1! Just made him even more happy by feeding him with pdaXii13 build 5.4.7.

Reaper

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 126
    • View Profile
Pdaxrom B3 For C3000
« Reply #7 on: August 19, 2006, 09:24:42 am »
Well, here's my first experience, unfortunately, negative one: IC programmers don't work with NAND memory at all. That leaves me to tricky and dangerous experiments with U-BOOT. I don't know any other way around - usual bootloader doesn't recognise clean NAND chip and refuses to do anything with it.
« Last Edit: August 19, 2006, 03:28:18 pm by Reaper »

fooman

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 49
    • View Profile
Pdaxrom B3 For C3000
« Reply #8 on: October 24, 2006, 11:24:25 pm »
Danboid,

I'm running Cacko 1.23b1 on my C3000 and I'm considering the move to pdaXrom beta 2.  One reason I'm holding back is this suspend bug - even when your HDD light stayed on, do you think your HDD was constantly spinning or was this more of an annoyance?

Also, did your desktop shortcuts and icons disappear when you were running a file manager other than Rox?

Quote
Reaper- see post #2 in this thread. Please share your pdaxrom/c3000 and then your NAND upgrade experiences with us.

Glorin- in effect b3 has already been made, kind of. The HOWTO is there already, see post #1. I want B3 so that new c3k/pdax users don't have to spend a full weekend applying fixes and patches to get it running properly- there should be no need for lengthy howtos or guides- and hopefully we can get rid of that nasty suspend problem. Thats the biggest problem I think and will probably require someone with much more knowledge of the kernel than I possess. Of course, if that bug has been there for years now then it may never get fixed

I'm most interested to hear what Thc, Meanie and sash have to say about this seeing as they all know more about this than I do.
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=139066\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]
SL-C3000 running Cacko 1.23 Beta 1 with Tetsu's special Kernel v18b
Swapped out 4 GB Microdrive for 4 GB CF card
1 GB SanDisk Ultra II SD card with ext2 filesystem
128 MB swapfile on SD card
Ambicom 802.11b WiFi CF card
TRENDnet 10 Mbps Ethernet CF card

danboid

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 881
    • View Profile
    • http://
Pdaxrom B3 For C3000
« Reply #9 on: October 25, 2006, 03:42:41 am »
Dunno about the HD LED.

Rox was the only other desktop/wm I tried except for the default matchbox one, which doesn't support icons on the desktop. If I was to try pdaX again I'd be trying the pcman filemanger maybe. I wonder if Thunar does icons on the desktop too?

There's a whole load of fixes to pdaXb2 on Meanies site. Does everybody apply these after each install? Are they all neccessary? If so we should turn it into a script or update the b2 image instead
Zaurus SL-C3000 w/ MD swapped for a Kingston 32GB Ultimate 266X CF running ALARM
Banana Pi running ALARM on a WD Scorpio SATA II HD
System76 Gazelle Pro i7 laptop w/ SAMSUNG 840 EVO SSD running Arch x64

How to install Arch on your C3x00 Zaurus https://github.com/danboid/ZALARM-install

daniel3000

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1003
    • View Profile
    • http://
Pdaxrom B3 For C3000
« Reply #10 on: October 25, 2006, 10:16:19 am »
Quote
Danboid,

I'm running Cacko 1.23b1 on my C3000 and I'm considering the move to pdaXrom beta 2.  One reason I'm holding back is this suspend bug - even when your HDD light stayed on, do you think your HDD was constantly spinning or was this more of an annoyance?
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=144750\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]


The HDD isn't spinning constantly.
I had it often, also with Cacko ROM, that on suspend, the HDD LED did not turn off.
But this does no hard, except for a few milliamps more power drain in suspend.

Another question:
C3000 pdaXrom beta2: Is it fully compatible with all the 1.1.0beta3 (for 3100 etc.) feeds and packages?
In other words: Can I use the C3000 beta2 version as a basis for a system I have now built upon 1.1.0beta3 on a C3100?

Thanks
daniel
SL-C3200 with weeXpc, based on pdaXrom 1.1.0beta3
HP 200LX with MS-DOS 5.0

fooman

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 49
    • View Profile
Pdaxrom B3 For C3000
« Reply #11 on: October 25, 2006, 05:16:01 pm »
I believe that C3000 pdaXrom beta 2 is actually based on 1.1.0beta1.  The fact that it is "beta 2" is because ThC released a beta based on 1.1.0beta1, and then he fixed some bugs so he released another beta (also based on 1.1.0beta1).

I also believe that 1.1.0beta1 uses hard float so any pdaXrom applications that use soft float will not be compatible.  I don't know when pdaXrom switched over to soft float from hard so I can't say when the cutoff point is for application compatibility.

In people's opinion, how reliable or flakey is the suspend feature in pdaXrom?  I have heard some people say that as long as you use the menu feature (as opposed to using the on/off button) and you suspend when there isn't heavy disk activity then the feature is pretty reliable.  But I have heard nothing definitive one way or the other.

Quote
Quote
Danboid,

I'm running Cacko 1.23b1 on my C3000 and I'm considering the move to pdaXrom beta 2.  One reason I'm holding back is this suspend bug - even when your HDD light stayed on, do you think your HDD was constantly spinning or was this more of an annoyance?
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=144750\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]


The HDD isn't spinning constantly.
I had it often, also with Cacko ROM, that on suspend, the HDD LED did not turn off.
But this does no hard, except for a few milliamps more power drain in suspend.

Another question:
C3000 pdaXrom beta2: Is it fully compatible with all the 1.1.0beta3 (for 3100 etc.) feeds and packages?
In other words: Can I use the C3000 beta2 version as a basis for a system I have now built upon 1.1.0beta3 on a C3100?

Thanks
daniel
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=144791\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]
SL-C3000 running Cacko 1.23 Beta 1 with Tetsu's special Kernel v18b
Swapped out 4 GB Microdrive for 4 GB CF card
1 GB SanDisk Ultra II SD card with ext2 filesystem
128 MB swapfile on SD card
Ambicom 802.11b WiFi CF card
TRENDnet 10 Mbps Ethernet CF card

daniel3000

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1003
    • View Profile
    • http://
Pdaxrom B3 For C3000
« Reply #12 on: October 25, 2006, 05:26:14 pm »
In 1.1.0beta3, the suspend/resume is very reliable, as long as you give it the time it needs:
On suspend, no matter if via menu or OnOff, give it 10 seconds until you do anything else (close screen, resume...).
On resume via OnOff, don't bother that the screen is still dark. Backlight will switch on after a few seconds. Resume will take 10-20 seconds, depending on how many applications are running (the window manager reinitializes all windows on resume which takes some time... any way around this?)

The worst error (and the most "intuitive" one) is on resume, when the screen remains dark, to repeadetly hit OnOff because you think it hasn't recognized the keypress. This will confuse the system and may lead to lockups.

As long as you give it the time it needs, it will be stable.

daniel
SL-C3200 with weeXpc, based on pdaXrom 1.1.0beta3
HP 200LX with MS-DOS 5.0

Antikx

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1147
    • View Profile
    • http://tyrannozaurus.com
Pdaxrom B3 For C3000
« Reply #13 on: October 25, 2006, 11:47:10 pm »
Quote
In 1.1.0beta3, the suspend/resume is very reliable, as long as you give it the time it needs:
On suspend, no matter if via menu or OnOff, give it 10 seconds until you do anything else (close screen, resume...).
On resume via OnOff, don't bother that the screen is still dark. Backlight will switch on after a few seconds. Resume will take 10-20 seconds, depending on how many applications are running (the window manager reinitializes all windows on resume which takes some time... any way around this?)

The worst error (and the most "intuitive" one) is on resume, when the screen remains dark, to repeadetly hit OnOff because you think it hasn't recognized the keypress. This will confuse the system and may lead to lockups.

As long as you give it the time it needs, it will be stable.

daniel
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=144833\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]

My exact experience as well.
Well put.
Kanpai,
-Antikx (Twitter, Mugshot and PodNova)
C1000 - pdaXrom R198 (Celestial Environment)
tyrannozaurus.com
[img]http://www.tyrannozaurus.com/files/category_pictures/general_1.png\" border=\"0\" class=\"linked-sig-image\" /]
Zaurus news/blogs feed from Zaurus users
Free Windows, Linux, or Web RSS readers.
Featured pages at tyrannozaurus:
Sharp Petition, ScummVM, Cacko, pdaXii13, and Celestial Environment

chrisluu

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 24
    • View Profile
Pdaxrom B3 For C3000
« Reply #14 on: October 26, 2006, 04:39:14 am »
The problem is that this thread is specifically about the C3000. The last time I checked, the best that we had for the C3000 was the 1.1.0beta1-based Beta 2 version. When I ran this, I essentially had to restart the zaurus every day due to file system problems. I thought that my microdrive may have been going out, but I switched to OZ and it's been very stable ever since.

The responses to the stability were referring to the 1.1.0beta3, which, as far as I know, isn't really running on the C3000 yet, which is the original purpose of this thread. I am aware of the people trying to get the newest version of Pdaxrom up on the C3000, but this version is based on the 2.6 kernel and has its own set of problems.

I'd like to return to Pdaxrom sometime, but I don't think I have the time/experience to get it up and running without a how-to, which is why I've been following this thread in the hopes that someone gets it working.