Author Topic: pretec wifi cf <$21 shipped  (Read 18752 times)

the_oak

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 426
    • View Profile
    • http://
pretec wifi cf <$21 shipped
« Reply #30 on: August 09, 2004, 10:49:34 pm »
   Just ordered one. coupon still works!!
SL-6000L running Sharp 1.12 rom, (SOLD)
Fujitsu U820 with Windows 7
White Intel MacBook

kbranch

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 72
    • View Profile
    • http://
pretec wifi cf <$21 shipped
« Reply #31 on: September 27, 2004, 07:02:07 pm »
If anybody's interested, the new code should be 171520.
Open source RTS.  It's still in the very early stages, so testers are quite welcome.

Olad

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 24
    • View Profile
pretec wifi cf <$21 shipped
« Reply #32 on: November 18, 2004, 10:18:19 pm »
I don't understand all that about power usage - does that mean that this card is a power hog? Thanks.

DaveAnderson

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 100
    • View Profile
pretec wifi cf <$21 shipped
« Reply #33 on: November 19, 2004, 09:48:37 am »
I don't like this card at all; it is very cheap in terms of quality.  Mine worked for a few months and then stopped working.  I sent it back to Pretec and they told me it still worked.  They did agree to send me a replacement card, however.  It's actually due in today.

stupkid

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 578
    • View Profile
    • http://
pretec wifi cf <$21 shipped
« Reply #34 on: November 19, 2004, 10:28:40 am »
Interesting, I have had the exact opposite experience.  If you want to see a cheap card look at the Linksys WCF12.  I was unable to keep a decent signal after 30 minutes with the WCF12, but with the Pretec I have been connected for many hours without a problem.  YMMV
« Last Edit: November 19, 2004, 10:29:05 am by stupkid »

Zaurus SL-C3200 pdaXii13v2 5.5 / Ambicom WC1100C-CF / Socket Bluetooth Rev G


OpenMoko FreeRunner - Running Tweaked OM2008.x Image

Snappy

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 793
    • View Profile
    • http://
pretec wifi cf <$21 shipped
« Reply #35 on: November 28, 2004, 09:26:45 am »
Hi,

(Please dun flame or laugh)    Does the Pretec work with NEC MobilePro 790? It uses the MIPS chipset and runs Wince 3.0.

Thanks!
Snappy!
------------------------
Akita (Daily use)
<span style='font-size:8pt;line-height:100%'>SL-C1000 with Cacko 1.23 full
Accessories: Wifi XI-825 CF  |  16GB (6) SDHC (Transcend) | 1GB 80x CF (RiDATA PRO-2) </span>

Collie (Sandbox)
<span style='font-size:8pt;line-height:100%'>SL-5500 with OZ/GPE 3.5.4.1 alpha3 build 2006-04-27
Accessories: 512MB A-Data SD | 64MB Toshiba SD</span>

selfabuse

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 43
    • View Profile
pretec wifi cf <$21 shipped
« Reply #36 on: December 07, 2004, 02:51:33 pm »
My Pretec card just showed up yesterday. Put it in the Z, and it absolutley won't connect to anything. I've tried my AP at home, and 3 seperate ones at my office. I took the thing out and put it in a laptop - same deal. Grabbed a coworkers zaurus (running OZ3.2) and it works just fine there. <sigh>

Anyone know where you can get OZ3.2? The openzaurus site only seems to have the more current versions, which I couldn't get this to work under.

thanks!
-r

stupkid

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 578
    • View Profile
    • http://
pretec wifi cf <$21 shipped
« Reply #37 on: December 07, 2004, 03:14:29 pm »
What ROM are you running?  Mine worked fine with Cacko out of the box.

Zaurus SL-C3200 pdaXii13v2 5.5 / Ambicom WC1100C-CF / Socket Bluetooth Rev G


OpenMoko FreeRunner - Running Tweaked OM2008.x Image

selfabuse

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 43
    • View Profile
pretec wifi cf <$21 shipped
« Reply #38 on: December 08, 2004, 08:08:33 am »
I tried it under sharp 3.1, Kompany rom 1.0, and the most recent OZ. I even plugged it in to the PCMCIA adapter it came with, and put it in an XP laptop, and it wouldn't connect there either. I would just say it was defective and return it, but it works 100% on my coworkers OZ3.2. Go figure.

selfabuse

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 43
    • View Profile
pretec wifi cf <$21 shipped
« Reply #39 on: December 08, 2004, 08:27:15 am »
Oh, and I also made sure it wasn't my Z being busted, because I grabbed another coworkers linksys wireless CF card, and it worked just fine everywhere.

Howitzer

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 24
    • View Profile
    • http://
pretec wifi cf <$21 shipped
« Reply #40 on: December 13, 2004, 04:14:25 pm »
Is there another discount code on this one?

SharpEnd

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 102
    • View Profile
pretec wifi cf <$21 shipped
« Reply #41 on: December 29, 2004, 01:39:42 am »
Just grabbed one of these cards, for $20.xx
New coupon code for new customers: 309021
SL-C860 w/Cacko 1.23
Pretec CF wi-fi

Olad

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 24
    • View Profile
pretec wifi cf <$21 shipped
« Reply #42 on: December 29, 2004, 02:48:04 pm »
309021 is valid until January 31, 2005. After that (valid until February 31, 2005) the code will be 111504.

lareya

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 150
    • View Profile
    • http://
pretec wifi cf <$21 shipped
« Reply #43 on: December 30, 2004, 01:23:48 am »
Woohoo! Just picked up one of these buggers! It works

Lareya
SL-C3000: un-bricked (Thanks to Cresho!)
C-860: pdxRom

Howitzer

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 24
    • View Profile
    • http://
pretec wifi cf <$21 shipped
« Reply #44 on: December 30, 2004, 01:43:00 am »
Doh...!  I got mine between the coupon codes... .grrr.....

They work on my Sharp 3.10 ROMS.  I've installed Wellenreiter II, following the instructions in the Wiki.  However, when it comes time to Configure it doesn't find /dev/eth0.  I notice that one of the links in the Wiki is broken (the one that is supposed to help you in the configure portion) so I can't seem to get the last part taken care of.  Every time I start the sniffer it says "Card isn't configured".  I added the Pretec to the wlan-ng.conf file as described for "unknown" CF cards in the Wiki, but no love there.  I'd like to use WRII as it installs to SD without complaining about needing to be in main memory.  

As long as I'm whining.... any good pointers on firewalling the Z while I'm out in the wooly WIFI lands?  I'm not convinced the IPSEC/Freeswan stuff is what I need as I'm not planning on doing any VPN at the moment.