Author Topic: Beta Linux Testing  (Read 2944 times)

szopin

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 66
    • View Profile
Beta Linux Testing
« Reply #15 on: February 13, 2020, 12:53:16 pm »
Quote from: Ben10
Is there a way to power off or restart device with buttons only? I was using debian, left it powered on, and after 10-15 mins display turned off, like to some sleep state. The blue caps lock led is on but nothing else. Do I really have to wait for batt to die...?


Btw, here it is:

http://support.planetcom.co.uk/index.php/Cosmo_Linux_Beta
Wow did you get it to suspend? In my usage it would wake up from that with tap on the screen or any keypress, did you tweak anything? ESC is still the power button so you can just hold it for 5+ seconds to power off, wish it could be switched to silver button as esc is crucial for so many apps and it's not 'back' anymore like in android

Ben10

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
    • View Profile
Beta Linux Testing
« Reply #16 on: February 13, 2020, 01:13:43 pm »
Thank you for interest. No, I didn' do anything to compromise it. Just went to kitchen for 15 mins. It is alive, I can see it still connected to my router but screen is off. Tried to ssh from laptop, found it, but passw. "gemini" is rejected...
« Last Edit: February 13, 2020, 01:14:23 pm by Ben10 »

szopin

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 66
    • View Profile
Beta Linux Testing
« Reply #17 on: February 13, 2020, 01:22:54 pm »
Quote from: Ben10
Thank you for interest. No, I didn' do anything to compromise it. Just went to kitchen for 15 mins. It is alive, I can see it still connected to my router but screen is off. Tried to ssh from laptop, found it, but passw. "gemini" is rejected...
Shame, in any case just press and hold ESC until it reboots, no need to wait for battery to die

Ben10

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
    • View Profile
Beta Linux Testing
« Reply #18 on: February 13, 2020, 01:28:27 pm »
It worked, thank you a lot.

AGdesigns-NL

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 14
    • View Profile
    • Http://agdesigns.nl
Beta Linux Testing
« Reply #19 on: February 13, 2020, 01:33:23 pm »
just installed linux. Already looks better then expected!
2 issues i found that makes is hard to use for me;
-is there a way i can calibrate the screen touch panel with linux (Only have a BT Mouse so only can use touch).
-direction keys not working correctly. when i press UP DOWN ENTER it processes UP DOWN DOWN ENTER

cam1965

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 331
    • View Profile
    • http://
Beta Linux Testing
« Reply #20 on: February 13, 2020, 04:09:50 pm »
Quote from: cam1965
Quote from: cam1965
Quote from: mibry
There was an email sent out this afternoon from Planet to people that had indicated they wanted beta Linux for the Cosmo. There is a Linux beta image available for testing from Planets site. Be aware it is very early beta.

Regards

Mibry

Where is the link to download the image ? Can I install  this image ( I've already partitioned my Cosmo ) without  damage my rooted android installed? Thank you.

Already found it : http://support.planetcom.co.uk/index.php/Cosmo_Linux_Beta

Only to know : Can I install  this image ( I've already partitioned my Cosmo ) without  damage my rooted android installed. ?Thank you.

Updated : Installed linux without any damage to my android installation.

Only a problem with twrp boot . Please see :

https://www.oesf.org/forum/index.php?showtopic=36119

mmbika

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 27
    • View Profile
Beta Linux Testing
« Reply #21 on: February 14, 2020, 10:05:48 pm »
Can someone please make and post some videos with this latest Linux stuff ... there is nothing on the web yet about it and results point to months old links, want to see how this Android and Linux lives side by side and if anyone did manage to get it over the external monitor it would be even better ... if someone could use just USB monitor

mibry

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 69
    • View Profile
Beta Linux Testing
« Reply #22 on: February 19, 2020, 08:15:43 am »
Quote from: mmbika
Can someone please make and post some videos with this latest Linux stuff ... there is nothing on the web yet about it and results point to months old links, want to see how this Android and Linux lives side by side and if anyone did manage to get it over the external monitor it would be even better ... if someone could use just USB monitor

I will post a video in the next couple of days.

mibry

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 69
    • View Profile
Beta Linux Testing
« Reply #23 on: February 23, 2020, 05:34:24 am »
Quote from: mibry
Quote from: mmbika
Can someone please make and post some videos with this latest Linux stuff ... there is nothing on the web yet about it and results point to months old links, want to see how this Android and Linux lives side by side and if anyone did manage to get it over the external monitor it would be even better ... if someone could use just USB monitor

I will post a video in the next couple of days.

Video of Linux running on the Cosmo. Warning, the file is 183mb.

 https://1drv.ms/v/s!Ag51c2D8JaCgtg0St-k...MngY4L?e=si9gYC

mmbika

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 27
    • View Profile
Beta Linux Testing
« Reply #24 on: February 25, 2020, 05:01:49 am »
Quote from: mibry
Quote from: mibry
Quote from: mmbika
Can someone please make and post some videos with this latest Linux stuff ... there is nothing on the web yet about it and results point to months old links, want to see how this Android and Linux lives side by side and if anyone did manage to get it over the external monitor it would be even better ... if someone could use just USB monitor

I will post a video in the next couple of days.

Video of Linux running on the Cosmo. Warning, the file is 183mb.

 https://1drv.ms/v/s!Ag51c2D8JaCgtg0St-k...MngY4L?e=si9gYC

video explains the experience and thanks for that.... with a Bluetooth mouse it should be awesome .. does Bluetooth & 4G/Phone or at least  4G Modem work, all together in linux? and off course, audio?

TomJ

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 33
    • View Profile
Beta Linux Testing
« Reply #25 on: February 25, 2020, 09:21:13 am »
Quote from: mmbika
Quote from: mibry
Video of Linux running on the Cosmo. Warning, the file is 183mb.

 https://1drv.ms/v/s!Ag51c2D8JaCgtg0St-k...MngY4L?e=si9gYC

video explains the experience and thanks for that.... with a Bluetooth mouse it should be awesome .. does Bluetooth & 4G/Phone or at least  4G Modem work, all together in linux? and off course, audio?


I haven't watched the video, but am now thinking about using my Wear OS watch as a mouse for Linux on my phone... may have to try an installation.

Elevennails

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 14
    • View Profile
Beta Linux Testing
« Reply #26 on: February 25, 2020, 12:42:19 pm »
Someone mentioned they had difficulties getting the keyboard characters to properly display earlier in this thread. Here's the config changes and work arounds i've made so far.

Here's how I've set mine for the UK It does seem to be working fine.

Language

1. Time/Date

settings | Regional Settings | Date & Time | Time Zone | Search London - Click Apply

2. Language

settings Regional Settings | Language | Add Languages - British English - Move it up to top of list to make default - Click apply

3. Formats

Settings Regional Settings | Formats | Region| United Kingdom - British English (en_GB) - I left the "Detailed Settings Check box unticked"

4. Keyboard

settings Regional Settings | Input Devices | Hardware (Tab) | Keyboard model: "Planet | Planet Comupters Cosmo COmmunicator" - Apply
settings Regional Settings | Input Devices | Layouts (Tab) | Configure Layouts | Add "English (UK) n- Select English (USA) and click remove - Apply

Blanks screen on powersave
Next I've disabled the power management. As it seems to keep leaving me with blank screen from which i'm to force a reboot. This does seem to prevent the black screen.
System tray | click the battery icon | Untick "Enable Power Management"


Mouse fix
Next I implemented the mouse fix from here...

https://www.oesf.org/forum/index.php?showtopic=35185

Here's a script to update and upgrade + add the support for the above help topic.

1. create a file called 40-libinput.conf on your sdcard

[div class=\'codetop\']CODE[/div][div class=\'codemain\' style=\'height:200px;white-space:pre;overflow:auto\']Section "InputClass"
        Identifier "libinput touchscreen catchall"
        MatchIsTouchscreen "on"
        MatchDevicePath "/dev/input/event*"
        Driver "mtrack"
        Option "ScrollDistance" "40"
        Option "FingerLow" "1"
        Option "FingerHigh" "2"
        Option "Sensitivity" "1.8"
        Option "BottomEdge" "0"
        Option "SwipeDistance" "100"
        Option "ScaleDistance" "40"
        Option "ButtonMoveEmulate" "false"
        Option "ClickTime" "25"
        Option "MaxTapMove" "55"
        Option "EdgeBottomSize" "0"
EndSection[/div]

Create a file call mouse.sh on your SDcard

[div class=\'codetop\']CODE[/div][div class=\'codemain\' style=\'height:200px;white-space:pre;overflow:auto\']#!/bin/bash
echo cosmopda    127.0.0.1 >> /etc/hosts #Stops sudo complaining!
apt-get update
apt-get upgrade
apt-get install xserver-xorg-input-mtrack
cp 40-libinput.conf /usr/share/X11/xorg.con/40-libinput.conf
shutdown -r now #This reboot applies the changes. the service restart didn't work for me[/div]                        

Open a terminal
move to the sdcard location you saved the above files. (mine is here... cd /media/cosmo/3B3A-191B your's may be different)

sudo su #and enter the password for cosmo
. mouse.sh

Hope someone finds this useful. I've copy typed from my cosmo cos i was too lazy to copy file across hopefully there's no typos...

This makes the mouse behave more like a VNC session and not stick to your finger like the default one does. For some reason i was having difficulty getting to the screen extents top and bottom. I like this solution better. You also get gestures for left mouse click etc. I didn't turn off the mouse acceleration in LXQT or build from source. I just used the default debian driver. If you save the 2 script files to your SD card you'll be able to reapply these changes back quickly should you default and start again.

If anyone has any info on how to stop the Wifi card getting a new mac address after each boot. This could save me some agro  I've posted about it here.

https://www.oesf.org/forum/index.php?showtopic=36146

Looks like the same issue as the gemini had.

Hey Dev's great job. I've been longing for the debian release for ages! It's great we finally have it    Thanks for all your efforts


Elevennails
« Last Edit: February 27, 2020, 06:43:08 am by Elevennails »