Author Topic: New Qtopia Device? Am I doing a Qtopia phone reviiew?  (Read 1669 times)

amrein

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 345
    • View Profile
    • http://
New Qtopia Device? Am I doing a Qtopia phone reviiew?
« on: May 21, 2004, 10:05:33 pm »
Apparently, it is Qtopia + QT/X11 + X11fb + IceWM.

http://www.mizi.com/en/index/mizi-gallery-...%2F2.0-Tatooine
http://www.mizi.com/en/

I\'m testing it at present. It runs a \'Qtopia like\' environnement in a Xnest server (no, it\'s not qvfb).
_ The apps are pretty cool. I will say better than Palm Pilot but I don\'t have a Palm Pilot near me. A little better than Symbian (This Qtopia is more intuitive than Symbian). Applications are great for a smartphone. Better than Pocket PC 2003 too.

Qtopia environnement is not the only reason for this, new Qtopia applications merge all advantage of Palm + Sybian + Pocket PC + Qtopia.

Is the the Trolltech surprise? The Qtopia Phone Edition?
Good surprise then.

From a programmer point of view now.
_ Very good documentation.
_ Easy to find information.
_ I don\'t like the fact that this was sell again to a company who... again... have change things and won\'t release the source (see the new names given to QPE libraries class..).
_ the a few rpm have forced me to remove Mandrake package and a few couldn\'t install because of dependencies mismach. Sure, they are for Redhat (so I shouldn\'t complain).
_ But my god, X11 + optimised QT2.3/X +  Qtopia, I like that!!!!

I need to test it more. It\'s like when you receive a new gift, you need to calm down to appreciate it to the right value.
Someone want to add comments?

amrein

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 345
    • View Profile
    • http://
New Qtopia Device? Am I doing a Qtopia phone reviiew?
« Reply #1 on: May 22, 2004, 04:13:58 am »
I forgot to say: If you want to run it on Mandrake Suse or Fedora Core 2, you will have to install the 2.4.XX kernel.

Indeed, Redhat 9 uses the 2.4.x kernel and Qtopia doesn\'t supporte the new 2.6.x series.

Mickeyl

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1495
    • View Profile
    • http://www.Vanille.de
New Qtopia Device? Am I doing a Qtopia phone reviiew?
« Reply #2 on: May 22, 2004, 07:09:54 am »
Yes, the Mizi GUI is very pretty. I guess they must have a designer.
Cheers,

Michael 'Mickey' Lauer | Embedded Linux Freelancer | www.Vanille-Media.de
Consider donating, if you like the software I contribute to.

amrein

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 345
    • View Profile
    • http://
New Qtopia Device? Am I doing a Qtopia phone reviiew?
« Reply #3 on: May 22, 2004, 04:41:26 pm »
The Archos from http://www.archos.com/products/av300_series.html is not bad too.

The annonce made at CeBIT 2004 about their Linux base AV500 is interesting.

See on the french site: http://www.clubic.com/n/n12043.html

If you look at closely one of the picture, you will see that the new AV500 runs Qtopia. (thanks to homer simpsons at tele2.fr for the info).

Trolltech has a lot of device like this in their bag?

Same problem: system interoperability, data & software share...

Amazing device. Testing Mizi Linux with memory contraint on pc... doesn\'t reveal bugs for out of memory too. It\'s a work from skilled worker.
Again, ...

lpotter

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 450
    • View Profile
    • http://qtopia.net
New Qtopia Device? Am I doing a Qtopia phone reviiew?
« Reply #4 on: May 23, 2004, 08:22:00 pm »
Mizi Phone Edition is not Qtopia Phone. Qtopia Phone does not need X-11, which is a bit overkill on phones and PDA.
Software Engineer, Systems Group, MES, Trolltech
irc.freenode.net #qtopia
http://qtopia.net

Mickeyl

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1495
    • View Profile
    • http://www.Vanille.de
New Qtopia Device? Am I doing a Qtopia phone reviiew?
« Reply #5 on: May 24, 2004, 05:07:44 am »
Yeah I\'m looking forward to OpenAV500
Cheers,

Michael 'Mickey' Lauer | Embedded Linux Freelancer | www.Vanille-Media.de
Consider donating, if you like the software I contribute to.