Author Topic: trouble with new Cacko Qtopia rom  (Read 2265 times)

gnarlog

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 30
    • View Profile
    • http://
trouble with new Cacko Qtopia rom
« on: June 09, 2004, 02:06:04 am »
Hi there,

I just installed the latest Cacko Qtopia ROM on my C860, and  when the machine reboots, the \'Please wait...\' screen comes up and then after about 15 seconds, an \'Enter runlevel\' prompt appears in the lower left corner of the screen. No matter what number I type in, the prompt disapprears, and the machine freezes, stuck on the \'Please wait...\' screen. Any ideas?

Thanks,

Matt

gnarlog

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 30
    • View Profile
    • http://
trouble with new Cacko Qtopia rom
« Reply #1 on: June 09, 2004, 04:29:52 pm »
11. Select \"5 Flash repartition\", enter 27 when prompted for root partition size.
12. Flash will be repartioned and Zaurus will reboot.


So what is supposed to happen when the Zaurus reboots? All I get is the Enter runlevel prompt.

Thanks,

Matt

gnarlog

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 30
    • View Profile
    • http://
trouble with new Cacko Qtopia rom
« Reply #2 on: June 09, 2004, 06:14:39 pm »
Here is the output from dmesg:

Turbo Mode clock: 398.13MHz (*2.0, active)
Security risk: creating user accessible mapping for 0x08000000 at 0xf1000000
On node 0 totalpages: 16384
zone(0): 16384 pages.
zone(1): 0 pages.
zone(2): 0 pages.
Kernel command line: console=ttyS0 root=/dev/ram0 mtdparts=sharpsl-nand:7168k@0k(smf),-(root) ZAURUS_UPDATE=/etc/update/update_cf
Console: colour dummy device 80x30
Calibrating delay loop... 397.31 BogoMIPS
Memory: 64MB = 64MB total
Memory: 53820KB available (1824K code, 520K data, 108K init)
Dentry-cache hash table entries: 8192 (order: 4, 65536 bytes)
Inode-cache hash table entries: 4096 (order: 3, 32768 bytes)
Mount-cache hash table entries: 1024 (order: 1, 8192 bytes)
Buffer-cache hash table entries: 4096 (order: 2, 16384 bytes)
Page-cache hash table entries: 16384 (order: 4, 65536 bytes)
POSIX conformance testing by UNIFIX
Linux NET4.0 for Linux 2.4
Based upon Swansea University Computer Society NET3.039
Initializing RT netlink socket
RCSR = 5
apm: BIOS version 1.2 Flags 0x02 (Driver version 1.14)
FCS : CCCR = 161
batok installed
Starting kswapd
JFFS2 version 2.1. © 2001, 2002 Red Hat, Inc., designed by Axis Communications AB.
reset resolution unkown => 480x640
Console: switching to colour frame buffer device 80x30
fb0: W100FB frame buffer device
keyboard initilaized.
pty: 256 Unix98 ptys configured
Serial driver version 5.05c (2001-07-08) with no serial options enabled
SharpSL serial driver version 5.05c (2001-07-08) with no serial options enabled
ttyS00 at 0xf8100000x (irq = 14) is a 16550A
ttyS01 at 0xf8700000x (irq = 12) is a 16550A, using IRDA
ttyS02 at 0xf8200000x (irq = 13) is a 16550A
rs_init: IRDA H/W initializaion
sharpled_init: done.
corgi remote controller
Cotulla Real Time Clock driver v1.00
Cotulla Touch Screen driver initialized
block: 128 slots per queue, batch=32
RAMDISK driver initialized: 16 RAM disks of 8192K size 1024 blocksize
Uniform Multi-Platform E-IDE driver Revision: 6.31
ide: Assuming 50MHz system bus speed for PIO modes; override with idebus=xx
loop: loaded (max 8 devices)
PPP generic driver version 2.4.1
PPP BSD Compression module registered
ide_cs.c 1.26 1999/11/16 02:10:49 (David Hinds)
Corgi audio driver initialize
Sharp SL series flash device: 1000000 at 0
Using static partision definition
Creating 1 MTD partitions on \"sharpsl-flash\":
0x00120000-0x007f0000 : \"Filesystem\"
NAND device: Manufacture ID: 0xec, Chip ID: 0x79 (Samsung K9D1G08V0M)
Creating 2 MTD partitions on \"Samsung K9D1G08V0M\":
0x00000000-0x00700000 : \"smf\"
0x00700000-0x08000000 : \"root\"
Linux Kernel Card Services 3.1.22
  options:  [pm]
Intel PXA250/210 PCMCIA (CS release 3.1.22)
pxa_pcmcia_init(0)
pxa_pcmcia_init(1)
orinoco.c 0.12 (David Gibson <hermes@gibson.dropbear.id.au> and others)
hermes.c: 7 Jun 2002 David Gibson <hermes@gibson.dropbear.id.au>
orinoco_cs.c 0.12 (David Gibson <hermes@gibson.dropbear.id.au> and others)
spectrum_cs.c 0.3.4
Backlight Driver Initialized.
NET4: Linux TCP/IP 1.0 for NET4.0
IP Protocols: ICMP, UDP, TCP
IP: routing cache hash table of 512 buckets, 4Kbytes
TCP: Hash tables configured (established 4096 bind 4096)
NET4: Unix domain sockets 1.0/SMP for Linux NET4.0.
NetWinder Floating Point Emulator V0.95 © 1998-1999 Rebel.com
IrCOMM protocol (Dag Brattli)
RAMDISK: Compressed image found at block 0
Freeing initrd memory: 8192K
VFS: Mounted root (ext2 filesystem).
Freeing init memory: 108K
pxa_sd_wait_response: card removed (cmd=00)
pxa_sd_wait_id_response: card removed (cmd=00)
pxa_sd_wait_id_response: card removed (cmd=00)
SD Driver Initialized.
sharp_mmcsd 0.21 27 Sep 2002
ide_attach()
ide_config(0xc15f8080)
Trying to free nonexistent resource <f6000000-f600000f>
hda: SanDisk SDCFB-128, ATA DISK drive
ide0 at 0xf6000008-0xf600000f,0xf600000e on irq 39
hda: 250880 sectors (128 MB) w/1KiB Cache, CHS=980/8/32
Partition check:
 hda: hda1
ide_cs: hda: Vcc = 3.3, Vpp = 0.0
VFS: Disk change detected on device ide0(3,1)
 hda: hda1
VFS: Disk change detected on device ide0(3,1)
 hda: hda1
EXT2-fs: Unrecognized mount option quiet
VFS: Disk change detected on device ide0(3,1)
 hda: hda1
VFS: Disk change detected on device ide0(3,1)
 hda: hda1
cramfs: wrong magic
VFS: Disk change detected on device ide0(3,1)
 hda: hda1
VFS: Disk change detected on device ide0(3,1)
 hda: hda1
VFS: Can\'t find a Minix or Minix V2 filesystem on device 03:01.
VFS: Disk change detected on device ide0(3,1)
 hda: hda1
VFS: Disk change detected on device ide0(3,1)
 hda: hda1
MSDOS FS: IO charset utf8
usbdm: usbd_monitor 0.3 035 2002-06-12 20:00
monitor_connected: 1
monitor_load:
monitor_hotplug: agent: usbd interface: monitor action: load
usbdcore: usbdcore 0.1 035 2002-06-12 20:00 (dbg=\"\")
net_fd 0.1 035 2002-06-12 20:00 (dbg=\"\",alwaysup=0,OUT=64,IN=64)
vendorID: 4dd productID: 9031
pxa_bi 0.1-alpha 035 2002-06-12 20:00 (dbg=\"\")
bi_modinit: call udc_startup_events
bi_device_event: call udc_enable
bi_device_event: call udc_all_interrupts
monitor_modinit: finished
pxa_pcmcia_init(0)
ide_release(0xc15f8080)
in_interrupt
ide_detach(0xc15f8080)
ide_release(0xc15f8080)
ide_attach()
ide_config(0xc15f8080)
hda: SanDisk SDCFB-128, ATA DISK drive
ide0 at 0xf6000008-0xf600000f,0xf600000e on irq 39
hda: 250880 sectors (128 MB) w/1KiB Cache, CHS=980/8/32
 hda: hda1
ide_cs: hda: Vcc = 3.3, Vpp = 0.0
VFS: Disk change detected on device ide0(3,1)
 hda: hda1
VFS: Disk change detected on device ide0(3,1)
 hda: hda1
EXT2-fs: Unrecognized mount option quiet
VFS: Disk change detected on device ide0(3,1)
 hda: hda1
VFS: Disk change detected on device ide0(3,1)
 hda: hda1
cramfs: wrong magic
VFS: Disk change detected on device ide0(3,1)
 hda: hda1
VFS: Disk change detected on device ide0(3,1)
 hda: hda1
VFS: Can\'t find a Minix or Minix V2 filesystem on device 03:01.
VFS: Disk change detected on device ide0(3,1)
 hda: hda1
VFS: Disk change detected on device ide0(3,1)
 hda: hda1
MSDOS FS: IO charset utf8




If anyone can make sense of this, I would be very grateful.

Thanks,

Matt

maslovsky

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1426
    • View Profile
    • http://my-zaurus.narod.ru
trouble with new Cacko Qtopia rom
« Reply #3 on: June 10, 2004, 12:19:34 am »
Now when you\'ve repartitioned your flash, do the OK + Power again and then select Flash New Rom option.

gnarlog

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 30
    • View Profile
    • http://
trouble with new Cacko Qtopia rom
« Reply #4 on: June 10, 2004, 02:36:43 am »
Thanks for the tip. I believe I\'ve been following the instructions correctly, but I\'m still having the same problem. I\'ve tried it with both a cf and sd card. One thing I have noticed is that if I opt to reformat the usr partition at the end of the install, I end up with the Enter runlevel prompt at the Please wait... screen, but if I say no to the usr reformat, I get the Please wait... screen without the Enter runlevel prompt, and a bunch of text flashes at the bottom of the screen -- appearing to scroll behind the white part of the screen. I can of course get to a console shell by choosing 6 from the installer screen. Is there any thing I can look for that might give me a clue besides dmesg? I\'ve tried formatting the user partition both before and after doing the Flash repartition. Is this necessary? Could this problem have anything to do with the fact that prior to flashing the new rom I was running pdaX 1.05 with the custom installer that created the single root partition? Sorry to be asking so many dumb questions, I just don\'t know what to do, and I REALLY want to start using my C860. Also, if this is too hard to diagnose via forum post exchanges, I would be happy to pay someone to look at the machine. Anyone interested in persuing that route, send me a private message.

Thanks for you patience,

Matt

maslovsky

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1426
    • View Profile
    • http://my-zaurus.narod.ru
trouble with new Cacko Qtopia rom
« Reply #5 on: June 10, 2004, 05:30:50 am »
It looks like your Zaurus does not get flashed properly. try to reformat your card, copy the ROM files on it and flash again.

OpKnight

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 18
    • View Profile
    • http://
trouble with new Cacko Qtopia rom
« Reply #6 on: June 10, 2004, 07:56:30 am »
Matt,

   I had the same trouble occur after installed Cacko v1.21 ROM.  After following the instructions including repartioning the flash then installing the ROM file and rebooting my C760 again, all I saw was a \"runlevel\" prompt.  I tried entering 5 for runlevel 5 and 2 for single user mode but neither worked.  Following that, I tried to reflash again with the same results.  Previously, I have sucessfully used both of Cacko\'s PdaXrom and Qtopia ROMs.  I solved my problem by restoring the C760 from a NAND backup via service menu THEN reflashed my Z with the Cacko v1.21 ROM.  It now boots and works properly with no prompt for runlevel....

I hope this helps you with your problem,
==============================================================
C760 running pdaXrom 1.1.0 Kathrin RC5, SanDisk 512MB SD, Lexar 40X 1GB CF, 2.2GB Microstore CF, Pharos CF LAN, Socket CF Modem, Linksys WCF12 Wireless LAN, Cacko pdaXrom and Qtopia ROMs

gnarlog

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 30
    • View Profile
    • http://
trouble with new Cacko Qtopia rom
« Reply #7 on: June 10, 2004, 11:59:32 am »
Thanks a lot for the input! I had formatted my cards using WinXP, is this a no-no? Should I do it with the Z using mkfs? OpKnight, when you say you restored your 760 from a NAND backup, what was the image(or whatever its called) that you used? I don\'t have a functional NAND backup. Thank you guys for getting back to me.

gnarlog

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 30
    • View Profile
    • http://
trouble with new Cacko Qtopia rom
« Reply #8 on: June 11, 2004, 01:20:59 am »
So I tried reformatting my cf card using the z -- still no luck. So it soulds like the next thing to try would be the NAND restore. Can someone point me to a clean NAND backup?

Thanks a lot,

Matt

gnarlog

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 30
    • View Profile
    • http://
trouble with new Cacko Qtopia rom
« Reply #9 on: June 12, 2004, 05:30:00 am »
I just tried to reinstall pdaX 1.05, and now when I choose install new ROM, I get the congratulation page asking me if I want to format the internal user flash, and regardless of which answer I select, it goes straight back to the main installation page. When I open a shell and look at dmesg, the last line reads:

nand_erase: attempt to erase a bad block at addr 0x03ec8000


Anyone have any idea what I should do about this?

Thanks,

Matt

gnarlog

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 30
    • View Profile
    • http://
trouble with new Cacko Qtopia rom
« Reply #10 on: June 23, 2004, 03:26:56 am »
So after a few more failed experiments, I finally did a nand flash restore back to the original japanese rom, and did the Cacko rom install after that, and it worked fine. I don't know if this is in a readme file anywhere, but it probably should be. OpKnight, thanks for suggesting this -- I never would have figured this out on my own.

-Matt

bluedevils

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1284
    • View Profile
    • http://
trouble with new Cacko Qtopia rom
« Reply #11 on: June 23, 2004, 11:39:19 am »
gnarlog,

I think you've just discovered the value of forums....
I'm now an iphone user and use my zaurii as serial terminals, perl and shell scripting and when I need 640x480 screens

sl-c3100/pda cacko 1.23 | sl-6000l/needs battery | sl-c760/server pdaxrom rc12 | Former sl-5500/tkcrom owner (sister's birthday gift)