Author Topic: Installing ipks  (Read 5290 times)

b2bpro

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 218
    • View Profile
    • http://
Installing ipks
« on: December 07, 2003, 06:41:19 pm »
I\'ve installed a bunch of stuff using the Settings-]Packages app and stuff seems to install somewhat.  I get an error though during install

\"file_move: ERROR: failed to rename /usr/lib/ipkg/status.tmp to /usr/lib/ipkg/status.  No such file or directory\"

I look in the directory and there is no status.tmp but there is a status file.  Afterwards there is an icon for the app installed, but when I try to run it, it just puts a picture in the bottom status bar and then that disappears. So it looks like the app tries to launch but then fails.  This has happened with about a dozen apps i\'ve tried to install (mostly games from the OZ site)

Foxdie

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 465
    • View Profile
    • http://trackmygps.co.uk
Installing ipks
« Reply #1 on: December 07, 2003, 06:45:14 pm »
Is this just one ipk problem or for all ipk installs you\'re trying to do?

I think the best way to install ipk\'s is to do it via the terminal as you can see any errors that occur.
Jason "Foxdie" Gaunt
HTC Universal G4 with 2GB SD card running Debian Titchy Linux
[img]http://trackmygps.co.uk/signatures/foxdie.gif\" border=\"0\" class=\"linked-sig-image\" /]
Click image to view my GPS tracker
Follow me on Twitter: @jasongaunt

b2bpro

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 218
    • View Profile
    • http://
Installing ipks
« Reply #2 on: December 07, 2003, 06:50:32 pm »
it happens for all ipk\'s - at least about a dozon that I did

How do you install them using the terminal?

Foxdie

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 465
    • View Profile
    • http://trackmygps.co.uk
Installing ipks
« Reply #3 on: December 07, 2003, 07:02:41 pm »
Save the ipk into the home folder of the main user (I\'m not sure if OZ uses the \"zaurus\" or \"root\" username.

Then type in   ipkg install filename.ipk
Jason "Foxdie" Gaunt
HTC Universal G4 with 2GB SD card running Debian Titchy Linux
[img]http://trackmygps.co.uk/signatures/foxdie.gif\" border=\"0\" class=\"linked-sig-image\" /]
Click image to view my GPS tracker
Follow me on Twitter: @jasongaunt

Anonymous

  • Guest
Installing ipks
« Reply #4 on: December 07, 2003, 08:43:08 pm »
I have the same problem,
SL-C760/OZ 3.3.5
I installed via the command line, trying first I tried to install it of the CF card, then internal, then over the network install feature of ipk. All methods yeald verry simmilear errors.

Thank you for your time,
Arrummzen

b2bpro

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 218
    • View Profile
    • http://
Installing ipks
« Reply #5 on: December 07, 2003, 09:52:58 pm »
I\'ve now tried it from the command line as well. Maybe a bug in OZ 3.3.5

I was thinking it might have been due to using an 860, but since you\'ve got the same problem on your 760 it must be generic.

I\'ve tried chmod\'ing the status file in question and also su\'ing first but the problem persists.  Mind you, the error points to a problem recording status which shouldn\'t have affected the install.  I wonder if doing a manual install would work.  Unfortunately, I\'m too new to this world to know how to take the ipk apart and manually do it.

Arrummzen

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 15
    • View Profile
Installing ipks
« Reply #6 on: December 07, 2003, 10:04:32 pm »
Im guessing its a problem with the ipkg system. Does anyone with a non-JP model have the same problem?

./configure ; make ; make install

works for programs that install that way.

By the way, you said you have an SL-C860, yes? Does your \"home\" button work?

Thank you for your time,
Arrummzen

b2bpro

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 218
    • View Profile
    • http://
Installing ipks
« Reply #7 on: December 07, 2003, 11:06:52 pm »
Yes the home button works.  Still having problems.  Over on the externe.net there was apparently a solution. Some people have had success, but I still have the problem

Anyway, the solution is to edit /etc/ipkg.conf  and delete the line \"dest / /\"

Arrummzen

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 15
    • View Profile
Installing ipks
« Reply #8 on: December 08, 2003, 12:32:03 am »
So, if you are say in Konqueror, and you push the home button you go back to the desktop?

If the SL-C760 and SL-C860 are so simmiler, why doesn\'t my home button but his does?

Thank you for your time,
Arrummzen

zenyatta

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 366
    • View Profile
    • http://
Installing ipks
« Reply #9 on: December 08, 2003, 04:43:57 am »
@b2bpro: manual install is a breeze as long as you install to the root and not to a SD/CF card. Just open the terminal, make sure you are running as root and do

cd /
tar zxf /path/to/whatever.ipk
tar ztf data.tar.gz ] install.log
tar zxvf data.tar.gz
rm -f debian-binary
rm -f control.tar.gz

Of course, the major drawback is that the package won\'t be listed in Settings ] Packages hence you have to uninstall by hand as well (which is where the install.log comes in very handy).

z.
SL-5500, 256MB Kingston CF card, 128MB EDGE SD card, Thomson HED-155 headphones
OpenZaurus 3.5.3 / Opie (kernel 64-0)

b2bpro

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 218
    • View Profile
    • http://
Installing ipks
« Reply #10 on: December 08, 2003, 10:41:15 am »
Thanks z, I\'ll try it tonight (I wish I didn\'t have to work)

b2bpro

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 218
    • View Profile
    • http://
Installing ipks
« Reply #11 on: December 08, 2003, 03:27:09 pm »
What are the chances of getting this install problem fixed?  Without this, I\'ll have to go back to the Sharp ROM.  Unless there is a previous version of OZ available for the 760?

Arrummzen

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 15
    • View Profile
Installing ipks
« Reply #12 on: December 09, 2003, 01:45:16 am »
Maybe .... you could manualy  install ... a working version of ipkg?

Thank you for your time,
Arrummzen

Arrummzen

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 15
    • View Profile
Installing ipks
« Reply #13 on: December 09, 2003, 02:11:59 am »
Yep, I was right, the solution is as follows

1: go to
http://ipkgfind.handhelds.org/details.phtm...ficial=&format=
As you can tell there is a new version. Great, but how are we going to install it without ipkg working. Step two solves that...
2: Download the BINARYS You will see something like this on the page -
Files:  
./usr/bin/ipkg
./usr/bin/update-alternatives

Download ipkg, and update-alternatives and copy them to /usr/bin.
3: It works now, enjoy.

NOTE: I don\'t know if this will fix the GUI install (I didn\'t check) but now you can install via the command line... thats good enough for me....

Thank you for your time,
Arrummzen

Richjn

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 121
    • View Profile
    • http://
Installing ipks
« Reply #14 on: December 09, 2003, 03:15:05 am »
Arrummzen

Tried that still no difference for me. I have deleted the line dest// from /etc/ipkg.conf posted elsewhere which allows the packages to install without errors from both the terminal and the gui but I still get the same error when I try to run the app \"Opie-Ftp was terminated due to signal code SIGSEGV\" (Obviously I was trying to install opie ftp with ftb-lib both from the 3.3.5 feed) any ideas. BTW I have installed the latest kernel posted today, perhaps theres a new image about to appear as well.

Richard