Author Topic: Xqt installation  (Read 10903 times)

NathanA

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
    • http://
Xqt installation
« on: August 09, 2004, 04:01:51 pm »
I am trying to install Xqt on my Zaurus SL-5500 and so far appear to be failing.  I followed some instructions I found here (https://www.oesf.org/forums/index.php?showtopic=5381&st=15) which led me to install the following packages:

xqt-fonts-misc
xqt-server
glibc-locale-eucjp
xbase-etc
xlibs
xqt-startup-scripts
xbase-clients
blackbox
gdk-pixbuf
glib-addition
gtk

everything seemed to go smoothly, but when I run Start X, the icon sort of "lights up" but nothing noticeable happens (the icon stays bright until I run something else).  If I run X/Qt Server, I get an x-win looking background with the X cursor that behaves strangely.  If I enter a letter, the screen goes away and I'm back to Qtopia.

Running xinit from the terminal, I get:
Code: [Select]
xinit: No such file or directory (errno 2): no server "X" in PATH

Use the -- option, or make sure that /opt/QtPalmtop/bin is in your path and that "X" is a program or a link to the right type of server for your display.  Possible server names include:

[here there is a pause]

giving up.
xinit: Connection refused (errno 111): unable to connect to X server
xinit: No such process (errno 3): Server error.

I tried unistalling the locale and font ipks since that was a suggestion I read somewhere, but it didn't seem to help.

Any help would be appreciated.  Thanks in advance,
Nathan

dhns

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 699
    • View Profile
    • http://www.goldelico.com
Xqt installation
« Reply #1 on: August 10, 2004, 04:38:15 am »
I have learned that you have to install Xqt server 0.0.8 and not 0.0.9 on the 5500 series.

-- hns
SL5500G, C860, C3100, WLAN, RTM8000, Powerbook G4, and others...
http://www.handheld-linux.com
http://www.quantum-step.com

lardman

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4512
    • View Profile
    • http://people.bath.ac.uk/enpsgp/Zaurus/
Xqt installation
« Reply #2 on: August 10, 2004, 05:21:55 am »
@NathanA: Which ROM are you using? If it's OZ then I made some posts a while back about how I got it working - you need to move the files from /home/zaurus to /root and chmod +x the x11r6 (I think) file somewhere under /etc.


Si
C750 OZ3.5.4 (GPE, 2.6.x kernel)
SL5500 OZ3.5.4 (Opie)
Nokia 770
Serial GPS, WCF-12, Socket Ethernet & BT, Ratoc USB
WinXP, Mandriva

NathanA

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
    • http://
Xqt installation
« Reply #3 on: August 10, 2004, 12:05:00 pm »
Okay, I installed X-server 0.0.8 and that seemed to make the cursor behave correctly.

I still can't "startx" or "xinit", though.  Here's what I'm trying to do.  I need to log in via ssh to a remote linux computer (I can do this) and run an application on the host computer and view the display on the Zaurus.  I'm able to do this from another desktop running linux, but the PDA says 'unable to open display ""'.

I'm using ROM Version 2.38.

Thanks,
Nathan

NathanA

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
    • http://
Xqt installation
« Reply #4 on: August 10, 2004, 12:23:18 pm »
What is supposed to happen when I launch "Start X" or "X/Qt Server" from the applications menu?

Bedman

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 28
    • View Profile
Xqt installation
« Reply #5 on: August 12, 2004, 02:47:12 am »
Startx or xinit look for a filename called X but Xqt-server provides only the Xqt binary. So make a symlink  from X->Xqt startx will work!

Bedman

NathanA

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
    • http://
Xqt installation
« Reply #6 on: August 12, 2004, 01:08:15 pm »
Excellent, that was easy.

So now XQt seems to be functioning properly, and I can even run my application over ssh like I wanted.

The problem is that everything goes off the screen, like it's using the wrong resolution maybe?  Anybody know a fix?

Also, I can't seem to use the software keyboard.  Whenever I do, the Xserver goes away

--Nathan

jfv

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 437
    • View Profile
Xqt installation
« Reply #7 on: September 06, 2004, 04:48:40 pm »
This is a HowTo for installing and running X/Qt. All this information is probably in the discussion threads but I found them too meandering to be useful.

It is heavily based on a HowTo that I found on the German forum Z-portal Info by JoPeters with some additions by Chris. I used babelfish to translate it to English, tested the instructions on a C860 with the Sharp ROM, fixed some of the translation and added a few things. It worked for me. I tried to put it in the ZUG howtos area but it wouldn't let me log in.

You need to download and install the following packages from the X/Qt site. Make sure to install the packages in that order. The package installer complains of some dependencies but installs everything. I have installed them all in internal flash. According to the very terse howto in here one can install a couple (but not all) of these packages in an ext2-formatted SD card, but I have not tried and JoPeters reported difficulties on the German forum.

1. xqt-fonts-misc
2. xqt-server
3. glibc-locale
4. xbase-etc
5. xlibs
6. xqt-startup-scripts
7. xbase-client
8. blackbox
9. rxvt

After installation two new icons appear on the applications tab:
X/QT server (starts the X/QT server and makes it possible to connect to an
external x server) and
Start X (starts a local x-server and makes it possible for X programs to run)

Start X can also be started from the console:
$ cd /opt/QtPalmtop/bin
$ ./startx-wrapper

In case you don't succeed to start X/QT, you must be sure to kill the running X/QT processes before trying again, otherwise there is no chance that X/QT will run.

I used the Start X icon. One must first disable starting with magnified screen by tap and holding the icon, otherwise it comes out in portrait mode. It takes a little while to start up but once it does you will get a grey background and an rxvt terminal window. Then you can run your X applications from the command line. I tried some Tcl-Tk scripts using tclkit, they seem to run fine but some of them came out too big.

To get out of X and get back to Qt press the menu button on the keyboard and select shutdown from the menu the pops up.

Felipe
SL 5000 D  and C860 Sharp ROM
Too many accessories...

myotis

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
Xqt installation
« Reply #8 on: October 12, 2004, 12:00:39 pm »
HELP!
I got the Xqt installed on an 5600 with original ROM but the screen parameters are were incorrect.
1. The screen is rotated
2. The screen is devided into two parts the physical screen boundary is not alligned with the virtual screen boundary.
3. The screen is not updated, I need to tap severeal times on the screen and where the pen hits the screen, the "new" contend of that precise spot is shown.

Has anyone observed the same?
and knows a fix, or at least where to find the config-file??


Thanks


Myotis

Karlos

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
Xqt installation
« Reply #9 on: October 13, 2004, 12:52:01 pm »
myotis,

If you haven't already done so, try downgrading the xqt-server package to 0.08.

myotis

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
Xqt installation
« Reply #10 on: October 15, 2004, 01:06:48 pm »
Thaks,
xqt-server 0.0.8 works fine :-)

myotis

Greg2

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 790
    • View Profile
    • http://
Xqt installation
« Reply #11 on: October 17, 2004, 06:38:26 pm »
@jfv... thanks for the how-to

I had some extra time today so I installed this on my 5600. I have it running on top the sharp rom v1.32 and the special kernel v1.3...works great. (you still need to use the xqt-server _ 0.0.8 on a 5600)

Just one question... can someone translate the rxvt dropdown menu for me?

Thanks,

Greg

I will attach it here

lardman

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4512
    • View Profile
    • http://people.bath.ac.uk/enpsgp/Zaurus/
Xqt installation
« Reply #12 on: October 18, 2004, 06:27:28 am »
Did you install one of the japanese localisation files (glibc-locale perhaps?).

I've never had menus in Japanese.


Si
C750 OZ3.5.4 (GPE, 2.6.x kernel)
SL5500 OZ3.5.4 (Opie)
Nokia 770
Serial GPS, WCF-12, Socket Ethernet & BT, Ratoc USB
WinXP, Mandriva

Greg2

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 790
    • View Profile
    • http://
Xqt installation
« Reply #13 on: October 18, 2004, 09:36:11 am »
Quote
Did you install one of the japanese localisation files (glibc-locale perhaps?).
Yes I did... it was in the howto I used in this thread. Does it work without it?

When I resize the windows and use fullscreen it looks and works just like my desktop with blackbox or fluxbox... except the configuration menus are in Japanese. I would give you a screenshot except I can't seem to figure out how to do that in fullscreen.

I would really like to find a fix for this or an interpretation to English.
(translation by Stubear maybe?)

Greg
 

lardman

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4512
    • View Profile
    • http://people.bath.ac.uk/enpsgp/Zaurus/
Xqt installation
« Reply #14 on: October 18, 2004, 10:06:37 am »
Quote
Does it work without it?

Yes should do. I didn't install anything with 'jp' in the name.

That said, I'm not sure where the text is stored and it may be that you have a Japanese version of rxvt? Anyone know anything about this?


Si
« Last Edit: October 18, 2004, 10:08:06 am by lardman »
C750 OZ3.5.4 (GPE, 2.6.x kernel)
SL5500 OZ3.5.4 (Opie)
Nokia 770
Serial GPS, WCF-12, Socket Ethernet & BT, Ratoc USB
WinXP, Mandriva