Author Topic: Who has a 6000?  (Read 51680 times)

fierywater

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 30
    • View Profile
Who has a 6000?
« Reply #30 on: October 19, 2004, 05:53:09 pm »
I'm still tired of people calling my PDAs (almost all Pocket PC's at this point) Palm Pilots.

...my Zaurus arrives tomorrow, and I'm sure someone'll say "Hey, you got a new Palm Pilot!"...oh, the life of a geek.
Zaurus SL-C860
Still deciding on an OS

the_oak

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 426
    • View Profile
    • http://
Who has a 6000?
« Reply #31 on: October 19, 2004, 07:10:02 pm »
Mine arrived today (few days early). I had to dim the screen, as it is so bight and sharp, it hurt my eyes!! Beautiful display. I have read that Dr.Z Video Player works on the sl-6000, but I have yet to see whether to get the 5x00 version or the xscale version. Which version have you other owners bought?
SL-6000L running Sharp 1.12 rom, (SOLD)
Fujitsu U820 with Windows 7
White Intel MacBook

neuroshock

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 269
    • View Profile
    • http://
Who has a 6000?
« Reply #32 on: October 20, 2004, 03:32:12 pm »
I got mine from Amazon and fell immediately in love. TRUE love!
I was so worried about support and future avaiability that I turned around today and bought a spare batt., sleeve, and a backup 6k to put away in the closet in case I break/brick the first one.  I am now laptop free for the first time in my life and LUVIN' it!    
[span style=\'font-size:8pt;line-height:100%\']SL-6000L & C3100.[/span]

perseus

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 93
    • View Profile
Who has a 6000?
« Reply #33 on: October 22, 2004, 03:09:39 pm »
Got mine yesterday!

I had been using palm, then pocket pc, an there is just no comparison.  I sure had been wasting my time with those toys. This is an awesome portable computer. Thanks guys! I got this baby from reading the reviews and forums.

fierywater

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 30
    • View Profile
Who has a 6000?
« Reply #34 on: October 22, 2004, 03:37:29 pm »
Got mine a few days ago. One word to describe it: sweet. I feel right at home with the Linux stuff.
Zaurus SL-C860
Still deciding on an OS

GoLinux

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 82
    • View Profile
    • http://
Who has a 6000?
« Reply #35 on: October 25, 2004, 10:51:13 pm »
Finally got mine today!!!      
Gorgeous screen (no dead pixels, as far as I can see) and it certainly feels solid. It will be difficult not to stay up all night and play with it....

A word of warning for those trying to set-up a Wi-Fi connection using 128bit WEP: In the "WEP" tab of the wizard (or "Edit", if you do it later), you have to click on "Details" and fill-in with your WEP key all four boxes, "Key1" through "Key4".

It drove me nuts for a good half hour, it just wouldn't connect with the WEP key only in the "Key1" box. Then I remembered an old posting I read a while ago about this. Don't know the reason for it, but sure it works!!!

I'm now surfing like a charm..... Cool dude!!!  
____________________________
SL-6000L, Sharp ROM 1.12, Linux Kernel 2.4.18 with "pelrun patched" >1Gb SD driver
2Gb PNY SD
1Gb Sandisk SD
256Mb Sandisk CF
Psion 5mx
Psion 3c
D-Link DI-614+ 802.11b Access Point
Dell 4550 2.4GHz
Windows XP Home Edition (Sic.....)
MEPIS Linux 6.5.02 (YESSSSSS!!!)

amdonati

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 153
    • View Profile
    • http://
Who has a 6000?
« Reply #36 on: October 26, 2004, 06:10:18 am »
Got my 6000L today.

I can only say that the screen is incredible.
With the minimum brightness it has almost the same visibility as my 5500 at full! (subjective evaluation, of course!    )

I just tried an Ad-Hoc connection to my notebook and it worked flawlessy!

Cannot wait for this evening when I can test it more deeply!

Adalberto

el_borak

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 54
    • View Profile
    • http://
Who has a 6000?
« Reply #37 on: October 26, 2004, 08:16:56 am »
Quote
A word of warning for those trying to set-up a Wi-Fi connection using 128bit WEP: In the "WEP" tab of the wizard (or "Edit", if you do it later), you have to click on "Details" and fill-in with your WEP key all four boxes, "Key1" through "Key4".
It may work, but it certainly isn't always necessary.  I only have Key1 filled in and it works fine both at work and at home.  Wonder what the difference is...

rev

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
    • View Profile
Who has a 6000?
« Reply #38 on: October 26, 2004, 05:02:48 pm »
HI,
new to board,  
week old newb to my shiney new zaurus 6000L
whos path is from amazon -> american friend -> me in canada.
my linux experience dated back to about 96? maybe sooner, started with slashware, now debian, and redhat when ever the customer asks for it.

I run debian at work, and home.

I run debian on sparc, x86, x86_64 (pure) , and hopefully soon ARM

-Shaw

davidk

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
    • View Profile
Who has a 6000?
« Reply #39 on: October 27, 2004, 01:39:13 pm »
Got mine today.
Amazon -> Friend in Florida -> Sweden, Stockholm, me.
Appears to have two dead pixels, afaict.

Completely new to the Zaurus, but not to linux.
Just connected the usb cable to my ordinary (Fedora 3, rc1) box and started telnetd on the Zaurus. Feels weird to telnet in to a PDA
Will try flashing it later tonight.

Any hints on good software repositories?
externe.net seems to have (temporarily I hope) disabled the downloads.

Mustang

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
Who has a 6000?
« Reply #40 on: November 09, 2004, 08:12:59 pm »
I got mine a few days ago..  I love it.  It's really too cool having somethign in my hand that I can access my service network with and do some real work on.  I'm really looking forward to getting into making it a real solution in my work.  I've been looking for an "enterprise" type handheld, and I think I found it.

Mustang

saakmotu

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 73
    • View Profile
    • http://www.bpang.com
Who has a 6000?
« Reply #41 on: November 09, 2004, 11:11:58 pm »
To repeat what everyone else has said, the screen really is incredible.

I got mine a couple of weeks ago.

1 dead pixel

but only in red and not so noticable 99% of the time. I thought it would really irk me, but it"s near a corner and I really don't think about it (but,of course I KNOW it's there)

I called Sharp about it, and like almost all other of these types of screens, there is an "acceptable tolerance" of 3 dead pixels. It would be covered under warranty, but no guarantees that a replacement would be dead pixel free.

My only other complaint is the 2.5mm headphone jack... see the thread inhardware for adapters.

Oh, my other complaint is that Sharp is ditching this far superior product (I think the retail price was just too high for most, including me... but I got one as soon as Amazon dropped the price, recognizing that it was still a good deal even without Sharp, thanks to Linux.)
bricked(?) sl5000d
sl5500 tkcROM
sl5600
sl6000-L
Many sd/cf memory cards
Linksys wcf12 CF WiFi - Dlink CF Wifi - Xircom CompactCard Ethernet 10
Sharp CF Camera
SerialI/O usb cable - iRiver PMP USB Host Adapter Cable

darnold

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
Who has a 6000?
« Reply #42 on: November 10, 2004, 12:44:11 am »
Just got my SL 6000L today!! Sweet!!  Even though Sharp is discontinuing them here in the US because we are to stupid to use anything but Windoze based PDA's, I love this machine!  Hopefully the sheep will wise up and create a market for Linux based PDA's.
SL 6000L - Sharp ROM v. 1.12  
Lexar 1GB SD
Lexar 256MB SD
Impact 128MB SD
Lexar 256MB JumpDrive via USB
My Webpage
Schizophrenia means never having to dine alone.

cycojesus

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 60
    • View Profile
    • http://cycojesus.free.fr
Who has a 6000?
« Reply #43 on: November 10, 2004, 06:11:57 am »
Just got it
It's charging. I have a question about charging the first time : how long ? 4 hours as the manual says ? 24 hours for maximum battery life ? Can I turn it on while charging for the first time ?
I'm so excited  
SL-6000L : kexecboot and ArmedZed (on SD) & OpenZaurus/Opie (on flash)

nevarrie

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 188
    • View Profile
    • http://www.thegrantclan.org
Who has a 6000?
« Reply #44 on: November 10, 2004, 11:27:20 am »
Quote
Quote
A word of warning for those trying to set-up a Wi-Fi connection using 128bit WEP: In the "WEP" tab of the wizard (or "Edit", if you do it later), you have to click on "Details" and fill-in with your WEP key all four boxes, "Key1" through "Key4".
It may work, but it certainly isn't always necessary.  I only have Key1 filled in and it works fine both at work and at home.  Wonder what the difference is...
This ia an issue with wlan-ng from what I can tell...and it does not effect all WEP access points all the time..I have found this is a must is when using ADHOC with WEP and on a few of the Cisco Aironet...I also found that sharp does fill in all 4 lines in the wlancfg-SSID file even if you on put the key in once(at least on mine it does)...since I found sharp doing this on my zaurus I have started doing this on my desknote that used a d-link 122 and found my connections worked alot better...I still have not found any documentation to explan why this is yet, this just experience from making the wlan-ng work on openzaurus...
***********************
Jeremy "Nevarrie" Grant
SL-6000L
OpenZaurus 3.5.4.1 GPE(2.6 kernel)|GrantRom 0.01(e-image clone)
Targus IR Keyborad