Author Topic: Debian with Xqt  (Read 72539 times)

ArchiMark

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1809
    • View Profile
Debian with Xqt
« Reply #225 on: April 19, 2005, 07:16:13 pm »
OK, adf, finally got it work!

Only thing now is that while shift key works and most keys are mapped correctly, some are not mapped right....for example the '/' symbol....  

So have to figure out how to edit the xmodmaprc file, right??

Also, tried 'chroot' as you suggested after 'xmodmap /home/zaurus/.xmodmaprc'...

I got the following:
Code: [Select]
#chroot
BusyBox v0.60.4 (2003.04.15-01:23+0000) multi-call binary

Usage: chroot NEWROOT [COMMAND...]

Run COMMAND with root directory set to NEWROOT.

So making progress, right??.....

UPDATE: Per smuelas's install instructions, I tried what he instructed but got error message:
Code: [Select]
#su
#/sbin/chroot /mnt/card/debroot
chroot: cannot execute /bin/sh: Input/output error

Mark

Quote
download a new copy of xmodmaprc

maybe do
chmod 777  "path-to"/xmodmaprc
?

tell rxvt the fullpath to xmodmaprc when you do xmodmap

chroot after you do xmodmap..or put xmodmap in debroot/someplace
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=76001\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]
« Last Edit: April 19, 2005, 07:43:39 pm by ArchiMark »
Silicon Valley Digerati - * Please see my Mini Laptops For Sale Listing *
Cosmo Communicator / One-Netbook One Mix Yoga 3S (Win 10/Manjaro 18)
Banana Pi Zero UMPC/Armbian
MacBookPro
Sold: C3200/N900/OQO/N5/Dell Mini9/Netwalker/UMID M1/

adf

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2807
    • View Profile
    • http://
Debian with Xqt
« Reply #226 on: April 19, 2005, 10:59:20 pm »
So.. you are running debian?

xmodmap can be edited in vi or nano pertty easily-- take a look at it, it is straightforward stuff.

I had that input/output error. I forgot what I did. I think I asked somebody on the xqt/debian thread. maybe there is an answer there?

you did do the export DISPLAY=0:0 bit before chrooting?
**3100 Zubuntu Jaunty,(working on Cacko dualboot), 16G A-Data internal CF, 4G SD, Ambicom WL-1100C Cf, linksys usb ethernet,  BelkinF8T020 BT card, Belkin F8U1500-E Ir kbd, mini targus usb mouse, rechargeble AC/DC powered USB hub, psp cables and battery extenders.

**6000l  Tetsuized Sharprom, installed on internal flash only 1G sd, 2G cf

ArchiMark

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1809
    • View Profile
Debian with Xqt
« Reply #227 on: April 19, 2005, 11:14:02 pm »
Thanks for your help, adf...really appreciate it!

Quote
So.. you are running debian?

Good question....   ...I've just gotten as far as I've described in my previous posts...

Quote
xmodmap can be edited in vi or nano pertty easily-- take a look at it, it is straightforward stuff.

Will do....

Quote
I had that input/output error. I forgot what I did. I think I asked somebody on the xqt/debian thread. maybe there is an answer there?

I thought this was the xqt/debian thread....  

Quote
you did do the export DISPLAY=0:0 bit before chrooting?
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=76052\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]

Yes, I did that....

Mark
Silicon Valley Digerati - * Please see my Mini Laptops For Sale Listing *
Cosmo Communicator / One-Netbook One Mix Yoga 3S (Win 10/Manjaro 18)
Banana Pi Zero UMPC/Armbian
MacBookPro
Sold: C3200/N900/OQO/N5/Dell Mini9/Netwalker/UMID M1/

adf

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2807
    • View Profile
    • http://
Debian with Xqt
« Reply #228 on: April 19, 2005, 11:52:56 pm »
I guess it is the right thread.

you linked XQT to X?

read smuelas webpage?

urgh.  it is a simple thing, too.

check fstab?
**3100 Zubuntu Jaunty,(working on Cacko dualboot), 16G A-Data internal CF, 4G SD, Ambicom WL-1100C Cf, linksys usb ethernet,  BelkinF8T020 BT card, Belkin F8U1500-E Ir kbd, mini targus usb mouse, rechargeble AC/DC powered USB hub, psp cables and battery extenders.

**6000l  Tetsuized Sharprom, installed on internal flash only 1G sd, 2G cf

ArchiMark

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1809
    • View Profile
Debian with Xqt
« Reply #229 on: April 19, 2005, 11:56:10 pm »
Yes, I linked XQT to X per instructions on smuelas webpage....

Didn't check fstab....what should I look for??

Thanks,

Mark

Quote
I guess it is the right thread.

you linked XQT to X?

read smuelas webpage?

urgh.  it is a simple thing, too.

check fstab?
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=76058\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]
Silicon Valley Digerati - * Please see my Mini Laptops For Sale Listing *
Cosmo Communicator / One-Netbook One Mix Yoga 3S (Win 10/Manjaro 18)
Banana Pi Zero UMPC/Armbian
MacBookPro
Sold: C3200/N900/OQO/N5/Dell Mini9/Netwalker/UMID M1/

adf

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2807
    • View Profile
    • http://
Debian with Xqt
« Reply #230 on: April 20, 2005, 03:03:20 am »
I wasn't thinking. You should be fine on the fdtab.

there is a /proc link....but it shouldn"cause problems at this point.

still same error?

did you use tar zxvpf  p for permissions when you untarred pw?

can ypu chroot /mnt/cf/debroot from a regular commandline?
**3100 Zubuntu Jaunty,(working on Cacko dualboot), 16G A-Data internal CF, 4G SD, Ambicom WL-1100C Cf, linksys usb ethernet,  BelkinF8T020 BT card, Belkin F8U1500-E Ir kbd, mini targus usb mouse, rechargeble AC/DC powered USB hub, psp cables and battery extenders.

**6000l  Tetsuized Sharprom, installed on internal flash only 1G sd, 2G cf

ArchiMark

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1809
    • View Profile
Debian with Xqt
« Reply #231 on: April 20, 2005, 12:03:23 pm »
Quote
I wasn't thinking. You should be fine on the fdtab.

Good...  
Quote
there is a /proc link....but it shouldn"cause problems at this point.

Think I did that along the way...  
Quote
still same error?

Well, I tried:
Code: [Select]
bash-2.05$su
              #chroot /mnt/card/debroot
sh-2.05b#export display=0:0
sh-2.05b#/usr/bin/icewm
IceWM: Warning: Locale not supported by C library. Falling back to 'C' locale'.
IceWM: using /home/root/.icewm for private configuration files
IceWM: Can't open display:  :0.0. X must be running and $display set.

Any suggestions?

Quote
did you use tar zxvpf  p for permissions when you untarred pw?
I followed PocketWorkstationXQT - DebianWiki install instructions and did:
Code: [Select]
#gunzip gnu-tar.gz
#chmod 755 gnu-tar
#mkdir /mnt/card/debroot
#./gnu-tar -C /mnt/card/debroot -xvzpf zaurus-debian-big-v0.17.tgz
Quote
can ypu chroot /mnt/cf/debroot from a regular commandline?
Think so, see above....

Thanks,

Mark
Silicon Valley Digerati - * Please see my Mini Laptops For Sale Listing *
Cosmo Communicator / One-Netbook One Mix Yoga 3S (Win 10/Manjaro 18)
Banana Pi Zero UMPC/Armbian
MacBookPro
Sold: C3200/N900/OQO/N5/Dell Mini9/Netwalker/UMID M1/

adf

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2807
    • View Profile
    • http://
Debian with Xqt
« Reply #232 on: April 20, 2005, 03:01:16 pm »
Quote
Quote
I wasn't thinking. You should be fine on the fdtab.

Good...  
Quote
there is a /proc link....but it shouldn"cause problems at this point.

Think I did that along the way...  
Quote
still same error?

Well, I tried:
Code: [Select]
bash-2.05$su
              #chroot /mnt/card/debroot
sh-2.05b#export display=0:0
sh-2.05b#/usr/bin/icewm
IceWM: Warning: Locale not supported by C library. Falling back to 'C' locale'.
IceWM: using /home/root/.icewm for private configuration files
IceWM: Can't open display:  :0.0. X must be running and $display set.

Any suggestions?

Quote
did you use tar zxvpf  p for permissions when you untarred pw?
I followed PocketWorkstationXQT - DebianWiki install instructions and did:
Code: [Select]
#gunzip gnu-tar.gz
#chmod 755 gnu-tar
#mkdir /mnt/card/debroot
#./gnu-tar -C /mnt/card/debroot -xvzpf zaurus-debian-big-v0.17.tgz
Quote
can ypu chroot /mnt/cf/debroot from a regular commandline?
Think so, see above....

Thanks,

Mark
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=76137\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]


Yes.
the "DISPLAY" in export DISPLAY=0:0 has to be capitalized.

they way you wrote it you didn't reassign the display.
"display" is nothing. "DISPLAY" is meaningful as far as your z is concerned
**3100 Zubuntu Jaunty,(working on Cacko dualboot), 16G A-Data internal CF, 4G SD, Ambicom WL-1100C Cf, linksys usb ethernet,  BelkinF8T020 BT card, Belkin F8U1500-E Ir kbd, mini targus usb mouse, rechargeble AC/DC powered USB hub, psp cables and battery extenders.

**6000l  Tetsuized Sharprom, installed on internal flash only 1G sd, 2G cf

ArchiMark

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1809
    • View Profile
Debian with Xqt
« Reply #233 on: April 20, 2005, 07:16:52 pm »
WHOOPS.... you're right about that!!....  

OK, fixed that and voila!!!....

Now I got IceWM running!!....

Right now set to 'icedesert' theme, very white....tried to set to another
theme, but doesn't want to change, acts as if it's going to change, but then display refreshes and comes back the same, no change....  

Next step on my way, is to do 'apt-get' right??

Thanks,

Mark


Quote
Yes.
the "DISPLAY" in export DISPLAY=0:0 has to be capitalized.

they way you wrote it you didn't reassign the display.
"display" is nothing. "DISPLAY" is meaningful as far as your z is concerned
Silicon Valley Digerati - * Please see my Mini Laptops For Sale Listing *
Cosmo Communicator / One-Netbook One Mix Yoga 3S (Win 10/Manjaro 18)
Banana Pi Zero UMPC/Armbian
MacBookPro
Sold: C3200/N900/OQO/N5/Dell Mini9/Netwalker/UMID M1/

adf

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2807
    • View Profile
    • http://
Debian with Xqt
« Reply #234 on: April 20, 2005, 08:00:24 pm »
yep.. apt get.

things to know.

apt-get clean cleans out the downloded files and frees up a good bit of space after you have apt-gotten stuff.

Use apt-get update to update your lists
use apt-get upgrade to upgrade your system in its current config
use apt-get dist-upgrade to upgrade the system entirely.

dist-upgrade can be weird on pocket workstation.  I suggest you back up before you try it.

for now, since the system if fairly fresh, I'd suggest going with a simple apt-get upgrade... and then the packages you want and a "clean"
**3100 Zubuntu Jaunty,(working on Cacko dualboot), 16G A-Data internal CF, 4G SD, Ambicom WL-1100C Cf, linksys usb ethernet,  BelkinF8T020 BT card, Belkin F8U1500-E Ir kbd, mini targus usb mouse, rechargeble AC/DC powered USB hub, psp cables and battery extenders.

**6000l  Tetsuized Sharprom, installed on internal flash only 1G sd, 2G cf

ArchiMark

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1809
    • View Profile
Debian with Xqt
« Reply #235 on: April 21, 2005, 10:15:17 pm »
Thanks once more for your help, adf!

Meanwhile, tried to see if I could get connected to internet this afternoon, so I could do 'apt-get upgrade'...can't figure out how to do it with this setup...

I have choice of either using my Socket CF Ethernet card or my Ambicom WL1100-CF WiFi card.

Any suggestions/guidance??

thanks,

Mark


Quote
yep.. apt get.

things to know.

apt-get clean cleans out the downloded files and frees up a good bit of space after you have apt-gotten stuff.

Use apt-get update to update your lists
use apt-get upgrade to upgrade your system in its current config
use apt-get dist-upgrade to upgrade the system entirely.

dist-upgrade can be weird on pocket workstation.  I suggest you back up before you try it.

for now, since the system if fairly fresh, I'd suggest going with a simple apt-get upgrade... and then the packages you want and a "clean"
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=76200\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]
Silicon Valley Digerati - * Please see my Mini Laptops For Sale Listing *
Cosmo Communicator / One-Netbook One Mix Yoga 3S (Win 10/Manjaro 18)
Banana Pi Zero UMPC/Armbian
MacBookPro
Sold: C3200/N900/OQO/N5/Dell Mini9/Netwalker/UMID M1/

adf

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2807
    • View Profile
    • http://
Debian with Xqt
« Reply #236 on: April 21, 2005, 10:36:36 pm »
connect in qtopia

copy /etc/resolv.conf to /mnt/cf--or whatever your dive is called/debroot/etc/

the thing with this setup is you occasionally have to copy or link bits of qtopia int debroot (it mostly tells you how) and it is way easier to do background "machine control" type stuff in qtopia and then pop back over to debian. since you are using xqt, though, it is merely a matter tapping icons to switch back and forth.
**3100 Zubuntu Jaunty,(working on Cacko dualboot), 16G A-Data internal CF, 4G SD, Ambicom WL-1100C Cf, linksys usb ethernet,  BelkinF8T020 BT card, Belkin F8U1500-E Ir kbd, mini targus usb mouse, rechargeble AC/DC powered USB hub, psp cables and battery extenders.

**6000l  Tetsuized Sharprom, installed on internal flash only 1G sd, 2G cf

ArchiMark

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1809
    • View Profile
Debian with Xqt
« Reply #237 on: April 22, 2005, 12:18:33 am »
OK, did the 2 steps as you instructed below....

then typed 'apt-get upgrade' in aterm window...

then I get:
Code: [Select]
Reading Package Lists....done
Building Dependency Tree.....done
0 upgraded, 0 newly installed, 0 to remove and 0 not upgraded

I must be missing something still??

Thanks,

Mark



Quote
connect in qtopia

copy /etc/resolv.conf to /mnt/cf--or whatever your dive is called/debroot/etc/

the thing with this setup is you occasionally have to copy or link bits of qtopia int debroot (it mostly tells you how) and it is way easier to do background "machine control" type stuff in qtopia and then pop back over to debian. since you are using xqt, though, it is merely a matter tapping icons to switch back and forth.
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=76357\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]
Silicon Valley Digerati - * Please see my Mini Laptops For Sale Listing *
Cosmo Communicator / One-Netbook One Mix Yoga 3S (Win 10/Manjaro 18)
Banana Pi Zero UMPC/Armbian
MacBookPro
Sold: C3200/N900/OQO/N5/Dell Mini9/Netwalker/UMID M1/

adf

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2807
    • View Profile
    • http://
Debian with Xqt
« Reply #238 on: April 22, 2005, 02:20:58 am »
Quote
OK, did the 2 steps as you instructed below....

then typed 'apt-get upgrade' in aterm window...

then I get:
Code: [Select]
Reading Package Lists....done
Building Dependency Tree.....done
0 upgraded, 0 newly installed, 0 to remove and 0 not upgraded

I must be missing something still??

Thanks,

Mark
 be root in the xqt rxvt

do chrooot

load icewm

minimize rxvt
opn a new terminal
su -- just to be safe

make sure you have a connection... fire up dillo..surf for a bit just to be sure

now apt-get

Quote
connect in qtopia

copy /etc/resolv.conf to /mnt/cf--or whatever your dive is called/debroot/etc/

the thing with this setup is you occasionally have to copy or link bits of qtopia int debroot (it mostly tells you how) and it is way easier to do background "machine control" type stuff in qtopia and then pop back over to debian. since you are using xqt, though, it is merely a matter tapping icons to switch back and forth.
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=76357\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]
[div align=\"right\"][a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=76363\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a][/div]
**3100 Zubuntu Jaunty,(working on Cacko dualboot), 16G A-Data internal CF, 4G SD, Ambicom WL-1100C Cf, linksys usb ethernet,  BelkinF8T020 BT card, Belkin F8U1500-E Ir kbd, mini targus usb mouse, rechargeble AC/DC powered USB hub, psp cables and battery extenders.

**6000l  Tetsuized Sharprom, installed on internal flash only 1G sd, 2G cf

ArchiMark

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1809
    • View Profile
Debian with Xqt
« Reply #239 on: April 22, 2005, 09:53:28 am »
Thanks, adf,

OK, just tried what you suggested....
However, no go...online that is...  

I get message at bottom of Dillo browser window:
Code: [Select]
ERROR: Dns can't solve www.google.com
I do see a little tiny black square in lower right corner of iceWM statusbar at bottom of
my display that 'pulsates' graphically when it's trying to connect, before I get error message.

I am connected to net in Qtopia and I did copy over that resolv.conf file before.....

Thanks,

Mark

Quote
be root in the xqt rxvt

do chrooot

load icewm

minimize rxvt
opn a new terminal
su -- just to be safe

make sure you have a connection... fire up dillo..surf for a bit just to be sure

now apt-get
Silicon Valley Digerati - * Please see my Mini Laptops For Sale Listing *
Cosmo Communicator / One-Netbook One Mix Yoga 3S (Win 10/Manjaro 18)
Banana Pi Zero UMPC/Armbian
MacBookPro
Sold: C3200/N900/OQO/N5/Dell Mini9/Netwalker/UMID M1/